Page 10 of 160 FirstFirst ... 567891011121314152025303540 ... LastLast

Thread: Property market sentiments 2011

sharing my experience,lately i had view some resale units selling 50k below past tranascted prices. Yet neither any buyers nor me bite bait due to the uncertainities..

so when rate hits 4%,and properties up by another 20%-100%. wad make u think its easier to sell,compare to current market and current price owner asking 50k below trans prices?
    Gd lobang share leh since u r not buying??

yah loh.... if property go up by 100%, sure can sell if lower price by say 20%....

Gd lobang share leh since u r not buying??
    orchid park condo and floravale

Orchid park is hopeless lah. I dun know about floravale. The bad take up rate for orchid is due to demand shifted to estuary and its in a bad shape. Hope for enblock better.

50k no takers. 100k should have. Go try if u r owner.

Orchid park is hopeless lah. I dun know about floravale. The bad take up rate for orchid is due to demand shifted to estuary and its in a bad shape. Hope for enblock better.

every projects can it's con and pro it can be hopeful or hopeless. I'm just quoting units selling below transacted by 50k. maybe u can share wf us ur unit and whatever project. we can tell u the pro and con but I believed u won't sell 50k below transacted even if there's any cons or hopeless. Do u?

when I bgt my 1st unit,it was way 160k cheaper. But no takers. cos when the market plunge everyone just wan to wait and wait. If orchid park can sell 100k cheaper,that will be in falling market. Noone will buy then

I dun own any condos NOW. I would sell below valuation if I have to sell.
    Last edited by kingkong1984; 09-01-11 at 20:22. Reason: NOW

Most people already have a roof over their head with BTOs and ECs. Pte condos now are really 'extras'. Many people are now feeling the pinch of higher food, electricity and oil price. More people will become more cautious with their $.
    Years down the road.. everything will be even more expensive..

If fact most of the condos are selling at or below valuation.. but value of condos already up quite abit..

valuation are bullshit. I buy below based at transcted price,not based at valuation

Nothing wrong to do that. But Sellers always want to sell at or above it.

Good for you rest in peace.

Not a very good time to buy properties but good time to own. I prefer having properties than keeping money in the bank.

Same sentiment except that i prefer having properties AND money in bank. Properties and liquidity are complementary and will enable you to ride through the cycles.

Not a very good time to buy properties but good time to own. I prefer having properties than keeping money in the bank.

Especially those buy low and enjoy high rental yields current

Said enough, no condo doesn't mean no more properties.

Work hard, save enough and you will own your condo soon. we can't time the market, but we can know when we are ready to buy and work on our risk appetites.
    Said enough, no condo doesn't mean no more properties.

Default Cash is King

My friend working in top Germany bank has just sold one of his condo, his HDB and his car. He stays in one condo and holds another. Overall, he owes the bank 2M, but sits on 1M cash. He believes Cash is King.
    I can still recall in 1997 when I was working in a British stock broking firm. I couldn't understand why there was a huge order to sell DBS (took 3 weeks just to execute that single order) - 4 months later, finanical crisis came.
    Just the recent Lehman crisis, when I was having dinner with the Mini-bond producer in HK a year before the crisis, she disencouraged me to buy Mini-bond.
    Are those people really know something we don't?

So two things I am watching this year:

1) Rental: I need experts in this group to hint to me, will the rental come down in 2011?
    2) Interest rate: well, there is one direction for it: UP.

We all know what will likely happen for the property market in 2012. Will some smart money move earlier, say 2nd half of 2011?

Yes, some people do know more than others. It's called privileged information.

Very good, you have just listed some buy or sell indicators to watch out for. Though not necessary conclusive. I would sell all stocks if there is a sudden drop in STI index of 500 points etc.

Interest rates are expected to go up. It can be zero in theory and unlimited upside. We are very near at low 2% around for fixed rates... A double jump to 4 % can hurt and we are not talking about a big rate jump. We do have 8% or more in the past right? long past of 20 years ago?

You also know something that we don't.

My friend working in top Germany bank has just sold one of his condo, his HDB and his car. He stays in one condo and holds another. Overall, he owes the bank 2M, but sits on 1M cash. He believes Cash is King.
    I can still recall in 1997 when I was working in a British stock broking firm. I couldn't understand why there was a huge order to sell DBS (took 3 weeks just to execute that single order) - 4 months later, finanical crisis came.
    Just the recent Lehman crisis, when I was having dinner with the Mini-bond producer in HK a year before the crisis, she disencouraged me to buy Mini-bond.

1) Rental: I need experts in this group to hint to me, will the rental come down in 2011?

We all know what will likely happen for the property market in 2012. Will some smart money move earlier, say 2nd half of 2011?

Richard, can you also shortsell DBS? as in follow the big boys movement.

Orchid Park condo is very old looking. But ist location is super. Just have to wait for en block

rental rate will go along with influx of foreign employment. Will there be huge jump as compared to 2 years back where casino busy recruiting workers? I doubt.

Another indicator will be the economic growth, last yr was double digit. This year may not.

But if the government decides to increase population, that would be different.

Spike in rates,can force "some" owners to sell..
    especially those overleverage, down only 10% down,multiple units and those dont have much cash or holding power.

unless ur trying to tell us,properties prices up by 20%, rental will up oso 20%? and able to cover the mortgage
    *I DO WELCOME THAT INCREASE IN CONDO RENTAL,WHICH WILL RESULT A SPILL OVER TO THE HDB RENTAL. (i do not own any hdb,but just managing a indo frd hdb,rental which split with me monthly)
    spike in rates and spike in ppty price and spike in rental should not force most people to do panic sell cos they can still hold. When u have this situation, we will see more new comers in this forum cos it maybe a time where people want to know how long will the spike carry on.

Smtimes if is so simple. I'm tempted at a unit of selling below valuation of 70k ,58k below transacted price. so how? haha

Can pm me which project? Very low intention to buy now. Kpo only. Hehe

interest rate moves in trend. So it is not a matter of months, but years.
    For those who like Fixed D, I use short tenure when it is going up. And switch to long tenure when it is going down.

rental rate will go along with influx of foreign employment. Will there be huge jump as compared to 2 years back where casino busy recruiting workers? I doubt.

Another indicator will be the economic growth, last yr was double digit. This year may not.

But if the government decides to increase population, that would be different.
    with 6 or 6.5m population working figure, pap govt will likely resume lax foreigner immigration after GE...

from 2001 to 2010, Spore's population increased by almost 23%
    of this increase, just 7% is from citizens, while PR jumped 75% and Non-residents increased 60%

today Spore's population is made up of:
    citizens = 63.64%
    PR = 10.6%
    non-residents = 25.71%

Default Insider Trading

Richard, can you also shortsell DBS? as in follow the big boys movement.
    I would be in jail if I did that. I was not allowed to trade any individual stock - unit trust was the only thing I could buy.

The manager next to me used wife's account to trade something. He was called by SGX for tea. The Company quietly fired him using other excuses.

The risk is simply too high.

I would be in jail if I did that. I was not allowed to trade any individual stock - unit trust was the only thing I could buy.

The manager next to me used wife's account to trade something. He was called by SGX for tea. The Company quietly fired him using other excuses.

The risk is simply too high.

Is it very stressful? To be able to know in advance, yet cannot anything about it....