Thread: Bukit Timah versus D15?

Default Bukit Timah versus D15?

Hey guys,

Which appeals to you more and why? D15 prices coming up real fast with some transactions even eclipsing some precincts in Bukit Timah belt.

I've always liked Bukit Timah. But now that i may actually get round to buying a landed house, i want to find out why so many people like D15? And i mean they really like it and swear they will only live in the east, esp D15 if they can afford it...

Quote Originally Posted by bricksnmortar
    Hey guys,

Which appeals to you more and why? D15 prices coming up real fast with some transactions even eclipsing some precincts in Bukit Timah belt.

I've always liked Bukit Timah. But now that i may actually get round to buying a landed house, i want to find out why so many people like D15? And i mean they really like it and swear they will only live in the east, esp D15 if they can afford it...
    Which part of bukit timah u refering to when u r comparing it wif d15? Wjich part of d15 u refering to as well? D15 quite big hor, got cheap ones at TK, joo chiat

Bukit Timah: I like the University Road/ Kheam Hock/ Watten estate precincts; But expensive. Cheaper ones like Sian Tuan and Hua Guan also not bad.

D15: Frankel estate is nice. Expensive ones like near Meyer/ Goodman areas are more expensive than Sian Tuan and Hua Guan, but cheaper than Kheam Hock/ Duchess/ Coronation Road West. Maybe comparable to Greenwood?

Bukit Timah: I like the University Road/ Kheam Hock/ Watten estate precincts; But expensive. Cheaper ones like Sian Tuan and Hua Guan also not bad.

D15: Frankel estate is nice. Expensive ones like near Meyer/ Goodman areas are more expensive than Sian Tuan and Hua Guan, but cheaper than Kheam Hock/ Duchess/ Coronation Road West. Maybe comparable to Greenwood?
    So actually d10 still more ex den d15 lor....u cannot use cheapest d10 to compare wif most ex 15 rite?

Ya agreed.

But want to know what attracts people to D15. Seems like the attraction is stronger than for those who like Bukit Timah....

Ya agreed.

But want to know what attracts people to D15. Seems like the attraction is stronger than for those who like Bukit Timah....
    based on wat? I tink both r equally attractive...

Based on what friends tell me. They always say that they grew up there, love the East Coast Park, the Katong food, the relaxed atmosphere. So they swear they can't live anywhere else. If can't afford to buy landed, they buy apartments or condos there.

But i've lived in Bukit Timah, and i don't really need to live there again. I am happy to look elsewhere....

Based on what friends tell me. They always say that they grew up there, love the East Coast Park, the Katong food, the relaxed atmosphere. So they swear they can't live anywhere else. If can't afford to buy landed, they buy apartments or condos there.

But i've lived in Bukit Timah, and i don't really need to live there again. I am happy to look elsewhere....
    If u ask ppl like ccr, daytona...they will say d10 better den d15

If u ask teddybear, he will only orchard

Sounds like u have done some research and probably know which few lanes u are looking for ( be it Bukit Timah or D15 ), stay focus, engage specialist agent in these area and just have to lookout....looking for ideal landed not easy to find at the price u are willing to pay. Many landed owners have made their money and those who want to sell are shouting at benchmark prices and not in a rush to sell. And new vs old (rebuilt ) always the issue...Personally whether Bukit Timah or D15, matter of choice and price. Best of luck!

Sorry I dun like D15. "it's an intensely personal choice", to quote the Transformers just to make sure u know it's *personal*.

Why ? D15 to me is completely overhyped in the last few yrs. Pushed up by all the NRIs. It's not quiet by any means. It's very crowded. There is not greenery buffers. It's far from town. Ever since the gov reclaim lands along the coast and built highways along it, D15 is no longer a "coastal region". And to capitalize on this D15 craze, thousands of MMs pop up overnite. Such MM phenomenon is far less pronounced in bt timah. Why ? Because places like university Ed, kheam hock, coronation/duchess/etc, many old houses still do not have the permit to build 5 storey MMs. To me there is an conscientious effort by URA to retain houses around botanic garden. More over, most old family old riches are in bt timah,many of which won't sell their old bungalows cheap, or won't sell at all. On the contrary, D15 houses traditionally are not expensive. It's very easy to buy a house there and do a MM. Just look at what happened in all the TK lorongs.

Sorry I dun like D15. "it's an intensely personal choice", to quote the Transformers just to make sure u know it's *personal*.

Why ? D15 to me is completely overhyped in the last few yrs. Pushed up by all the NRIs. It's not quiet by any means. It's very crowded. There is not greenery buffers. It's far from town. Ever since the gov reclaim lands along the coast and built highways along it, D15 is no longer a "coastal region". And to capitalize on this D15 craze, thousands of MMs pop up overnite. Such MM phenomenon is far less pronounced in bt timah. Why ? Because places like university Ed, kheam hock, coronation/duchess/etc, many old houses still do not have the permit to build 5 storey MMs. To me there is an conscientious effort by URA to retain houses around botanic garden. More over, most old family old riches are in bt timah,many of which won't sell their old bungalows cheap, or won't sell at all. On the contrary, D15 houses traditionally are not expensive. It's very easy to buy a house there and do a MM. Just look at what happened in all the TK lorongs.
    D15 vy big la....only tk n joo chiat can build apts....

Other den tat, goodman, frankel etc all cannot convert to apt

And its nearer to mbfc which will b the hottest ura baby wif the new mce

I know you're entitled to your opinions, but I disagree with you. To me, D15 is essentially the one place in singapore that is convenient, upper-class and balanced all in one.

Firstly, it is not far from town. "Town" is a big area. D15 is very close to suntec city, city hall, and marina bay, even outram and tanjong pagar. Numerous buses link D15 with these areas. Yes I agree orchard is a little further away. Driving, needless to say, is super quick. ECP/Nicoll highway all the way to wherever you need to go.

Besides, where in singapore is it not crowded? D15 is probably considered one of the best (or one of the better ones) in terms of spaciousness. There is a good balance between landed properties and condos, and a few HDBs (marine parade) scattered here and there. Parkway is the main shopping centre in D15 which caters well and provides almost everything one needs in everyday life. Katong eateries litter the area, east coast seafood is a short drive away, east coast park is easily accessible via the underground passages, and to the lucky few who get to enjoy the sea view from their apartments, its definitely a very different sight compared to the usual brick walls-/trees-/roads-/another condo- views that other districts get. In my humble opinion, D15 (still) is a coastal region.

Also, Meyer/Jalan seaview/goodman areas are all prestigious and exclusive. Streets in these areas are straight, clean, well maintained and overall very pleasant. Lined by beautiful houses, i dont think you can take anything away from it. It doesnt matter what the prices were traditionally, or how prestigious (or not) they traditionally were. the fact is that now the prices are catching up and for a good reason too. Yes I agree that tanjong katong and joochiat areas are both slightly dodgy (in a very broad sense of the term), but look past that and D15 is a very liveable area with an upper-class city feel coupled with the laid-back nature of suburbia.

Lastly, I won't take anything away from Bukit Timah because I think its a great area to live in too. It's also very accessible, albeit to different areas compared to D15. the main attraction is its close proximity to orchard (compared to D15). I have a friend who lives at Watten estate and I can totally see why Bukit Timah is priced the way it is. But D15 is just as good - you cant compare apples with oranges.

D10 as a prime dist.. sure better than D15..
    If you saying D15 price is catching up with D10.. than you better go grab D10 & not D15 lor

D10 as a prime dist.. sure better than D15..
    If you saying D15 price is catching up with D10.. than you better go grab D10 & not D15 lor
    Its a vy big district....make sure u dun use rotten apples to compare wif top grade orange....hahaha

I oredi pointed out, dun use tk,joo chiat landed price to compare wif duchess for eg. And aso dun use goodman to compare wif those in landed fringe of d21....hahaha

And den last time when the sail was launched at 1kpsf, ppl say siao ar might as well buy freehold novena or river valley....see who is crazy n short sighted now?

D1 got sands n alot more future developments....orchard got wat now? More flash floods n desperately building flood gates instead.....whahahah

Clemdale bro, just want to say I'm totally ok with your view on D15. we need supporters of every region to advocate objectively its pros Housing is an " intensely personal choice "

Devil, today I still do not like to live in The Sail. I think we are talking about own stay living not investment returns.

Clemdale bro, just want to say I'm totally ok with your view on D15. we need supporters of every region to advocate objectively its pros Housing is an " intensely personal choice "

Devil, today I still do not like to live in The Sail. I think we are talking about own stay living not investment returns.
    I totally dun like to stay in d1,2,9,10,11 even though i got a stake in most of the ccr districts but choose to stay in a middle of nowhere location.....whahahahhaa

D15 amber, tanjung rhu, fort rd and marine parade are ok areas, but go further up to still rd I am not in favour.

Got a lot
    I know, D1 around MBS got lots of reclaim lands! Lots of potential supply for residential, commercial, & offices! Think about the law of supply & demand, isn't that area crashing harder because of too much supply is a matter of time?

Its a vy big district....make sure u dun use rotten apples to compare wif top grade orange....hahaha

I oredi pointed out, dun use tk,joo chiat landed price to compare wif duchess for eg. And aso dun use goodman to compare wif those in landed fringe of d21....hahaha

And den last time when the sail was launched at 1kpsf, ppl say siao ar might as well buy freehold novena or river valley....see who is crazy n short sighted now?

D1 got sands n alot more future developments....orchard got wat now? More flash floods n desperately building flood gates instead.....whahahah

One of the things i prefer about Bukit Timah is that there are fewer HDB estates and Tall Condos around. D15 high end like Meyer still has plenty of tall condos. So when you look upwards outside your house, you tend to see all these tall buildings. Hope is don't sound like a snob, but it would be nice to stand in your garden and not feel like its possible some person standing on a condo balcony isn't able to look down at you with a binoculars

Den all those high rise in d9 how?

Got a lot
    I know, D1 around MBS got lots of reclaim lands! Lots of potential supply for residential, commercial, & offices! Think about the law of supply & demand, isn't that area crashing harder because of too much supply is a matter of time?
    Past few yrs tell us otherwise

Dun tok abt future since we r not GOD.....u said one

That is my forecast. I am not God but so far my forecast quite good leh.

Past few yrs tell us otherwise

Dun tok abt future since we r not GOD.....u said one

Den all those high rise in d9 how?
    OP specifically mention landed in bt timah and D15. It's very true landed in university / kheam hock / duchess / coronation / etc dun have tall condos too near looking at you. Definitely one plus point over landed in D15.

Ya, D9 i don't like. One Tree Hill and the area behind Lucky Plaza or Oxley. Landed but all surrounded by busy tall buildings. Only exception are the lovely Emerald Hill Shophouses. Man... those buildings are a dream! I'd love to own one of those one day

I have lived in landed properties in both bukit timah and D15. Like what you have mentioned, D15 is attractive cos it's near the beach and also not far from Marina bay, especially the goodman area. It's great for young friendly people who enjoy a more sociable and active lifestyle near the sun, sea and sand.

Bukit Timah, especially west of farrer road, is honestly a little over rated. It is not that near town and you always get into a traffic jam going in and coming out. I think it will be a lot less popular if not for the "branded" schools that are in the area which attract the very "competitive" type of parents.

But the Kheam hock/trevose crescent part of bukit timah on the other hand is nice as it is near the botanical gardens/future MRT interchange, traffic is much better and you can avoid doing silly U-turns. The land lots are generally bigger and thus a more "exclusive" feel. That's why landed prices there are some of the most expensive on the island.

Some parts of One Tree Hill is still bearable as long as you grow some trees but the lucky plaza landed area is always all jammed up. Prime location nevertheless but I wont want to stay there. Emerald hill is beautiful but they are all conserved shophouses so you can never build your own house. Pity...

Ya, D9 i don't like. One Tree Hill and the area behind Lucky Plaza or Oxley. Landed but all surrounded by busy tall buildings. Only exception are the lovely Emerald Hill Shophouses. Man... those buildings are a dream! I'd love to own one of those one day