Thread: RE : Case Study Question :>)

Default RE : Case Study Question :>)

Hi all pros,

Wld like to ask a question tapping on your "lau qiao" experience.

Condo A of 11 yrs old is situated 10 minutes to train station. A nearby land to condo A was sold last year at $520psf, probably making breakeven between $830 to $880psf. It is scheduled to launch Q2 next year.

Currently, condo A is already selling at $800 to $850psf for 2 bedder. If I am interested only to buy 2 bedder, how much upside do you think condo A can rise by say...end next yr ?? and the yr after next ???

Thanks...

Y not simply give us tge condo name?

Really really almost punched the condo name earlier liaooo..believe me.. as i do need the right advice...

But also scare the price later all will go "sky high"... think u know what I mean...

Quote Originally Posted by Petertan123
    Really really almost punched the condo name earlier liaooo..believe me.. as i do need the right advice...

But also scare the price later all will go "sky high"... think u know what I mean...
    If tat condo really so gd... Jus buy lor

Cannot jus based on future launch px.... If not, we shd all showhand on bishan ppty now since capland bot at 8xxpsf

Lao qiao or lao hiao??. Lol

North East? Must be hougang or sengkang area ba...

This forum so power meh can sway the market sentiment?

No expert but a kid here.

Go for condo A, price will be up from 3% to 18% when condo b launch.

But this is based on the the assumption of 830 to 880 psf.

If condo B launch at 1000 psf... Since near MRT... Hmm....

If condo launch at 720 psf.... Die die lor.

Bishan 8? Huat ah!!

No expert but a kid here.

Go for condo A, price will be up from 3% to 18% when condo b launch.

But this is based on the the assumption of 830 to 880 psf.

If condo B launch at 1000 psf... Since near MRT... Hmm....

If condo launch at 720 psf.... Die die lor.

Bishan 8? Huat ah!!
    One piece of advice.... Cannot just based on psf anymore.... Goto see quantum as well....Many hdb upgradders dun see psf one.... They jus buy based on quantum

Thats expert advice for u.

4 bedder 1 million to 1.25 million
    3 bedder 850k to 1 million
    2 bedder 700k to 850k
    1 bedder 500k to 700k

Above for mass market. Luxury diff ball game.

ehhh..may I know why they need to base on quantum ? sorry for this noob question..

Din u realise 2 bedder shrunk to 7xxsqft n 3bedder 1ksqft?
    Wif the same amt of money.... Its evident tat buyersl will bite new launches even though sizes r significantly smaller....

New is better.

Same with new cars, there is always a need for new cars

COE so high, still got people buy right?

The main reason is because housing prices have gone up so much. However most upgraders still have similar salary as before, hence many cannot afford that big quantum for a traditional sized flat nowadays.

So developers build smaller sized flats so as to remain affordable to upgraders, yet at the same time making psf higher.

e.g.
    3 bedroom unit size 1270sqft last time sell 600psf = 762k in 2009
    3 bedroom unit size 960sqft now sell 820psf = 787k in 2011

Upgraders still see it as a 3 bedroom unit, price reasonable, no bay window no bomb shelter no planters, then buy buy buy!

Is condo LH99? If so, you can't compare it to the new launch directly.

11 +(2 or 3 years of construction) of the 99LH has run out. Gotta factor that in as well.

Why so secretive... there are no secrets out there....

Based on another thread, new launches have limited influences on prices of old condo nearby! It probably affect but not very much! Amenities affect condo prices more than new launches. Personally, I base my purchase on 3 factors!
    1. If the nearby amenities like shopping centres, MRT or school fit my requirements, I'll take a second look.
    2. Nearby developments must be promising, like many new launches or even a new shopping arcade nearby in the pipeline, etc.
    3. If its old condo, I must then consider my financial status for renovation allowances. Usually old condo requires $60k to $80k cash for decent renovation while new condo can pump all those excess cash into downpayment. At 11 years old, the pipes and floorings might be worn out and need replacement?

I think it would be helpful if the thread starter can give the name of the condo. Or at least approximate location. Certain areas have more potential than other areas. Certain condos may also be unpopular for specific reasons. If condo A is freehold it would have more potential than another 99 LH property. The appetite for 99 LH seems to wane faster when ppl dump them and go chasing after the newer ones.