Thread: What factors do you look for?

Default What factors do you look for?

Hi all, what are your most important considerations when choosing a home for own stay? Besides the obvious (e.g. price). Thanks!

Quote Originally Posted by lambchop
    Hi all, what are your most important considerations when choosing a home for own stay? Besides the obvious (e.g. price). Thanks!
    Sure depend on your family dynamics and requirements. If there are school going independent kids, then must at least be near MRT. Also near to work or not as a personal choice. Think there are many treads on this in this forum... can check out coz tonnes of discussions have already been made!

Quote Originally Posted by lambchop
    well, i look whether there are nearby eateries serving delicious lamb chops.

HAHAHA that funny!

tot the trend now is near good school. btw, which pri school is better for boys and got some hope of getting in no need parent volunteer work.

For me must be quiet as I work through the night sometimes and sleep in the day.

Must have some cheap hawker food within walking distance.

Best to have unblocked view or nature views from the apartment.

tot the trend now is near good school. btw, which pri school is better for boys and got some hope of getting in no need parent volunteer work.
    it seems like a trend for u now bcoz ur boy is going to pri 1 soon? hehe

for own stay:
    1) not facing main road (very impt, definitely no no)
    2)no west sun (slight west on certain part of the hse still ok)
    3)N-S-E facing and single loading layout preferred (very hard to find)
    4)got nice unblocked views will be a bonus

for investment: anything tat can make good $$$

for own stay:

What's a single loading layout?

something like sky11....front and back unblocked with superb cross ventilation

best facing and layout will be NS single loading+corner facing east......

interlace got quite a few such units....but vy big units

when choosing unit for own stay, I prefer condo.
    To choose unit in a condo, the following points

1. far away from the BBQ pits
    2. far away from the children playground
    3. depends on what sort of pool, not to be near to children pool.
    4. Pool view is great, provided there are great pools with low usage
    5. far away from the bin centre, and pump room
    6. not near to the carpark entrance
    7. NS facing
    8. distance between the blocks

for own stay:

Agreed but more than that, not even near main road, less facing it. The sound from the passing cars and bikes and trucks is even worse than the MRT trains passing! Worse are houses beside the expressway. How to sleep!

when choosing unit for own stay, I prefer condo.
    To choose unit in a condo, the following points

1. far away from the BBQ pits
    2. far away from the children playground
    3. depends on what sort of pool, not to be near to children pool.
    4. Pool view is great, provided there are great pools with low usage
    5. far away from the bin centre, and pump room
    6. not near to the carpark entrance
    7. NS facing
    8. distance between the blocks
    Then u can stay in penthouses... far from everything but still got great pool view. Just have to find a NS facing penthouse!

high rise PH whr got poolview liao

actually miltonia 4bdr PH(those NE facing ones) layout and facing quite ideal liao....everything seems gd except location

high rise PH whr got poolview liao

actually miltonia 4bdr PH(those NE facing ones) layout and facing quite ideal liao....everything seems gd except location
    No need high rise condo lah... get a low rise condo like 6 storey or 8 storey penthouse can still see pool but a bit small only lor!

Agree with your list for own stay ...add just one...
    For 'in-betw' children eg say Sec Sch/JC - accessibility to transport (MRT)

Another new single loading project (rare!) - Buckley Residence.
    Single load tend to be in bigger and older developments.

for own stay:

Agree with your list for own stay ...add just one...
    For 'in-betw' children eg say Sec Sch/JC - accessibility to transport (MRT)

Another new single loading project (rare!) - Buckley Residence.
    Single load tend to be in bigger and older developments.
    It is rare in condos but common in old HDB designs leh!

PH - no no for me

too hot, balcony not covered...so u can imagine during hot days and down pour
    When u look down from PH and see the pool,,u feel giddy...and u look into all the ugly balcony of others...

PH - no no for me

too hot, balcony not covered...so u can imagine during hot days and down pour
    When u look down from PH and see the pool,,u feel giddy...and u look into all the ugly balcony of others...
    Can build your little roof over your balcony. Don't look down lor. Just look up and enjoy the star gazing!

It is rare in condos but common in old HDB designs leh!
    u mean those corridor units? hahaha

even point blocks not truely single loading.....goto be 2units per floor or like 'terraces' kind of layout with corner terrace being the premium wif NS-E facing...BEST!

u mean those corridor units? hahaha

even point blocks not truely single loading.....goto be 2units per floor or like 'terraces' kind of layout with corner terrace being the premium wif NS-E facing...BEST!
    Don't care about definitions... Just enjoy the breeze. My house got super strong cold cold wind during Dec/Jan. Open front door also must wear jacket when sitting in the living room... Like in Genting. i like it!

for own stay:

If bo pien to take facing main road, how high up is acceptable to escape the traffic noise?

Quote Originally Posted by testtest
    If bo pien to take facing main road, how high up is acceptable to escape the traffic noise?
    i am not an expert in this field...but i realise noise travels upwards...so....just use beacon heights for eg....i wud expect low flrs to be much quieter bcoz noise shielded by trees....another exprience at lumiere....low flr almost cannot hear the traffic noise unlike higher flrs

but if ur development is near to main road (with not much trees providing some sort of shielding), i will get top few floors to avoid the fumes/soot since high or low flrs will still get traffic noise

or unless ur development is like 60+ The Sail...top few flrs surely cannot hear any traffic noise liao....

Quote Originally Posted by testtest
    Really depend on the flow density of the main road you are facing. If its the expressway, I was up at 20 storey and the sound is still not within tolerable decibels. Not sure about 50 storey up but certainly must be above 25 or even 30 to have some ear peace!

No experience - but I think its below 9th floor with mature tree-line and above 25th floor. In-betw can get very noisy if near busy expressways/major roads.

Really depend on the flow density of the main road you are facing. If its the expressway, I was up at 20 storey and the sound is still not within tolerable decibels. Not sure about 50 storey up but certainly must be above 25 or even 30 to have some ear peace!

something like sky11....front and back unblocked with superb cross ventilation

best facing and layout will be NS single loading+corner facing east......

interlace got quite a few such units....but vy big units
    I see. Actually most HDB have such layout right?

There are some definitions to qualify and apparently devilplate knows well. I thought the older HDB qualifies but he said no...

i am not an expert in this field...but i realise noise travels upwards...so....just use beacon heights for eg....i wud expect low flrs to be much quieter bcoz noise shielded by trees....another exprience at lumiere....low flr almost cannot hear the traffic noise unlike higher flrs

but if ur development is near to main road (with not much trees providing some sort of shielding), i will get top few floors to avoid the fumes/soot since high or low flrs will still get traffic noise

or unless ur development is like 60+ The Sail...top few flrs surely cannot hear any traffic noise liao....
    I have a friend who stays at Cote D'Azur, high floor, sea facing.

He cannot tahan the noise from ECP, even after staying for a few years and recently decided to move elsewhere...

for own stay:

I wonder how many people share these sentiments? I bought my unit with N-S-E facing, unblocked view (at least for now), but facing main road, and single loading. The agent did not highlight these when he sold the apartment to me. Now that I know, I hope it can command a better selling price or rental.

Quote Originally Posted by plastic
    I wonder how many people share these sentiments? I bought my unit with N-S-E facing, unblocked view (at least for now), but facing main road, and single loading. The agent did not highlight these when he sold the apartment to me. Now that I know, I hope it can command a better selling price or rental.
    Common for people to avoid west-facing because of the heat, and common to avoid main roads because of bad fengshui. But all these are individual preferences, so I am not sure they justify a premium or discount.

But can someone explain what single loading means?