Page 2 of 7 FirstFirst 123456 ... LastLast

Thread: S'pore property prices may continue climbing: survey

When times are good, economy doing well, interest rates low, we complain prices too high.... When crash and economy doing badly then we worry about our jobs and dare not to buy.... So all these fence sitters will never commit
    Many of these fence sitters dont need to commit
    Most of these are good salaried FT who can make money from SG progress, without buying property..

Not everyone need to win TOTO and 4D to become rich..

Go figure the demand supply.

This is Asia's era now.
    Hilarious...

How's this Asia's era?

Cause of china? who survive by doing manufacturing job for US/EU?
    India or phil? who survive by doing call center job for US/EU?

All these are servant country, doing job for their western Master, US and EU...
    These countries dont have leg to stand on if US and EU dont pick up..

..if west is doing well then these servant will be paid well..
    It might change after 40-50 years..but right not Asia is nothing...

China is the biggest creditor of US and is it the west that own most of the US govt bonds or asia? US is only good for stabilising the world and act as a big brother, but china can do quite well without US if one day things come to that stage. Just ask yourself most of what you use in your daily lives, how many of those things are made in USA? I agree when it comes to computers, it is very hard to do without microsoft and google/yahoo, but apart from that, asia is quite self sufficient.
    Quote Originally Posted by rockinsg
    Hilarious...

How's this Asia's era?

Cause of china? who survive by doing manufacturing job for US/EU?
    India or phil? who survive by doing call center job for US/EU?

All these are servant country, doing job for their western Master, US and EU...
    These countries dont have leg to stand on if US and EU dont pick up..

..if west is doing well then these servant will be paid well..
    It might change after 40-50 years..but right not Asia is nothing...

China is the biggest creditor of US and is it the west that own most of the US govt bonds or asia? US is only good for stabilising the world and act as a big brother, but china can do quite well without US if one day things come to that stage. Just ask yourself most of what you use in your daily lives, how many of those things are made in USA? I agree when it comes to computers, it is very hard to do without microsoft and google/yahoo, but apart from that, asia is quite self sufficient.
    comeon bro, u are too kind! USA is in a pile of shit and they still wanna think they are the big bro of the world. Apple got more $$ than USA lor. Hell, Bill Gates probably got more $$$ than USA.

Quote Originally Posted by popoty
    why would garment open FT tap to the extend of demand outstrip supply?
    at best demand close to supply, that is good enough liao, to keep price stable as much as possible
    Garment will not open FT tap to the extend of demand outstrip supply for the sake of outstripping. The need for FT is pretty fixed year on year so that tap will be left open at somewhat a fixed rate. This tap is more of a buffer than anything.

Its the local buyers who can potentially cause the govt to miscalculate the supply numbers. The local buyers are always so unpredictable, as seen in today's market. Even when HDB had WIS 6 to 8 years back, there were simply too many vacant HDB flats in the market. The CMs also had limited effects. Just have to change mindset from flippers to longer term investment and local buyers will return to the showflats.

Quote Originally Posted by Jadey
    There are many ways to look at rental yield. If you want to make yourself feel good, just use your original purchased price even if it was bought 10, 15 or 20 years go.

However I would prefer to calculate rental yield based on existing valuation, rather than historic prices because the money we collect today is a lot smaller than 10 years ago.
    There should come to a point where perhaps it's better to realize that capital gain

If the correction would mean LTV going back to 80%, I'm sure there are lots of people waiting for that.

there r already many people sitting on the sideline with piles of $$$ waiting for a "crash" to happen so that they can enter... as price keep gg up this group of people r getting more and more anxious everyday so do u think a 30% drop is possible with hungry people waiting at the sideline....

The ball game is very different from that of the past.

1) The past and current players are different, i.e. local versus global.

2) The past and current economy of Singapore and other countries, are also different.

3) The packaging and branding of island state has went beyond only selling our women, i.e. SIA girls to 2 x IR and Formula One.

4) The politics and diplomatic situation between great nations and superpowers acknowledging Singapore's position as a buffer state in negotiations and perspectives. We get away with comments on how countries should do or act and our opinions do weigh their weight.

5) Considering relativity, we are a notch up over our neighbours and notches up in city ranking on many aspects. Relative to West, we are better. Relative to neighbours, we are better.

6) This is the beginning and we have a good 20 years ahead at least until Singaporeans and foreigners become so complacent, bureaucratic, condoscending and thus leading to our demise.

Reiterate, ball game is very different so don't expect historic patterns to repeat so fast like the local crises that happened in the last 10-15 years.

Of course use the purchase price. That is the bank installment I have to pay.

Using original purchase price to calculate rental yield can be very misleading and you might end up short changing yourself because things like property tax is calculated based on current marketing valuation and the potential buyer of your property will use current market valuation to access your rental returns.

You should use your mortgage payment to calculate your cashflow, not your rental yield.

Quote Originally Posted by evergreen
    I just placed my 20% bet on demand outpacing supply. Good luck to me
    Which property? Share some information of your purchase lei.

2) The past and current economy of Singapore and other countries, are also different.

3) The packaging and branding of island state has went beyond only selling our women, i.e. SIA girls to 2 x IR and Formula One.

4) The politics and diplomatic situation between great nations and superpowers acknowledging Singapore's position as a buffer state in negotiations and perspectives. We get away with comments on how countries should do or act and our opinions do weigh their weight.

5) Considering relativity, we are a notch up over our neighbours and notches up in city ranking on many aspects. Relative to West, we are better. Relative to neighbours, we are better.

6) This is the beginning and we have a good 20 years ahead at least until Singaporeans and foreigners become so complacent, bureaucratic, condoscending and thus leading to our demise.

Reiterate, ball game is very different so don't expect historic patterns to repeat so fast like the local crises that happened in the last 10-15 years.
    The rule of the game will never change, what goes up will come down, the higher your climb the harder you fall. Human beings are driven by greed and fear and there is no way you can prevent market correction.

Quote Originally Posted by mygeemeel
    Which property? Share some information of your purchase lei.
    Shoebox @ Braddell. 12xx PSF, freehold.

The rule of the game will never change, what goes up will come down, the higher your climb the harder you fall. Human beings are driven by greed and fear and there is no way you can prevent market correction.
    Even if a market correction occurs, different properties will experience correction in varying degrees or defy the market trend. Or if there's no market correction, you may have missed the boat forever. Have to do research before placing your bet.

The game now is location, location, location...... different from one to two years ago, in which any property you whack also will gain in psf.

"The four most dangerous words in investing are: 'this time it's different.'"
    Sir John Templeton..
    ....figure it out

Even if a market correction occurs, different properties will experience correction in varying degrees or defy the market trend. Or if there's no market correction, you may have missed the boat forever. Have to do research before placing your bet.
    Every property investors believe they are smarter than others and their asset will hold up better than the rest. that is until they try to find a buyer during down turn.

It is a good thing that we have investors who tries to act like they could predict the future, while totally ignoring the past. Or else, how can the market crash.

Using original purchase price to calculate rental yield can be very misleading and you might end up short changing yourself because things like property tax is calculated based on current marketing valuation and the potential buyer of your property will use current market valuation to access your rental returns.

You should use your mortgage payment to calculate your cashflow, not your rental yield.
    Isn't property tax calculated based on the rent, not the market valuation?

Quote Originally Posted by SpinCity
    Isn't property tax calculated based on the rent, not the market valuation?
    your rent income goes into your income tax. Even for own stay property, you still need to pay property tax.

Every property investors believe they are smarter than others and their asset will hold up better than the rest. that is until they try to find a buyer during down turn.

It is a good thing that we have investors who tries to act like they could predict the future, while totally ignoring the past. Or else, how can the market crash.
    You are right that many people think they are smarter than they are until they lose money. Smart investors won't think that their asset will hold up better; they also weigh the downside and whether they can afford to lose that amount of money. The panic-sellers are those who only think of the upside but did not factor in the possibility of the downside.

your rent income goes into your income tax. Even for own stay property, you still need to pay property tax.
    What I meant is that property tax is determined by IRAS based on "market rent" or income can be generated from the property, not "market valuation" of it

The game now is location, location, location...... different from one to two years ago, in which any property you whack also will gain in psf.
    Agree!
    That time in stock market, buy any stock confirmed can make money.
    Now not so easy Stock market down today. Who's buying?

Agree!
    That time in stock market, buy any stock confirmed can make money.
    Now not so easy Stock market down today. Who's buying?
    People are scared of double dip coming Who will buy right now?
    ..who wants to be a hero?

Wait a while and get a bargain...be it property or stock..if still have any cash left

Many people who bought at high will be stuck with negative equity..not a good feeling

Quote Originally Posted by SpinCity
    What I meant is that property tax is determined by IRAS based on "market rent" or income can be generated from the property, not "market valuation" of it
    How does IRAS or landlord determine potential rental returns? Do they calculate based on your original purchase price, mortgage payment, or do they use x% of current property valuation?

Depending on how much bonuses our ministers want? hehehe. joking.

Many of these fence sitters dont need to commit
    Most of these are good salaried FT who can make money from SG progress, without buying property..

Not everyone need to win TOTO and 4D to become rich..
    I am not referring to you. You are prob referring to yourself as the good salaried FT... and its fine if you dont buy at all....

I am referring to those people who have the intention to buy but when prices drop they panick and either wait for prices to drop further or dare not commit and when prices go up they lament that its too high....

comeon bro, u are too kind! USA is in a pile of shit and they still wanna think they are the big bro of the world. Apple got more $$ than USA lor. Hell, Bill Gates probably got more $$$ than USA.
    WTF.. were you born in china? Unless you born and bred communist you should know better..

Govt is for meant for laws,policies and creating environment for business and economy to grow..
    Govt is not economy..

China economy looks strong cause the Govt has the money.. which is typical of a communist country.. real economy is driven by people and businesses not govt...

Sir John Templeton..
    ....figure it out
    I agree with you totall that if we refuse to see the truth we will fall hard...
    I really do not subscibe to the this time is different theory...
    I believe what Jadey said when she mentioned that all humans are greedy... and in a market economy we go thru boom and bust cycle...

From your post you sounded like you wanted to buy in the past but kind of missed the boat a little bit so now you have swung to the camp of not needing to buy and dont want to buy...

If this is true, then by recognising that you have missed the boat is a good starting point so that in future when prices drop, you will have the opportunity to buy... but by internalising the fact that you now dont want to buy, you might internalised it so much that why prices drop you will still convince yourself that you do not want to buy and hence history repeats itself....

Sir John Templeton..
    ....figure it out
    the four most important words in property investment are indian filipiino chinese and bangladesh... .....as long as they keep flocking to OUR singapore...dont worry be happy buy property make money...

...figure it out...

WTF.. were you born in china? Unless you born and bred communist you should know better..

Govt is for meant for laws,policies and creating environment for business and economy to grow..
    Govt is not economy..

China economy looks strong cause the Govt has the money.. which is typical of a communist country.. real economy is driven by people and businesses not govt...
    who runs the federal reserves or US central bank?

Govt is not economy..

Bro relax..... people just giving opinions only... dont use vulgarities...
    a country can be rich in many ways....
    singapore is not communist but we have a huge foreign reserves estimated by some at more than USD400 billion...

its how the government and its citizens managed their wealth...
    if you keep swiping your credit card and use tommorrow's income to spend now, then you will have a problem.. US goverment and its citizens have been spending this way since 30 years ago that is why they are in this deep hole that will take years to unwind...

PS: In the unlikely case that you happen to be a US citizen, you can solve your problems by converting to SIN citizen... then you become part of the high growth, thrifty, hardworking Asian population and can ride the growht for the next 10 years at least