Thread: DIFFERENT BETWEEN PR AND SINGAPOREAN

Default DIFFERENT BETWEEN PR AND SINGAPOREAN

Any major difference besides citizens can vote.... And must do ns.
    Any other significant difference ?
    Pr can pack up , go back homeland..desert us, if things r bad...

The colour of their nrics are different (one pink, the other blue)

PRs cannot buy subsidised hdb flats

PRs must pay full upgrading fees

PRs have less discounted medical fees, skool fees etc

Actually PR quite cham...
    Have to migrate to live elsewhere from home...
    Literally start a new life in a new place...
    It can be a lonely life away from family and friends...
    And sometimes, you never return home...and when old, sigh... any regrets???

Quote Originally Posted by TKT
    And they tend to inhale fragrances that they are not accustomed to.... like curry

The difference in fees is insignificant.

Quote Originally Posted by marktkt22
    Any major difference besides citizens can vote.... And must do ns.
    Any other significant difference ?
    Pr can pack up , go back homeland..desert us, if things r bad...
    1st generation PRs must do NS and reservist.

Different in fee is v small
    I dun tink they cham"
    Sporean is the real "cham", pathetic ones
    Especially middle class

I dun tink they cham"
    Especially middle class
    Nvm la...lky says population must expand if not become like japan wor

Low birth rate n easiest way out is to import from poorer countries.....whahaha

Quote Originally Posted by TKT
    Given the opportunity at their home , coming here is considered a blessing already .

I dun tink they cham"
    Especially middle class
    Depends whether u are employee or employer, follower or leader. Employer likes foreigner who keep the cost for business and increase in population can boost business revenue. Leader able to increase country competency and increase in tax, with tax $ they able to provide scholarship, healthcare, stability. I agree that middle class suffer but if you compare to other country, middle class in sg is still better off...food,shelter,medical,education, security, employment, what else you need? Surely in a society there is middle, high and low class. So this thing never end.

Those PRs that come to singapore and kao peh kao bu should really get raped by a dog. Or country is the only place in the world that allows PR to buy public housing and most of them come here to spoil our market.

Quote Originally Posted by joelx
    Depends whether u are employee or employer, follower or leader. Employer likes foreigner who keep the cost for business and increase in population can boost business revenue. Leader able to increase country competency and increase in tax, with tax $ they able to provide scholarship, healthcare, stability. I agree that middle class suffer but if you compare to other country, middle class in sg is still better off...food,shelter,medical,education, security, employment, what else you need? Surely in a society there is middle, high and low class. So this thing never end.
    paisei, may i ask a question on employment pass holders(not PR).
    assuming,
    Person F(foreigner on employment pass) - salary $4500

Person S1(singaporean) - salary $4500
    take home pay (less employee cpf 20%) = $3600
    employer cpf 16% = $720

Person S2(singaporean) - salary $3879.31
    take home pay (less employee cpf 20%) = $3103.45
    employer cpf 16% = $620.69

cost for company to hire F = $4500
    cost for company to hire S1 = $4500+720 = $5220
    cost for company to hire S2 = $3879.31+620.69 = $4500

Assuming all 3 person have equal capability,
    so Singaporean can only ask for salary up to $3879.31 just to match a foreigner of salary $4500 ?
    Or company have to pay extra tax when hiring Person F, which bring the hiring cost closer to hiring Singaporean ?

assuming,

employer cpf 16% = $720

so Singaporean can only ask for salary up to $3879.31 just to match a foreigner of salary $4500 ?
    Or company have to pay extra tax when hiring Person F, which bring the hiring cost closer to hiring Singaporean ?
    Well I guess company will use employee F as a salary benchmark to all employees. Not to complicate things, the best and suitable and cheapest candidate get the job. No matters is a F or S. Thts the fact of life. Old man vs young also the same. Whoever fit best take on the job

assuming,

employer cpf 16% = $720

S2 has higher net income, if you include CPF.

Ohh yeah thanks for highlighting missed tht out, 16% more from employer for S2.

Eh? .. I don't get it... in your example, I thought after adding 16% S2 gets $4500 which is equal to F salary of $4500.

Well I guess company will use employee F as a salary benchmark to all employees. Not to complicate things, the best and suitable and cheapest candidate get the job. No matters is a F or S. Thts the fact of life. Old man vs young also the same. Whoever fit best take on the job

actually what i like to find out is, how foreign employee pass(EP) holder depress the local salary here

the lowest Q1 EP start with salary of $2,800, so
    if person F earns salary $2800, then the matching person S can only ask for $2413 (2800/1.16), so that company do not need increase in cost.

$2413 after 20% employee cpf, left with $1930 take home pay.

if my calculation is correct, then i think this is not level playing field.
    i noe person S gross income(with employer and employee cpf) is still $2800.

But, person F take home $2800 vs person S take home $1930, i dun think the 2 person will be of the same quality/capability.
    so person S will tend to ask for higher pay, which will mean company hire Singaporean is more expensive than hiring foreigner ?

Eh? .. I don't get it... in your example, I thought after adding 16% S2 gets $4500 which is equal to F salary of $4500.
    Sorry, you are correct. Both cost co. The same 4500

actually what i like to find out is, how foreign employee pass(EP) holder depress the local salary here

the lowest Q1 EP start with salary of $2,800, so
    if person F earns salary $2800, then the matching person S can only ask for $2413 (2800/1.16), so that company do not need increase in cost.

$2413 after 20% employee cpf, left with $1930 take home pay.

if my calculation is correct, then i think this is not level playing field.
    i noe person S gross income(with employer and employee cpf) is still $2800.

But, person F take home $2800 vs person S take home $1930, i dun think the 2 person will be of the same quality/capability.
    so person S will tend to ask for higher pay, which will mean company hire
    Singaporean is more expensive than hiring foreigner ?

I think the cost frm co. Perspective is the same for both. But F has higher purchasing power (higher disposable income). For S to match tht, S need to ask for more. However the crucial part is still the salary ceiling that set by F, simply higher supply of employee than demand frm employer. Price can't move up.

Agree, cost is same for employer but there are more rules wrt hiring a foreigner and also employer has to take into account foreigner's long term commitment to the his business. This is assuming the foreigner is on local terms. If he is on expat terms, then the costs to the employer shoots up. Depending on the type of job being offered, the foreigner is not always the most attractive option for the same cost outlay.

As for disposable income, if the foreigner is not a PR he cannot buy HDB. His living costs will be extremely high in Singapore. He will have less to spend if you deduct his rental payments.

If the foreigner is a PR and can buy a resale HDB, though his living costs now drop, his disposable income drops too because he has to contribute to CPF like his Singaporean counterpart.

Sorry, you are correct. Both cost co. The same 4500
    Calculation didnt take into account the company has to pay foreign workers levy. S2 still earns more than F after reduction from levy, assuming $4.5k net cost to company.

EP need to pay levy meh?

Tot only Work Permit requires and not EP....

I think employers do not need to pay the FWL for EPs.

Ok, my mistake!

I think employers do not need to pay the FWL for EPs.
    I hope the conclusion is not:
    Singaporean employees is more expensive than "EP holders" and "1st/2nd yr PR(since lower CPF rate)".

Given the opportunity at their home , coming here is considered a blessing already .
    Fully Agree! They have a choice but they choose to come....We Singaporeans are the ones who are "cham" by accomodating to them....

Sometimes I'm quite amused by comparison of pay btw PR n Singaporeans. Juz work harder n smarter, n if u have e capabilities I'm sure u will b highly sought after at higher pay. If not juz b ur own boss instead of asking employers to hire u at higher pay juz bcoz u r Singaporean. Invest in urself by learning new skills. With globalisation n Internet, i wld say skills get obsolete quickly n knowledge is cheapened.

I agree, few things to note here, skill play a crucial part, supply of labour and demand from employer set the salary. Not foreign or local. In employer eyes, $ come first.