Page 9 of 11 FirstFirst ... 4567891011 LastLast

Thread: Capitaland bishan site should be launching soon

No competition if location is so far apart lah... no worries.
    wat he trying to say this will make Dleedon a better buy

Wouldn't this project compete with D Leedon at about the same psf?
    similar psf but Dleedon mostly left wif BIG units liao....smaller units mostly taken except those high flr wif substantial jump in psf

Would think ALL buyers would vote yes to this one..., pay same psf for aircon ledge as place u stand on..., kinda of crazy..Developers making $ from this...
    Is air con ledge part of the extra allowance that developers get on top of the gfa? Or is it part of the gfa?

Read below, you will get a better understanding about this 10% bonus...; in essence, yes -planters, aircon ledge part of 10% bonus but it is selleable area..

http://www.finova.com.sg/news/Detail_news/490.html

SINGAPORE PROPERTY - New Flats Inflated Sizes

By Michael Li | Jun 28, 2011

Even wonder why all new flats in Singapore these days always have huge balconies?

Even flat as small as 1200 SQF has a balcony almost 120 SQF -- ie the built-in area is only 1080 SQF and the net usable are after the private lift lobby, planters space, window bays, and aircon ledge is at most 1000 SQF.

Instead of giving homebuyer a practical utility area and helper's quarter, developers are eager to make your flat green and give you a lot of fresh air. As such, private flat is on average 10% smaller than HDB flats built and sold by government that cost 1/3 to 40% of the price of private flats.

Private flat built 10 years ago on average has 10% more net usable area than new flat. Singapore developers learned all these bad tricks from HK through Sinoland. In the good old days -- before 1997 for sure, aircon ledge and window bays were not counted as built-in area. Private lift lobby was not so popular. There was no such a thing as planters.

The difference is that the balcony space was considered part of the gross floor area allowed by government in the good old days. Because of this rule, most old apartments do not have balcony more than 5% of the total built-in. A 1200 SQF old flat has 50 SQF balcony and 1150 indoor net usable area. Developers have to fork out some 7% of gross floor area to cover lift lobbies and other common areas. A 100k SQF land with a plot ratio of 2 will result in 186k SQF of net sellable/usable area that can be sold to home buyers. In many cases to maximize indoor space, developers chose not to have any balcony at all.

The new rule is very different. The same 100k SQF land with plot ratio of 2 will result in 200k indoor space plus 10%/20k balcony space. Developers will do everything to reduce the areas wasted in common area, so they always give you private lift lobby that is part of the build-in and sellable area. They also force you to pay for planter and window bay space that's not counted as part of the plot ratio by the government, but developers still charge you as part of the usable/sellable area.

Worst is the balcony space. Since government allow additional 10% balcony space free and outside of the permissible plot ratio, developers simply force every home buyer to have balcony space as large as 10% of the build-in and count that 10% balcony as part of sellable area

The result is huge difference. In the good old days, a 1200 SQF flat has a small 50 SFQ balcony, 3 bedrooms and a small helpers' quarter. A new 1200 SQF give will have a 100 SQF balcony, anther 150 SQF wasted in private lift lobby, planters, aircon ledge and window bays, so you would be lucky to get 950 SQF of real floor space. That's why many new flats have no space for helper and utility area anymore. The same 100k SQF land with plot ratio of 2 can give developers net 210k SQF of sellable area compared with 186k SQF in the good old days.

This is why Goat dislikes new flats and prefers to buy old apartments. Since 1996, he only got involved in one new flat. On the basis of PSF net usable/floor space, old flat is at least 10% cheaper PSF than new flats.

A 2200 SQF flat built before 1997 is as big as a new 2500 SQF.

Different location. Both 99LH but d'Leedon is a 1700 units megacrowded condo. The potential customer base are very different. Bishan probably more convenient when it comes to public transport and amenities. I think Capitaland is prepared to take a bit of time to sell d'Leedon - not much selling point IMHO. Can't really say it's prestigious when it's 1700 units and only 99LH beside HDB flats.

Wouldn't this project compete with D Leedon at about the same psf?

Different location. Both 99LH but d'Leedon is a 1700 units megacrowded condo. The potential customer base are very different. Bishan probably more convenient when it comes to public transport and amenities. I think Capitaland is prepared to take a bit of time to sell d'Leedon - not much selling point IMHO. Can't really say it's prestigious when it's 1700 units and only 99LH beside HDB flats.
    Ya, agree, Bishan crowd is different from Farrer residents.., Bishan more heartland..but Junction 8 mall is really busy all the time, and parking in mall is always very packed, even at the HDB mscp always hard to find parking space...

I suspect even at the rumoured $1450psf, if quantum is $1m for 2bedder, will still be well receive by upgraders..with small family (maybe 1 child) type

Just saw this article in Property Guru:

smallest unit mentioned below is 680sqft, so if rumoured @$1450psf, then as I expected they try to price entry level unit at less than $1mil.., to make quantum seem attractive & affordable..
    CapitaLand unveils Bishan condo, launch expected by Q1

Sep 16, 2011 - PropertyGuru.com.sg

CapitaLand Residential Singapore and Mitsubishi Estate Asia Ltd jointly unveiled their upcoming project at Bishan Central, comprising approximately 500 apartment units across two 38-storey towers.

“The condominium at Bishan Central marks our first collaboration with CapitaLand to jointly develop a residential project in Singapore,” said Keiji Kimura, Chairman of Mitsubishi Estate. “We are confident that this condominium … will be popular with both Singapore and international homebuyers.”

Located on a 11,997 sq m site, the Bishan condo has a gross floor area (GFA) of 58,786 sq m and a leasehold period of 99 years. It is situated minutes away to the Bishan transportation hub consisting of the Bishan bus interchange and Bishan MRT interchange station. It is also close to retail, entertainment and recreational facilities such as Bishan Park and Junction 8 shopping mall.

“I feel that the concept design is actually quite interesting and can look nice in the suburbs too. Based on the planned architecture for the new condominium at Bishan, I feel that this development will be an iconic structure in the area,” said Nicholas Mak, Executive Director at SLP International Property Consultants.

With units ranging from 680 sq ft to 3,000 sq ft in size, buyers can choose from one-bedroom-plus-study, two-bedroom, two-bedroom-plus-study, three-bedroom and four-bedroom units. Residents can also enjoy a full suite of recreational facilities, including a gymnasium, function rooms, karaoke rooms, a tennis court, play areas, barbeque pits, children’s pool, leisure pools and a 50-metre lap pool.

Instead of independent towers, the two towers are linked by three bridging “sky gardens”, offering opportunities for commonly shared garden and leisure spaces. Residents on the upper floors will be able to enjoy breathtaking views of the lush greenery of Bishan Park. Meanwhile, 70 percent of the site will be developed into a series of lush gardens, outdoor event rooms, swimming pools, and walking paths for residents to enjoy their leisure hours.

“I don’t think the developer wants the project to blend in,” commented Colin Tan, Research Head at Chesterton Suntec International. “It’s more like they want the project to stand out.”

“They paid S$100 million more than the next bidder for the land; it was a record price at that time. For them to recover the land costs, they need to price it high. However, if you gave buyers a run-of-the mill project, they are unlikely to pay high prices for them. As such the value-add of having an iconic design is to give buyers value for money. They can then defend their prices by saying that they offer a very different and higher quality product,” he said.

With the design and development works in progress, CapitaLand said the project is expected to be launched for sale in Q1 next year, with the Temporary Occupation Permit (TOP) expected to be obtained in 2015.

To contact the journalist, you may send your message to [email protected]

The trend is there for all to analyze. Usually only projects near MRT can achieve sell out before TOP. Kovan Residence? ATT approaching that? Luxurie struggling? Wonder how this new launch will react? Those not near MRT will struggle like crazy. Clover, after TOP, still not fully sold. Thomson G struggling now after the initial hot.

The article of selling common spaces reminds me of clover. Heh.

With circle line, heartlanders can also flood Botanic Gardens and Farrer/Holland Road easily MRT to Holland is a double edge sword, no more exclusive. Heart landers as far as Pasir Ris may come (in one of the news about opening ceremony loh)

The article of selling common spaces reminds me of clover. Heh.

Capitaland will minimise common areas just to meet BCA requirements, push more to sell to buyers in design of units...
    All developers will do that.

You have to respect FEO, they can sell @ Ang Mo Kio without inviting a world renown architect

CENTRO RESIDENCES ANG MO KIO AVENUE 8 Condominium 1 1,301,530 872sqft Strata 1,493psf Sep-11

They sold 9 units at median of 1.5kpsf in August, left 79 units out of 329.

You have to respect FEO, they can sell @ Ang Mo Kio without inviting a world renown architect.
    ya, all these years, I hv been avoiding buying into FEO's projects.

But now I grade FEO is one of the best in the market, from design, lanscape, packaging, marketing strategy, customer services, quality...etc.. and pricing is now getting more reasonable...

the best is they hold their price...I call them has the price integrity

All developers will do that.
    In current era/age, guess developers have no choice as they need to maximize profits.., more so if they are public companies...

ya, all these years, I hv been avoiding buying into FEO's projects.

But now I grade FEO is one of the best in the market, from design, lanscape, packaging, marketing strategy, customer services, quality...etc.. and pricing is now getting more reasonable...

the best is they hold their price...I call them has the price integrity
    Ya, FEO super "tahan king", always hold out, slowly release, keep some to sell just before TOP, if can't sell they rent out 1st, and wait to sell with lease...

Take my hats off for FEO. They are good.
    You have to respect FEO, they can sell @ Ang Mo Kio without inviting a world renown architect

CENTRO RESIDENCES ANG MO KIO AVENUE 8 Condominium 1 1,301,530 872sqft Strata 1,493psf Sep-11

They sold 9 units at median of 1.5kpsf in August, left 79 units out of 329.

Ya, FEO super "tahan king", always hold out, slowly release, keep some to sell just before TOP, if can't sell they rent out 1st, and wait to sell with lease...
    any difference if individual landlords compete against one another or if individual landlords compete against FEO if FEO condo not fully sold out.

From my readings, ac ledge is FOC to the developers! As long dun exceed 1m width and no limit on the length!

The 10% allowance is strictly for balcony

. Can't really say it's prestigious when it's 1700 units and only 99LH beside HDB flats.
    but then sell 1600 psf can qualify as prestigious meh, so cheap. If no HDB should sell 2k and above. Cheapest in D9, D10, D11. Prestigious starts from 3k psf ba, + maintaince min 1.2k with conceiage service.

wont say its prestigious..... its just convenient location and near to all the altas place lor. Such good location also no selling point? More like all the attributes dont appeal to u. If one dont like botantic garden, altas holland village, hanging out at dempsy hill, being 8mins from orchard belt and enjoy shopping there, and near to always jam PIE, and dont have children qualifying for NYPC and sch near the bukit timah belt, there is no reason staying in D10. And there is no selling point thus.

On ya, circle line MRT is inefficient right?

From my readings, ac ledge is FOC to the developers! As long dun exceed 1m width and no limit on the length!

They must make developers declare the sqft for balcony and air con ledge.

I open on my iPad, din have tis problem.

Perhaps u can try direct link from YouTube:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZpgZH...eature=related
    Thanks for the link, the video look great.

that's too much no wonder nowadays new project ac ledge getting longer and longer, and buyer has to pay for it! as it's part of floor area!!!

Quote Originally Posted by East Lover
    that's too much no wonder nowadays new project ac ledge getting longer and longer, and buyer has to pay for it! as it's part of floor area!!!
    Buyers can always walk away....

Air-con ledges is a very strange rule by authorities, at the expense of tax-payers and buyers: Developers do not have to pay government for air-con ledge, but buyers have to pay developers for air-con ledges. No wonder developers have such strong holding power.

if air con ledges don't come under the gfa, then it is time to set some rules. otherwise, we'll have aircon ledge as skirting all around the unit next time!

Already happen. check out Uber388.. u get aircon ledge from living room to kitchen! and also a Window ledge too!

That's ugly! So will they put a condenser outside the living room window to enhance the view??

the upcoming regent residences has units surrounded by bay windows and full a/c ledge below the bay windows!

http://forums.condosingapore.com/sho...t=11757&page=2

folks.... visuals of project in link below:-

http://www.designboom.com/weblog/cat...n-central.html

looks good, very tempting...

will not like the price though....