Page 9 of 20 FirstFirst ... 456789101112131419 ... LastLast

Thread: WP rep is cool....but the rest.....

Quote Originally Posted by wenqing
    NUS do not give Chen Show Mao Medicine because his results was top so NUS preferred he choose something else.

Looks like NUS medicine was so common then and was given to people without exceptional grades.

Looks like Vivian Bala's grades were normal after all.

that's the official reason that nus gives. been through it personally too. the real reason is that we don't have friends or relatives who are doctors or of a capacity to influence those sitting on the selection panel.

a good portion of places is reserved for the favored, only scraps and remnants are open to mere mortals

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/sh....php?t=3164320

Chen Show Mao drinks kopi like everyone else..

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/sh....php?t=3180912

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/sh...3165056&page=3

1979年,陈硕茂在A水准会考中数学、物理、化学、生物四科主修考获全部A,英文理解与写作和华文第二语文也获得特优,是国家初级学院第一名的学生,也是当年学生会的会长。原想留在新加坡念医科的他遭新加坡国立大学拒绝,于是完成国民服役后,父母把他送到美国哈佛大学深造,他改修经济学。

Chen Show Mao from NJC topped Singapore GCE ‘A’ Level exams in 1979. Throughout the 70 till early 80, NJC was the top JC in Singapore. He is more of a all rounder with a stronger inclination towards the humanities rather than an outstanding science student though. He was active in college and was President of the Student Council.

Unfortunately he was rejected from doing Medicine in NUS due to a policy that deliberately discourages very outstanding students to do medicine that started around that time. In fact, the subsequent top A-level student in 1980 was also rejected from doing Medicine in NUS for the same reason.

However, Show Mao served NS after A-level despite being borned in Taiwan and could have just gone over to the US after A-level. Most foreign borned students in those days will leave for US or UK before or immediately after A-level.

After NS, he went to Harvard and graduated top in economics for his undergraduate degree. in 1986, he was awarded the Rhodes Scholarship to study Philosophy in Oxford. Subsequently, he did law in Stanford and worked for a top 5 US law firm ever since. He is currently managing partner in the Bejing office.

Last time PAP always like to use narrowing of income gap as reasons to vote for them but now we have the below....self-contradicting party.

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/sh...php?p=54357035

Tin Pei Ling: widening income gap is NOT the responsibility of the government

Tin Pei Ling: Globalisation – High & Low

Dated : 11-11-2007

Party Convention – 2007
    Globalisation – High & Low
    Tin Pei Ling

尊敬的党领导及各位同志朋友们,早上好!我是行青团,也是乌鲁班丹支部的陈佩玲。非常感谢大会容许我针对“收入差距,贫富悬殊” 这个课题,以双语发表看法。

Respectable party leaders and comrades, good morning to you all. My name is Tin Pei Ling from the Young PAP (Ulu Pandan). I am grateful to have this opportunity to share my views in two languages on the topic of the widening income gap.

相信这个课题已不是什么新鲜事。在考虑贫富悬殊这项难题的当儿,不仅是考量收入差距是否越来越大,更值得关注的是那些属于“贫困” 的一群是否能,最低限度,生存并避免恶性循环。对于这个日趋严重的问题,许多人怨天怨地,更怨政府。可是,这真的只是政府的责任吗?我,不以为然。

This is not a new topic. Besides studying whether the gap is widening, it is more important to find out if the lowest-income group is able to get by and not fall into the vicious cycle. Many people are complaining and blaming the government for this problem. But is this really the responsibility of the government? I don’t think so.

政府可以从宏观的角度,设立强有力的架构协助我们成功,但这是不够的。所谓:” 国家兴亡,匹夫有责” 。每个人,不分你我,对国家有责任,对周围的同胞们也有责任!

The government, at the macro level, can set up a robust framework to help us be successful, but this is not enough. As the Chinese saying goes, the individual has a responsibility towards the survival and success of the country. Everyone, besides a duty for the nation, also has an obligation to the fellow countrymen around him.

今天,我不把时间耗在找出问题的根源。我们不能纸上谈兵,要有实际的行动才会有望解决难题。与此,我谨大胆地献上两项提议,再以英语演说另外两项。

Today, I am not trying to find a reason for the situation. We should not just talk about it, but need to be proactive in finding a solution. Please excuse my boldness in offering two suggestions, and two more in my English speech.

第一项,我们要自强不息,力争上游;不断地自我调适,自我更新!许多人认为做人难,做新加坡人更难!从某些角度来看,这或许是真的。可人生又曾几何时是尽如人意的?我们应该要了解,环球发展不会为了新加坡,更不会为了你或我而放慢。尽管政府再怎么尽全力地资助或扶持我们,这始终不是万全之策 -- 治标不治本。

First of all, we need to persevere and strive for continuous improvement, adjustment and rejuvenation. A lot of people think that making a living is difficult, I think making a living in Singapore is even more difficult! We need to understand that globalization will not slow down for Singapore, or you and me. No matter how hard the government tries to subsidise and help us, it will just be treating the problem superficially without solving the root.

政府好比水上一艘船,它能帮助我们更安全顺利地渡江到达目的地。但这艘船最终还需人来操作,需要人来导航。换言之,人的自身是关键。如果我们不自己帮自己,那又怎么可能解决问题,怎么成功呢?

The government is like a ship and it can help us reach our destination safely and smoothly. However, this ship still needs to be operated by people. In other words, we still play the critical role ourselves. If we are not helping ourselves, how can we solve the problem?

第二项,身为晚辈,我们要以先辈及长辈为模范,传承并发扬他们的良好观念及刚毅精神。我党成立至今已有约53年之久了。许多可谓党的鼻祖仍活跃于我们当中。他们在当时动荡不安,生活条件恶劣的情况下屹立不倒,并持着破釜沉舟的决心为新加坡奠下根深蒂固的基础,打出一番天地!不说别人,就说我父亲年轻时,大约60年代,当时三餐不一定能温饱,若不小心丢了两角钱,一整天就没得吃,还得从学校走路回家!尽管如此,他们那一代人克勤克苦,终于成功了!这是值得我们学习的啊!

Secondly, we need to learn from our forefathers and seniors. We should emulate and promote their value systems and spirit of endurance. Our party is 53 years old, many pioneers are still active today. They have lived through the years of turbulence, under very poor living conditions, but they did not give up.

They bite the bullet and helped to build a strong foundation for Singapore. Take my own father as an example, when he was a young man in the sixties, he struggled even with three meals a day. If he dropped 20 cents, he would have to starve for a day and walk all the way home from school. Despite all these, his generation worked hard and succeeded ultimately. This is something we should learn from.

所以,在经济环境不利于我们的时候,我们一定要继续坚持,奋斗,改造!

Hence, even when the economic environment is not favourable, we must continue to persevere, work hard and make a difference!

A very good morning to Party Chairman, Secretary-General and fellow comrades! My name is Tin Pei Ling from the Young PAP (Ulu Pandan).

I thank you for the opportunity to speak today, and I thank my fellow YP comrades for sharing their insights with me online. Allow me to share these with you.

Singapore’s income gap is growing. The Gini coefficient for Singapore had increased from 0.442 to 0.472 in year 2000, before adjusting for Government benefits and taxes. From an economic standpoint, this suggests a growing income inequality.

This widening of income gap is a complex challenge faced by every society. And to tackle this, it helps to break it down and address the components accordingly.

Getting the Economics Right

To address the rich-poor gap, we must first ascertain the possibility of becoming rich in the first place! Hence, from a macro-level, we must be able to progress and hold our own against giant, booming economies such as China and India.

We must not easily fall prey to the short-sighted proposals made by the Opposition, who push for either protectionism or welfarism! We are Singaporeans who have dignity and integrity. We can achieve much if we are willing to put in the effort. And we should not yield to these temptations (short-term wins), as other greater nations than ours did and been the worse for it.

From a micro-level, and of most immediate concern, those at the bottom of the social ladder must have sufficient to live by. Having ensured that, there must be hope for the children of those who are considered poor now to break out of the poverty cycle later in life. In essence, we must – (1) Help the poor; (2) Maintain social mobility.

Helping the Poor
    In Singapore, it appears that while the rich has gotten richer, the poor have NOT gotten poorer. The Department of Statistics reported that the bottom 20% of our population have seen their lives improve over the last decade.

BUT there are still those amongst us who need help. Some, we meet weekly at our Meet-the-People Sessions; some, we meet almost daily in our classes or workplace. As youth, it is crucial that we remain aware of the needy. We, who have voices, must advocate for those who cannot speak. And we must do more than speak – we must act, by seeking out those who need help and find ways to help them.

As YP members, we also have the privilege of working with our Parliamentary leaders and decision makers. In the course of serving the community, we have learnt about the different avenues of assistance and paths to seek help. We know the strength of our national system, and how the good can become even better!

This confers upon us a special responsibility, to give ground feedback sincerely and honestly, without fear or favour. Let it never be said that the Young PAP is a bastion of yes-men and women, but young thinking Singaporeans who are prepared to speak our minds, defend and decide what is right and not just about being popular.

Maintaining Social Mobility – Helping the Next Generation

Our nation abides by the principle of meritocracy.

It is a tragedy when a family descends into poverty. But the tragedy is multiplied if that family’s children cannot rise out of poverty. We must not let this happen.

Hence, children from poor families must enjoy equal access to education. They must not feel compelled to leave school in order to make ends meet. Neither should they be afraid to aspire to schools of excellence, for fear that their great talent is not matched by great wealth.

Thankfully, our education system has done well compared to other countries! We have been able to subsidise education for young Singaporeas, and spread quality across our neighbourhood schools. Singapore has done this competently and should continue to evolve to become better!

As members of Young PAP, we also have a role. Those of us who have risen out of poverty can be role models, helping to guide the less fortunate along the road we have trodden ourselves. And those of us still struggling to make ends meet, can be a voice to highlight situations on the ground, while inspiring our fellow men and women as we endeavour onward and upward to build a better future.

Conclusion
    In summary, the rich-poor gap is not an easy issue, and there are no easy answers.

As youth of today, we have an important role: Our willingness to serve and give back to society can be the inspiration for others to do the same.

If we help one another, if the privileged willingly contribute out of a sense of social responsibility, then we can achieve a precious possibility. -- Build a country where the poor know they can aspire to greatness, where the helpless – having fought the good fight – will be looked after.

We, the youth of Singapore, have been privileged with many gifts by virtue of our history and our unique situation today. With our great gifts, comes great responsibility.

Let us take up that responsibility and build a better tomorrow, starting today.

SOURCE:
    http://www.pap.org.sg/articleview.php?id=2746&cid=23

http://sg.news.yahoo.com/blogs/singa...50442-088.html

Workers’ Party the first to unveil manifesto

The Workers' Party (WP) has unveiled its manifesto and campaign slogan for the upcoming General Election (GE), making it the first political party to do so.

At a press conference held on Saturday afternoon, the party presented its 65-page manifesto titled, "Towards a First World Parliament" which covered fifteen various topics ranging from economic policy, housing, immigration and education.

Leading the six-member panel was WP's chairman, Ms Sylvia Lim who is also a Non-Constituency Member of Parliament (NCMP).

Other panelists included potential party candidates Mr Pritam Singh, Mr Gerald Giam, Mr Muhd Faisal Abdul Manap, Mr Png Eng Huat and Mr Yaw Shin Leong.

Also in attendance was the party's secretary-general Mr Low Thia Khiang, MP for the single ward of Hougang but he was not part of the panelists.

Introducing its campaign slogan, "Vote Workers' Party — towards a first world parliament", Ms Sylvia Lim explained that the choice of slogan was based on the party's belief that it is important to assess whether the institutions of government are functioning properly, in particular the parliament.

While the country has achieved first world standards in certain areas such economic development and infrastructure, Ms Lim added that the same cannot be said of the nation's model of governance.

The other panelists also went on to touch on the various issues in the manifesto which bears resemblance to the one that the party unveiled before the election in 2006.

http://ge2011.theonlinecitizen.com/2...ld-parliament/

Vote Workers’ Party – towards a First World Parliament

Posted by admin on April 9, 2011 in Breaking News, Workers' Party | 3 Comments

var addthis_product = 'wpp-254';var addthis_config = {"data_track_clickback":true};The Workers’ Party launched its campaign slogan and manifesto for the upcoming General Election on 9 April, Sunday, at its party headquarters.

You can view the manifesto here.

The following is the party’s media brief about the event:

Campaign slogan: “Vote Workers’ Party – Towards A First World Parliament”

The Workers’ Party (WP) will campaign on the slogan, “Vote Workers’ Party – Towards a First World Parliament”.

WP has chosen this slogan for the coming General Election because it believes that it is vital at this juncture of our nation building to critically assess whether our institutions of government are functioning properly, in particular, Parliament.

As we move towards Parliamentary elections in our 46th year of independence as a nation, we should ask ourselves what kind of Parliament is needed to ensure that Singapore endures for the future.

While Singapore has achieved First World standards in certain areas such as economic development and infrastructure, the same cannot be said of our model of governance.

With an overwhelmingly dominant People’s Action Party (PAP) in Parliament, there are severe limitations as to how far Parliament can check the Government, which is supposed to be one of Parliament’s key functions.

Ruling party Members of Parliament must support Government agenda, which means that the Government can steamroll its plans through the House easily.

The Workers’ Party believes that it is not in the national interest for Parliament to continue to be so overwhelmingly dominated by the PAP.

There is a real danger that Parliament will appear to be a rubber stamp for the government agenda.

No government is perfect, or infallible, or lasts forever. The ruling party must be subject to scrutiny and challenge and competition to keep it on its toes.

It is also critical that Singaporeans are not stuck with just one party able to govern, and no fall-back plan.

Alternative governments do not spring up overnight to take over when a government fails. Political experience must be built, and having members of other political parties being elected into Parliament with the people’s mandate is the start to vuilding the necessary political insurance.

Characteristics of First World Parliament

In our view, a First World parliament for Singapore would have the following characteristics:
    1. It would consist only of Members of Parliament elected in free and fair elections, all of whom have similar voting rights due to their mandate from their constituencies;
    2. It would function as a robust check and balance against the Government. For this to happen, there must be a critical mass of elected MPs from the opposition parties.
    3. The Opposition in Parliament must also be responsible for defending national interest viz. to ensure that the Government does not take steps which hurt the people;
    4. Parliament must respect the Constitution and people’s constitutional rights.
    How a First World Parliament would benefit Singaporeans

If Singaporeans vote towards a First World Parliament, WP believes the following benefits would accrue to improve Singaporeans’ lives:
    1. There will be more thorough public examination of policies, subject to public scrutiny. This will promote greater accountability and transparency, and empower Singaporeans to make informed choices;
    2. The ruling party would be kept on its toes due to political pressure. It would also have to think twice about implementing harsh policies or pay a political price;
    3. Singaporeans will have some insurance in the event of ruling party decline;
    4. More diverse interests and viewpoints would be represented in the House, for better representation.

http://singapore-lighthouse.blogspot...r-on-anti.html

PAP's Tin Pei Ling Declared War on Anti-Establishment Netizens!

Yesterday was the 3rd batch of PAP Candidates being introduced by Minister Without Portfolio Lim boon Heng and one of them revealed was the youngest candidate ever field by the PAP.

She's 27 Years old Ms Tin Pei Ling and during 28 March Channel 5 News, she mentioned that she will use "New Media" such as Social Networking Sites "to give voice to people (just to share good ideas?)"

(All screen grabs from MediaCorp Channel 5)

Apparently, blogging, Facebook etc are not new, but pretty new to PAP and was wondering why she mentioned these are New Media?

Later on, she "declared war" (IMO) on Singaporean Net activities that are dominated by "Anti Establishment" elements.

IMO, she's another PAP Parrot, parroting her PAP Masters' Policies and Anti-Singaporeans Policies such as Immigration, Refusal of setting minimum wages for low income workers.

Why use Social Media Sites when she is suppose to reflect her (if she is even elected or best walked over) constituents' concerns and bring them up to the parliament?

Is she attempting another battery jump start of defunct "PAP" P65 Blog when Vikram Nair had failed? Perhaps she can start P70 or P80 Online Forums to engage those Anti Establishment sites or people.

She or her PAP Masters had failed to realised that Anti-Establishment sites or Blogs such as mine are all free agents; others or myself does not report to the White Ivory Tower with a Red Lighting. For myself, I write about my thoughts resulted from PAP's Anti-Singaporeans Policies to increase GDP and increase their Annual Salaries.

I was wondering who was the P65 site owner and using whois; it belonged to Vikram Nair, a Young PAP Member who tried to masquerade himself as a P65 Blogger and in fact he was the owner.

Mask exposed and Site had to be trashed because its not that non Partisan! How stupid!

(Source: www.whois.net)

(Source: http://www.p65.sg/ Latest Post was in Jan 2011)

Their link even had a contributor from Miami using Internet Marketing to sell a Miami Law Firm's services.

(Miami Car Accident Lawyer)

After the Media Exposure, today online sites such as
    AsiaOne, Straits Times Online had published her background for everyone to see.

So if PAP wins another round election, I am sure that the people working in the Media Hub will received a fat bonus from their PAP Boss, ops, I meant SPH bosses.

I think Pei Ling will have extremely bright ideas to control these Anti-Establishment Internet Sites and Blogs. Maybe banning Anti-PAP sites?

lower income dun own cars....

i tink those real poor ppl spend $500 on food, daily necessities every mth....10% GST is $50 extra.....one yr $600 more...hmm....however, they dun pay income tax as below 20k....

btw, how much they got for the rebates?
    receive the goodie letter....they illustrated 3k and 5k for a whole family....wow...so much subisidy ar....

Anyone with brains and basic intellect will never vote for people like foo mee har or tin peiling. Both are still wet behind the ears and should continue working in the grassroots for another ten years before joining politics. Those mindless people who field them in should have suggested for them to spend a longer time in grassroots work before entering politics. These greenhorns are only endorsed by pap and no one else. Current ruling party too arrogant to seek people's opinions about candidates they choose and as usual trying to force things down on people. Who ultimately are going to pay these greenhorns, isn't it from the people's money? We don't seem to have a say in our future leaders, and we can only voice our discntently thru our votes. We need a good percentage of opposition in parliament so please show support. We do not wasn't a situation whereby o ur constitution can be changed a and when the ruling party likes and for gst to be increased in parliament or any laws passed without debate in parliament or veto powers.

haiz.. this has been a case.. even if there is.. its wayang.. always its the opp dat put up a good fight in parliament.. but too powerless in a sea of pap..

If there is an election or we have a say to take away or change grc to single ward.. woo hoo.. THEN that is fair fight or real democracy in political arena.. coz then we as citizens will truly have a say in who we wana vote in for our ward..

I M ALL FOR ABOLISHMENT OF GRC.

receive the goodie letter....they illustrated 3k and 5k for a whole family....wow...so much subisidy ar....
    Ya...also got letter, illustration is juicy$ but probably apply to many of us here ....

Am surprised by this announcement...

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stori...121873/1/.html
    GE: Lim Boon Heng to retire
    By Lynda Hong | Posted: 10 April 2011 1412 hrs
    Photos 1*of 1

Lim Boon Hen
    Related News

• GE Countdown
    SINGAPORE: Minister in the Prime Minister's Office Lim Boon Heng has announced he would be retiring from politics.

Mr Lim, who is also Chairman of the People's Action Party and MP for Jurong Group Representation Constituency (GRC), said this on Sunday at a constituency event.

He said Finance Minister Tharman Shanmugaratnam and current MP for Jurong GRC will helm the team.

-CNA/wk

This coming election will be very interesting indeed. Until now still dunno when...sianz.

Video clips of Worker's Party Manifesto.

http://www.razor.tv/site/servlet/seg...ews/62118.html

WP's Show Mao makes appearance in Joo Chiat

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/sh....php?t=3182353

What constitute anti establishments ? If the comments were truth based on fact, but jarred on the ear , anti establishments? What happened to freedom of speech, freedom from fear, freedom from prosecution?

singapore so tiny, so many grcs and wasted money on so many mps in one constituency for f@@k? Out of the almost 90 MPs in parliament, more than 2/3 of them are just there to add to numbers and help to maintain the power of the ruling party, serving not much day to day purpose in the constituency.

Quote Originally Posted by romeo
    haiz.. this has been a case.. even if there is.. its wayang.. always its the opp dat put up a good fight in parliament.. but too powerless in a sea of pap..

If there is an election or we have a say to take away or change grc to single ward.. woo hoo.. THEN that is fair fight or real democracy in political arena.. coz then we as citizens will truly have a say in who we wana vote in for our ward..

I M ALL FOR ABOLISHMENT OF GRC.

i wish to see chen show mao in parliament, he will really give the pap a good grilling on policies which are in people's disfavour.

Quote Originally Posted by wenqing
    WP's Show Mao makes appearance in Joo Chiat

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/sh....php?t=3182353

singapore so tiny, so many grcs and wasted money on so many mps in one constituency for f@@k? Out of the almost 90 MPs in parliament, more than 2/3 of them are just there to add to numbers and help to maintain the power of the ruling party, serving not much day to day purpose in the constituency.
    ya true.. y we need so many mps in the first place.. n most no portfolio? while some hold dual/multiple portfolio? plus on top of their private business?

Think should go back to the old days of single ward. If MP win, later same party In neighboring ward want to co-manage in terms of economy of scales like town council services, etc, still can be done. A least, we know MP win on their own merit and not becos of tagging along some big brother and the right party..win on own merit, then no one can criticize, can hold heads high and command right respect...

Singapore so small need so many MPs mah? Think 10 MPs for whole of Singapore should be enough? No need co-manage should divide by 10 then can have economy of scale already.

Think should go back to the old days of single ward. If MP win, later same party In neighboring ward want to co-manage in terms of economy of scales like town council services, etc, still can be done. A least, we know MP win on their own merit and not becos of tagging along some big brother and the right party..win on own merit, then no one can criticize, can hold heads high and command right respect...

10 too few la.. wait they work till they die.. they got private companies to manage oso leh.. unless they go full-time..

Chen Show Mao epic reply to PM's comment.

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/sh....php?t=3183475

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XKVz3...layer_embedded

Chen Show Mao:
    "The votes of Singaporeans will become the Worker's Party secret weapon."

They work 3 hours each week only at CC (oh by the way, some not even present! (all leave to helpers!)) and get $15,000 (or $18,000?) per month benefits that is tax free! Either they are under-worked or over-paid?

Quote Originally Posted by romeo
    10 too few la.. wait they work till they die.. they got private companies to manage oso leh.. unless they go full-time..

Tax free? Then why dun thesepeople contribute to nation building?

whoa!! saw an MP cry during press conference in a prime time news report

Cry? Why? Tears of joy$ or wanna win Golden Horse award?

So early garnering for sympathy votes?

So much daily coverage on elections but until now still dunno when...sianz...

Kinda of strange..., if PAP so well prepared, they should have unveil all candidates with a big bang..., catch opposition by surprise..., straight away dissolve parliament and call for election..., seem like dragging and let opposition to scout and get their candidates.Also, new candidates of PAP should have started working the ground since late last year rather than now then start walking round...., can't be so screwup or is it a strategy ...?