Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Thread: North-South Expressway (Singapore)

Default North-South Expressway (Singapore)

Are you affected? How do find out if you are affected? How much will you be compensated?

LTA has not disclosed the land they are acquiring to construct the North-South Expressway but we do know some areas are affected. Namely, Toa Payoh Rise, Pemimpin Place, Sin Ming Ave, Ang Mo Kio Ave 8, Admiralty Road West, etc.

http://app.lta.gov.sg/corp_press_con...vaj49x050eqm5q
    http://www.lta.gov.sg/images/Annex%20A%20NSE.pdf

We do know that Marymount Terrace and Marymount Convent will be acquired from the news. (http://news.xin.msn.com/en/singapore...mentid=4587702)

I sense it's a precursor to mrt line...

Mrt line will affect more landed there

does garmen compensate fully based on evaluation price ?

looks like more owner has to look for condos soon

Market rate, got 2 yrs to move. Soak up some condo units. Not much but it helps.

Marymount Terrace and Peminpin Place

good timing, bishan new plot is coming up for them

Now tresalvo near expressway liao, bad bad... There's also risk for the other plots in between these 2 to be cleared.

Once the detail line is out, many condos along the line will be hit.
    Tresalvo not so bad already as this section is a tunnel, so only need to endure construction noise and inconvenience for 10 yrs
    Others like Northoaks, Seletaris and lentor arera are directly beside the open high way Will be noisy and inconvenient for the next 10 yrs, and noisy ever after

And the thomson section. That bunch of new condos by CDL at the junction will probably be affected too.

Location location.

Looking at the LTA map, NSE is going to be on Lentor Ave, Sembawang Road, Gambas Ave, Admirality Road West.

north areas ppty will rise.....just like sengkang/punggol HDBs become more popular after KPE operates.....time to hoot north? hmmm....probably north areas will be on my shortlisted areas during next cycle

some gain some lose....wat to do?

Default Guess-timation

Based on the rough sketch reported

http://www.straitstimes.com/Breaking...ry_625821.html

You can have your own independent valuation but SLA will conduct its own valuation. Who do you think it will follow at the end of the day?
    does garmen compensate fully based on evaluation price ?

looks like more owner has to look for condos soon

Developers can ask for high valuation for new home. Resale/subsale owners can ask for COV when selling. When gov acquires your land, you can only pray.

Canberra residences will now be just beside an expressway to city.

which area is "Marymount Convent"? since the school and kindergarten said they are staying put?

We do know that Marymount Terrace and Marymount Convent will be acquired from the news. (http://news.xin.msn.com/en/singapore...mentid=4587702)

which area is "Marymount Convent"? since the school and kindergarten said they are staying put?
    According to TODAYonline,

"... houses along Marymount Terrace, as well as several properties on the Marymount Convent site including the Orange Valley Nursing Home, the Good Shepherd Chapel and Rose Villa, will have to relocate.

However, Marymount Kindergarten and Marymount Convent School will remain where they are."

http://www.todayonline.com/Singapore...s-the-go-ahead

I feel sorry for those having to move because of North South Expressway. I know Marymount Terrace owners are pretty pissed off because they have endured construction for Circle line. Now that Circle line is completed, they are asked to move.

ic. thanks for the good info. so basically only all the 29 terraces along marymount terrace (are these freehold?) and those big plots at marymount convent (non residential) are affected.

i wonder which are the part lots but looks like those semi-ds along peminpin place with back facing marymount road maybe get part of their land bought back.

According to TODAYonline,

"... houses along Marymount Terrace, as well as several properties on the Marymount Convent site including the Orange Valley Nursing Home, the Good Shepherd Chapel and Rose Villa, will have to relocate.

However, Marymount Kindergarten and Marymount Convent School will remain where they are."

http://www.todayonline.com/Singapore...s-the-go-ahead

but that area is pretty weird. one gahmen project after another to endure. 10 years here, 10 years there with only a few years of peace in between.

I feel sorry for those having to move because of North South Expressway. I know Marymount Terrace owners are pretty pissed off because they have endured construction for Circle line. Now that Circle line is completed, they are asked to move.

well to look at this in perspective, in 2008 they already knew this plot of land will be used. so u cannot say they are not aware. lots of ppl around that area know abt this.

The real sorry ones are those along lentor, amk ave 6. now they have to live next to a highway. the noise will be unbearable. condo like castle green was already half dead. after this, it's confirmed dead. EC like Nuovo finally can sell after 5yrs, but with this, no way it's going to make much. Those who sold early is really lucky (I know someone who did last year)

any firesales coming??? hmm

Another problem with landed - easier to get acquired and ask to move.

ic. thanks for the good info. so basically only all the 29 terraces along marymount terrace (are these freehold?) and those big plots at marymount convent (non residential) are affected.

i wonder which are the part lots but looks like those semi-ds along peminpin place with back facing marymount road maybe get part of their land bought back.

u like Nuovo firesale ? just imagine the road on the left with the highway viaduct. the noise is going to be unbearable.

Yes, the terraces (the ones with the blue roofs) at Marymount Terrace are freehold. Tenure doesn't matter when the government wants your land.. haha

In addition, there is a plot of land at the junction, directly opposite the Marymount MRT/RJC too. It is freehold and held by Soon Lian, the same developer as the terraces, Tresalveo and Boonview. It was used to hold the Tresalveo showflat previously. Wonder if it's acquired as well? Was kinda looking forward to a condo there previously.

Guess it serves Soon Lian right for not developing its Ah Gong's legacy land earlier...

already main road + mrt track. now + expressway viaduct? maybe the noises will cancel each other off? LOL

u like Nuovo firesale ? just imagine the road on the left with the highway viaduct. the noise is going to be unbearable.

ya, i think gahmen sure makan that plot too. the real Ah gong show soon lian who is the ah gong hahaha. anyway soon lian designs their condos quite poorly. also considered waste of precious freehold land hee.

Quote Originally Posted by BV
    Yes, the terraces (the ones with the blue roofs) at Marymount Terrace are freehold. Tenure doesn't matter when the government wants your land.. haha

In addition, there is a plot of land at the junction, directly opposite the Marymount MRT/RJC too. It is freehold and held by Soon Lian, the same developer as the terraces, Tresalveo and Boonview. It was used to hold the Tresalveo showflat previously. Wonder if it's acquired as well? Was kinda looking forward to a condo there previously.

Guess it serves Soon Lian right for not developing its Ah Gong's legacy land earlier...

gotta agree with teddy on this.

Another problem with landed - easier to get acquired and ask to move.

ya, i think gahmen sure makan that plot too. the real Ah gong show soon lian who is the ah gong hahaha. anyway soon lian designs their condos quite poorly. also considered waste of precious freehold land hee.
    I agree about the design part haha.. But there aren't many pieces of freehold land that near an MRT station anymore. It's a pity.

Government did mention that after the NSE is completed, they may sell some of the land used during its construction as residential plots. But that's a long time away, and also it's definitely going to be 99LH.

http://business.asiaone.com/Business...-208511/2.html

at least one fella is publicly known to have bot a nuovo penthouse hee.

well to look at this in perspective, in 2008 they already knew this plot of land will be used. so u cannot say they are not aware. lots of ppl around that area know abt this.

The real sorry ones are those along lentor, amk ave 6. now they have to live next to a highway. the noise will be unbearable. condo like castle green was already half dead. after this, it's confirmed dead. EC like Nuovo finally can sell after 5yrs, but with this, no way it's going to make much. Those who sold early is really lucky (I know someone who did last year)