Page 1 of 8 123456 ... LastLast

Thread: what size/location of condo is best investment?

Default what size/location of condo is best investment?

what size of condo is best investment and at which location?

size
    1) shoes box size - 50m.sq
    2) 2 bedroom - 80m.sq
    3) 3 bedroom - 100m.sq
    4) 4 bedroom - 130m.sq

B) City Fringe
    C) Suburbia

Considerations:
    1) rental returns
    2) potential capital gain
    3) initial capital cost
    4) which will have hardest hit during recession or best gain during boom?

Quote Originally Posted by condo888

size
    2) 2 bedroom - 80m.sq
    3) 3 bedroom - 100m.sq
    4) 4 bedroom - 130m.sq

B) City Fringe
    C) Suburbia

Considerations:
    1) rental returns
    3) initial capital cost
    For point number 4, big units in ccr hardest hit during the short 6mths firesale period in 2009......so many such units trying to sell at a loss.

Would you also consider FH, 999LH, 99LH... etc as factors? Possible impact on potential capital gains no?

Location and flipping of units are prime factors for capital gain.
    Would you also consider FH, 999LH, 99LH... etc as factors? Possible impact on potential capital gains no?

size
    2) 2 bedroom - 80m.sq
    3) 3 bedroom - 100m.sq
    4) 4 bedroom - 130m.sq

B) City Fringe
    C) Suburbia

Considerations:
    1) rental returns
    3) initial capital cost
    for best investment point of view..
    1 bedder (above 500sq ft) in prime..eg: altez,clift,tribeca,metz
    2 bedder in city fringe..eg: citylights,southbank,citysquare,belvedere,seafront.
    avoid suburbia for investment,to live in is good.

There is no such thing as avoiding any place for investment, anywhere can be good for investment if the entry price is right. For suburbia, you can see good rental returns place capital appreciation as well, depends where you buy and at what price. For prime, if you can stomach a drop from $2k psf to $1400psf during a crisis, you can go ahead to buy. For ocr, if you buy at $800psf, how low can the price go especially when you have hdb prices to act as a buffer.
    Quote Originally Posted by fiat500
    for best investment point of view..
    1 bedder (above 500sq ft) in prime..eg: altez,clift,tribeca,metz
    2 bedder in city fringe..eg: citylights,southbank,citysquare,belvedere,seafront.
    avoid suburbia for investment,to live in is good.

Hmmm looks like suddenly we have many new members buying/looking to buy now... A sign of another bull run ?

Whyyya u looking to invest when cannot even sell within 4 years time...who know what next... cannot sell for 10 years..

Quote Originally Posted by rockinsg
    Whyyya u looking to invest when cannot even sell within 4 years time...who know what next... cannot sell for 10 years..
    Yah loh...I sold a studio and bought another 1 bedroom, now stuck with 4year ssd...bad move...sianz.

size
    2) 2 bedroom - 80m.sq
    3) 3 bedroom - 100m.sq
    4) 4 bedroom - 130m.sq

B) City Fringe
    C) Suburbia

Considerations:
    1) rental returns
    3) initial capital cost
    frankly speaking, there is no such thing as "best" investment choice...
    else everyone will be doing the same...
    it's all up to how hungry you are in terms of risk appetite...
    high risk would probably produce high returns...

if you ask me, best to invest in landed...
    location wise, you have to do you own research... i ain't gonna tell it here...

Go get beside railway before prices moved.

There is no such thing as avoiding any place for investment, anywhere can be good for investment if the entry price is right. For suburbia, you can see good rental returns place capital appreciation as well, depends where you buy and at what price. For prime, if you can stomach a drop from $2k psf to $1400psf during a crisis, you can go ahead to buy. For ocr, if you buy at $800psf, how low can the price go especially when you have hdb prices to act as a buffer.
    of coz there's a reason..a very strong reason in fact.
    reason to avoid suburbia for investment is because in a downturn,your 1 bedder n 2 bedder in prime n city fringe location can still be rented out..
    there will still be demand for these 1 n 2 bedders even though rental rates will be lower.
    for suburbia? well......

Actually very easy to understand.

Just rank them all in terms of rental price

Scale of 10 to 1

Normal time, each with earn it's rent, 10, 7, 4 and 1 for example.

In bad times, 10 become 7, 7 become 4, 4 become 1, 1 die lor....

Wahahaha......

In general

For capital appreciation -
    suburbia (highest sq ft you can afford lowest psf to your liking) in super recessionary levels in decent periods of housing slumps provided you do not lose your jobs. Agents beg you to tour empty units and ghost units. You say no. 6m later they still call you back. You are considering because of super high. interest rates. You must have the buy to stay mentality and you decide to just buy when nobody is buying at low levels.

For rental -
    prime and future JLD - consider more on investment factor and more homework needed. I would prefer to pick rental on 2 bedders on desired location and size. If mixed development of 2 bed, 1 bed and MM. I pick 2 bed to be the price setter. Imagine you buy MM to lower rates because the 2 bed lower its rental during sucky periods. I would compare hotel rates and expatriate traffic, ask myself why people will rent my unit given competition nearby. If minimal big units and mostly MM 1 bed, buy MM and 1-bedder.

of coz there's a reason..a very strong reason in fact.
    reason to avoid suburbia for investment is because in a downturn,your 1 bedder n 2 bedder in prime n city fringe location can still be rented out..
    there will still be demand for these 1 n 2 bedders even though rental rates will be lower.
    for suburbia? well......
    Not sure abt ocr 1bdr....

But cfm got demand for ocr 2bdr la

Entry px impt la.....2bdr ocr can easily get at 500k in early 07....jus rent out 1.5k aso can tahan recession la...

For me, all sectors abt the same now....ccr cfm not undervalued....those who say so simply use those ocr highest psf achieved in new launches to compare.....new launches in watever R aso overpriced now....

R means run.... Better run if u haven't done so.... Hahaha

in D9, D10, D11 - have anyone realised there is quite a number of condo units that are vacant/not tenanted?

What about the situation in OCR?

dont confuse the 1 who asked the original question!
    just stick to this theory for investment:
    1 bedder buy in prime area, 2 bedder buy in city fringe.
    surbubia avoid.
    what price to buy?when to enter? u decide yourself coz nobody knows!
    5 years ago if u had told your friends that jurong area will hit 1000psf ,they would have laugh at u saying u must b crazy!
    see what happened now? the best is go by your own gut feeling!

dont confuse the 1 who asked the original question!
    just stick to this theory for investment:
    1 bedder buy in prime area, 2 bedder buy in city fringe.
    surbubia avoid.
    what price to buy?when to enter? u decide yourself coz nobody knows!
    5 years ago if u had told your friends that jurong area will hit 1000psf ,they would have laugh at u saying u must b crazy!
    see what happened now? the best is go by your own gut feeling!
    So 5yrs later jurong 1500psf crazy anot?

Exclamation

I suggest you go and stock up those 1¢ shares. How low can it go right?

Kns logic

Quote Originally Posted by nobrainer32007

Kns logic
    Stocks n ppty is diff la....

For stocks, can get delisted....

Basic cost of construction is there oredi n due to
    inflation, cost will rise further

So let say 300psf total cost for developer, how to lose money if u can find a 300psf freehold ppty?

honestly speaking! nobody knows?
    10 years ago,if u had told an american that they will have a black president soon,he would be thinking u were talking nonsense

Of course i know. It is just an analogy to show how logic is sometimes not necessary in places such as here...

Stocks n ppty is diff la....

For stocks, can get delisted....

Basic cost of construction is there oredi n due to
    inflation, cost will rise further

So let say 300psf total cost for developer, how to lose money if u can find a 300psf freehold ppty?

Sure, it will hit 1500psf. The question is when? SGD has devalued. What is a million compared to 10 years ago?

My timeframe is within 5yrs....or rather shd ask whether jurong can hit 1500psf b4 nxt downturn?

Unlikely within 5 years.
    My timeframe is within 5yrs....or rather shd ask whether jurong can hit 1500psf b4 nxt downturn?

Comparing two totally different investment vehicles, how shallow can you get. Property prices have this tagging effect and I can guarantee you that condo prices will not go lower than HDB prices for a given area which is what i mean by buffer.

Quote Originally Posted by nobrainer32007

Kns logic
    Last edited by Regulators; 09-07-11 at 23:56.

maybe those smaller units got chance. there are not many old condo projects in Jurong so far...coupled with lots of empty lands, the only way is to go up.

Jurong is an untested ground so if you belief in JLD, probably will bite.

maybe those smaller units got chance. there are not many old condo projects in Jurong so far...coupled with lots of empty lands, the only way is to go up.

Jurong is an untested ground so if you belief in JLD, probably will bite.
    My mentality is, jurong still jurong...jld is not gg to be like mbfc...hehe

So if jur hit 1500psf, places like buona vista, queenstown, redhill will hit 2kpsf+...wow...den ccr d1,2 prolly hit 3kpsf?

Anyway, jur, simei, abt the same psf....even livia in pasir ris hit 9xxpsf without any story....

Cheapest ocr in far north now at 8xxpsf....

Just feel that we shd not keep comparing against prices 5 years ago. Where was China 5 years ago now, Chinese buyers are coming in all directions. Now dat our government intends to decentralise, we may see prices in JLD, tampines or even woodland coming to 1200psf and close the gap with ccr. In any case, as long as foreigners willing to pay high rent for these areas, the price is supported by the yield