Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Thread: where do you stay and WHY?

East have VJC...
    VJC good meh......

http://channeleducation.com.sg/Junio...ge-Ranking.php

East is very attractive, particularly the stretch where the beach is. Huge potential for further development into something nicer. Best is if the property is near shopping malls or town centres, cinema, famous eateries and good schools. Since it is already near to downtown, it will be incredibly attractive to stay there next time if MRT really develops.

Quote Originally Posted by reuters
    East is very attractive, particularly the stretch where the beach is. Huge potential for further development into something nicer. Best is if the property is near shopping malls or town centres, cinema, famous eateries and good schools. Since it is already near to downtown, it will be incredibly attractive to stay there next time if MRT really develops.
    Ya, this is the only decent beach on our mainland...rest not really fit for swimming

east coast beach is filthy like shit. i have not been to any singapore beach in ages, only time i go swimming at the beach is when i go places like langkawi, penang or bali.

Ya, this is the only decent beach on our mainland...rest not really fit for swimming

what do you think of the beaches at sentosa? i was there last weekend, felt that the water stinks.

nothing beats St John's Island maybe sisters' island!

east coast beach is filthy like shit. i have not been to any singapore beach in ages, only time i go swimming at the beach is when i go places like langkawi, penang or bali.
    What to do, on mainland, to many east coast is the only beach we know. Some time ago, they checked and tested water quality at Pasir Ris beach and found that water quality there still unfit for swimming....

http://wildsingaporenews.blogspot.co...pasir-ris.html

It depends on what sort of unit he owns at The Seaview.
    If low floor, facing MP road or the circle....then it is terrible
    Will those units be considered as lifestyle weekend homes then?

I grew up in the East and been here for decades and I loved it.
    Beach, food, a very good Expressway.

But with all this comes heavy building density, crowds and traffic-jams and higher ERP cost (though not as bad as CTE).

So to each his own but now if you want the 'original old' East Coast rustic feel you will need to go further East to Changi North or Changi Village.

The East (Katong/Siglap Village) now is the 'old' Central (Newton/Holland V). Cars, crowds and jams with the bistros, cafes and restaurants displacing the mee-pok man.

nothing beats St John's Island maybe sisters' island!
    The beach at St John island used to have crystal clear waters....until a few years ago when they started reclaiming Lazarus island and join it with St john...the waters around the area became murky like the rest of Singapore ....

i dare not swim in the sea anymore, if you read about the jellyfish invasion in japan very frightening. kenna stung by a box jellyfish, get ready to make the coffin your bed liao

What to do, on mainland, to many east coast is the only beach we know. Some time ago, they checked and tested water quality at Pasir Ris beach and found that water quality there still unfit for swimming....

http://wildsingaporenews.blogspot.co...pasir-ris.html

i dare not swim in the sea anymore, if you read about the jellyfish invasion in japan very frightening. kenna stung by a box jellyfish, get ready to make the coffin your bed liao
    Amazing Giant Jellyfish invasion 2010

This is a crazy picture Yomiuri Shimbun shows a diving pool in the herd of giant jellyfish. These spots giant sea, known as Echizen kurage (Nomura is a jellyfish), causing severe damage, the Japanese fishing in the Sea of Japan each year. attack this year seems to be booming.

The beach at St John island used to have crystal clear waters....until a few years ago when they started reclaiming Lazarus island and join it with St john...the waters around the area became murky like the rest of Singapore ....
    Wow really? My last visit was 20 years back. What about Sister's island?

Staying in the East. Reason being: my kid's primary school is in the east.

Great place to be frank. Very accessible.

the east go no good JCs right?

Hwa Chong and Raffles is both in central north+west.
    having good schools is one..
    whether one's offsprings are good enuff to enter is another..

Quote Originally Posted by romeo
    having good schools is one..
    whether one's offsprings are good enuff to enter is another..
    actually VJC is quite lousy lah. My time where got hear of VJC.....

JC is either only hwachong or Raffles. the rest the standard is very different.

Hey... don't say bad things about my ex-school....

Besides, which other JC is beside the sea....

My time where got Hwa Chong JC & Raffles JC? Think Standard all same same lah.