Thread: What would you buy with $10m

Default What would you buy with $10m

A hypothetical question,

If you are given $10m to start a property investment portfolio, what will you invest in. Lets assuming that you could gear up to $25m.

I will split up to buy ten condos rather than dump it on one gcb
    Quote Originally Posted by Jadey
    A hypothetical question,

If you are given $10m to start a property investment portfolio, what will you invest in. Lets assuming that you could gear up to $25m.

Yes, multiple properties (at least 5) with rental return of $5K per month per ppty

I would buy a 3 condos, 1 shophouse and a commercial unit......
    I would continue to stay in my present place as I like it here very much.
    I would continue to work but less hard .

buy 25 prime MMs..... Full time landlord....

diversify 1 prime 1 MM 1 ocr, 1 shophouse and a commerical unit

MM units will be in trouble when recession hits.
    buy 25 prime MMs..... Full time landlord....

MM units will be in trouble when recession hits.
    I said PRIME MMs. ie. near MRT, near town. Believe that there is still rental demand in prime locations even in a downturn.... when everyone downsizes....

Enough for the rest of the life already...no need to buy liao

Me not greedy. As long as property drop to 2008 level, and policy change to 20% down payment, we can use current 1 cost to buy 3, happy already

A hypothetical question,

The only person who is qualified to answer this question prolly is property_owner

1. HK : Mid level or Kowloon station, high floor, duplex, with unblock harbour view, or shops in Causeway Bay...($25m may not be enough)

2. London Zone 1 : must pick the right one

3. US - NY mid town, or SF bay area

buy into their cheap currency as well.

keep 3m in cash n i'l buy:
    1 unit clift 1 bedder $1.2m
    1unit icon 1 bedder $1.1m
    1 unit southbank 1 bedder $1m
    1 unit newton suites 2 bedder $1.65m
    1 unit seaview 3 bedder $1.8m

just by collecting rental alone from above units will sustain u comfortably regardless of crisis or no crisis..

Enough for the rest of the life already...no need to buy liao
    No need to buy and survive on less than 1% interest?

1% of 10 mil = 100k. Very soon the 100k will buy u nothing with inflation.....

Quote Originally Posted by fiat500
    keep 3m in cash n i'l buy:
    1 unit clift 1 bedder $1.2m
    1unit icon 1 bedder $1.1m
    1 unit southbank 1 bedder $1m
    1 unit newton suites 2 bedder $1.65m
    1 unit seaview 3 bedder $1.8m

just by collecting rental alone from above units will sustain u comfortably regardless of crisis or no crisis..
    good selection... but must have some leverage mah.... interest so low now....

interest low not sustainable..end of the day,loan free is still the best.

Diversify the type of houses to invest to spread out the risks (if can go into equities even better). Get a landed for $2.5mil, a cluster for $2.5mil, a penthouse for $2mil, a 3 bedder for $1.4mil and finally an MM for $600k. All units must be near MRT. That leaves about $1mil for me to go shopping and tour around the world.

One big bomb or epidemic you can say goodbye to your "diversified' investments

Any condo or commercial project in particular?

Lots of land will be released in CBD as Ministries and agencies such as MOM, MND, CPF, ENV, IDA etc, will be moving out to Paya Lebar, Buona Vista and Jurong East.
    Any condo or commercial project in particular?

I will set up a fund for needy students in Singapore.

Default 10M

My department globally has just be sold to a US based Private Equity. So maybe, I will:

1) Keep my HDB in Singapore - that's my real home with 11 years of memory;
    2) Buy a house in US - just in case I need to move there to work;
    3) Bug physical gold and lock into UOB safe deposit box - in case all paper money becomes banana money;
    4) Buy landed property next to Bukit Brown MRT - blessed I have no historical burden for what it was, I hope it will be the next Bishan;
    5) Buy property in Iskandar - that's the future Singapore community;
    6) Buy stocks - HMI, SIA, or simply STI index;
    7) Setup a fund for teachers - I like the new Education Minister: value oriented education;

If I had enough money, I would buy Genting stocks and de-list it. That's the best way to show newer generation what is value.

Getting out of pt....

Rite now, spend 5mio and keep 5mio cash

5mio leverage x2 and buy up to 10mil landed ppty

Next downturn, i will only aim landed....999 or fh semi d not enuff vit m to buy detached

Will leverage with the banks' money for the 10 mil and buy a range of properties and blue chips. But not now. Just worried with so many people rushing in to buy properties in the last 6 weeks given the current economy.

One big bomb or epidemic you can say goodbye to your "diversified' investments
    One big bomb, you can say goodbye to Singapore.

Do you mean economic bomb?
    One big bomb, you can say goodbye to Singapore.

My department globally has just be sold to a US based Private Equity. So maybe, I will:

1) Keep my HDB in Singapore - that's my real home with 11 years of memory;
    2) Buy a house in US - just in case I need to move there to work;
    3) Bug physical gold and lock into UOB safe deposit box - in case all paper money becomes banana money;
    4) Buy landed property next to Bukit Brown MRT - blessed I have no historical burden for what it was, I hope it will be the next Bishan;
    5) Buy property in Iskandar - that's the future Singapore community;
    6) Buy stocks - HMI, SIA, or simply STI index;
    7) Setup a fund for teachers - I like the new Education Minister: value oriented education;

If I had enough money, I would buy Genting stocks and de-list it. That's the best way to show newer generation what is value.

Lets just say that $10m is for property investment only.

dont forget to call me along when u go shopping...