Page 1 of 20 1234561116 ... LastLast

Thread: WP rep is cool....but the rest.....

Default WP rep is cool....but the rest.....

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/gecou...orumvideos.htm

do u agree with me tat only WP rep, Giam is the only opposition tat make the difference? the rest..... ....i welcome more opposition like him....but a BIG NO to the rest

Any capable individuals out there? pls step forward and join the WP.....i tink he is good

i agree with him tat bto prices shd be pegged to median income rather den resale market value....however, we nid to resume back 10yrs MOP or even longer if the bto prices and the resale market prices gap widens further.....so as to prevent the younger generations from taking things for granted and the scary mentality:'easy profit from hdb bto after 5yrs MOP'....i even heard stories of faking marriages just to get bto flats

btw....did i miss anything? hw come finance minister totally siam the topic on minister's pay.....

i thot the SDP dude was the best

how come nobody talk about that prata man's pay hike to $4 mil?

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/gecou...orumvideos.htm

do u agree with me tat only WP rep, Giam is the only opposition tat make the difference? the rest..... ....i welcome more opposition like him....but a BIG NO to the rest

Any capable individuals out there? pls step forward and join the WP.....i tink he is good

i agree with him tat bto prices shd be pegged to median income rather den resale market value....however, we nid to resume back 10yrs MOP or even longer if the bto prices and the resale market prices gap widens further.....so as to prevent the younger generations from taking things for granted and the scary mentality:'easy profit from hdb bto after 5yrs MOP'....i even heard stories of faking marriages just to get bto flats

btw....did i miss anything? hw come finance minister totally siam the topic on minister's pay.....

he did his homework and came prepared ....but the delivery and mannerism.....

if kenneth jaya and chee soon juan were to appear in this discussion, it would be more exciting.

how come nobody talk about that prata man's pay hike to $4 mil?
    SDP mentioned about ministerial salary....but tham totally siam.....lol

obviously no answer la....few mil vs $650....hahaha

he did his homework and came prepared ....but the delivery and mannerism.....
    i find the pap woman's mannerism very fake and condescending

hehe....she and sdp sama sama

SDP mentioned about ministerial salary....but tham totally siam.....lol

obviously no answer la....few mil vs $650....hahaha
    salary already debated 101 time so no need to explain again. but that lina chiam really cannot make it. came unprepared. presenter ask her on her team's proposal but she Yee ah Yee ah...... no answer!!! also she mentioned a few time "please correct me if i am wrong" during discussion. how can she say such comment when she is debating with opponent? ppl will tell straight that u cannot even get yr fact right. how to depend on her? think she will lose votes after this. same go for the malay candidate. also said "please correct me if i am wrong" tat dr vincent and gerald not bad

quite like this MP leh she good wat. the way she talk has substance. not only this but many occasion saw her on TV

lina chiam was a tad, to put it pleasantly, disappointing.......it's either a lack of eloquence, ill-prepared or simply poor composure

she looks very motherly though....hehe

i fast forward the moment the mly candidate speaks.....

quite like this MP leh she good wat. the way she talk has substance. not only this but many occasion saw her on TV
    PAP supporter defending the indefensible.

Like Tin Pei Ling, Josephine Teo was just reciting text like a parrot with zero substance before moderator cut her off.

Bite the bullet, take your medicine, young Singaporeans too soft etc.

Nothing new from PAP in the forum. Same old stuff and repetition.

Quote Originally Posted by wenqing
    PAP supporter defending the indefensible.

Like Tin Pei Ling, Josephine Teo was just reciting text like a parrot with zero substance before moderator cut her off.

Bite the bullet, take your medicine, young Singaporeans too soft etc.

Nothing new from PAP in the forum. Same old stuff and repetition.
    how abt yr idol lina chiam? what did she said when presenter ask her abt her team's plan? either she doesnt has ay plan or she forgot to memerise her line....haha....make herself a fool in front of tv!!! her favorite phrase..."correct me if i am wrong" if u cannot even convince yrself how do u expect ppl to believe in u. wat a clown!!

There are others WP candidates that are good.

Go WP Facebook and look for Chen Show Mao.

Search Internet for news.

http://ge2011.theonlinecitizen.com/

http://ge2011.theonlinecitizen.com/2...n-a-soundbite/

GE 2011 in a soundbite (updated 4th April)

Posted by admin on April 4, 2011 in Main Stories | 4 Comments

PAP New Candidates

Foo Mee Har
    “So really my views on Malaysia are really about holidays, and good food.” – 24 March 2011.

Steve Tan
    “It’s not whether things are getting pricier. It’s whether youth today are prepared to work hard for what they want.” – 24 March 2011.

“Every voter wants a choice, but I am concerned about younger voters… who are ‘sold’ on what they see in the media about people going onto the streets to protest.” – 24 March 2011.

Ong Ye Kung
    “If I have a choice, I would of course prefer a GRC.” – when asked if he preferred to be fielded in a GRC or SMC, 22 March 2011

“Ours is urban politics. We need a strong majority so that we can move decisively in this uncertain world. It is the only advantage we have.” – 22 March 2011.

“Investments have come in, jobs have improved, wages have gone up.” – 22 march 2011.

Tin Pei Ling
    “My greatest regret is that I didn’t manage to bring my parents to Universal Studios…” – 29 March 2011.

“Actually the cost of education for the young ones is very low.” – 29 March 2011.

“For [the] elderly, for healthcare it’s already relatively quite low in cost, it’s already quite manageable in Singapore…” – 29 March 2011.

“The government has taken very active steps to keep inflation down.” – 29 March 2011. [Singapore's inflation rate for Feb hit 5 per cent.]

“To be honest I don’t have any specific policy that I feel strongly against.” – 29 March 2011.

Janil Puthucheary
    “No, not at all. Certainly my father never expressed any anger or rancor so I could not express any anger for that.” – when asked if he were angry on his father’s behalf about being detained and jail under the ISA in 1963. 22 March 2011.

“I’ve spent the last 10 years saving kids’ lives.” – when asked if he, a new citizen, should do National Service. 1 April 2011

“Asked for his views on the ISA, Dr Puthucheary said the way the law has been used and the potential for its use after the 911 terror attacks is “very different” now. And while he could discuss the philosophic aspects of the law, “the philosophy is not as important as the pragmatic implications for our state”, he added.” – 22 March 2011

Zainal Sapari
    “When I was Mayflower Primary principal, I insisted our organization chart be in alphabetical order because I believe everyone is important.” – 29 March 2011.

Desmond Choo
    “I understand how the poor feel.” – 22 March 2011.

—————
    PAP Ministers

Wong Kan Seng
    “Is it about the interest and missions of political parties or an individual’s interest to create a legacy or to make history?” – 25 march 2011.

“While we say we want to renew our own party, it’s with the objective of serving Singapore’s interest. It’s not really about serving the PAP’s interest.” – 24 March 2011.

“We don’t bring new people here to conduct a revolution.” – 24 March 2011.

“I have been looking forward to this [contest] for a while. At every round since 1991, when I went to Bishan, they did not turn up.” – 24 March 2011

Ng Eng Hen
    “We have taken substantial time over the last four-and-a-half years since the last general election to go through the broad spread of society for people we feel have the commitment as well as the aptitude that can empathise with the day-to-day problems and aspirations of Singaporeans.” – 21 March 2011.

Tharman Shanmugaratnam
    “Frankly speaking, as someone who’s been in politics for 10 years, I’m quite inspired by the cast of new candidates. You wait and see, the diversity, the spirit and the desire will be quite apparent.” – 21 March 2011.

Raymond Lim
    “So we’re very pleased that [Lim] Swee Say is not only joining us here but is leading the team.” – 25 March 2011.

Lim Swee Say
    “As a new member to this GRC, I intend to earn their respect. Initially I will count on the reputation of Prof to gain the added confidence.”
    “But our public transport has improved a lot under his [Raymond Lim] leadership.” – 26 March 2011.

“Lee Yi Shyan is like a helicopter…” – 26 March 2011.

Teo Chee Hean
    “Every day brings it one day closer.” – when asked when the election would be held. 21 March 2011.

“We decide on our own strategy. We don’t respond to Mr Low Thia Khiang.” – when asked if the PAP will field potential PM in SMC, as challenged to do so by Low Thia Khiang, 22 March 2011.

Goh Chok Tong
    “Because they don’t know what life is; they’re quite happy. They wake up, they brush their teeth, then they’ll farm, and then they’ll sleep. But do you want it that way?” – 2 April 2011.

“(The Opposition) may have very silly views, but nonetheless you’ve got to listen to them. Then, you encourage them. But sometimes, to be fair, they’re not so silly. Then, they have to be heard.” – 2 April 2011.

“Young Pei Ling has been traumatised. Saw her yesterday with trauma specialist, Fatimah. While doc examined her, I observed. Her initial hurt n pain have subsided. Gave her clean (bill) of health. In the process, discovered steel in her. She will grow in strength.” – 2 April 2011.

“Pei Ling just called. Media wants her comments on my post. They have failed to appreciate my tongue-in cheek post. True, she has been thru baptism of fire. My use of medical metaphor is becos Fatimah is a trauma specialist. No need for media to chase PL for comments. She is strong n working hard.” – 2 April 2011.

Lee Hsien Loong
    “So, in that same spirit, we should take things in our stride. When it comes, it comes. Before it comes, just know it’s on the horizon.” – 28 March 2011.

K Shanmugam
    “I’ve said before, expect the unexpected.” – 28 Macrh 2011.
    “Both Patrick and Dr Faishal have been a big hit with the residents and the grassroots.” – 28 March 2011.

“Voters should judge candidates mainly on what they stand for, rather than on policies.” – 4 April 2011.

Lim Boon Heng
    “If God receives thanks from only 10 per cent of the people he helped, we mere mortals should not expect to have more.” – 29 March 2011.

“If they don’t say there is gerrymandering, they are not the opposition.” – 26 February 2011.

Lui Tuck Yew
    “She … is that rare flower that will bloom in the winter of adversity.” – on Tin Pei Ling, 2 April 2011.

George Yeo
    “He has got very good credentials. I’m looking forward to knowing more about him.” – on WP potential candidate Chen Show Mao. – 3 April 2011.

—————-
    PAP MPs

Chan Soo Sen
    “If they ask me to retire, I retire. If they ask me to stay, I stay. And if they ask me to go elsewhere to contest, I go.” – 26 March 2011.

Michael Palmer
    “I don’t think there’s any climate of fear.” – 24 March 2011.
    ———————–
    OPPOSITION

Goh Meng Seng (NSP)
    “Many PAP new faces join grassroots organizations just before the elections. Would you call that passion to serve? Passion doesn’t come overnight.” – 28 March 2011.

Low Thia Khiang (WP)
    “If Singaporeans don’t support the opposition and think, ‘Never mind, I welcome you to contest but I will vote for the PAP’, we could end up like the situation we had in 2001 and 1997 where you didn’t have much of a choice.” – 28 March 2011

“We have a competent government and a competent prime minister, but that doesn’t mean there is no need for the opposition to play a role.” – 28 March 2011.

“The PAP is sending rookies as the fourth-generation core leaders, so how do you define rookies in that sense?’ – 28 march 2011.

“Renewal is not only for the PAP.” – 24 March 2011.

“The NCMP scheme is perhaps a reflection of a guilty conscience. And perhaps I don’t know whether (there is) a conscience at all.” – 24 March 2011.

Kenneth Jeyaretnam (RP)
    “For someone to say the opposition is always bickering, it shows they do not understand what democracy is about.” – 24 March 2011.

“We have a highly-paid and undoubtedly efficient civil service to assist whatever government is in power to run the country. Presumably it will not evaporate the moment another party comes into power.” – 24 March 2011.

“I’ve learned from my mistake of announcing our candidates so early.” – 22 March 2011.

Chee Soon Juan (SDP)
    “Elections come, elections go. Elections do not make a democracy and without democracy, it’s very difficult to hold on to your citizens.” – 24 March 2011.

Desmond Lim (SDA)
    “It’s all in one stretch, so you don’t have to climb up and down stairs. The worst thing that can happen is that a dog barks at you.” – 2 April 2011.

Lina Chiam (SPP)
    “I am confident, but the ball is round.” – 26 March 2011.

Chiam See Tong (SPP)
    “We’re not that small-minded. I’ve left my safe haven of Potong Pasir for a more dangerous ground because I want to expand the number of opposition members in Parliament.” – 25 March 2011.

“It’s so stupid to have a three-cornered fight.” – 22 March 2011.

“If I don’t have a team, why should I waste my time walking here?” – 21 March 2011.

“The residents have confidence in me.. I have a good chance of winning.” – 21 March 2011.

Nazem Suki (SDA)
    “There are no Malay issues or Indian issues or Chinese issues. We have national issues to address…” – 24 March 2011.

Gerald Giam (WP)
    “Now the government is now dominated by just one party, the PAP. If this party were to fail, what will happen to Singapore?

Alternative government do not just spring up over night, and that’s why the Workers’ Party has a great emphasis on putting forward a rational, respectable and responsible party that will be able to win the trust of Singaporeans.

“Now even if we field candidates that have all the capabilities and credibility that Singaporeans want, but they do not win the elections, we’re not going to make very much progress in that respect and that’s why we need a sizeable number of elected MPs in Parliament to be able to safeguard Singapore’s future that way.” – 1 April 2011.

Chen Show Mao (WP)
    ‎”Is having opposition party members as NCMPs in Parliament good enough?

Or to make it even easier, we don’t need a Parliament. We can just set up a huge mailbox for people to send their grouses about the government directly to this mailbox. Isn’t that even better?” – 3 April 2011.

</H1>

http://onesingaporean.wordpress.com/...scary-thought/

Tin Pei Ling vs Chen Show Mao – and a very scary thought

Despite what Lim Boon Heng, that minister who has been without a portfolio for some 15 years, has said, the PAP’s slate of new candidates are a dud.

At least as far as I am concerned. I can’t remember any time in the past where the scraping of the barrel by the PAP was so pathetic.

And the signs are already there. Of course, the media is sugar-coating the dud candidates the PAP is selling. Desmond Choo? Desmond Lee? Tin Pei Ling?

Seriously? When one starts to talk about one’s own sob story in order to gain sympathy, you can be sure the barrel is really empty.

But there is a serious issue here which Singaporeans must consider and consider very seriously indeed.

And it is this: With a complicit and compliant media, these duds are being sold and marketed as people with the genuine stuff. And riding piggyback on senior members into Parliament.

This itself is ironic. I mean, if they have the genuine stuff, why would they need to coattail on others?

I am really concerned that someone like Tin Pei Ling, whom I presume hasn’t had even 10-years of working experience, is going into Parliament via the easy and convenient back door.

At the same time, someone like Chen Show Mao may not be in Parliament at all. Chen is expected to be on the WP ticket for the elections.

The man’s credentials are second to none – studied at Harvard, Oxford, Stanford, Rhodes scholar, fluently bilingual, and with experience in international mergers and acquisitions, and he also sits on the advisory board of the Singapore Management University.

PAP's Tin Pei Ling - not even 10 years of working experience

Now, Tin Pei Ling and Chen Show Mao. Which do you think should be in Parliament? I mean, seriously.

Tin Pei Ling is a dime a dozen. You can probably scrap some of her ilk off the sidewalks at Orchard Road.

Chen, on the other hand, is what the PAP would crave for – and indeed, badly needs.

Yet, the truth and reality is that Tin Pei Ling will get into Parliament, while Chen Show Mao may not.

Every opposition party’s new candidates have to go through the baptism of fire in a contest at every election. Chiam See Tong fought twice before winning, and since then, he’s had to fight each of the six elections – and win them all. A total of 8 elections.

Low Thia Khiang too had to fight 5 General Elections – losing his first and winning the other four.

Chiam and Low NEVER had a walkover, or had the “privilege” of entering Parliament by piggybacking on others.

This is what leaders should do. This is what each and every MP must do – fight in an open contest, and not hide behind coattails and worse, say if they get into Parliament they want to “understudy” the senior members.
    We pay S$15,000 a month to each MP.

For such a large sum of money, it is incumbent that each MP contest and win each and every election – just like what Chiam and Low have done and will have to do in this election as well.

No hiding. No piggybacking. No coattails to hang on to.
    WP Chairman Sylvia Lim - may not get into Parliament

But the point I want to make is this:

It would be really really sad and bad for Singapore if someone like Tin Pei Ling is slipped into Parliament without a single vote cast in her favour, while those like Chen Show Mao, Sylvia Lim or even Low Thia Khiang do not get in.

Indeed, the dud slate of candidates the PAP is offering – and if each and everyone of them gets into Parliament – puts Singapore in a precarious position, moving forward.

Here’s another scary thought: In the 2006 general election, all 24 new PAP candidates got into Parliament – a 100% success rate.

While only 2 from the opposition were elected.

So, when you cast your vote, think very very carefully.

Please.

I hope Potong Pasir and all singaporean give Lina Chiam a chance.

You need a lot guts to be an opposition in Singapore.

Looking at the CNA discussion, the show is really short and there's no time for the opposition party to "warm up" and they are always rush and stop by the host when they wanted to continue.

There's no doubt that this lady is sincere and honest. And I bet she will really care for her citizen.

Also, these two candidates from PAP are special selected and very experienced. If they are to have someone like Ms Tin ...Do you think she will perform better than Lina ?

I doubt.

You need a lot guts to be an opposition in Singapore. Of course, if u don have wat it takes, please don bring more harm

Looking at the CNA discussion, the show is really short and there's no time for the opposition party to "warm up" and they are always rush and stop by the host when they wanted to continue. this is the only chance to voice yr view to all singaporean but u spoil it yrself by not preparing yrself. u don see it an important event

There's no doubt that this lady is sincere and honest. And I bet she will really care for her citizen. she can apply to be a caregiver in hospital if she really want to help. spore need capable ppl

Also, these two candidates from PAP are special selected and very experienced. If they are to have someone like Ms Tin ...Do you think she will perform better than Lina ? u mean this is the best the opposition can provide? good luck to u opposition!!

I doubt.

LINA CHIAM (SPP) – 1.5/10

Completely below par performance, the worse i have seen on television (in any country). Lina Chiam should be ashamed of herself. She came completely unprepared, did not know what to say about national issues, exhibited the wrong body language and failed to use her allocated time at the end to summarize her party’s position (she chose to “ask” what the PAP could do for the people instead). While she did bring up one or two good points at the end, everything else about the delivery was horrendous and just too painful to watch. If this is the calibre of SPP’s candidates, pro-opposition voters had better be very worried.

http://onesingaporean.wordpress.com/...scary-thought/

Tin Pei Ling vs Chen Show Mao – and a very scary thought

Despite what Lim Boon Heng, that minister who has been without a portfolio for some 15 years, has said, the PAP’s slate of new candidates are a dud.

At least as far as I am concerned. I can’t remember any time in the past where the scraping of the barrel by the PAP was so pathetic.

And the signs are already there. Of course, the media is sugar-coating the dud candidates the PAP is selling. Desmond Choo? Desmond Lee? Tin Pei Ling?

Seriously? When one starts to talk about one’s own sob story in order to gain sympathy, you can be sure the barrel is really empty.

But there is a serious issue here which Singaporeans must consider and consider very seriously indeed.

And it is this: With a complicit and compliant media, these duds are being sold and marketed as people with the genuine stuff. And riding piggyback on senior members into Parliament.

This itself is ironic. I mean, if they have the genuine stuff, why would they need to coattail on others?

I am really concerned that someone like Tin Pei Ling, whom I presume hasn’t had even 10-years of working experience, is going into Parliament via the easy and convenient back door.

At the same time, someone like Chen Show Mao may not be in Parliament at all. Chen is expected to be on the WP ticket for the elections.

The man’s credentials are second to none – studied at Harvard, Oxford, Stanford, Rhodes scholar, fluently bilingual, and with experience in international mergers and acquisitions, and he also sits on the advisory board of the Singapore Management University.

http://onesingaporean.files.wordpres...pg?w=225&h=300
    PAP's Tin Pei Ling - not even 10 years of working experience

Now, Tin Pei Ling and Chen Show Mao. Which do you think should be in Parliament? I mean, seriously.

Tin Pei Ling is a dime a dozen. You can probably scrap some of her ilk off the sidewalks at Orchard Road.

Chen, on the other hand, is what the PAP would crave for – and indeed, badly needs.

Yet, the truth and reality is that Tin Pei Ling will get into Parliament, while Chen Show Mao may not.

Every opposition party’s new candidates have to go through the baptism of fire in a contest at every election. Chiam See Tong fought twice before winning, and since then, he’s had to fight each of the six elections – and win them all. A total of 8 elections.

Low Thia Khiang too had to fight 5 General Elections – losing his first and winning the other four.

Chiam and Low NEVER had a walkover, or had the “privilege” of entering Parliament by piggybacking on others.

This is what leaders should do. This is what each and every MP must do – fight in an open contest, and not hide behind coattails and worse, say if they get into Parliament they want to “understudy” the senior members.
    We pay S$15,000 a month to each MP.

For such a large sum of money, it is incumbent that each MP contest and win each and every election – just like what Chiam and Low have done and will have to do in this election as well.

No hiding. No piggybacking. No coattails to hang on to.
    http://onesingaporean.files.wordpres...pg?w=300&h=200 WP Chairman Sylvia Lim - may not get into Parliament

But the point I want to make is this:

It would be really really sad and bad for Singapore if someone like Tin Pei Ling is slipped into Parliament without a single vote cast in her favour, while those like Chen Show Mao, Sylvia Lim or even Low Thia Khiang do not get in.

Indeed, the dud slate of candidates the PAP is offering – and if each and everyone of them gets into Parliament – puts Singapore in a precarious position, moving forward.

Here’s another scary thought: In the 2006 general election, all 24 new PAP candidates got into Parliament – a 100% success rate.

While only 2 from the opposition were elected.

So, when you cast your vote, think very very carefully.

Please.
    S$15000/month ? 5 days weeks means one day $750...can buy many many LV or panda baggie...

one day oredi earn $750 vs 71yo oldman $650 a mth.....

You need a lot guts to be an opposition in Singapore.

Looking at the CNA discussion, the show is really short and there's no time for the opposition party to "warm up" and they are always rush and stop by the host when they wanted to continue.

There's no doubt that this lady is sincere and honest. And I bet she will really care for her citizen.

Also, these two candidates from PAP are special selected and very experienced. If they are to have someone like Ms Tin ...Do you think she will perform better than Lina ?

I doubt.

seriously speaking, out of the 4 opposition reps, in my view I will rank the Dr and the IT guy from opposition performed much more better...the malay guy also better than the lady...but it not easy to be an opposition party...a lot of courage is needed... should watch the chinese version which is 1 hour long and a better debate has been carried out...

yeah somemore...fresh type...

actually cannot make such comparison lah. everywhere there is poor ppl. what we can do is fin dway to help them rather than using them to compare against how much a minister earn. if there is a law that tell all ppl to take out their earning and share to all ppl to equalise the income EVERY MONTH. do u think is fair? every society there is rich & poor. just need to live within their mean. rich eat abalone every meal poor eat vegetarian abalone lor...healthier wat.

S$15000 /month is MP pay or minister pay? consider those garmen top rug pay ....minister pay should be much more than $15K/month....

tot agent also earn tat much or more?? easy job jus con ppl into buying.....no need to headache abt high inflation, high property price, high FT.....only care to SELL HIGH HIGH!!!

wah piang....

but seriously....minister pay is way too high la....

btw, 100agts....tink only 5 can make it

If you don't mind that tin peiling inexperienced newbie getting paid $15k a month, why don't you set up a pro pap fan club and raise funds just to pay their millions of salaries and bonuses, in that way, taxpayers money can be put to better social use elsewhere and you and your fans can concentrate on paying mps. You may also want to organise events to raise funds for mps salaries like those nkf shows.
    actually cannot make such comparison lah. everywhere there is poor ppl. what we can do is fin dway to help them rather than using them to compare against how much a minister earn. if there is a law that tell all ppl to take out their earning and share to all ppl to equalise the income EVERY MONTH. do u think is fair? every society there is rich & poor. just need to live within their mean. rich eat abalone every meal poor eat vegetarian abalone lor...healthier wat.

Judging from your posts, you will make a good pap lackey and mp bootlicker

What is puzzling me is that there is so much of the debate is on minister's pay. No doubt that it is an issue, but is that the most pressing issue?

What about more freedom of expression, abolition of the ISA, no more bankrupting of opposition politicians, irrational redrawing of electorates every election etc....

over exploitation of public funds for personal gain is not a pressing issue? If mps can't use our public funds equitably in the aspect of pay, what more is there to talk about?
    What is puzzling me is that there is so much of the debate is on minister's pay. No doubt that it is an issue, but is that the most pressing issue?

What about more freedom of expression, abolition of the ISA, no more bankrupting of opposition politicians, irrational redrawing of electorates every election etc....