Thread: Mah Bow Tan- Curb your Enthusiasm

Default Mah Bow Tan- Curb your Enthusiasm

These are quotations from MBT interview with ST.

"33,000 is hell of a lot of unsold flats. There is a risk, there's no doubt about it. That's why we have to be careful and the market must take this into account...."

"Unfortunately, sometimes people don't realise it. They get caught up in the excitement of the market. They hear friends making a lot of money and they also want to jump in and I think that's the problem with the property market."

"So when you buy and you hope to sell after your four year period is over, don't forget that by that time there may be a lot more people trying to do the same. If your interest rates start to go up, then what do you do?"

"That argument that we should do nothing because it is a private market is quite flawed one because there's no such things as a totally free market."

Quote Originally Posted by avo7007
    These are quotations from MBT interview with ST.

"33,000 is hell of a lot of unsold flats. There is a risk, there's no doubt about it. That's why we have to be careful and the market must take this into account...."

"Unfortunately, sometimes people don't realise it. They get caught up in the excitement of the market. They hear friends making a lot of money and they also want to jump in and I think that's the problem with the property market."

"So when you buy and you hope to sell after your four year period is over, don't forget that by that time there may be a lot more people trying to do the same. If your interest rates start to go up, then what do you do?"

"That argument that we should do nothing because it is a private market is quite flawed one because there's no such things as a totally free market."

i also hear alot of people joining in the new PAP ... making crap loads of money

should we all jump in too ???

i also hear alot of people joining in the new PAP ... making crap loads of money

omg....pls dun help to spread politics in this forum...

no more "ignore ignore ignore ignore?"

I think MBT need to neutralise what LKY said "your property value will NEVER go down".

Jump in now too late liao. The wave is over I think. Missed da boat liao.

Damn ...............

those who have gotten hold of MBT's book ...

is it a small pocket size one ??? in line with the man himself ?

no more "ignore ignore ignore ignore?"
    i love this forum until somebody starts to spread political virus!!!

cannot ignore liao!!!

anyway u decided to get another MM instead of HDB last yr bcoz nid to sell all pte ppty away?....

may not be with inflation hitting 5% this month...

dun tink any1 buy HDB as a hedge rite? got MOP 5yrs leh....cannot rent out immed...

MBT is trying hard to shift all the housing mess blame to Singaporeans.

Speculators and Investors are not majority property buyers as mentioned by property experts.

This is why 4 cooling measures did not work.

No matter how government deflect blame to Singaporeans for housing, transportation, floods etc.,

MBT should bear responsibility for this housing roller coaster rides these past 5 years.

poor planning, inadequate needs analysis, slow preventive and pro-active measures.

all business are like that. whether hawker centre or million dollar business. the boss must always look forward, think ahead and recourse quickly.

so, has hdb stand up to its capability? any business can blame external factors and nothing wrong with the company.

Quote Originally Posted by wt_know
    poor planning, inadequate needs analysis, slow preventive and pro-active measures.

all business are like that. whether hawker centre or million dollar business. the boss must always look forward, think ahead and recourse quickly.

so, has hdb stand up to its capability? any business can blame external factors and nothing wrong with the company.
    errr...if you consider HDB to be a business, then isn't it doing well as a business? No excess inventories as in no overbuilding. So no/little holding costs etc.

Quote Originally Posted by wenqing
    MBT is trying hard to shift all the housing mess blame to Singaporeans.

Speculators and Investors are not majority property buyers as mentioned by property experts.

This is why 4 cooling measures did not work.

No matter how government deflect blame to Singaporeans for housing, transportation, floods etc.,

MBT should bear responsibility for this housing roller coaster rides these past 5 years.
    Wenqing u missed the boat? u need to know 85% of the population on the boat is happy cos their property hyper appreciate. Only a small % population whom is not on the boat now buay song u know.....

Although siting on a few hundred k paper profit on a HDB, many pple still cant help but feel shiok.

The 4th measure didnt work? may i ask if u are buying a 3rd or 4th property or in the process of buying now? or u havnt get your first? if havnt get another one is confirm the measures are working liao.

MBT in on a pricky situation, 85% of pple make $$$ but pple still buay song him. Maybe when pple order chicken satay, he deliver pork and he try all means why he didnt give u chicken satay. If only he quickly go make some more satay instead of trying to justify why is satay are more expensive while he is bbqing them.

Wenqing, dont worry, just get on a smaller boat. U can wait for the next one but it will be funny when u wait till cannot wait then end up on pirate boat.

Wenqing u missed the boat? u need to know 85% of the population on the boat is happy cos their property hyper appreciate. Only a small % population whom is not on the boat now buay song u know.....

Although siting on a few hundred k paper profit on a HDB, many pple still cant help but feel shiok.

The 4th measure didnt work? may i ask if u are buying a 3rd or 4th property or in the process of buying now? or u havnt get your first? if havnt get another one is confirm the measures are working liao.

MBT in on a pricky situation, 85% of pple make $$$ but pple still buay song him. Maybe when pple order chicken satay, he deliver pork and he try all means why he didnt give u chicken satay. If only he quickly go make some more satay instead of trying to justify why is satay are more expensive while he is bbqing them.

Wenqing, dont worry, just get on a smaller boat. U can wait for the next one but it will be funny when u wait till cannot wait then end up on pirate boat.
    Your satay so cheeeeem

Catch no sotong ball.

Like you say,everything on paper only.

Sell high, buy high, don't see how people can gain.

nobody should time market with the roof over the head.

U need to know alot of pple here are benefiting from the ran up as they own multiple properties and are siting on fat paper gain n collecting good rental yield based on the relatively cheaper price they entered.

wanna benefit from the game, i think need 2 properties to be in the game. So point only applies to pple whom are not in the game yet. i personally know someone whom sold 1 property in 2008 and put it into 2 CCR properties in 2009. Now sitting on easily another 1m paper gain just over 2 years.

High price no use? Yup it applies to those not in the game. Pple like regulator are laughing all the way to the bank. Maybe they dont bother to explain to u only.

and 1 more thing, if u dont start with the first one.... u forever will be thinking high price so what, dont know how it can benefit me. The only difference is that, 30 years down the road, u will be thinking.... i should have bought that unit 1 aim 30 years ago. Good luck hunting

Can we own more than 1 HDB?
    Can we flip HDB like no business?
    Flat price high got use meh?

Your logic are almost similar to Mr Lim from NTUC. Apparently, every now and then when he read his CPF statement, he feel very rich and the money don't run away.

Dun't believe? watch this :http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ao-DG...eature=related

Can we own more than 1 HDB?
    Can we flip HDB like no business?
    Flat price high got use meh?

Your logic are almost similar to Mr Lim from NTUC. Apparently, every now and then when he read his CPF statement, he feel very rich and the money don't run away.

Dun't believe? watch this :http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ao-DG...eature=related
    HDB buy to stay ba...... got 5 yr MOP how to flip? Can only own 1 beause its for u to stay one. flat high price is good if you are owner, no good if u dont have one. In the first place HDB is meant to be a home for Singaporeans. Its not meant to be flip and speculate.

if its not meant to be speculated then y are u upset whether its high price or not. U are only renting to stay in only, what difference if MBT sell u expensive or cheap. Cheap u will say buy bo huay, negative equity. Expensive u say sell high , buy higher. nothing will please u anyway.

I m just saying if wanna benefit from property cycles , need to have a 2nd property to buy low n sell high or buy high to sell higher.

well, i prefer to be on paper gain then paper lost. frankly if one is saying HDB is very expensive and condo even more ex.... then y make yourself unhappy, see pple rich cannot sleep. be contended and live with one's means lor.

Too bad i dont have any $$$ in CPF cos i dont contribute to it , if not i would like to feel how mr lim feel when he look at it.

At 60% LTV and 16% SSD, i think the buyers are cool and rational and there should be no more enthusiasm.

there is definitely no more enthusiasm in the market now.

just a lot of rich folks waiting for prices to drop and enter the market again.

also a lot of poor people who needs to start a family and find themselves priced out of condos, resale hdb and only realistic option is to postone everything for 4 years and wait for first hand HDB.

HDB buy to stay ba...... got 5 yr MOP how to flip? Can only own 1 beause its for u to stay one. flat high price is good if you are owner, no good if u dont have one. In the first place HDB is meant to be a home for Singaporeans. Its not meant to be flip and speculate.

if its not meant to be speculated then y are u upset whether its high price or not. U are only renting to stay in only, what difference if MBT sell u expensive or cheap. Cheap u will say buy bo huay, negative equity. Expensive u say sell high , buy higher. nothing will please u anyway.

I m just saying if wanna benefit from property cycles , need to have a 2nd property to buy low n sell high or buy high to sell higher.

well, i prefer to be on paper gain then paper lost. frankly if one is saying HDB is very expensive and condo even more ex.... then y make yourself unhappy, see pple rich cannot sleep. be contended and live with one's means lor.

Too bad i dont have any $$$ in CPF cos i dont contribute to it , if not i would like to feel how mr lim feel when he look at it.
    Since it's for staying.. then high $$ got use meh?
    As a matter of fact, this will push up price further for our children to bear.
    If you look at it from the other angle, it's more like a ponzi scheme leh... the bomb will explore some day. Who suffer?

At the end of the day, all of us are rich in paper while someone else really reach in real $$$ and I think you know who.

Wake up.

Since it's for staying.. then high $$ got use meh?
    As a matter of fact, this will push up price further for our children to bear.
    If you look at it from the other angle, it's more like a ponzi scheme leh... the bomb will explore some day. Who suffer?

At the end of the day, all of us are rich in paper while someone else really reach in real $$$ and I think you know who.

Wake up.
    Since u are talking more abt politics rather than housing, there issnt much more to talk about issit it. As long as u dont go casino and lose all your $$$, your children will be ok when u KO and prices remain long. So remember to KO when prices are high ya. Also dont forget to buy mortgage insurance.

maybe u live on a different Singapore, but i do know living businessman/Professionals whom are rich and they are not on paper. Anyway i think u are right, our children will suffer someday but i know is not today.

Now that u mention maybe i leave 1 HDB & 1 CCR condo for them so when price is sky high(if it happens again) they will be both rich on paper and rich on pocket when they sell. Would i destroy their life?

Quote Originally Posted by Condo Kaiser
    also a lot of poor people who needs to start a family and find themselves priced out of condos, resale hdb and only realistic option is to postone everything for 4 years and wait for first hand HDB.
    ... And what's wrong with that ? In a lot of countries, a lot of poor ppl have no dream of owning a house ever.

Start simple is ok what. 5y is for u to save real hard and get mature and sophisticated , so u can make the right choice when you are ready.

Since u are talking more abt politics rather than housing, there issnt much more to talk about issit it. As long as u dont go casino and lose all your $$$, your children will be ok when u KO and prices remain long. So remember to KO when prices are high ya. Also dont forget to buy mortgage insurance.

maybe u live on a different Singapore, but i do know living businessman/Professionals whom are rich and they are not on paper. Anyway i think u are right, our children will suffer someday but i know is not today.

Now that u mention maybe i leave 1 HDB & 1 CCR condo for them so when price is sky high(if it happens again) they will be both rich on paper and rich on pocket when they sell. Would i destroy their life?
    Good strategy to keep 1 HDB & 1 CCR condo if you have 1 kid, best keep at least one for each kid. Trust me, housing would be a nightmare for them in the future.

... And what's wrong with that ? In a lot of countries, a lot of poor ppl have no dream of owning a house ever.

Start simple is ok what. 5y is for u to save real hard and get mature and sophisticated , so u can make the right choice when you are ready.
    that is such a wise statement

Good strategy to keep 1 HDB & 1 CCR condo if you have 1 kid, best keep at least one for each kid. Trust me, housing would be a nightmare for them in the future.
    i believe u. Dont forget to buy mortgage insurance ya. If not, u only let them carry on our shit.

If i have a voice in Parliament 1 day,if it happens, i will make first time Singaporean applicants for HDB enjoy a 50k grant with option to offset their 20% downpayment and slap the house with a 8 years MOP. 2 person is 100k ya. Help every young Singaporean start on their first POSITIVE step in life.

Totally agree with you... Why must first timer feel they are losing out if they cant buy condo or resale? Who say they must have such rights? Buy hdb first hand brand new.... I really don't understand all these folks that assume that must buy condo and resales in mature estate and I they can't they complain prices too high.... Unrealistic expectations...

Damn ...............

those who have gotten hold of MBT's book ...

is it a small pocket size one ??? in line with the man himself ?
    hey you are always so critical and funny.

i believe u. Dont forget to buy mortgage insurance ya. If not, u only let them carry on our shit.

If i have a voice in Parliament 1 day,if it happens, i will make first time Singaporean applicants for HDB enjoy a 50k grant with option to offset their 20% downpayment and slap the house with a 8 years MOP. 2 person is 100k ya. Help every young Singaporean start on their first POSITIVE step in life.

this is a good one. Personally I knew they came, bought, later sold with profits and left within 5 years.