Thread: Suburban homes in high demand

Default Suburban homes in high demand

http://www.todayonline.com/Business/...in-high-demand

Suburban homes in high demand

by Jo-Ann Huang Limin

05:55 AM Jan 21, 2011

SINGAPORE - Once living in the shadow of their inner-city and city fringe cousins, suburban residential properties are now stepping out on their own - with some of these properties located in more remote areas only accessible by feeder buses and light rail transit (LRT).

And property experts say such mass market homes remain in high demand from owner-occupiers, who are unscathed by the new round of cooling measures that target mainly speculators.

The Tennery, one of Far East Organization's newest properties, is a prime example of an outlying property hot in demand. According to Far East Organization, more than 90 per cent of the 338 units - 620 sq ft to 950 sq ft for one- and two bedroom units - have been sold.

Located at the crossroads of Woodlands Road and Bukit Panjang, The Tennery units sold at prices ranging from $1,118 to $1,317 per square foot (psf), according to December sales figures from the Urban Redevelopment Authority. The 16-storey property will be built above the Ten Mile Junction LRT station and the upcoming Junction 10 shopping mall.

A little over a year ago, a unit at another Far East Organization's property, Mi Casa in the Choa Chu Kang/Bukit Panjang area, transacted at a price of $692 psf in November 2009. Mi Casa's homes cater to families, with two- to four- bedroom units ranging from 990 sq ft to over 2,000 sq ft for the largest units.

Analysts say more home buyers and investors are looking at suburban properties, now that plans to revamp regional centres have been announced by both developers and the Government.

"Home buyers who are buying properties, especially those that are away from the city centre, are predominantly Singaporeans. Almost eight out of 10 of them will be Singaporeans. But we are also seeing an increasing number of foreigners - predominantly permanent residents - who are considering buying such properties, especially as Singapore increases its intake of immigrants," said Mr Nicholas Mak, research head at real estate consultancy SLP International.

And despite the new cooling measures, property developers are capitalising on the trend. For instance, CapitaLand is building a 24,902-sq-m mixed retail and residential property at Bedok Town Centre. The developer is also going ahead with plans to release the project's 500 units for sale this year, regardless of the new measures.

The property is located within a shopping catchment of 300,000 residents in the Bedok area, atop a new integrated bus and MRT interchange, and is a short walk from new and revamped family-friendly amenities.

Other suburban locations that may present property development opportunities is the Jurong Lake District - home to Jurong Gateway, Cleantech Park and a number of business and leisure destinations - as well as Seletar Hills, where The Greenwich retail and residential development was recently launched.

"Far-flung suburban properties tend to be more for owner occupation. If they are not very accessible to local transport, they tend to be less attractive to tenants. Therefore, investors would buy it only if they think there is good capital appreciation of some of these properties," said Mr Mak.

"Once the authorities have announced plans for a new MRT track or stations around the area, the owners of some of these properties would immediately increase their asking price," he added.

With the Government Land Sales programme set to release 10 sites on the confirmed list located near MRT stations this year, analysts expect new developments to break into these areas.

"Singapore has come a long way. In the past, if you had properties in places like Changi, it could take a long journey time of at least two hours to get to the city. But now, we have a good network of MRT and expressways in Singapore. And in that sense, some Singaporeans are looking at these properties in a better light," said Mr Colin Tan, head of research and consultancy at Chesterton Suntec International.

Investors who intend to ride on growing rentals can now look to suburban properties. As Singapore's population and economy grows, demand for rental properties in suburban areas will also be on the rise. Rentals grew by 27.5 per cent from November 2009 to November 2010.

Even buyers with deeper pockets are seeking out homes in suburban areas. Mid-tier developments such as Suites @ Eunos were sold at a median launch price of $1,339 psf, while The Lanai was sold at the latest price of $1,450 psf. Both properties are in the Outside Central Region, with Suites @ Eunos located at Jalan Yasin and The Lanai located near Hillview Avenue.

The sentiment for such homes will be affected by the new cooling measures but the effect will be short-lived, Mr Tan said.

"The market is just reeling from shock, but normal service will resume in a couple of weeks," he said.

Where's Teddy when you need the devil's advocate?

This article very funny lah (see what I highlight).
    - Suburbs properties (aka mass market properties) are always the bread and butter, making up >80% of the supply, the article read as though now got more people buying. Furthermore, mostly by Singaporeans anyway.

- ECP has been there for decades, still jam like shit. Changi now very smooth to city?

- Buyers of MM units in Suites @ Eunos called "deep pocket"? Suites@Eunos considered mid-tier developments?

Quote Originally Posted by mr funny
    http://www.todayonline.com/Business/...in-high-demand

Suburban homes in high demand

by Jo-Ann Huang Limin

05:55 AM Jan 21, 2011

SINGAPORE - Once living in the shadow of their inner-city and city fringe cousins, suburban residential properties are now stepping out on their own - with some of these properties located in more remote areas only accessible by feeder buses and light rail transit (LRT).

And property experts say such mass market homes remain in high demand from owner-occupiers, who are unscathed by the new round of cooling measures that target mainly speculators.

The Tennery, one of Far East Organization's newest properties, is a prime example of an outlying property hot in demand. According to Far East Organization, more than 90 per cent of the 338 units - 620 sq ft to 950 sq ft for one- and two bedroom units - have been sold.

Located at the crossroads of Woodlands Road and Bukit Panjang, The Tennery units sold at prices ranging from $1,118 to $1,317 per square foot (psf), according to December sales figures from the Urban Redevelopment Authority. The 16-storey property will be built above the Ten Mile Junction LRT station and the upcoming Junction 10 shopping mall.

A little over a year ago, a unit at another Far East Organization's property, Mi Casa in the Choa Chu Kang/Bukit Panjang area, transacted at a price of $692 psf in November 2009. Mi Casa's homes cater to families, with two- to four- bedroom units ranging from 990 sq ft to over 2,000 sq ft for the largest units.

Analysts say more home buyers and investors are looking at suburban properties, now that plans to revamp regional centres have been announced by both developers and the Government.

"Home buyers who are buying properties, especially those that are away from the city centre, are predominantly Singaporeans. Almost eight out of 10 of them will be Singaporeans. But we are also seeing an increasing number of foreigners - predominantly permanent residents - who are considering buying such properties, especially as Singapore increases its intake of immigrants," said Mr Nicholas Mak, research head at real estate consultancy SLP International.

And despite the new cooling measures, property developers are capitalising on the trend. For instance, CapitaLand is building a 24,902-sq-m mixed retail and residential property at Bedok Town Centre. The developer is also going ahead with plans to release the project's 500 units for sale this year, regardless of the new measures.

The property is located within a shopping catchment of 300,000 residents in the Bedok area, atop a new integrated bus and MRT interchange, and is a short walk from new and revamped family-friendly amenities.

Other suburban locations that may present property development opportunities is the Jurong Lake District - home to Jurong Gateway, Cleantech Park and a number of business and leisure destinations - as well as Seletar Hills, where The Greenwich retail and residential development was recently launched.

"Far-flung suburban properties tend to be more for owner occupation. If they are not very accessible to local transport, they tend to be less attractive to tenants. Therefore, investors would buy it only if they think there is good capital appreciation of some of these properties," said Mr Mak.

"Once the authorities have announced plans for a new MRT track or stations around the area, the owners of some of these properties would immediately increase their asking price," he added.

With the Government Land Sales programme set to release 10 sites on the confirmed list located near MRT stations this year, analysts expect new developments to break into these areas.

"Singapore has come a long way. In the past, if you had properties in places like Changi, it could take a long journey time of at least two hours to get to the city. But now, we have a good network of MRT and expressways in Singapore. And in that sense, some Singaporeans are looking at these properties in a better light," said Mr Colin Tan, head of research and consultancy at Chesterton Suntec International.

Investors who intend to ride on growing rentals can now look to suburban properties. As Singapore's population and economy grows, demand for rental properties in suburban areas will also be on the rise. Rentals grew by 27.5 per cent from November 2009 to November 2010.

Even buyers with deeper pockets are seeking out homes in suburban areas. Mid-tier developments such as Suites @ Eunos were sold at a median launch price of $1,339 psf, while The Lanai was sold at the latest price of $1,450 psf. Both properties are in the Outside Central Region, with Suites @ Eunos located at Jalan Yasin and The Lanai located near Hillview Avenue.

The sentiment for such homes will be affected by the new cooling measures but the effect will be short-lived, Mr Tan said.

"The market is just reeling from shock, but normal service will resume in a couple of weeks," he said.

I guess I have been vindicated by this article. haha, glad to have been right all along. wait a minute, did the reporter read my posts and stole some of my ideas?

Possible why not? they are a lot of readers from all walks of life extracting info from this forum,..you never know who are the ones reading maybe analysts, reporters, minsiters, MPS, developers., agents, buyers, owners etc etc...

People are right and you are wrong so you not happy? Anyway, we are ready to hear your whole load of crap in this thread, so you may start anytime

- Suburbs properties (aka mass market properties) are always the bread and butter, making up >80% of the supply, the article read as though now got more people buying. Furthermore, mostly by Singaporeans anyway.

- ECP has been there for decades, still jam like shit. Changi now very smooth to city?

- Buyers of MM units in Suites @ Eunos called "deep pocket"? Suites@Eunos considered mid-tier developments?

Why you not happy with my posting? Why not you reply how those transmission towers near Regent Heights are not health hazard free after my posting of the scientific study? Told you don't play a fool with my friend with PhD in radio waves. He can provide many more damning studies to support what he told me about the potential long-term health hazards from being near those transmission towers! Nevertheless, the one I post is good enough summary for all to see (as from US and from a strongly reputable university).
    I attach below for all to see in this thread:

----------------------------------------
    Environ. Rev. 18: 369–395 (2010) | doi:10.1139/A10-018 | Published by NRC Research Press / Publié par les Presses scientifiques du CNRC

ARTICLE
    Biological effects from exposure to electromagnetic radiation emitted by cell tower base stations and other antenna arrays

B. Blake Levitta and Henry Laib
    P.O. Box 2014, New Preston, CT 06777, USA. (e-mail: [email protected]).
    Department of Bioengineering, Box 355061, University of Washington, Seattle, WA 98195, USA.

Corresponding author: B.B. Levitt (e-mail: [email protected]).

Received 30 April 2010. Accepted 6 August 2010. Published on the NRC Research Press Web site at http://er.nrc.ca on 5 November 2010.

Abstract: The siting of cellular phone base stations and other cellular infrastructure such as roof-mounted antenna arrays, especially in residential neighborhoods, is a contentious subject in land-use regulation. Local resistance from nearby residents and landowners is often based on fears of adverse health effects despite reassurances from telecommunications service providers that international exposure standards will be followed.
    Both anecdotal reports and some epidemiology studies have found headaches, skin rashes, sleep disturbances, depression, decreased libido, increased rates of suicide, concentration problems, dizziness, memory changes, increased risk of cancer, tremors, and other neurophysiological effects in populations near base stations. The objective of this paper is to review the existing studies of people living or working near cellular infrastructure and other pertinent studies that could apply to long-term, low-level radiofrequency radiation (RFR) exposures. While specific epidemiological research in this area is sparse and contradictory, and such exposures are difficult to quantify given the increasing background levels of RFR from myriad personal consumer products, some research does exist to warrant caution in infrastructure siting. Further epidemiology research that takes total ambient RFR exposures into consideration is warranted. Symptoms reported today may be classic microwave sickness, first described in 1978. Nonionizing electromagnetic fields are among the fastest growing forms of environmental pollution. Some extrapolations can be made from research other than epidemiology regarding biological effects from exposures at levels far below current exposure guidelines.

People are right and you are wrong so you not happy? Anyway, we are ready to hear your whole load of crap in this thread, so you may start anytime

Why you not happy with my posting? Why not you reply how those transmission towers near Regent Heights are not health hazard free after my posting of the scientific study? Told you don't play a fool with my friend with PhD in radio waves. He can provide many more damning studies to support what he told me about the potential long-term health hazards from being near those transmission towers! Nevertheless, the one I post is good enough summary for all to see (as from US and from a strongly reputable university).

Environ. Rev. 18: 369–395 (2010) | doi:10.1139/A10-018 | Published by NRC Research Press / Publié par les Presses scientifiques du CNRC

ARTICLE
    Biological effects from exposure to electromagnetic radiation emitted by cell tower base stations and other antenna arrays

Department of Bioengineering, Box 355061, University of Washington, Seattle, WA 98195, USA.

Received 30 April 2010. Accepted 6 August 2010. Published on the NRC Research Press Web site at http://er.nrc.ca on 5 November 2010.

Abstract: The siting of cellular phone base stations and other cellular infrastructure such as roof-mounted antenna arrays, especially in residential neighborhoods, is a contentious subject in land-use regulation. Local resistance from nearby residents and landowners is often based on fears of adverse health effects despite reassurances from telecommunications service providers that international exposure standards will be followed.
    Both anecdotal reports and some epidemiology studies have found headaches, skin rashes, sleep disturbances, depression, decreased libido, increased rates of suicide, concentration problems, dizziness, memory changes, increased risk of cancer, tremors, and other neurophysiological effects in populations near base stations. The objective of this paper is to review the existing studies of people living or working near cellular infrastructure and other pertinent studies that could apply to long-term, low-level radiofrequency radiation (RFR) exposures. While specific epidemiological research in this area is sparse and contradictory, and such exposures are difficult to quantify given the increasing background levels of RFR from myriad personal consumer products, some research does exist to warrant caution in infrastructure siting. Further epidemiology research that takes total ambient RFR exposures into consideration is warranted. Symptoms reported today may be classic microwave sickness, first described in 1978. Nonionizing electromagnetic fields are among the fastest growing forms of environmental pollution. Some extrapolations can be made from research other than epidemiology regarding biological effects from exposures at levels far below current exposure guidelines.

Hey Teddy it's good enuff you oppose the analyst but don't digress please - keep the fight to where it belongs, not every thread. You are not Agent Smith you know

Alamak, not again for teddy & regulators. Round what now?

Strip away all the fluff and noise and what theme runs in the high psf 'success stories'?

MM near or beside/above MRT.

Regardless of district and locality.

People have this idea that mrt never jams and no accident nor affected by rain or shine or storm.

I think we should just let Teddybear and his 2-3 friends (the "CCR fanatics") win lah. Or else it is never ending.

1) Regulator and Stalingrad revealed their purchases
    2) Ever since then, their projects have been attacked left right center by the CCR fanatics - even in threads that are completely irrelevant. I am still very amused why every thread must criticise and put down Regent Hts and Carabelle - it's getting tiring.

I gather the only way to stop the non-stop attacking is to just ignore them and let them win. These guys have not revealed their investments (other than keep emphasising they are the "elites" who live in "Orchard Road" or "Farrer Road") and seriously, it doesn't matter, just ignore them and don't respond to their non-stop attack of your investments. And if they think "Orchard Road" and "Farrer Road" has the most beautiful scenary and the most high class and everyone else loses money, let it be. Just don't respond. So Regulator and Stalingrad, just ignore those guys. Please.

Alamak, not again for teddy & regulators. Round what now?

You stupid bird, you no brain is it? Even nobrain3027 got much more brain substance than you despite his name!
    Regulator that no-moral that can turn around 180 degrees saying bad about Regent Heights suddenly become super good?
    Stalingrad said his Carabelle has homogeneous tiles of super high quality even better than marbles & all other West Coast properties are super low quality!

I think we should just let Teddybear and his 2-3 friends (the "CCR fanatics") win lah. Or else it is never ending.

1) Regulator and Stalingrad revealed their purchases
    2) Ever since then, their projects have been attacked left right center by the CCR fanatics - even in threads that are completely irrelevant. I am still very amused why every thread must criticise and put down Regent Hts and Carabelle - it's getting tiring.

I gather the only way to stop the non-stop attacking is to just ignore them and let them win. These guys have not revealed their investments (other than keep emphasising they are the "elites" who live in "Orchard Road" or "Farrer Road") and seriously, it doesn't matter, just ignore them and don't respond to their non-stop attack of your investments. And if they think "Orchard Road" and "Farrer Road" has the most beautiful scenary and the most high class and everyone else loses money, let it be. Just don't respond. So Regulator and Stalingrad, just ignore those guys. Please.

Quote Originally Posted by melody
    Stalingrad said his Carabelle has homogeneous tiles of super high quality even better than marbles & all other West Coast properties are super low quality!
    carabelle dun hf marble floor??? i rmb reading stalingrad boasting he having marble flr tiles wor,....

He said his Crabelle flooring super good quality but Ai yoh, mass market properties sure homo in kitchen & bathrooms mah. So I think he mean his homo can polish & shine like new one many times just like marbles & granites.

carabelle dun hf marble floor??? i rmb reading stalingrad boasting he having marble flr tiles wor,....

Whatever is being said and fought, the point of this thread is that suburban homes are in demand lah

The part about Singapore developing regional centres contributes to this sentiment, unlike other countries with only one concentrated CCR or CBD which cause massive price differentiation

Regional centers is something new mah? Last time they try to develop jurong east, west, paya lebar etc all end up kana sai lei.

Whatever is being said and fought, the point of this thread is that suburban homes are in demand lah

The part about Singapore developing regional centres contributes to this sentiment, unlike other countries with only one concentrated CCR or CBD which cause massive price differentiation

schizo, don't you get tired switching from teddy to melody?

Quote Originally Posted by melody
    You stupid bird, you no brain is it? Even nobrain3027 got much more brain substance than you despite his name!
    Regulator that no-moral that can turn around 180 degrees saying bad about Regent Heights suddenly become super good?

I am surprised you havent committed suicide yet after exposing yourself to radiowaves every day. Tell us when you want to jump off the ledge so we can all go and send you off

ARTICLE

Regional centres is the way forward. Compare the business in Orchard Central and Nex Mall / Jurong Point and you see the huge potential of the heartlands for both commercial and residential development.

This forum is getting boring, seriously. Can we post related posts and not personal attacks??