Page 2 of 12 FirstFirst 1234567 ... LastLast

Thread: PE: Four-cornered fight for Presidential race

TT does not have much foresight as a leader.
    In 1981, MRT project was the largest and biggest construction ever in Singapore history was pushed through by the Late , Ong Teng Cheong, then was the Minister of Transport. Of course there were barrier and resistance from the Parliament but TT opposed this....

ST article in 1981 below

"Foolish to build MRT now: Tony Tan"

I wish it were that simple, then tjs will have at least 38% of the votes liao
    PAP supporters will vote for PAP parrots. Non-PAP supporters will vote for non-PAP parrots! Simple?

Already got more than 80 pap parrots in parliament so the president must be from opposition to act as effective check on how our reserves is used.
    funny comment

den TJS will just be another opposition parrot?

Already got more than 80 pap parrots in parliament so the president must be from opposition to act as effective check on how our reserves is used.
    My president in mind is a neutral and well composed person like late otc ....definitely not tjs

Pls look at individual candidates merits and delink them from past political background

My president in mind is a neutral and well composed person like late otc ....definitely not tjs
    then TKL should be yr choice he openly said that he is following OTC footstep

Whahaha.....his english standard machiam like mine wor

Instead of PE, I tot now more like GE part 2.....

Whahaha.....his english standard machiam like mine wor
    aiya then u should go instead of him. we will have a first ever "devil president"

http://forum.channelnewsasia.com/vie...77106e794bc8b9

Former DPM Tony Tan’s foreign-talent-first Singaporeans-second university admission policy

As reported in the Straits Times on 1st August 1997:

Quote:

* MORE GRADUATES NEEDED: Singapore will not have enough graduates to service the economy in the year 2000, and steps will have to be taken to boost the intake at the universities here, while attracting more graduates from abroad as well, said Deputy Prime Minister Tony Tan, who oversees university education.

The panel was set up in 1998 and held its first meeting on 17th April 1998. Although Dr Tony Tan was not on the panel, he was the minister overall in charge of it. Apart from the projected shortage of skilled graduates, one of the other reasons for reviewing university admission criteria was to address the perception that it was almost entirely academic based with no consideration for extra-curricular achievements. The other, seemingly innocuous goal, was to transform the local universities of NUS and NTU into world-class universities.

Right from the start in 1998, Dr Tony Tan had ruled out that a policy which limits foreigners or protects Singaporean students and graduates was not on the table:

Quote:

One student had asked if the Government would implement policies that would protect Singaporeans facing competition from foreigners, for jobs as well as university places.

Dr Tan answered: “There is no way in which you are going to be able to protect either Singaporeans or Singapore because we are a small country.
    “We don’t set prices. We are a price-taker, not a price-setter,” he said on Thursday.

Tony Tan’s role

Here is where DPM Tony Tan’s role came into play. DPM Tan said that while more graduates are needed to keep the economy going (a shortfall of graduates was expected even if NTU and NUS increased their intake), but that increasing the intake was ruled out for fear that it might “lower their standards” and cause them to become “unmanageable”. His solution? Part of it was to instead increase the intake for foreign students from overseas so as to retain education standards, done probably in part to ensure NUS and NTU were seen as world class education institutions which foreigners would flock to:

Quote:

Deputy Prime Minister Dr Tony Tan revealed in Parliament that projections by the Ministry of Trade and Industry indicated that Singapore needed 17,000 graduates a year to service its economy.

With an intake of about 10,000 or 11,000 to NUS and NTU, there would still be a shortfall.

He ruled out expanding the intake at NUS and NTU, saying that it could lower their standards and cause them to become unmanageable “mega-universities”.

The better options were to increase the number of tertiary-level institutions and recruit students from overseas.

In other words, if one is looking to blame any minister for the huge influx of foreign students in local Singapore universities and the huge brain drain of polytechnic graduates who leave for overseas university education (who are unfairly penalised due to consideration of ‘O’ Level grade), DPM Tony Tan appears to be the minister responsible.

In his quest to ensure the Singapore economy had enough graduates to keep it going and while also trying to boost local university standards and international appeal, DPM Tony Tan set in motion the policy which discriminated against local students in favour of foreign students who, in some apparent cases are not able to qualify for their own country’s competitive university entrance exams.

Is this not a clear case of putting foreign students ahead of locals? All in the name of boosting the image of NUS/NTU over that of the locals. To make matters worse, CPF money cannot be used for education overseas. Polytechnic students who had to go overseas or resort to expensive college education through distance learning have DPM Tony Tan to thank for putting foreign students overseas ahead of locals.

It would not be the least bit suprising if it eventually emerged that DPM Tony Tan was the brains behind the policy which explicitly invites foreign students fully sponsored by the Singapore government (and its taxpayers) to study in NUS/NTU and offers them a PR (without the obligation of National Service) upon graduation. Such an ill thought policy marginalises local talents and swells the ranks of non-committed PRs who are in Singapore only as a stepping stone to overseas universities. Here’s an account by a forumer of how such a reverse-discriminatory policy worked.

Now DPM Tony Tan is running for President. Well when the voting comes, Singaporeans should keep in mind the above.

i disagree. i think tcb may be more like ong teng cheong.
    TCB not of the same calibre as OTC. Probably more like a Wee Kim Wee but more out-spoken.

Quote Originally Posted by masterkey
    TCB not of the same calibre as OTC. Probably more like a Wee Kim Wee but more out-spoken.
    Wkw very well loved

President's role has evolved considerably since WKW's time. Need more than a fatherly figure now.

President has to be dynamic and not some softie that just says yes to everything the govt says. The president must not be afraid to disagree and be another alternative voice for the people apart from parliament. The president should also be in the position to champion ideas and suggest it to the cabinet on behalf of the people.

Good point. Personally, it is most important for the next President to have this trait : "not be afraid to disagree and be another alternative voice"

It will b interesting if foreign delegates meet President to listen to one view, then meet Prime Minister to get another opposite view. Our Foreign Affairs minister will b v busy! Haha.

Quote Originally Posted by masterkey
    President's role has evolved considerably since WKW's time. Need more than a fatherly figure now.
    Not father but anyone who can show us the money!
    Don't care father, grandfather, uncle, brother or ah pek

TJS brought up a good question about whether people are being taxed too much for the sake of increasing our reserves - which are used for...?

commercial break

To add further, Tjs's rejuvenation plan focuses a lot on entrepreneurship and professional services rather than manufacturing and casino. His plan helps to revitalise our economy, creates jobs and spur creativity among youths rather and helps create more singapore inventions. The govt is too stubborn to accept ideas from the opposition and pap even misinterpreted the report claiming tjs advocated totally having no manufacturing which we all know is a lie. To date, TT has said nothing about how to move the economy forward except a dark cloud looms ahead (which everybody already knows from the news) and TCB has nothing else to say apart from fostering multiracialism (which everyone already knows since they attend kindergarten).
    Quote Originally Posted by evergreen
    Not father but anyone who can show us the money!
    Don't care father, grandfather, uncle, brother or ah pek

TJS brought up a good question about whether people are being taxed too much for the sake of increasing our reserves - which are used for...?

I like the comic strip

I'm all for creativity. It is not easy but we have to start somewhere. The education system is terribly stifling.

We have been overly reliant on big corporations for jobs. Many Singaporeans look down on small companies and startups. They think big companies and US companies are "stable".

We need a change of mindset for homegrown companies to hire outstanding people and we need patriotic Singaporeans to buy products and services from local companies.

Precisely the point, too many young singaporeans like to lean on big companies for safety and they want nice cushy jobs that pay them well without ever wanting to venture out. This is the problem with our civil service, when civil servants get paid too well and they know they have a slim chance of getting fired even if they perform mediocrely, they tend to slack and always stretching to earn more by doing less. I have relatives in civil service like that so don't ask me how I know. I think our civil service should start cutting pay by half and get people to move outside to start businesses and create jobs for others rather than being a civil service slothball and leech on taxpayers.
    Quote Originally Posted by evergreen
    I like the comic strip

I'm all for creativity. It is not easy but we have to start somewhere. The education system is terribly stifling.

We have been overly reliant on big corporations for jobs. Many Singaporeans look down on small companies and startups. They think big companies and US companies are "stable".

We need a change of mindset for homegrown companies to hire outstanding people and we need patriotic Singaporeans to buy products and services from local companies.

To add further, Tjs's rejuvenation plan focuses a lot on entrepreneurship and professional services rather than manufacturing and casino. His plan helps to revitalise our economy, creates jobs and spur creativity among youths rather and helps create more singapore inventions. The govt is too stubborn to accept ideas from the opposition and pap even misinterpreted the report claiming tjs advocated totally having no manufacturing which we all know is a lie. To date, TT has said nothing about how to move the economy forward except a dark cloud looms ahead (which everybody already knows from the news) and TCB has nothing else to say apart from fostering multiracialism (which everyone already knows since they attend kindergarten).
    The gahmen knows that. But entrepreneurship and professional services require talent. And the gahmen's view is that Singaporeans cannot make it, so don't waste time and go straight to easier ways eg gambling and more foreigners.

yes!

support TCB!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Yes TCB TCB!!! Go go go!!

Though he was a former miw, he was the only pap member who oppose the government by voting against the casinos and as early as 1990s he saw the immigration problems and told pap to adopt singaporeans first policy though he got reprimandee by MM for that . Let' s not forget ong teng Cheong our beloved people's president was also an ex miw but yet he stood up against them. TCB reminds me of him, with his compassion for the people. Have heard of many personal accounts of people dealing with him and saying he is a very kind hearted man, can even see doc on credit if you have no $$ to pay

Who is TJS? Just a disgruntled ex civil servant who with his proposals like doing away with manufacturing might soon squander away our reserves. Everyone can come up with grand plans to boost the economy but how realistic and feasible are they? Let' s not forget Singapore is a very small country easily makan by our neighbors if anything goes wrong

Actually opposition did themselves in this time. Pap supporters all vote tt while opp supporters divide against 3 candidates. You dun need to be a maths whiz to see that likely tt will win.

TCB is in his seventies, waste of time lah, he better enjoy his last few years of his retirement as time is running out. Same for the current prata man, really a waste of taxpayer's money. TJS is the youngest and still got some good years to go and more energy to champion causes. BTW I didnt know TCB would be so desperate and buay steady as to use his past contacts to send out mailers with his publicity brochures addressed to people's names personally.

I think PAP supporters divided between TCB and TT, i believe most opposition supporters will vote for TJS.

Quote Originally Posted by extremme
    Actually opposition did themselves in this time. Pap supporters all vote tt while opp supporters divide against 3 candidates. You dun need to be a maths whiz to see that likely tt will win.

In business, this is good strategy. If you give one or two people free treatment in the name of helping them, they will spread more good words about your service and you end up getting more people coming to you and getting more business. If you have at least a hundred people coming up to say he has been giving them free medication and treatment for the past ten years, then I will join you to vote for him.

Let' s not forget ong teng Cheong our beloved people's president was also an ex miw but yet he stood up against them. TCB reminds me of him, with his compassion for the people. Have heard of many personal accounts of people dealing with him and saying he is a very kind hearted man, can even see doc on credit if you have no $$ to pay

Yes TCB TCB!!! Go go go!!

Though he was a former miw, he was the only pap member who oppose the government by voting against the casinos and as early as 1990s he saw the immigration problems and told pap to adopt singaporeans first policy though he got reprimandee by MM for that . Let' s not forget ong teng Cheong our beloved people's president was also an ex miw but yet he stood up against them. TCB reminds me of him, with his compassion for the people. Have heard of many personal accounts of people dealing with him and saying he is a very kind hearted man, can even see doc on credit if you have no $$ to pay
    YES!!!!!!!!!

but sad to say chances r slim for him

nonetheless, GO GO GO! JIAYOU TCB!

In business, this is good strategy. If you give one or two people free treatment in the name of helping them, they will spread more good words about your service and you end up getting more people coming to you and getting more business. If you have at least a hundred people coming up to say he has been giving them free medication and treatment for the past ten years, then I will join you to vote for him.
    wat kind of reasoning is tat?

u can turn black to white and now u turn white to black!

I think PAP supporters divided between TCB and TT, i believe most opposition supporters will vote for TJS.
    if i remember correctly, extremme is a opposition supporter

TCB is in his seventies, waste of time lah, he better enjoy his last few years of his retirement as time is running out. Same for the current prata man, really a waste of taxpayer's money. TJS is the youngest and still got some good years to go and more energy to champion causes. BTW I didnt know TCB would be so desperate and buay steady as to use his past contacts to send out mailers with his publicity brochures addressed to people's names personally.