Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Thread: Singaporeans do not want to pay Tin Peiling $15k a month...She should just get lost!

if she stays in office for the next 5 years, she will get 5 years of hell in the forums from the thousands and thousands who detest her
    5yrs at 15k/mth = 900k and this's allowance
    not even her full time job.
    ok what... not a bad deal mah

Quote Originally Posted by mogyi
    her hubby is a principal secretary to PM wor....she can actually become tai tai too....LOL

She got full time job + now she also mp,does she still have time to bring her parents to resorts world? If not, she regret for long time le....

maybe sm goh already knew the result for his ward will drop but he want to save face so plant a bimbo there to take arrow. old cunning fox vs stupid bimbo
    dun think she qualify to be bimbo leh
    bimbo must look good and sound stupid
    she only sounds stupid!

I think her case leaves a bad taste for those people working in PAP-related grassroots activities for many years and yet were not selected for the election. It might force more talented and dedicated people to join the opposition parties for greater opportunities at the next election.

Ms Kate Spade Kopi Tin is unlikely to give up her place as an MP. No reason for her to give up after winning the elections and having GCT still supporting her even though he said she was a factor for the low win margin.

See the link below for Ms Kate's response on her infamous rotten online reputation.

http://sg.news.yahoo.com/blogs/singa...033732729.html

Quote Originally Posted by 5577
    Ms Kate Spade Kopi Tin is unlikely to give up her place as an MP. No reason for her to give up after winning the elections and having GCT still supporting her even though he said she was a factor for the low win margin.

See the link below for Ms Kate's response on her infamous rotten online reputation.

http://sg.news.yahoo.com/blogs/singa...033732729.html
    she said she will listen to resident and reach to the young. isnt all asking her to get lost but she is not listening!!!

$15k/mth in exchange to be a public enemy. serve her right

she said she will listen to resident and reach to the young. isnt all asking her to get lost but she is not listening!!!
    She's listening... just not doing what she's heard.

She can't just resign now oredi..... More implications

If really Wana blame, goto blame the person who recommended her IN..... and dun blame Grc system etc hehe

Resignation will only make PAP lose more 'face' and they will not want to do that now... Best option is she start a family and just disappear from politics for 2 years. Wait for public to calm down then return... . Remember Singaporeans are very forgiving people. Even terrorist escape also forgive le. She can take comfort from that...

We do not have red shirt kind of spirit so any shit the govt throw at the people they will just guai guai so long as our economy prospers. I think majority of singaporeans prize gdp growth more than anything else.
    Resignation will only make PAP lose more 'face' and they will not want to do that now... Best option is she start a family and just disappear from politics for 2 years. Wait for public to calm down then return... . Remember Singaporeans are very forgiving people. Even terrorist escape also forgive le. She can take comfort from that...

dun think she qualify to be bimbo leh
    bimbo must look good and sound stupid
    she only sounds stupid!
    You are right - bimbo refers to the Ris Low type

Quote Originally Posted by wesing
    You are right - bimbo refers to the Ris Low type
    Can ask her to consider running in the next GE???

TPL v Ris Low, I vote Ris She no brain but at least got looks. The other got none

Quote Originally Posted by wesing
    TPL v Ris Low, I vote Ris She no brain but at least got looks. The other got none
    PAP should throw tat ugly bimbo TPL to Opp and use her 欠扁脸 to win back some vote!!!

PAP should throw tat ugly bimbo TPL to Opp and use her ??? to win back some vote!!!
    Like that sure boomz liao

PAP should throw tat ugly bimbo TPL to Opp and use her 欠扁脸 to win back some vote!!!
    actually by staying in PAP, she is helping opp alot..

I think most pple were on the fence, see TPL this pattern become MP, not happy, so they vote Opp instead

she is opp's secret weapon!!

maybe sm goh already knew the result for his ward will drop but he want to save face so plant a bimbo there to take arrow. old cunning fox vs stupid bimbo
    Sorry, need to pour cold water on this.

Internationally, nobody cares about PAP but maybe some care about Singapore.

Singapore is not world super power or what.

World status of Singaporeans remain low as Singapore has no well known MNCs to supplement any world status.

In the world economy and working world, there are Caucasians, Japanese and Koreans.

Then Chinese and Taiwanese.

Many Singaporeans are working for people companies and people above.

Singaporeans are rank quite low or maximum middle managers only.

No Singaporean had ever shaken the world stage yet, not even MM Lee.

sekali next GE ah goh join Opp!!!!
    Retired popular PAP MP Tan Cheng Bock supported Kenneth Jeyaratnam at West Coast GRC during elections and blasted PAP's immigration policy in his blog.

http://www.tanchengbock.org/?p=122#more-122

Dr Tan Cheng Bock’s Stand on Foreign Talent

Question: Your name crops up each time the Foreign Talent issue is raised. Why is that?

Answer:
    During the recession, my call to think Singaporeans first during the debate on Foreign Talent was rebutted very strongly by Ministers including then-SM Lee Kuan Yew.

I was even accused of being anti-national for my stand.

Singaporeans come first
    Our message to Singaporeans must be clear and loud. We will take care of their basic needs.

We will have schemes for our citizens to upgrade their skills training and education and they will get priority over others, including Permanent Residents .

Now this is more important priority call than foreign talent. I can understand the rationale and need to inject such talent into our society.

But many still don’t and especially in this time, such a call makes them feel threatened, bearing in mind that a good number of jobs are lost from the middle management level.

I feel that it this juncture, this call for foreign talent might be a bit misplaced. Let’s think Singaporeans first.’ —Dr Tan Cheng Bock, MP for Ayer Rajah, on how the Government should tone down its calls for the recruitment of foreign talent and reassure Singaporeans that they came first

<a href="http://www.tanchengbock.org/wp-content/uploads/2011/04/clip_image002.jpg" target="_blank">http://www.tanchengbock.org/wp-conte...e002_thumb.jpg

AND REBUKE BY THEN-SM LEE

So, when I heard Dr Tan Cheng Bock, I decided I would stand up and tell him he’s wrong… you have to decide whether you think he knows more or I know more.

You have to decide whether he will give you the answer to Singapore’s future — or that I am likely to give you the better road to the future.

.. Then SM Lee – 14 August 1999

(Extracts from Ayer Rajah 25th Anniversary Magazine)

<a href="http://www.tanchengbock.org/wp-content/uploads/2011/04/image6.png" target="_blank">http://www.tanchengbock.org/wp-conte...age_thumb6.png

http://www.tanchengbock.org/?p=117

Dr Tan Cheng Bock’s stand on Nominated MP

Question: Your stand on Nominated MP is well-known. Why do you object?

Answer:

In July 1992, I had to make a stand on the issue of nominated MP5. I was against this because I believe that MPs must be elected by the people and be accountable for their actions. I voted against my party.

Reactions from the Press

Not blind loyalty but conviction and conscience

Tough issues include issues of principle. And here another back bencher, Dr Tan Cheng Bock, who remains in the House, has shown the way forward.

In the May sitting of parliament, Dr Tan was the only PAP MP to vote against a motion to continue the nominated MP scheme, He could have so easily taken the safe route and joined the rest of his party colleagues in either voting for the motion or abstaining, But no.

Dr Tan had no qualms about momentarily standing apart from the rest of the parliamentary PAP.

Despite being a member of the party’s Central Executive Committee and a close and long standing friend of the Prime Minister (they became good chums during their student days at Raffles Institution), the MP for Ayer Rajah preferred to ally himself with the compelling ethic that friendship and loyalty should not come in between a man and the strength of his convictions.

A true practitioner of noblesse oblige (rank carries with it generous and honorable conduct).

Dr Tan Cheng Bock’s fair mindedness and ability to view party loyalty as important but not absolute has made him highly regarded both inside and outside the House.

He is considered by some to be the outward manifestation of the PAP’s Conscience.

Business Times – 28 July 1992

‘Nominated Member of Parliament’ speech was featured in the book “Constitutional Law in Malaysia and Singapore”, pages 206-209. Authors: Kevin Tan Yew Lee, Yew Tiong Min, Lee Kiat Seng

(Extracts from Ayer Rajah 25th Anniversary Magazine)

http://www.tanchengbock.org/?p=79

My Say on Medicine, Politics and Money

This is an edited version of an exclusive interview with Dr Tan that was originally published in the July 2006 SMA News, Volume 38, Issue 7.

My Say – Medicine, Politics and Money

Dated : 00-00-0000

Dr Tan planned, started and chaired the Feedback Unit. He has also been on various town councils, several Government Parliamentary committees, and sat on the boards of the SMRT and Land Transport Authority.

Though he has retired from politics, Dr Tan, who enjoys gardening, playing golf and rearing Japanese carp, still contributes to the community.

He is the chairman of the Jurong Health Connect Advisory Committee among other posts.

My Say – Medicine, Politics and Money

The first in a two-part interview with Dr Tan Cheng Bock, 66, who entered politics in 1980 and served as Ayer Rajah constituency’s MP for 25 years.

He spoke to the Singapore Medical Association’s SMA News magazine about
    Medicine, politics and money

Dr Tan planned, started and chaired the Feedback Unit. He has also been on various town councils, several Government Parliamentary committees, and sat on the boards of the SMRT and Land Transport Authority.

Though he has retired from politics, Dr Tan, who enjoys gardening, playing golf and rearing Japanese carp, still contributes to the community. He is the chairman of the Jurong Health Connect Advisory Committee among other posts.

Q: How did you enter politics?

DR TAN: I have always been a socialist at heart. I chose to set up my practice in a rural village in Lim Chu Kang because I felt that it would allow me to make use of my medical training.

My patients had not much but I did not care. I was not thinking of money – I was thinking of helping them. I charged little and worked like mad.

But I enjoyed my practice and that is the most important thing. They paid me in kind, with chickens, eggs, durians and so on.

In those days, the villagers were not sure about government policies. I wrote letters to the government departments for them.

These engagements with government officials and helping the villagers to meet their needs must have triggered in me a desire to want to be more involved in politics. I was hoping I could do more inside the political system rather than outside.

Q: If you have to give advice to young GPs today, given the world has changed so much, what would you say?

DR TAN: I think, you first – this is very important – have to enjoy your practice and think of your patients. If you go in just wanting to make money, you are going to be very disappointed.

But having said that, I think money will come if you do a good practice.
    And be honest with them. If you cannot treat them, tell them. Do not try to over service them. When there is rapport, you do not have to be afraid of the patient running away.

I am never afraid of that. I have sent my poor patients to polyclinics. But they still come back and see me for other things, and even bring their children.

When a new patient comes, do not be afraid to ask about his economic situation. And do not worry if one or two poor patients cannot pay you.
    I always tell my patients, “If you can’t pay me now, never mind. Maybe you can pay me another day.”

Q: But do people take advantage of your kindness?

DR TAN: Very rarely.

But I realise that nowadays, the cost of setting up a practice is very high. So if you ask me, you should not have solo practices like me. It is an old-fashioned way of running a GP clinic.

Young doctors, if possible, should form group practices. I made a proposal to the Government many years ago that they should set up clinic complexes in housing estates, run by private practitioners.

Currently there are so many individual clinics out there, so they tend to compete against each other. In those circumstances, you may be tempted to compromise your medicine or do funny things, neither of which is very nice. As a doctor, you must uphold your standards.

Q: But now there are plans to actually move more primary care to GPs.

DR TAN: Yes, I am involved with that. Health Minister Khaw Boon Wan asked me to help the committee on the advisory board to manage chronic illnesses. I will be chairman of the Jurong Medical Centre, where I will try to work on my idea of a clinic complex.

I am also going back to my pet subject: the rendering of home care. And if it is really successful, we will be the first country in the world to manage chronic disease well.

Ticked Off Over Foreign Talent

Q: What are some of your best memories in politics?

DR TAN: Winning over the government to allow free parking on Sundays and public holidays. This was to promote better social interaction.

I was quite disturbed when we had paid parking during weekends. Many Singaporeans said that when they were visiting parents or friends, they could not stay longer because they had to pay for parking.

So I fought for free parking on Sundays and public holidays to promote better social interaction.

The other memorable issue is the use of CPF for education. I still get many people along the road – young boys and girls I have never met – who thank me because they could go to university even though their parents had no money.

Another issue that I took up was foreign talent. I went to the House and spoke against promoting foreign talent into the country during the economic recession, but rather to slow down and think of our fellow Singaporeans.

Initially, it was the man-on-the-street who lost his job because of the foreign workers’ policy.

Then when the recession sank in, I found that very young people and executives were beginning to lose their jobs too, even as the government was calling for more foreign talent to be brought in.

I was not against getting foreign talent, but I felt that we should slow down the call for foreign talent during the recession, and to think of Singaporeans first.

That was a very loaded statement and it upset many front bench politicians in the House especially the then Senior Minister Lee Kuan Yew.

He said: “So, when I heard Dr Tan Cheng Bock, I decided I would stand up and tell him he’s wrong… you have to decide whether you think he knows more or I know more. You have to decide whether he will give you the answer to Singapore’s future – or that I am likely to give you the better road to the future.”

You see, in politics, your choice of words is very important. My statement was: “Think of Singaporeans first during the recession”, but it was taken out of context and read as “Think of Singaporeans first”.

Q: Do you think there is a need for real opposition?

DR TAN: Yes. I strongly believe there should be an opposition team in the House. From the way it is going, I can see more opposition coming up at the next General Election.

It is a wave of change that Singaporeans want in the coming years. You cannot stop this wave and it is a good thing for Singapore.

We should not be afraid. As leaders, we should be confident enough to respond to the opposition wave.

We are dealing with an electorate that is getting more educated: currently about 65 per cent of our Primary 1 cohort is going to have tertiary education, while the rest will have secondary education. Those are big numbers.

Are you going to tell me that a simple argument is going to win them over?

No. Singaporeans have learnt to accept one important value – fairness. And if they think something is not fair, they will get upset.

Q: Can NMPs play the role of opposition MPs as one minister said?

DR TAN: My answer is a big NO. NMPs cannot be opposition MPs.

If you look at the comments made by NMPs in the house, many are more PAP than the PAP MPs.

I have never supported this scheme. In fact it should be reviewed. NMPs presence has very little value and Singaporeans should not accept this sort of political voice.

Q: How about future politicians? Any advice?

DR TAN: I think the future politician in Singapore must have some knowledge of economics. An MP’s work, apart from parliamentary sittings, meet-the-people sessions, and community work, also involves running community development councils and town councils.

Running town councils involves financial understanding and economics.

Even as a doctor, you must read a little about economics and understand its workings, as well as a bit of finance. If you know how money moves, you will be able to manage things.

This is an edited version of an exclusive interview with Dr Tan that was originally published in the July 2006 SMA News, Volume 38, Issue 7.

Posted at http://www.pap.org.sg/articleview.php?folder=PT&id=1371

http://www.tanchengbock.org/?p=29

What people say about the naming of the hospital

Someone sent me this link to the Channel News Asia Forum. I didn’t realized so many people have expressed their views on the naming of the hospital.

The forum is entitled: “I Salute Dr Tan Cheng Bock – Hospital Name”
    Here is one of the views I read:

“I totally agree with Dr Tan Cheng Bock’s view (ST, 2 April 2011) on why we shouldn’t rename the Jurong Hospital as Ng Teng Fong Hospital.

Ng Teng Fong contributed $125M towards the $1 billion hospital. This is only about 12.5% of the total cost.

Does the government wants to send out the message that if you contribute 12.5% of the total cost of a public institution, then you will be able to get it name after you? ” .. Money Magnet

You can read more views at Channel News Asia Forum

It is wrong to call it Ng Teng Fong Hospital

ST headline news on April 2nd featured my resignation from the Jurong General Hospital board. Let me explain.

Many Singaporeans were under the impression that the hospital will be paid for by the Ng family.

This is not the case. The government will spend almost 1 billion on this hospital. The Ng family donated $125 million.

While the $125million donation is a large sum it is small compared to the $1 billion the government is spending on the 700 bed hospital scheduled to open in 2014.

With this donation of $125 million the government is prepared to have the hospital renamed from Jurong General Hospital to Ng Teng Fong hospital To me this was wrong as it looked as if any rich man could have a public institution named after him if he donates the right amount.

I cannot reconcile with this and resigned from the board.

Public Institution Buildings are prestigious.

We must be mindful of its importance and value.

If the public building is to be named after a person then Singaporeans must be able to associate that person named with having a history of lifelong philanthropy like Tan Tock Seng (who actually built the original hospital) or a person with history of remarkable and major services to country like Dr Goh Keng Swee, former DPM.

This name change will send a wrong message to Singaporeans.

Wenqing, is he part of the PAP that you used to so much admire and voted for? Will you vote for him if he runs on PAP platform again?

Yes, he is one of the older generation PAP stalwarts with older values and principles unlike all the present PAP MP boot-lickers and rubber-stampers who join PAP, Grassroots, NTUC for self-preservation, career advancement, status and money.

Quote Originally Posted by wenqing
    Yes, he is one of the older generation PAP stalwarts with older values and principles unlike all the present PAP MP boot-lickers and rubber-stampers who join PAP, Grassroots, NTUC for self-preservation, career advancement, status and money.
    will u back out again during polling day???

His values are old and principles are old but still applies to any good government of the day

Possible candidate for presidential election?

TCS news got report on tin pei ling and her work...and interview with macpherson people who say she is good haa haa....

These people must be from grassroots posing as tpl supporters knn
    TCS news got report on tin pei ling and her work...and interview with macpherson people who say she is good haa haa....