Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Thread: [HDB News]PAP Desmond Choo:'I understand how the poor feel'.He stayed in 4-room flat

Such case happen everyday everywhere. every country has poor people and a country cannot and not possible to go and check on every street to hunt them and give help. if there is any needy person and if they open their mouth and ask for help do u think govt or anyone will not give a helping hand? there is no one policy that can tackle all issue. those people who keep complaining about govt not doing a good job by not taking care of this and that. why don these HERO come out with SOLUTION!!! u complain and complain and complain until u die also no use. is either u stand out and shout or shut up and carry on yr life. don be a hero wearing skirt and hide behind the computer. (wenqing this is for u, hopeless man)

this is a familiar refrain from the pap and its supporters. However such thinking is flawed.

It shows that u are another person who has been deceived by the rhetoric of the pap govt over the years. What they have tricked you into believing is that a person has no right to criticise the govt - no right even to speak the truth, about the government - if that person does not offer constructive suggestions.

This is nonsense. If you get bad services from a doctor, you have the right to criticize him. If you get bad services in a restaurant, you have the right to criticize. If you get bad services from a property agent, an insurance agent, and so on, u have the right to criticize.

It is NOT your job to teach the doctor how to be a good doctor. It is NOT your job to teach the airline how to be a good airline. It is THEIR job to figure that out.

So it is with the govt.

Unfortunately, you don't think that way. Because you've been tricked.

everybody complain once in a while....but dun overdo it until it irritates others

this is a familiar refrain from the pap and its supporters. However such thinking is flawed.

It shows that u are another person who has been deceived by the rhetoric of the pap govt over the years. What they have tricked you into believing is that a person has no right to criticise the govt - no right even to speak the truth, about the government - if that person does not offer constructive suggestions.

This is nonsense. If you get bad services from a doctor, you have the right to criticize him. If you get bad services in a restaurant, you have the right to criticize. If you get bad services from a property agent, an insurance agent, and so on, u have the right to criticize.

It is NOT your job to teach the doctor how to be a good doctor. It is NOT your job to teach the airline how to be a good airline. It is THEIR job to figure that out.

So it is with the govt.

Unfortunately, you don't think that way. Because you've been tricked.

precisely is their job to do the job well. so if a commoner who is not an expertise in this field. what make the person think that govt is not doing a good job. he made such statement when he see ppl struggling to fight inflation. if he can come out with solution to tackle inflation then voice out but if he cannot offer any solution becos he does not have sych knowledge what make him say that govt is not doing a good job. i do not side any party, i vote for result that i can see and so far i think we are doing good. this is not complacent. i vote with my eye open. looking at the opposition calibre, is a NO.

everybody complain once in a while....but dun overdo it until it irritates others
    Agreed. PAP does good things too.

However, vote for the one that offer good service.
    It would be bad when you continue to believe someone even when this someone produce shit, tell you it's a rose and it smell like rose.

过渡的相信就变成迷信

precisely is their job to do the job well. so if a commoner who is not an expertise in this field. what make the person think that govt is not doing a good job. he made such statement when he see ppl struggling to fight inflation. if he can come out with solution to tackle inflation then voice out but if he cannot offer any solution becos he does not have sych knowledge what make him say that govt is not doing a good job. i do not side any party, i vote for result that i can see and so far i think we are doing good. this is not complacent. i vote with my eye open. looking at the opposition calibre, is a NO.
    I fully agreed with you that WQ is probably abot enthu into the issues.
    We should deal with the matter and not personal.

However, the issue here is not about How enthu he is...
    Imagine this, you are a dog. You master give you a nice kennel, feed you well, the only thing he ask for is: dun't try to funny with him and he have to follow everything he asks you too else you cannot get your treats.

Do you want this?

you are going around in a loop. Just continue to be deceived.

anyway the joke is on this Desmond candidate whether you like it or not or however hard you try to defend him. 4-room HDB is poor, wow... hehehehe

The old uncle can work as cleaner be it in HDB or Kopitiam but, unfortunately, those cleaner jobs were mostly taken up by FT if you observe carefully. I dun't mind more FT to come if everyone in SG is well taken care and their interests are protected before all else.

The issue here is not to argue whether this old man deserve to get caught but what happened to him may also happened to us too.
    I feel very sad for him too!! Im sorry this has to happen to anyone but at least Im clear now on who Im going to vote for this time. Wonder will I be like him when Im old and all the FT takes away me and my children's jobs and HDB are at sky rocket prices.

Heard that this person is h*o lia* ...... hmmmmm

Maybe the problem lies with yourself.

You cannot handle the truth the party you supported had slide from a once people's government to a self-serving greedy government.

Some video for you.

You Can't Handle The Truth

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8hGvQtumNAY

Of course a government has to do well for the country, you expect a government to do badly? With 40% of parliament occupied by opposition, the government will do even better for the people coz there are more safeguards for people's rights. i for one would want to see medical fees going down and greater medical subsidies given to the people. With our current government in power, it is very difficult to achieve that. Ask yourself what has the government done to the medical services in our country, making singapore a world class medical hub but so many people would rather die than see a doctor for long term treatment of terminal illnesses. Every visit to a specialist can cost up to $200 just for consultation and those having to do kidney dialysis having to pay thousands a month and chemotherapy costing thousands per session. What about all those scans and lab tests costing hundreds of dollars each time. Not everybody can afford insurance and medisave is heavily restricted even though it is people's own money. We are not a welfare state, but if you have relatives who have sought medical treatment, can you say that the bills are reasonable? My relatives would rather go to places like Ipoh for quality medical treatment at half the cost than do it in Singapore. I sometimes feel that being a foreigner PR in Singapore is no different from being a Singaporean and many PRs are laughing at us coz our govt is treating them almost on par as citizens. Just ask yourself how much better off are we compared to PR foreigners who can simply walk out of our country anytime after our country has lost its use to them. Our government is opening doors to any tom dick or harry into our country, just walk around and you can see it for yourself. How many of those foreign PRs you see around you are top grade people? We are getting remnants of those foreigners who are unable to make it to United States.

Regulator, I think we have wronged health minister lah. I think his pay is not that much as claimed by many.

Read from news report that his heart bypassed only costs him $8 only.

Not forgetting that he is the one pushing for mean imcome testing for medical bills payment. Since he pay only $8 for such an expensive operation, I think most Singaporeans can enjoy free medical service.

Not sure how it work out to $8 and if that is really true and everyone get to benefit from his effort, I think that's a excellent effort from him. He is my man.

I have not wronged him in any way, just look at the cost of specialist consultations and all the treatment costs and you understand. How can a heart bypass surgery be $8 for all singaporeans? That is impossible. Such surgery cost tens of thousands. Kidney dialysis even at a subsidised rate costs thousands a month and for those having cancer, chemotherapy is two to three thousand dollars per session. Even if we can use medisave, it is still using our own money. I had an elderly relative that committed suicide, complaining before she died that medical expenses were too high in singapore. When she was alive, she had to pay 70-80 just to consult a doctor even though she was unable to work and draw an income. What has the government done for her, all medical expenses were paid by my other relatives. Mps pay themselves millions in salaries without sparing a thought for these people. our govt also keep telling people to work past retirement age but have they thought that some people have to use physical labour to earn that measly few hundred dollars a month and do not get to sit in comfortable offices like Nathan. there is no way other singaporeans get to pay that little for such a major op.
    Regulator, I think we have wronged health minister lah. I think his pay is not that much as claimed by many.

Read from news report that his heart bypassed only costs him $8 only.

Not forgetting that he is the one pushing for mean imcome testing for medical bills payment. Since he pay only $8 for such an expensive operation, I think most Singaporeans can enjoy free medical service.

Not sure how it work out to $8 and if that is really true and everyone get to benefit from his effort, I think that's a excellent effort from him. He is my man.

I have not wronged him in any way, just look at the cost of specialist consultations and all the treatment costs and you understand. How can a heart bypass surgery be $8 for all singaporeans? That is impossible. Such surgery cost tens of thousands. Kidney dialysis even at a subsidised rate costs thousands a month and for those having cancer, chemotherapy is two to three thousand dollars per session. Even if we can use medisave, it is still using our own money. I had an elderly relative that committed suicide, complaining before she died that medical expenses were too high in singapore. When she was alive, she had to pay 70-80 just to consult a doctor even though she was unable to work and draw an income. What has the government done for her, all medical expenses were paid by my other relatives. Mps pay themselves millions in salaries without sparing a thought for these people. our govt also keep telling people to work past retirement age but have they thought that some people have to use physical labour to earn that measly few hundred dollars a month and do not get to sit in comfortable offices like Nathan. there is no way other singaporeans get to pay that little for such a major op.
    Bro, check this out for the $8 bill.

http://news.asiaone.com/News/Latest+...27-244334.html

What if the elderly has no insurance at all?
    Bro, check this out for the $8 bill.

http://news.asiaone.com/News/Latest+...27-244334.html

is it just me or that almost every thread has become a hate thread for people to lash out at each other?!?

alamak, can we get into the discussion w/o hurling abuses at each other?

anyway, my heart goes out to the ah pek..

i think its possible to achieve $8 for bypass.. but not possible for all sgporeans, definitely not possible for lower income group

$8 is becoz of his private medical insurance.. top class no less

but many poor blokes have no means to buy insurance..
    n their job may not contribute to cpf, thus no medisave or medi shield..

i hate it when mps use themselves as unrealistic examples for the man on the street.. it just doesn't add up.. haiz

Westman, you have the following statement in your footnote:
    以上言论不代表本人立场,如有雷同,纯属玩笑兼巧合。读了不爽,请多多包涵。

If the stuffs that you have posted is not your position or your opinion, May I know whose position and position then? If it is just really for fun, should I take your postings very lightly ?

Westman, you have the following statement in your footnote:
    以上言论不代表本人立场,如有雷同,纯属玩笑兼巧合。读了不爽,请多多包涵。

If the stuffs that you have posted is not your position or your opinion, May I know whose position and position then? If it is just really for fun, should I take your postings very lightly ?
    The signature is for fun, can bor?

On national matter, we have to take it very seriously as the matter will affect our future generation. I can be nasty.

BTW, if it make no sense to you. please skip my posts...

Quote Originally Posted by romeo
    i think its possible to achieve $8 for bypass.. but not possible for all sgporeans, definitely not possible for lower income group

$8 is becoz of his private medical insurance.. top class no less

but many poor blokes have no means to buy insurance..
    n their job may not contribute to cpf, thus no medisave or medi shield..

i hate it when mps use themselves as unrealistic examples for the man on the street.. it just doesn't add up.. haiz
    Exactly!
    The poor has difficulty to even feed themself and how do you expect them to buy insurance.

If this MP can use medishield alone and just pay $8 for bypass.
    I will follow him to hell and do whatever thing he want me to do! I mean it.

is it just me or that almost every thread has become a hate thread for people to lash out at each other?!?

alamak, can we get into the discussion w/o hurling abuses at each other?

anyway, my heart goes out to the ah pek..
    I actually don't mind to work till 65 as proposed by garment. Stay at home also very boring.

However, I am concern whether there is job for me expecially those low wages job has been taken away by foregin talents.

The ah-pek inccident is the early sympton of what to expect for our future. We have tumor growing now w and if we don't go for chemo now of soon, sure die!

To b fair, we dont noe the past n the personality of this ah pek....

So morale of the story.... Save for rainy days n buy some medical insurance

However, the poor is really getting poorer.... For eg. Cleaner wage stays almost the same for the past decade

scary to know low income stagnant for the past decade n inflation shooting up like nobody business n rich get richer n richer..

in future, many of these 'ah peks' on the streets..

are the mps committed to closing the income gap? they seem to say one thing but do another leh.. they increase their own salary by leaps n bounds, so they are WIDENING the income gap themselves!!! -__-"
    never walk the talk leh..

scary to know low income stagnant for the past decade n inflation shooting up like nobody business n rich get richer n richer..

in future, many of these 'ah peks' on the streets..

are the mps committed to closing the income gap? they seem to say one thing but do another leh.. they increase their own salary by leaps n bounds, so they are WIDENING the income gap themselves!!! -__-"
    never walk the talk leh..
    I tink smbody wana intro min wage rite.... But den they say cleaning coy may cut the head count instead..... Duno wor....

I actually don't mind to work till 65 as proposed by garment. Stay at home also very boring.

However, I am concern whether there is job for me expecially those low wages job has been taken away by foregin talents.

The ah-pek inccident is the early sympton of what to expect for our future. We have tumor growing now w and if we don't go for chemo now of soon, sure die!
    Bro, are you sure you have your facts right. It is Singaporeans who don't want the low wage jobs that foreign workers are taking over.

If you run a business especially food business, you'll know that it is very hard to hire Singaporean wait staff or cleaning staff. And labour law lesgislation does not allow you to hire all foreign workers. You need to fulfill a Singapore staff quota. Meeting this Singaporean staff requirement in the low wage segment is in fact very challenging.

I hope it is just that you are ignorant because most of what you are writing is more for stirring shit than having any substance.

Please learn more by mixing around and talking to real people and real issues. You are just criticising for the sake of criticising.

Bro, are you sure you have your facts right. It is Singaporeans who don't want the low wage jobs that foreign workers are taking over.

If you run a business especially food business, you'll know that it is very hard to hire Singaporean wait staff or cleaning staff. And labour law lesgislation does not allow you to hire all foreign workers. You need to fulfill a Singapore staff quota. Meeting this Singaporean staff requirement in the low wage segment is in fact very challenging.

I hope it is just that you are ignorant because most of what you are writing is more for stirring shit than having any substance.

Please learn more by mixing around and talking to real people and real issues. You are just criticising for the sake of criticising.
    You are half right.

There is alot of white-collar jobs taken up by foreigners too from 3rd World nations.

Some are supervisory positions from India, China, SEA etc and they tend to recruit their own kind.

They are in IT, accountancy, law, medicine, executives etc.

We are not just importing foreigners for blue-collar jobs.

Most food courts these days I see are senior citizens Singaporeans clearing tables.

Most hawkers, MRT drivers and taxi drivers remain Singaporeans and that is alot of them.

Cannot say the same about Bus drivers.

Most rag-and-bone men who collects old newspapers remain Singaporeans.

Most mobile ice-cream sellers remains Singaporeans.

Not all Singaporeans shun blue collar jobs.