Thread: Tips for property investors

Default Tips for property investors

http://www.businesstimes.com.sg/sub/...14520,00.html?

Published November 24, 2010

Tips for property investors

Bear in mind the importance of value investing as you look for your ideal property. By Jacqueline Wong and Tan Yali

DESPITE the numerous government measures introduced to cool the property market, the high-end residential market in Singapore has not been adversely affected. To begin with, the measures so far are targeted at the mass market which has seen property values rising ahead of economic recovery. Based on Jones Lang LaSalle estimates, the average resale capital value for areas outside the prime residential districts in Q3 2010 is 10.1 per cent above its last peak in Q1 2008; by contrast, the high-end properties are still trading at some 8.4 per cent below the last peak, on average.

In addition, the anti-speculative measures - from requiring a bigger purchase outlay to the most recent clampdown on speculative buying in both public and private markets - have not affected high-end buyers. These buyers are usually long-term investors, if not owners, with strong financial standing. Furthermore, they are foreigners who mostly do not have a stake in the local public housing market.

While the high-end segment has not picked up as much as the rest of the market, there remains latent demand. Besides the Indonesians who form our traditional foreign buyers, an increasing number of buyers with new money from China, India, Russia and the Middle East are looking at the Singapore market.

On the other hand, local investors have also been looking at overseas markets as well. The key motivation for many local investors is distinctly practical - they want to provide a roof over their children's heads while the latter pursue an overseas education, save on rental expense and enjoy potential capital gains when the kids finally finish school. Additionally, there is clearly further upside in these offshore investments which could come from an anticipated recovery in the values of this asset class and the strengthening of the host countries' currency. Australia, particularly Sydney and Melbourne, as well as the UK are the traditional markets in which Singaporean investors are active.

Overseas investment opportunities

There are buying opportunities in the Asia-Pacific region, excluding Hong Kong and Japan, as home prices are generally more affordable than those in Singapore. However, foreign ownership usually comes with restrictive conditions which investors should spend time understanding before making any moves. For instance, in Australia, where prices are comparable to Singapore's, foreigners are prohibited from buying a property to be let out or used as a holiday home, although temporary residents may own a home during their stay in the country, subject to approval.

The UK and the Maldives remain the most open to foreign home ownership. Foreigners who own homes in the UK are allowed to lease out their properties and thus have an income yield apart from capital appreciation. The Maldives is also attractive as investors need only pay a transfer fee of US$3,000-US$5,000 when buying residential properties in the country.

Well-heeled investors have been increasingly buying holiday homes instead of conventional residences. A holiday home has an edge as the project is managed by a hotel operator which frees the owner from the hassle of maintenance. The investor also gets to enjoy the holiday home, along with the facilities, typically for six to eight weeks in a year. This is in addition to receiving income from letting the asset out during the rest of the year. The owner typically splits the income 50-50 with the hotel operator, subject to a bed tax.

Investing in a property

There are several basic but important factors that one needs to consider when investing in property.

Do your sums: Besides making sure that you have sufficient funds for the downpayment on a property, you must ensure a healthy cashflow once you exercise the option to purchase. Increasingly, governments are abolishing the practice of 'no payment till physical completion', commonly known in Singapore as the deferred payment scheme, to reduce the risk of buyers defaulting.

Know your market: Understanding the market you are putting your money in is essential as property values may be influenced by many factors, from economics to politics. Even the construction site that sits right across the road can affect your investment positively or negatively. This validates the mantra that 'location, location, location' is what matters in property investment. Given the uniqueness of each property, market research is all the more important.

Know your risk appetite: What unsettles you? Knowing your risk appetite helps you determine a market that is most suitable for you. You don't want to sell in a panic during price corrections. An individual's risk appetite is largely influenced by his holding power. When investing abroad, there are additional risks to consider:

# Distance - means that you will be unable to keep a close watch on your property and will be less aware of market developments that affect property values.

# Exchange rate volatility - may result in lower returns if your home currency weakens against the currency of the host country of your property investment.

# Ill-informed/unreliable agents - may cause you to miss out on opportunities simply by giving poor advice.

Investment strategies

The conventional wisdom in investment is to buy low and sell high. Had you bought a typical prime property in Singapore in the last property cycle, you would have benefited from a good 40 per cent capital gain if you sold your property today. Buying on cycles would ensure a profit regardless of the property you buy. However, this is often difficult in practice.

The residential market is very sentiment-driven. Many investors act on herd instinct; they buy into the market when everyone else is already in. This usually means lower gains. In addition, many buyers tend to be emotional in their purchases, which may colour their judgement and affect their decision-making.

Speaking to seasoned investors and advisers can help you to avoid following the herd and allows you to leverage on their insights into the market.

As you look for your ideal property, bear in mind the importance of value investing. While mass-market projects tend to be cheaper, high-end properties remain timeless given their quality finishes, higher demand for leases, spacious layout and comprehensive facilities. For example, based on an analysis of the caveats lodged, the median price of a unit in Seasons Park located at Yio Chu Kang Road today has grown by about 9 per cent since it was first launched in Q1 1996; by comparison, Regency Park at Nathan Road commands a median price that is 59 per cent above its initial launch price, despite it being a much older project. As such, the property mantra should be modified to: location, location, quality.

# Jacqueline Wong is head of residential, and Tan Yali is senior analyst, research and consultancy, at Jones Lang LaSalle Singapore

Quote Originally Posted by mr funny
    For example, based on an analysis of the caveats lodged, the median price of a unit in Seasons Park located at Yio Chu Kang Road today has grown by about 9 per cent since it was first launched in Q1 1996; by comparison, Regency Park at Nathan Road commands a median price that is 59 per cent above its initial launch price, despite it being a much older project. As such, the property mantra should be modified to: location, location, quality.

# Jacqueline Wong is head of residential, and Tan Yali is senior analyst, research and consultancy, at Jones Lang LaSalle Singapore
    Nonsense .. the reason why Seasons Park has appreciated less than Regency Park compared to their respective launch price is because 1996 is close to the peak of the property bubble then!

Can be summarized in one sentence....

Buy high end because high-end no need to be supported by fundamentals. Sounds like a broken record.

exactly.
    does not make sense as most of the wealthy individuals i know are actually the most demanding when it comes to investment yields (thats why they are rich in the first place)

the report neglected the fact that condos in west coast has doubled in value since their launches in 2007, while the high end condos have not moved up since.

The report could have been written by teddy.

u know I prefer prime pty, but even I found their analysis a bit silly.
    I prefer some prime areas pty for a slightly diff reason.

in any case, JLL is in the business of marketing mostly primer area pties. U dun expect them to say "prime is crap, dun buy", do you ?

I still remember in 2007 Mr. Qwek said: " the higher the price of the pty, the more people will buy".

u know I prefer prime pty, but even I found their analysis a bit silly.
    I prefer some prime areas pty for a slightly diff reason.

in any case, JLL is in the business of marketing mostly primer area pties. U dun expect them to say "prime is crap, dun buy", do you ?

I still remember in 2007 Mr. Qwek said: " the higher the price of the pty, the more people will buy".
    what makse this a bad report is that it is a basically a advertisement but pretends to be an unbiased objective. BT is complicit in the shenanigan.

You have already provided the best reason why people should buy prime properties!!!
    Since West coast condos has already doubled in value since 2007, do you or anybody with right sense of mind believe that they will go up much more? Similarly, since high end condos have not moved up since 2007, shouldn't anybody with reasonable sense of mind believe that these high end condos will present much more value since they have more chance of going up much higher from now vs West coast condos?

the report neglected the fact that condos in west coast has doubled in value since their launches in 2007, while the high end condos have not moved up since.

I was just referring to the so called "fact" in that report that high end condos provide a higher long term return. that is simply untrue. the author of the study report only cases consistent with their hypothesis, but not the ones inconsistent with it. that is called selective reporting, which I do not condone.

You write what you are told to write. Nothing more and nothing less.

Usually, news media reports also go along with Govt's agenda. If I am the one making decisions, I will also tell the people that mass market will not go up more because they are going to introduce policies to do so if the masses insist on bidding up the prices further since they have already gone up by almost 100% within 3 years! How to justify such increases and especially when mass market condos are meant for self-stay and not speculation? Not healthy for huge increases in short time otherwise many people cannot afford?

I was just referring to the so called "fact" in that report that high end condos provide a higher long term return. that is simply untrue. the author of the study report only cases consistent with their hypothesis, but not the ones inconsistent with it. that is called selective reporting, which I do not condone.

But the problem is many still can afford...

Quote Originally Posted by shauntanzs
    many can afford at 1% rate, 35 year loan....when rates increased....that's when devilplate will jump in to snap free-fall durians

keen to know which project.

Quote Originally Posted by shauntanzs

many can afford ?
    afford what kind of price range ?

those 2.5 m and higher not many lah ... which explains why the tiny MM unit projects , and 1-2 bedders always sell out first ..

The million $ question: Will interest rate goes back to 5%? If yes, when?

When we see int rate of 3.x%, market peak peak liao