Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Telok kurau vs Tanah Merah

There is no perfect home. I think threadstarter's heart is with Telok Kurau and so most important is follow the heart when it comes to your home.

The only disadvantaged small-scale TK development (I won't call them "boutique") vs a medium size Tanamera one are as follows (if u still want some left brained analysis):-

1) Possible carpark problems - pls search for another thread discussing parking problems in TK. Many small development by small developers don't even bother to build basement carpark despite the lack of land (cost cutting), therefore parking is limited on the first floor with limited sheltered parking. So residents are always fighting for those popular sheltered lots. We're not talking about second car here - even first car have to fight for lots and your visitors will dread to come to your house because they have nowhere to park.

2) Cluttered environment - narrow lanes with numerous small developments that specialise in MM nowadays. Not sure what sort of crowd will rent all these inconvenient MMs not near MRT in the future. TK is in between 2 red light areas - Joo chiat and geylang.

3) No MRT - TK unlikely to be near future MRT station. And after chatting with a friend from LTA, while MRT station is not a must have today, it shall become increasingly important in the future.

Having said all of the above, u should just follow your heart.

Am trying to hint here that people have gotten away buy sell as many as 4 times in a year without being classified as trader...
    One for ownself, one for wife, one for son and one for daughter.

After that, sell as whole family decided to stay together.

Quote Originally Posted by Chillyred888
    Location Location Location...very near Mrt,further from city but LH is a better choice?

or future MRT (walk 10-15mins) yet nearer to city, yet FH....?
    if u have to walk more than 200m to the mrt station is considered quite far already,so a 10-15mins walk @ normal pace is definitely more than 200m..it will not be so ideal if its drizzling..
    condos that are truly considered near mrt are: meraprime,central green,metropolitan,queens,kovan melody,compass heights,trumps,astoria pk,icon,citylights,southbank,modena,optima of coz n few more which i cant remember..
    all those mentioned are more or less at the door steps of the mrt station...

Am trying to hint here that people have gotten away buy sell as many as 4 times in a year without being classified as trader...
    Ok, thanks

Quote Originally Posted by fiat500
    if u have to walk more than 200m to the mrt station is considered quite far already,so a 10-15mins walk @ normal pace is definitely more than 200m..it will not be so ideal if its drizzling..
    condos that are truly considered near mrt are: meraprime,central green,metropolitan,queens,kovan melody,compass heights,trumps,astoria pk,icon,citylights,southbank,modena,optima of coz n few more which i cant remember..
    10-15mins walk to MRT in S'pore weather is . In office wear somemore. I'm sure females will complain.

within 500m shd be fine for tenants(5-7min walk)....for own stay....up to individual liao....some die die wana doorstep nia....or better still...MRT just a lift away

Location Location Location...very near Mrt,further from city but LH is a better choice?

telok kurau Lor G,H 1/2bedder goodie as its within 5-7mins walk to MRT....Lor M,N 3/4 bedder goodie as its near to gd schools.

prefer TK over joo chiat area(unless those near to the new katong mall....but no MRT)

i prefer simei condos like DBR, modena compared to tanah merah.

Freehold near (future) MRT is best choice. Now is VERY rare but should have more coming up (but still rare).

It's going to be more rare.... there's only a fixed supply of FH land, and there are developers buying FH and selling as LH. Government can flood market with LH, but there's no control over FH.

within 500m shd be fine for tenants(5-7min walk)....for own stay....up to individual liao....some die die wana doorstep nia....or better still...MRT just a lift away
    On a daily basis, unless ive buses or what within 50m, max walk to mrt is 8mins, personal limit.

Hi Chilly,

if you prefer big units in TK and walking distance to Kembangan MRT, you might want to take a look at The Verte - smallest is 3 bedrooms on that project.

If not, there are others like The Treeline and The Azurro Lorong G and H

Quote Originally Posted by kellogs
    Hi Chilly,

if you prefer big units in TK and walking distance to Kembangan MRT, you might want to take a look at The Verte - smallest is 3 bedrooms on that project.

verte build very very slow hor....i drop by tat area recently and looks like still nid another 6-9mths to complete ....roxy damn slow....world class much much better.....
    verte is fully sold out, if i'm remember correctly. nevertheless, it's still quite a distance to walk to kembangan mrt

Long term - get FH

Short to mid term - get LH near MRT

Quote Originally Posted by kellogs
    Hi Chilly,

i've viewed almost all potential units in TK ,personally i prefer lor M or N.

Quote Originally Posted by Blue
    Long term - get FH

Short to mid term - get LH near MRT
    it is going to be my 1st home and just like any proud home owner, i certainly love to choose one that make my heart flutter

intend to stay there for as long as i can...

Hi Devil, Yea man ... it is damm long ... wondering what is wrong with them ... *sigh*

So which units have u narrowed down in M and N? Let us know so we can discuss with u the merits?

Still road side or Telok Kurau rd side? The TK rd side got abit more congestion during peak hours. Here got many D15/16 specialists will advice u

[quote=Chillyred888]i've viewed almost all potential units in TK ,personally i prefer lor M or N.[/quote
    1 of the project in lorong m is le merrit, lorong n is nclave,emprado suites or ambrosia..i m sure there are also a few other small projects around there.
    my advise is not to buy any of them at all.
    reason: no security guard,small swimming pool(more like a big bath tub),small gym,no underground carpark,high maintenance fees,not easily accessible to amenities,bad feng shui:sharp pointed roof tops n tv antennas pointing at your unit from your neighbour landed properties..

[quote=fiat500]
    i've viewed almost all potential units in TK ,personally i prefer lor M or N.[/quote
    1 of the project in lorong m is le merrit, lorong n is nclave,emprado suites or ambrosia..i m sure there are also a few other small projects around there.
    my advise is not to buy any of them at all.
    reason: no security guard,small swimming pool(more like a big bath tub),small gym,no underground carpark,high maintenance fees,not easily accessible to amenities,bad feng shui:sharp pointed roof tops n tv antennas pointing at your unit from your neighbour landed properties..
    I think Still road side 'feels' better. Telok Kurau side towards the Siglap Canal abit 'tight' feel. However the Park Connector is good for leisure walks?

I wunder wats the maintenance for those properties TS narrowed down.

Go for Lorong G, mark my words.

[quote=pod]

I think Still road side 'feels' better. Telok Kurau side towards the Siglap Canal abit 'tight' feel. However the Park Connector is good for leisure walks?

I wunder wats the maintenance for those properties TS narrowed down.
    no way, still road is a nightmare. the noise, the traffic, the jam......

does anyone here get the same feeling i get ...

that from katong thru the whole TK is a nightmare ?

cramp lorongs ... cars parked everywhere ... house, condo, house condo thru out the whole stretch ... ..

how abt condos further east in D16 ? the environment feels much better ...doesnt it ?

cramp lorongs ... cars parked everywhere ... house, condo, house condo thru out the whole stretch ... ..

how abt condos further east in D16 ? the environment feels much better ...doesnt it ?
    I tink the 'main' roads are still manageable. Its always the 'lorongs' that feels tight. (esp with illegal parking etc)

D16 also same la... always the smaller roads exit/leading to condos tight during peak hours. However I do admit that there's alot of hidden Gems in D16. ie older apartments.

Quote Originally Posted by pod
    I tink the 'main' roads are still manageable. Its always the 'lorongs' that feels tight. (esp with illegal parking etc)

D16 also same la... always the smaller roads exit/leading to condos tight during peak hours. However I do admit that there's alot of hidden Gems in D16. ie older apartments.
    even the so called 'expensive' part like Goodman road ... the roads are so narrow ....

driving along east coast road ... i feel so much better after siglap ... either the road too narrow ... or my car too big

its the road too narrow

even the so called 'expensive' part like Goodman road ... the roads are so narrow ....

driving along east coast road ... i feel so much better after siglap ... either the road too narrow ... or my car too big

its the road too narrow
    Goodman road - Ahh... yes... bungalow areas 's-t-r----etched' apart... nice place... u have a house here? I love this place!

Siglap ---- yeh.. i hate the kind of 'always alert' attention... cos roads are narrow with many exit/entry roads... (i used to stay Siglap when I was a boy)

East coast road feels better.... Agree!

the lorongs are always tight, be it D15 or D16. the tiny lanes are meant to serve only the residents and not illegal car-parking or for other ill-intended uses.

katong's still the same as 10-15 years ago to me.

its the road too narrow
    agree with you. goodman road, dunman road, etc are pretty narrow.

plus, you shouldn't drive your flashy 10wheeler limo all around town eh

actually i visited quite a number of landed estates....all the lanes r pretty narrow and always got cars double park leh....the lanes r impossible to sqeeuze thru 3 cars...so always goto give way and wait lor...or high beam each other ...LOL

which landed area got wide wide inner lanes tat allows 3 cars to pass thru??

actually i visited quite a number of landed estates....all the lanes r pretty narrow and always got cars double park leh....the lanes r impossible to sqeeuze thru 3 cars...so always goto give way and wait lor...or high beam each other ...LOL

which landed area got wide wide inner lanes tat allows 3 cars to pass thru??
    Devil bro i agree with you ... almost all landed areas in Singapore the lanes are narrow and there are illegal parking ...