Page 10 of 12 FirstFirst ... 56789101112 LastLast

Thread: PE: Four-cornered fight for Presidential race

Tkl supporters can go either way, to tcb, TJS or TT. But TJS supporters will never go TT, so will go tcb or tkl.

So u see tat the actual spoiler is TJS right? I trying to say if TJS not there TCB confirm 100% win. If TKL not there, the winner is still unknown

Simple logic right?
    Do your Maths.., even if TKL votes of 4.91% all vote for TJS Instead..., TJS still number 3...

TKL-4.91%

TJS-25.04%

TCB-34.85%

TT- 35.19%

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stori...149594/1/.html

PE: Dr Tony Tan elected Singapore's 7th President

Posted: 28 August 2011 0434 hrs

SINGAPORE: Dr Tony Tan has been elected Singapore's seventh President, winning by a 0.34 per cent margin, or 7,269 votes.

He secured 744,397 or 35.19 per cent of total valid votes, while Dr Tan Cheng Bock received 737,128 or 34.85 per cent of the valid votes.

Returning Officer Yam Ah Mee announced the results following a recount early Sunday morning.

He had allowed the recount as the difference in votes between the two leading candidates was less than two per cent of the total valid votes cast.

Mr Tan Jee Say got 529,732 votes or 25.04 per cent.

Mr Tan Kin Lian obtained 103,931 or 4.91 per cent of the votes. This means he will lose his election deposit of S$48,000.

Some 2.15 million Singaporeans, or 94.65 per cent of registered electors, cast their votes at 781 polling stations throughout the island on Saturday.

Announcing the results, Returning Officer Yam Ah Mee said the local votes counted are conclusive and that the overseas votes will not affect the results of the election.

5,504 Singaporeans have registered as overseas voters. Their votes will be counted on Tuesday, August 30.

The new President will be sworn in on Thursday, September 1.

Dr Tony Tan told reporters outside the Elections Department that he is extremely happy to serve Singaporeans once again.

In his thank you speech, he pledged to work for all Singaporeans.

"Thanks for being so patient and for all your support," he said, adding his thanks to his wife, family, friends, campaign team and all voters.

He also thanked the other three candidates who have campaigned with vigour, giving Singaporeans a choice.

Dr Tan said: "(A) President is a President for all Singaporeans, not only for those who voted for me, but also those who didn't vote for me. I plan to work for each and everyone of you."

He said the real work begins straight away after a strenuous campaign and he will strive to be the best President for all Singaporeans.

"Please support me and join me and my team ... (and) all of us work to build a better tomorrow for Singapore - a tomorrow which all of us ... can greet with confidence for the future," he added.

- CNA/al

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stori...149649/1/.html

PE: Results decisive, says Tony Tan

By May Wong | Posted: 28 August 2011 1643 hrs

SINGAPORE: President-elect Tony Tan said the election result has been decisive and he would use the mandate given to meet the expectations of all Singaporeans.

Dr Tan added he would continue to work hard to reach out to all Singaporeans via various platforms such as social media.

Dr Tan was speaking at his first news conference held on Sunday afternoon, after being elected Singapore's seventh President.

"The most immediate, urgent thing now... which I should do is to try to reach out to all Singaporeans to emphasise the fact that the president works for all citizens, not for people who are affiliated to any particular party," Dr Tan said.

"The most important, in my view, is to ensure constant vigilance to fulfil the president's custodial powers.

"I have much experience in this field. There's still a learning curve but I think it'll be short and not too steep."

On whether the voting pattern reflects a deep division in Singapore's society, Dr Tan said the country must recognise that Singaporeans are more vocal today.

"We should have a diversity of views in Singapore. It enriches our society. It makes Singapore more vibrant," Dr Tan said.

"Admittedly, it may make the process of governing more difficult because there's more 'noise'. There could be a little confusion from time to time, decision-making may be slower but that's a maturing of our democracy, civil society and our politics in Singapore, and it's a development which I welcome."

Meanwhile, Dr Tan thanked his wife, Mary Chee, for her support.

Dr Tan described his wife whom he met as a university undergard as "the love of my life" and who has been "a pillar of support".

"Without her standing with me I would not have been able to serve Singapore" said Dr Tan.

As to her role when asked by journalist, Dr Tan said: "She always has a deep concern for people in need... Particularly the elderly citizens. I'm sure she will fulfil her role as First Lady in her own right."

Dr Tan won 35.2 per cent of the valid votes in the Presidential Election held on Saturday.

-CNA/wk

Got this from another forum:

"posted by Tata99paos

1st passed the post always attract significant criticism in constitution law because a candidate can be elected without obtaining a simple majority. The criticism here is, how could one be a president with more than 6 out of 10 thinks he shouldn't? You would be surprised that in Indonesia, presidential election is base on simple majority than 1st passed the post. If any candidate cannot obtain a simple majority from the citizens, then the 1st and 2nd passed the post would be voted again in the next election by senate and by then, one would have a simple majority. There is no difference if this is implemented in Singapore unless the 2nd election is by citizens again, which means more cost...

Originally Posted by Elim88
    If TJS was not in the mix, TCB could have had a landslide win.

Could TJS without his knowing be made use of by the regime to dilute the votes for TCB?

The constitution clearly states that a CEO who manages a company with a paid-up capital of no less than $100m can be considered. TJS was as surprised as many others (including myself) when he got the COE.

TJS did not have an easy ride after he left his PPS position. Morgan Grenfell to those who are not aware is a PUPPY friendly entity and close to Govt. Peregrine was not but it went under though no fault of TJS. Not much
    happened in SCB. TJS was appointed CEO of Covet within 2 years of Allied Irish Bank buying it for slightly over £101m. After TJS took over, the Asian Financial Crisis occurred. Change of strategy and various tactics failed
    and it never made any money during his entire tenure. He was asked to go. The business was finally sold for £4m and AIB wrote off £97m from its book.

So how did PEC classify Covet as a £100m capitalization when it was sold for £4m. The million dollar question is who is behind him and who prodded him to run.

I think TJS has been made used of by the regime and he is totally ignorant about it. One of the 3 PEC members was a former Intelligence Chief whose immediate boss was N*than when he was head honcho of SID"

Orang U Tan Score sheet:

Tony Tan: 65% didn't vote for him,

TCB: 65% didn't vote for him,

TJS: 75% didn't vote for him, and

TKL: 95% didn't vote for him.

Now People worry for TT that when he makes public appearance, he may get booed again. Tink Gahman also worry for him.

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stori...149650/1/.html

PE: Tan Cheng Bock thanks supporters
    By Dominique Loh | Posted: 28 August 2011 1656 hrs

PE: Tan Cheng Bock thanks supporters

SINGAPORE: Dr Tan Cheng Bock was the first to throw his name into the ring in his bid to become Singapore's seventh president.

While Dr Tan touched on many issues during the campaign, there was one that resonated most with his supporters.

Dr Tan had said he wanted to be the unifying figure who bridged not just the political divide, but also someone who could unite Singapore.

"The issue of multi-racialism, to strengthen multi-racialism has caught the attention of many of our Singaporeans. And also, I think they realise that I am the one who can unify all Singaporeans," he said.

Dr Tan's team believed that the former Member of Parliament (MP) for Ayer Rajah had strong support from residents living in western Singapore.

"We are having a very tight fight but I expect that with more results coming in, I hope, I'm not sure where, but I hope the West Coast, and some of those places, which I'm quite strong, will give me an edge later on," he said.

As the recount entered its final stages early Sunday, Dr Tan addressed his supporters at Jurong East Stadium.

"Actually I'm very glad so many of you with different political affiliations came together, and we worked as a team and that's exactly what I like.

"I think they did it because they shared a common cause to put nation above politics and that is a very important call," Dr Tan said.

That speech proved to be the last of the night, by the man who came so close to the highest office in the land, but fell short at the final hurdle.

To put in bluntly..., his list is as follows:

1. How to make the "boos" of the 65% majority who did not vote for him softer...

2. To make Singapore a better place and Singaporeans a better quality of life...; make us 1st priority so that the majority COMPLAINT less....

3. On the uncertain global economy...., that "steady hand", just need to sign cheque steadily when Government ask him to approve emergency budget to dig into out reserves ...

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stori...149664/1/.html

PE: Tony Tan lists urgent tasks
    By Imelda Saad | Posted: 28 August 2011 1853 hrs

SINGAPORE: Singapore's President-elect Tony Tan has said that the most "urgent" task is to reach out to all Singaporeans.

Dr Tan emphasised that the president works for all Singaporeans and he will not be an "ivory tower President", just as President S R Nathan was not.

Dr Tan said this at a press conference on Sunday afternoon, just hours after being elected.

When asked his thoughts about the tight race and his winning margin of just 0.34 percentage points over his closest rival Dr Tan Cheng Bock, Dr Tony Tan said his results were "decisive" in Singapore's first past-the-post system.

"We should look forward to see what we can do rather than look backwards as to the narrow victory, the votes for the other candidates and for myself," Dr Tan said.

"I anticipate that this will be a subject for much commentary and analysis by political commentators and pundits in the coming days and months and I look for ward to reading their views and to see what they make of the elections.

"But as for myself, it's over; now, the question is we have to concentrate on the real work which is what we can do to make Singapore a better place and give Singaporeans a better quality of life."

Dr Tan's priority is to unite an electorate which some have said are polarised in their political views.

"I'm reaching out to all Singaporeans, not only those who support me but also those who have supported other candidates.

"The president must work for all citizens, regardless of who they (voted for); the president must be above politics. He cannot identify himself with any one party.

"All of us have a common destiny in Singapore, whatever party you belong to, whether you vote for me or did not vote for me, I will continue to work for all of you and I think that in the coming years, I will work to unify Singaporeans, heal some of the divisions that exist now and emphasise the need for unity and a common purpose.

"In this way I am confident that we will be able to share a common purpose."

Dr Tan acknowledged that with a more vocal electorate, the process of government would be more difficult, with more confusion and slower decision making.

But he said it is good to have a diversity of views as it enriches society.

As part of the engagement process, Dr Tan wants to use various platforms, such as tea sessions and online social networks to reach out to Singaporeans.

Dr Tan also said: "I don't think it's fair to describe, for example President Nathan's tenure as being in an ivory tower. I think he's made a great effort to reach out to Singaporeans.

"I intend to do the same, not to isolate myself in the Istana but to reach out to various groups, to take an interest in particular issues and to meet a wide spectrum of Singaporeans from all walks of life, different interest groups, to work with them and for them in order to help advance their causes for the benefit of Singaporeans".

With an uncertain global economy, Dr Tan said he hopes to use his experience to help steer Singapore out of troubled waters.

"I view the global economic situation with grave concern. There are problems in Europe, in US. The credit rating has been downgraded. Japan also has its credit rating downgraded as well and many countries, including Singapore, are lowering their growth projections for this year and possibly for next year as well.

"We don't know whether all of these problems will eventually cause another global economic and financial crisis. A lot depends on the actions of government and policy makers and central bankers in the coming weeks and months. We have to monitor this very carefully and with my background in GIC as well as in OCBC.

"I have a wide circle of contacts in the global economic field. I keep up with the news and I can share these views with the prime minister and the other ministers in private meetings.

"The prime minister and his Cabinet will eventually have to make the right decisions but with the experience which I have had over 30 years, I hope that some of my insights and views will be helpful to the PM and his Cabinet when they have to make difficult and uncertain decisions."

"I think the coming weeks and months will be trying for Singapore but we have to remember that Singapore's fundamentals are strong. We have faced challenges before.

"One of the reasons why I decided to run for the presidency is to be able to make a contribution towards resolving some of these issues and helping Singapore to ride through the next crisis if it should hit us. And now that I have been elected as president, I think that will enable me to play that role but one has to recognise that the final decisions will have to be made by the prime minister and his Cabinet."

When asked about the role his wife Mary will play, Dr Tan described how she has always been a pillar of support for him.

"I know my wife Mary has always had a deep concern for people in need, particularly for the older folks; I'm sure that she will be a great first lady and she will fulfil that position with grace and distinction and make a contribution to Singapore in her own right.

"But I still look forward to her support for me as I carry out my functions in the presidency."

During campaigning, there was a lot of talk about the role and responsibility of the elected president in Singapore and Dr Tan said he believes the debate will not end here.

He said the Constitution will evolve because it is a living document and he said he'll do his best to meet the high expectations of Singaporeans.

Dr Tan will be sworn in on Thursday as Singapore's seventh head of state.

Channel NewsAsia will carry the ceremony 'live' at 7.30pm.

-CNA/wk

Do your Maths.., even if TKL votes of 4.91% all vote for TJS Instead..., TJS still number 3...

TKL-4.91%

TJS-25.04%

TCB-34.85%

TT- 35.19%
    Thanks for ur maths! Tat is why I say TJS is the spoiler, NOT TKL TKL does not make any difference whether he had withdrawn or not!

More than 100k people voted for tkl, if tkl don't stand for election, tcb will get the lion's share of the 100k votes, making him the new president. Out of the 100k+ votes, even if tjs gets more than 100k votes, tcb just needs 10k more to secure the victory. Nobody who voted for tkl will vote for tt, so votes will either go to tjs or tcb.
    Thanks for ur maths! Tat is why I say TJS is the spoiler, NOT TKL TKL does not make any difference whether he had withdrawn or not!

The war is over. I'm more concerned how he watches over our reserves handled by GIC n Temasek.

Why worry? there is no difference... things will be run as it has for the last 6 presidencies. A vote for either TT or TCB is a vote for status quo. And that's what 70% of Singaporeans want, be it good or bad.

It's better this way.

Opposition can fight it out in parliament and not through the highest office.

Tsj will be back as a opposition in no time.

Although I voted TCB but happy to see TT wins. Not because I like them but they know what President supposed to do. TJS and TKL are in the wrong election, they talked like they are in GE. I think all candidates in next PE must pass the written test on the roles of President.

37.8k spoilt votes, given 4 choices also don't use it wisely

I felt gloomy the whole morning.

Poor TKL. I think they should scrap the deposit. This is unlike the GE where anybody can stand for election. The deposit will prevent frivolous nominations. Here, you need to get approval from the committee. It already weeds out those frivolous ones. Thus, the deposit is irrelevant.

his deposit deserves to go coz he garnered only 4% support which is poor performance.
    Poor TKL. I think they should scrap the deposit. This is unlike the GE where anybody can stand for election. The deposit will prevent frivolous nominations. Here, you need to get approval from the committee. It already weeds out those frivolous ones. Thus, the deposit is irrelevant.

Mistakes were made.
    Anyway, the People have voted.
    Time to move on.

When foreigners ask me whether we have a president, I just continue telling them we have none. If there is one, then it was accidental coz I didn't vote for him lol

He could have used the money to make a downpayment for a unit in The Luxurie.

More than 100k people voted for tkl, if tkl don't stand for election, tcb will get the lion's share of the 100k votes, making him the new president. Out of the 100k+ votes, even if tjs gets more than 100k votes, tcb just needs 10k more to secure the victory. Nobody who voted for tkl will vote for tt, so votes will either go to tjs or tcb.
    Don't you wonder why tjs and tkl were given certificates to stand for election? In effect they were vote spoilers for tcb.

gahmen smart huh?

Don't you wonder why tjs and tkl were given certificates to stand for election? In effect they were vote spoilers for tcb.

Tjs is not the vote spoiler coz he represents those who don't want to vote a pap guy and want an opposition president (not forgetting 40% of nation are opposition supporters) like I mentioned. Tkl is the vote spoiler coz he is neither here no there with neither backing of opposition nor pap supporters. The 1xxk votes tkl garnered were just sympathy votes.

ya ya, TJS say liao mah, all not his fault:
    1) campaign too short, need to be 3months
    2) even if he dun take part, then his 25% of votes will become spoil votes
    3) media portrayed him as confrontational
    maybe is the other 75% voters fault for not voting him hor
    look like most of the 25% who supported him think like him too

Whatever it is and whoever is voted, respect the democratic process and move on lah.....

On the bright side, ft will still continue to come and gd for landlords

Price of sky11 will rise big time....

You seem happy with the new "president". You may want to go to istana one of these days and get his autograph. you may also want to ask him to give some good suggestions about how he can recoup back all the billions of dollars in losses he incurred while being head of GIC, since he is the protector of our money.

ya ya, TJS say liao mah, all not his fault:
    1) campaign too short, need to be 3months
    2) even if he dun take part, then his 25% of votes will become spoil votes
    3) media portrayed him as confrontational
    maybe is the other 75% voters fault for not voting him hor
    look like most of the 25% who supported him think like him too

You seem happy with the new "president". You may want to go to istana one of these days and get his autograph. you may also want to ask him to give some good suggestions about how he can recoup back all the billions of dollars in losses he incurred while being head of GIC, since he is the protector of our money.

ho ho ho, actually i only dun like the $1 man

Sometimes things are so ironic, get a person who lost billions of dollars for singapore to be protector of our reserves. It is like a father asking the man who rape his daughter to marry his daughter and have a happy wedding

It's the daughters fault. The sons didn't choose them.