Page 1 of 18 1234561116 ... LastLast

Thread: I am VERY tempted to sell....

Default I am VERY tempted to sell....

i use to throw away the flyers in the mail about property sales and all that bullshit about how much i can sell my apt for but the temptation is growing day by day...looking at 50% gain over 4 years....i never thought i would feel like this i always thought this would be my home but everyday a lot of noise in newspapers/tv/forums...haiz nowadays cannot enjoy my apt anymore...the warmth of my house is gone by temptation of $$$$$

wonder if any other bro feels like this... ...share share feelings leh... ...my wife also feel like selling so at least that part NO isssue...

Erm...where will you live if u were to sell your house?

My friend sold his condo and got 50% profit in 4 years also. Now they are living with their parents so no problem.

If you planning to live in malaysia, sell by all means. If you planing to stay put in singapore, you can sell but you still need to buy, isn't it the same? If you holding on to multiple properties, you can sell and cash out by all means

If it's your only property, before u sell, look at those prices that u need to pay for those potential places u may want to buy. This may make u think twice. Even if u sell and say rent a place, waiting for prices to drop (if they do), at least u know what are the market prices these potential replacement places are. Do u your homework 1st. If sell and rent, also think what are u going to do with money, where to park before u buy again....

If you like your present place and do not need the cash, then don't sell.
    If you are cash strapped then no choice but to sell and down grade.
    If you have another property then can consider selling it and stay in the other property.
    When housing agent call my home, i ask them where will i stay if i were to sell.
    These days the moment i hear their voice, i just tell them "I am not interested."

cannot be buy buy buy all the time right

i use to throw away the flyers in the mail about property sales and all that bullshit about how much i can sell my apt for but the temptation is growing day by day...looking at 50% gain over 4 years....i never thought i would feel like this i always thought this would be my home but everyday a lot of noise in newspapers/tv/forums...haiz nowadays cannot enjoy my apt anymore...the warmth of my house is gone by temptation of $$$$$

wonder if any other bro feels like this... ...share share feelings leh... ...my wife also feel like selling so at least that part NO isssue...
    Maybe you may want to share your plan if you sell your current unit. . Buy high sell high. .....

As regulator mentioned,
    Only sell when you have more than 1 ppty.
    If not,where u stay.
    I dun believe in all that crap stay with in law, stay w parents or rental.
    Those r short term solution

Quote Originally Posted by marktkt22
    As regulator mentioned,
    Only sell when you have more than 1 ppty.
    If not,where u stay.
    I dun believe in all that crap stay with in law, stay w parents or rental.
    Those r short term solution
    I also don't buy the idea of staying with in laws, parents or rent. The only reason other than cannot commit with the bank loan due to retrenchment, etc, is to take the profit and buy a downgraded apartment in either of the following forms:

1. Same size (rooms, floor area, etc) but a less desirable location
    2. Same size (rooms, floor area, etc) but a matured EC (> 5 years for citizens; > 10 years for foreigners)
    3. Smaller size in the same good location (provided your current location is considered good)
    4. Much smaller size in a better location (provided your current location is not located in the prime district already)
    5. Same location and same size, etc but can liquidate the 80% that you've paid for that current property to start on 40% again so can use that extra cash for other forms of investments.

Pts 1 to 4 have super high chance that will generate extra cash to keep. Pt 5 is less common and more directed in objective. Any reasons apart from the above mentioned might well incur more cost upfront so may not be that wise a decision to sell after all, provided you do not have a 2nd or 3rd property elsewhere.

Listen to your wife ; )

But if u have kids, do think about them also.

i find it meaningful to sell, if u can upgrade to a better lifestyle or location and the family is better of as a result of the move. Eg, child needs to travel less to school or wife need not suffer so much in damn squeeze public transport.
    Of cos dont take any loan that doesnt tally with the household income range lah.

make $$$ then sell and move to some location and cause more inconvenience n downgrade in lifestyle than i find it meanless to have tons of $$$$ in bank and wait for inflation to erode $$$ away. If u do something to improve the lives of your family now or later in the future than $$$$ earned will have meaning.

IF hold too much cash there is always a risk of casino sucking it away or some pretty chick comes along and cheat it all away. Cheers bro, dont let $$$ destory the warmth of the family. Make it your slave and treat it like shit but use it wisely.

its a sign the market is softening liao.

50% gain? you might want to factor in the inflation over the past 4 years as well. Gold was about US$900 an ounce 4 years ago, today its US$1600.

Listen to your wife ; )

But if u have kids, do think about them also.

i find it meaningful to sell, if u can upgrade to a better lifestyle or location and the family is better of as a result of the move. Eg, child needs to travel less to school or wife need not suffer so much in damn squeeze public transport.
    Of cos dont take any loan that doesnt tally with the household income range lah.

make $$$ then sell and move to some location and cause more inconvenience n downgrade in lifestyle than i find it meanless to have tons of $$$$ in bank and wait for inflation to erode $$$ away. If u do something to improve the lives of your family now or later in the future than $$$$ earned will have meaning.

IF hold too much cash there is always a risk of casino sucking it away or some pretty chick comes along and cheat it all away. Cheers bro, dont let $$$ destory the warmth of the family. Make it your slave and treat it like shit but use it wisely.
    Words of wisdom from a loving husband and a doting father. Really depending on what your priorities are, make more money now or spend quaility time and spare considerable thoughts for your family members? Best is to find one option which merits the two priorities but its seldom the case. One will strive at the expense of the other! Choose wisely and don't look back with remorse later!

why sell when u can hold

why hold when it can be sold

The difference between the two is whether u need the cash. Otherwise, just keep them.

Money is the root of all evil. Dun be tempted by the devil.

Quote Originally Posted by Jadey
    its a sign the market is softening liao.

50% gain? you might want to factor in the inflation over the past 4 years as well. Gold was about US$900 an ounce 4 years ago, today its US$1600.
    Gold is not a good example lah... not on par with inflation rate!!! Current inflation rate is about 4 to 6% only. Not 70% over 4 years!!!

The answer lies in how well you know yourself.

Its may be a good idea to sell and move into a fully paid HDB unit without mortgage. Hold the profit for another opportunity to buy another property.

You'll be surprised at how pleasurable a 'mortgage-free' life can be.

Quote Originally Posted by Concours
    The answer lies in how well you know yourself.

Its may be a good idea to sell and move into a fully paid HDB unit without mortgage. Hold the profit for another opportunity to buy another property.

You'll be surprised at how pleasurable a 'mortgage-free' life can be.

Mortgage free only make sense if interest rate is high and inflation is low. at the moment, one will be better off leveraging on your property.

One alternative is to take out a term loan on your property and reinvest in another property or even gold.

It is always never a good idea to keep too much cash in bank, beside inflation, you will also end up spending more.

thanks all good bros for very meaningful feedback...actually i also have a hdb apt almost fully paid currently being tenanted out so my plan if i sell like 90% of sellers who sell for sake of selling is to wait for the dip that may or may not happen...ur guess as good as mine...

so while waiting i still got rental income from my hdb apt i thinking of topping up 500 to 1k per month to that amount and renting a condo for about a year or so till direction is more clear...

no issue with my present place but would be nice to have a change of enviroment...like they say rolling stone gathers no moss...

anyway i already called my old property agent friend he buying me lunch tommorow ha ha property agents and insurance agents all the same always eager to buy you lunch....

Quote Originally Posted by Jadey
    Mortgage free only make sense if interest rate is high and inflation is low. at the moment, one will be better off leveraging on your property.

One alternative is to take out a term loan on your property and reinvest in another property or even gold.

It is always never a good idea to keep too much cash in bank, beside inflation, you will also end up spending more.
    yup same goes for cars i just bought a used car interest at 1.88%...cheap cheap but of course with cars u got that stupid rule 78 thing that penalizes u if u sell early...

Call me old fashion. But to me a home is more than just a roof over your head. Investments are a different thing altogether.

Yes old fashion... I agree with you. You can play with your investment property but not your home. Then again this guy is not really playing with his home because should all things fail, he'll just move back into his HDB. Then again from experience, those who have stayed in PC will not want to move back into HDB. Debatable!

honestly having had the best of both worlds staying in condos is NOT like what it used to be nowadays condos are flooded with FT..all the yaya papaya type...you see also blood boil...the way they behave a tho ah nevermind... ...but hdb on other hand i feel residents more down to earth....correct me if i wrong but thats MY experience...
    Yes and no lah... really depend on your neighbors. There are actually many PRCs who're moving into HDB whether renting or buying. When I just moved into HDB, all were locals in my block but after MOP, many PRCs came in but they are not really problematic. Sometimes locals more problems.

But stay HDB may run the risk of being mistakenly harassed by Ah Long Or your neighbor get harassed which definitely will affect you also.

Quote Originally Posted by wesing
    But stay HDB may run the risk of being mistakenly harassed by Ah Long Or your neighbor get harassed which definitely will affect you also.
    Nowadays, Ah Long changed tactics liao. They harass the neighbours hoping that the neighbours will put pressure on their target owner.

problem with hdb... i can renovate the flat to my liking, keep the house as clean as i like, but once i step out of it... sigh ...
    condo do have advantage, cleaner environment, maybe due to higher maintenance fee
    i think my problem is bec my hdb is in old estate.

Nowadays, Ah Long changed tactics liao. They harass the neighbours hoping that the neighbours will put pressure on their target owner.
    Hahaha!Wait their neighbor is a police superintendent or something then activate an thorough investigation to round up those illicit syndicate... hahaha! Then they can close shop liaoz!

problem with hdb... i can renovate the flat to my liking, keep the house as clean as i like, but once i step out of it... sigh ...
    condo do have advantage, cleaner environment, maybe due to higher maintenance fee
    i think my problem is bec my hdb is in old estate.
    For the price difference, there better be a stark difference between HDB and PCs. Like I said, most people who have stayed in PC will be quite unwilling to move into HDB because of all these advantages unless absolutely 'bo pian'.

yup same goes for cars i just bought a used car interest at 1.88%...cheap cheap but of course with cars u got that stupid rule 78 thing that penalizes u if u sell early...

what is rule 78 ?

If you want to move because you are not entirely happy with where you are staying. Then it is a different thing. That you are able to make money as well is a bonus. I would then say move.

But if you are moving to make (more) money, then I would say it never ends.

If you want to move because you are not entirely happy with where you are staying. Then it is a different thing. That you are able to make money as well is a bonus. I would then say move.

But if you are moving to make (more) money, then I would say it never ends.
    If transacting properties is your hobby, than just buy and sell units that you don't live in. Its really v v troublesome for the family who keep having to move with you after a few years. Ideal case is to find that one dream home that you see yourself and your family staying for a long time. Then you can start buying and selling other properties! It makes more sense that way!