Page 10 of 20 FirstFirst ... 56789101112131415 ... LastLast

Thread: WP rep is cool....but the rest.....

Kinda of strange..., if PAP so well prepared, they should have unveil all candidates with a big bang..., catch opposition by surprise..., straight away dissolve parliament and call for election..., seem like dragging and let opposition to scout and get their candidates.Also, new candidates of PAP should have started working the ground since late last year rather than now then start walking round...., can't be so screwup or is it a strategy ...?
    Screwup but not PAP screwup, its the voters... PAP know that they only have to give voters a bit of goodie nearer to election then votes will be in their favor... It is so sad . 3rd generation PAP members are riding on the success of 1st generation members. When you keep hearing people say more security when voting for PAP, it is clear that the people know it is PAP that holds the cash plus other resources to effectively deliver their promises to the people. (Whether they deliver or not is another issue... people still vote for them). Don't dare to vote for opposition who can at best promise but not sure have the resources to deliver their promises. Like what PM said to lift upgrading in Hougang...
    However, I'm beginning to see a strong trend in recent times starting from 2006. There are more young voters who dare to take risks and so dare to cast their votes for opposition. Hmmmm...
    Having said that, I must add that there are some 3rd generation PAP member who are very promising... they really got the brains and some with hearts too. Not sure sure about the 4th generation though...
    Last edited by ysyap; 11-04-11 at 20:35.

I heard him choking & said something "no group thinking", internally divided? Noticed so many retiring?

http://www.straitstimes.com/STI/STIF.../WP/ge_WP.html

Tin Pei ling- ''flat prices have stabalized.''

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/sh....php?t=3183561

Lim Boon Heng crying o.o

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/sh....php?t=3184504

He was the one that called Singaporeans Lepers and PAP is Jesus.

Lim Boon Heng as late as April 10 still thinks he is running at GE 2011.

This last minute change to retirement might have caused him to shed tears.

http://www.straitstimes.com/GeneralE...ry_654807.html

Aljunied GRC is in good hands: Lim Boon Heng

By Melissa Kok

http://forums.condosingapore.com/STI...oonheng-09.jpg
    Minister in the Prime Minister's Office Lim Boon Heng looking at a student's creation to commemorate the PAP Community Foundation 25th Anniversary at a carnival.

Mr Lim said that Aljunied GRC is 'in great hands' and the PAP team, led by Foreign Minister George Yeo, will be able to hold their own even if Workers' Party Low Thia Kiang were to contest there. -- ST PHOTO: NG SOR LUAN

ALJUNIED GRC is 'in great hands' and the People's Action Party (PAP) team, led by Foreign Minister George Yeo, will be able to hold their own even if Workers' Party Low Thia Kiang were to contest there, said Minister in the Prime Minister's Office Lim Boon Heng on Saturday.

Mr Low told reporters at his Meet-the-People Session in Hougang last month that "contesting a GRC is an option open to me." But two days ago, he told Chinese evening daily Shin Min that he is likely to remain in his own single-member constituency rather than contest in a GRC.

Speaking to reporters on the sidelines of a community event on Saturday, Mr Lim, who is PAP chairman, said he would go wherever he is needed, but 'does not see a great need' to go to Aljunied GRC because 'it is in great hands'.

He was responding to news report that he may be kept as a trump minister to be shifted to whichever constituency that may require additional firepower come Nomination Day.

Mr Lim said if Mr Low were to remain in Hougang, where he is the incumbent MP, the PAP has a 'candidate who will give a good fight', referring to newcomer Mr Desmond Choo.

Mr Lim added that even though Mr Choo has only been in Hougang for a short time, he believes that Mr Choo has 'made traction'.

Read the full report in this week's edition of The Sunday Times.

WP's Chen Show Mao 工人党陈硕茂首次亮相 - 11Apr2011

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Rh7yM...eature=related

So much daily coverage on elections but until now still dunno when...sianz...
    7th May confirmed!

PAP youngest candidate Tin Pei Ling was traumatized - 02Apr2011

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-tIm7...eature=related

7th May confirmed!
    I forgot you are PAP member.

So you say it out here before PAP make official announcement, will you get into trouble ?

http://sg.news.yahoo.com/blogs/singa...31342-745.html

SPP unveils two new candidates for GE

The Singapore People's Party (SPP) has unveiled its first two candidates who will be contesting in the Bishan-Toa Payoh group representation constituency (GRC) in the upcoming General Election (GE).

The party's secretary-general Chiam See Tong introduced the two new candidates during a walkabout at Bishan on Sunday morning. They are Mr Benjamin Pwee, 43, and Mr Wilfreud Leung, 36.

Pwee is a former overseas merit scholar and a Cambridge University graduate. He currently works as a managing director and principal consultant of IDO Asia. Describing Pwee as a "price catch for the opposition", Chiam lauded his decision to contest as a candidate under the opposition banner.

"Not everyone will stand up and make a decision when the time arises, but in our team we have seen Benjamin Pwee has risen to the occasion," said Chiam.

"He's brave enough to grab the opportunity to join the opposition and he not only changes his whole life but in fact he may also change the lives of Singaporeans. So we applaud Benjamin for his bravery."

For new candidate Leung, he has been involved with the party since 2004 when he first joined as a member. The 36-year-old, who is currently first assistant secretary-general, had also managed Chiam's election campaign in 2006.

Leung had previously resigned from the party's executive council due to his work commitments overseas but has now rejoined the party.

When asked what made him come back, he said, "Now that election is coming, I sense that I have the responsibility to form this team for him (Chiam).

"I have been serving Mr Chiam for quite some time and I'm really glad that Benjamin, my dear friend together with some more people that we are going to announce, we finally formed this team."

Together with Chiam, the two candidates will be contesting under the SPP banner in the five-member Bishan-Toa Payoh GRC. There has been no contest in the GRC since it was formed in 1997 with Deputy Prime Minister Wong Kan Seng at the helm.

Meanwhile, a SPP spokesperson revealed that another press conference will be held next week to unveil another two candidates. They are expected to be central executive committee (CEC) member Mr Mohamad Hamim Aliyas, 48, and Mr Jimmy Lee, who is in his early 30s.

It was also said that the party might have more potential candidates and are planning to contest in other constituencies. SPP has so far revealed plans to contest in Hong Kah North and Potong Pasir SMC, and Bishan Toa-Payoh GRC.

However, residents Yahoo! Singapore spoke to expressed mixed reactions when told of Chiam's decision to contest in the GRC.

Jason Tan, 51, who has lived in Bishan East for more than 23 years said that the opposition's chances of winning the GRC are very low because of the strong support that most residents have for DPM Wong and his team.

"Honestly, I can say that Wong Kan Seng has very good support and it is very hard for the opposition to penetrate Bishan.

"The chances of the opposition winning are very low and they need to be prepared to be knocked off. They are just wasting their time," he added.

He cited that DPM Wong has been very active in his walkabouts and visits to residents. The resident added that with DPM Wong at the helm, the area has improved tremendously with better amenities.

Polytechnic lecturer Mr Kassim Saad, 48, also questioned whether the opposition stalwart is physically fit enough to serve the residents and whether they have quality candidates to contest in the election.

"Like a soccer team, you need to be fit and your players need to be of the best calibre if they want to win," he said.

However, there are some residents who admire the SPP chief for announcing his intention to leave Potong Pasir SMC to contest in a GRC.

"For him to come out of his comfort zone, speaks a lot of him. But whether or not he can win, I really don't know," said Richard, a 60-year-old retiree.

just some criticism and she is traumatised, i think she is not fit to be an mp. like a bloody baby and need the senior mps to speak for her. Why is PAP bringing in a baby to be spoon-fed and shielded? What do they take Singaporeans for? Do we need to pay $15k of our tax dollars to a baby to be spoon-fed? Kick her out, that is what majority of the people want to see.

Quote Originally Posted by wenqing
    PAP youngest candidate Tin Pei Ling was traumatized - 02Apr2011

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-tIm7...eature=related

hear what some PAP MPs people here hail in high esteem have said:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NpQCT...eature=related

just some criticism and she is traumatised, i think she is not fit to be an mp. like a bloody baby and need the senior mps to speak for her. Why is PAP bringing in a baby to be spoon-fed and shielded? What do they take Singaporeans for? Do we need to pay $15k of our tax dollars to a baby to be spoon-fed? Kick her out, that is what majority of the people want to see.
    Think SM put in lots of effort to speak for her..., out in the working world, if screw up big time, seldom have Bosses die die also speak up for u, u will be thrash or leave in the cold storage...

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stori...122134/1/.html

GE: Lim Boon Heng emotional when responding to question
    By S Ramesh | Posted: 11 April 2011 2224 hrs

PEOPLE'S Action Party (PAP) chairman Lim Boon Heng became emotional during a media conference on Monday when introducing the party's latest batch of candidates.

Tears welled up in his eyes when he was replying to a reporter's question about potential 'groupthink' within the party, which recently fended off criticism about its one-party rule, and slate of new candidates for an apparent lack of diversity.

'There is no groupthink,' said Mr Lim as he composed himself after he was overwhelmed by emotions.

Mr Lim cited the casino issue back in 2005, when it was hotly debated among Singaporeans and MPs.

During the 2005 parliamentary debate, Mr Lim was equally emotional, struggling to hold back his tears when he made a moving speech on how gambling had wrecked a family.

At Monday's media conference, Mr Lim told reporters that the Cabinet was not of one mind on the controversial issue.

'Within the Cabinet it was very divided,' he said. 'For me it was a very difficult process to accept the casinos. I almost couldn't make my speech in Parliament.'

Mr Lim, 63, who is Minister in the Prime Minister's Office, announced his decision to retire from politics on Sunday.

GE: Lim Boon Heng emotional when responding to question
    By S Ramesh | Posted: 11 April 2011 2224 hrs

PEOPLE'S Action Party (PAP) chairman Lim Boon Heng became emotional during a media conference on Monday when introducing the party's latest batch of candidates.

Tears welled up in his eyes when he was replying to a reporter's question about potential 'groupthink' within the party, which recently fended off criticism about its one-party rule, and slate of new candidates for an apparent lack of diversity.

'There is no groupthink,' said Mr Lim as he composed himself after he was overwhelmed by emotions.

Mr Lim cited the casino issue back in 2005, when it was hotly debated among Singaporeans and MPs.

During the 2005 parliamentary debate, Mr Lim was equally emotional, struggling to hold back his tears when he made a moving speech on how gambling had wrecked a family.

At Monday's media conference, Mr Lim told reporters that the Cabinet was not of one mind on the controversial issue.

'Within the Cabinet it was very divided,' he said. 'For me it was a very difficult process to accept the casinos. I almost couldn't make my speech in Parliament.'

Mr Lim, 63, who is Minister in the Prime Minister's Office, announced his decision to retire from politics on Sunday.
    I am sure they are ONE voice when they debate on MP pay scheme to be pegged to private sector but not its risk and resposibilities.

I forgot you are PAP member.

So you say it out here before PAP make official announcement, will you get into trouble ?
    i am so touched for your concern....... someone made the annoucement in the forum not me......

Got to hear what PM Lee has to say tonite:

http://www.todayonline.com/Hotnews/E...me-with-PM-Lee

Question time with PM Lee

by S Ramesh
    04:47 AM Apr 09, 2011

Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong will host a TV forum "live", engaging a panel of 12 Singaporeans from a cross-section of the population on a wide range of topics.

The hour-long programme - Question Time with the Prime Minister - will be shown "live" on Channel NewsAsia on Tuesday at 8pm.

Topics for discussion include social, political and long term issues facing Singapore. For the first time, viewers can send in their questions during the forum via SMS or e-mail or now, at www.channelnewsasia.com/questiontime, said MediaCorp. The PM will answer some of the questions during the "live" programme.

Online viewers can also catch the webcast "live" at the microsite, and netizens can put in their messages on Facebook.com/questiontime.

Channel NewsAsia presenter Melissa Hyak is moderating the discussions with the panel, which include a grassroots leader, a unionist, a businessman, a young professional, a polytechnic student, a university student, a retiree, a blue-collar worker, a political commentator, a journalist, a social worker and a new citizen of Singapore. S RAMESH

The forum will telecast at the following times:

- Channel NewsAsia Tuesday (April 12) 8pm

Encore telecasts Friday (April 15) 6pm, Sunday (April 17) 7.30pm

[quote=wenqing]http://www.straitstimes.com/STI/STIF.../WP/ge_WP.html

hope this bitch screw up the vote and knock some sense to pap before they choose candidate.

p.s. i am no fan of either party but this TPL really disgusting!!! phew!!

[quote=ay123]
    http://www.straitstimes.com/STI/STIF.../WP/ge_WP.html

hope this bitch screw up the vote and knock some sense to pap before they choose candidate.

p.s. i am no fan of either party but this TPL really disgusting!!! phew!!
    brp, please lah, don't anyhow phew can?

as a matter of fact, you should...

aggggrrrr.....rrrr........rrr... phew...

Kinda of strange..., if PAP so well prepared, they should have unveil all candidates with a big bang..., catch opposition by surprise..., straight away dissolve parliament and call for election..., seem like dragging and let opposition to scout and get their candidates.Also, new candidates of PAP should have started working the ground since late last year rather than now then start walking round...., can't be so screwup or is it a strategy ...?

whoever this 27 yo pei ling is ....

what kind of life exeperience does she have ? that is enuff to represent the people ?

are singaporeans voters going to help these young , inexperienced new comers become the next MILLIONAIRES sooner ?

are these kids attracted by the $$$$$$ ???

From CNA report..., last sentence:

Thought there should only be 20 new faces from PAP for this election, now they have introduce 21 new faces, does that mean there will be reserve? Not all will stand for GE? Retiring PAP MPs now only Total 18; 21 new vs 18 old retiring, 3 reserve?

"So far, the PAP has introduced 21 new candidates."

http://news.asiaone.com/News/AsiaOne...11-273063.html

"Another MP, Wee Siew Kim, will also be stepping down after two terms. Mr Wee is MP for Ang Mo Kio GRC.
    Their retirements make up the total number of 18 PAP MPs who will be stepping aside to give way to younger politicians.
    Another MP, Wee Siew Kim, will also be stepping down after two terms. Mr Wee is MP for Ang Mo Kio GRC.
    Their retirements make up the total number of 18 PAP MPs who will be stepping aside to give way to younger politicians."

what kind of life exeperience does she have ? that is enuff to represent the people ?

are singaporeans voters going to help these young , inexperienced new comers become the next MILLIONAIRES sooner ?

Brp, do you think TPL can win via SMC?
    IN the first place, GRC is meant to provide minority interest as cited by PAP.
    See what happened now? GRC is "BACK DOOR LISTING" for this so call "A TEAM" leader...

IN the first place, GRC is meant to provide minority interest as cited by PAP.
    See what happened now? GRC is "BACK DOOR LISTING" for this so call "A TEAM" leader...

if many voters are disgusted with her ...and choose not to vote the GRC shes in ...then she may be the nemesis and pull the whole A team down ...

i hope that will happen ...so our govt will learn their lesson and not use such tactics to bring 'unpopular' people into the parliament

All these new kids on the block are in for the money, very obvious. If you ask them to do volunteer MP work, I tell you none of them will be interested.

From CNA report..., last sentence:

Thought there should only be 20 new faces from PAP for this election, now they have introduce 21 new faces, does that mean there will be reserve? Not all will stand for GE? Retiring PAP MPs now only Total 18; 21 new vs 18 old retiring, 3 reserve?

"So far, the PAP has introduced 21 new candidates."

http://news.asiaone.com/News/AsiaOne...11-273063.html

"Another MP, Wee Siew Kim, will also be stepping down after two terms. Mr Wee is MP for Ang Mo Kio GRC.
    Their retirements make up the total number of 18 PAP MPs who will be stepping aside to give way to younger politicians.
    Another MP, Wee Siew Kim, will also be stepping down after two terms. Mr Wee is MP for Ang Mo Kio GRC.
    Their retirements make up the total number of 18 PAP MPs who will be stepping aside to give way to younger politicians."

Was drinking kopi with kakis at coffee shop yesterday night and my old kopi kakis (most of them past 50) actually observe following with regards to PAP candidates...

1) FMH, TPL and Puthu might not actually get the chance to stand assuming no futher "retirement" from the current 18.

2) Of all those 18 "retirement", many are perceived as GCT's people during GCT PM era...why this group of MP? Interesting right...?

how come so many retired?

how many retired during the previous election?

how come so many retired?

how many retired during the previous election?
    ya lor

by the way i thought must be over certain age and MARRIED ( and have children) then can run for election ?

how come so many Singles ? potentially they can be gay or butch

ya lor

by the way i thought must be over certain age and MARRIED ( and have children) then can run for election ?

how come so many Singles ? potentially they can be gay or butch
    like many CEO or army officers....must b married in order to take up the position?

With all the negative publicity, she may even drag GRC down, less winning in SMC... . She probably never see this wave after wave of comments coming when she first agreed to campaign.

she making HISTORY!

if many voters are disgusted with her ...and choose not to vote the GRC shes in ...then she may be the nemesis and pull the whole A team down ...

i hope that will happen ...so our govt will learn their lesson and not use such tactics to bring 'unpopular' people into the parliament
    Exactly!

As a matter of fact, there is some interesting speculation (NOTE: purely kopi talk like soap opera) over GCT vs LHL...

Apparently, if u can recalled just barely two weeks ago, GCT said ministers should not serve beyond 2 terms. Within a day or two, LHL and WKS openly disagreed with GCT's remarks.

Also from news report, TPL might post to MP GRC. Why? If PAP win, GCT survive. If GCT lose, GCT gone?

Think wisely, vote wisely.... tide of change is coming.

sounds scary? political disaster coming?