Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Will prices in TK drop?

Quote Originally Posted by TKT
    I think TK prices about 10% discount to Marine Parade area is "reasonable"... ... afterall it is just 5mins drive away...

shd be more.....

15-20% discount by comparing both median psf bcoz TK all apt status whereas MP mostly full condo

Quote Originally Posted by TKT
    I think TK prices about 10% discount to Marine Parade area is "reasonable"... ... afterall it is just 5mins drive away...

Marine parade may be too crowded, ppl will look at TK

Quote Originally Posted by Jcmillineum
    Marine parade may be too crowded, ppl will look at TK
    After today's news, they will probably stop looking at TK....

http://www.straitstimes.com/Breaking...ry_737906.html

With the new requirement of an average unit size of 100m2, development potential of landed properties is gone, and long term value of developments with a high percentage of MM units will be evaporated.

Landed property bull run will slow down because of the new requirements.

Quote Originally Posted by NdB

With the new requirement of an average unit size of 100m2, development potential of landed properties is gone, and long term value of developments with a high percentage of MM units will be evaporated.
    Yep. MM projects plot are usually maximised anyway so there is no long term potential for enbloc to speak of. Existing TK MM will become rare property as you cant get affordable living in landed enclave anymore.

yes....actually gd news for existing MM owners.....the fear of oversupply of MMs haf somehow subsided

bad news for MM developers and those who bot landed ppty hoping to sold enbloc to developers.....

how oxley share doing? can short till delist? LOL

yes....actually gd news for existing MM owners.....the fear of oversupply of MMs haf somehow subsided

bad news for MM developers and those who bot landed ppty hoping to sold enbloc to developers.....

how oxley share doing? can short till delist? LOL
    and MND decides to implement what i've been advocating since umpteen months ago.

i seriously dun tink they got the idea from here.....to them we r just 'noises' from the cyberworld.....

i believe its due to existing landed owners collectively making an appeal or complaint and escalate it to URA/MND

i seriously dun tink they got the idea from here.....to them we r just 'noises' from the cyberworld.....

i believe its due to existing landed owners collectively making an appeal or complaint and escalate it to URA/MND
    believe it's also partly due to MM units skewing psf to the upper end of the spectrum and thus, giving a false impression of a perpetually growing property cycle. add on the kiasu mentality of singaporeans and viola! feeding frenzy and super long queues at property launches, e.g. bedok residences

WHO lives in landed property? MIWs.

Conspiracy theory is the Internet savvy M of MND was here also, n picked up ur idea...

That your answer...

WHO lives in landed property? MIWs.

Quote Originally Posted by marktkt22
    That your answer...
    They usually stay in landed housing estates w/o plot ratio.
    The most successful investors are defined by their actions in a bear market, not a bull market.

Quote Originally Posted by NdB

This also means that the remainding MM units will be able to fetch super sky high prices as we wont be seeing this MM units again anytime soon. So owners can ask for higher prices if they wanna sell. There will be limited units available for sales.

With lesser land available for development purposes, buyers will have lesser choices of condos and owners can pull up their prices higher.

Isnt that logic to say this?

Quote Originally Posted by Shawn
    This also means that the remainding MM units will be able to fetch super sky high prices as we wont be seeing this MM units again anytime soon. So owners can ask for higher prices if they wanna sell. There will be limited units available for sales.

With lesser land available for development purposes, buyers will have lesser choices of condos and owners can pull up their prices higher.

No - unless you look at from a standpoint of an investor who does not understand the big picture.

If you have no money and are desperate to invest in property and buy an MM unit in TK today, then I think you are going to get burned in the long run unless you can take the money, run and get out on time.

The value of TK properties as a whole will go down - the average PSF has been pushed by the MM-factor. I think if you have a large unit, it does not really matter as you never paid the MM-penalty in the first place. But if you paid the MM-surcharge, your only hope is to get a good return and I don't think that is possible. Today you get a decent rental and 2-4% return. Once the property is 10 years old, the shine is off and it is just an ugly shoebox without amenities. You can probably rent it out but the return will be less. No investor is willing to buy it with a MM-surcharge because the returns are not there. No speculator is willing to buy it with a MM-surcharge because the redevelopment potential into new MMs is not there. No owner-occupier is going to buy it because it is too small and too expensive - a 3 room HDB is a better option. Again, I think you are ok if you have a decent size unit targeted at owner-occupiers.

And there is an over supply of MMs in the first place so supply-demand will not help either.

I totally agree with you...MM units will be more sought after as they are more affordable, and as the news say, only developers will pay high price for landed, so landed will go down...but due to the will be drop in supply of MMs, the MMs prices will go up, especially those located near the park connector and mrt!
    Well done telok kurau!!

I'm expect FH/999 MM apartments supply to be choked off, so their prices will rise. Only 99LH mass market condos can move now. Maybe we will see more bigger 99LH MM apartments.

MMs can be built in places with higher plot ratios right? just these few low plot ratios private estate that they can't build them anymore yes?

Quote Originally Posted by Jcmillineum
    I totally agree with you...MM units will be more sought after as they are more affordable, and as the news say, only developers will pay high price for landed, so landed will go down...but due to the will be drop in supply of MMs, the MMs prices will go up, especially those located near the park connector and mrt!
    Well done telok kurau!!
    disagree!
    MMs will always be crap....
    The main reason why the prices of TK landed properties are 15-20% below Marine Parade/Meyer landed is because of the ever growing condos mushrooming in the area! Hopefully this ruling will narrow the price gap
    The most successful investors are defined by their actions in a bear market, not a bull market.

MMs can be built in places with higher plot ratios right? just these few low plot ratios private estate that they can't build them anymore yes?
    Yes! you are right.
    You can still build MMs in TK just that it wont be commercially viable.

Blanket restriction for plot ratio 1.4 from what I interpret, just more strict for Telok Kurau. Most good areas with 1.4 plot ratio belong to FH/999LH landed. I expect the ruling to be expanded to other areas. Hold on tight to your FH/999LH MM.

Source: http://www.straitstimes.com/Breaking...ry_737906.html

1. The URA has set a minimum plot size of 1,000 sq m for all non-landed residential projects. There were no restrictions previously.

2. It has also limited the maximum number of flats on land parcels with a gross plot ratio of 1.4.

3. The maximum number of homes for such sites will now be determined by a formula where a site's maximum gross floor area (GFA) will be divided by 70 sq m. The aim, said the URA, is to 'safeguard livability'.

4. The rule will be even more stringent in the Telok Kurau estate where the URA has noted a rapid proliferation of small apartments. The GFA on sites there will be divided by 100 sq m, which will result in even fewer units.

It is said by analysts that Landed/land price in these areas will drop by as much as 20%

Serious, i am not sure it will go up or down.
    If up, how much higher, it already v exp.
    If down .... Becos no tenant ? Unlivable ...?
    Now mm are 6xxk , up mean 7xx k...? ?
    Might as well buy 2 bedder at 800-900k .

MM are makeup of investors with lower budget and die die to invest.
    quatuam must be low, to attract buyers.

if prices for MM is to fetch sky high, isnt it going to priced out the budget investors??
    etc 550k for 366sqft for a MM, and do you expect to sell 600-700k after choked off supply of MM?

then who buy?
    Last edited by jwong71; 25-11-11 at 22:01.

There is a limit how much MM can be priced before it doesn't make sense to buy anymore. Normal new 2bedders range from 750k onwards. Given there probably wont be much new MM, existing MM price ceiling perhaps 550-650k max. With rental at 2.3k to 2.5k it still makes for good investment. Most investors of MM looking for rental income and not capital gain. Capital gain days of flipping Option of MM are long over. Personally I dont think MM price will increase, but because it has become rare goods, it will be much more easy to sell off to smaller time investors in future.

new launches 2bedders 600-690k.

parc vera 710sqft, starting from 606k hedges park 764sqft

new launches 2bedders 600-690k.

parc vera 710sqft, starting from 606k hedges park 764sqft
    In relevant GPR 1.4 areas please.

Agreed, and as jwong71 said, mm survive by low quantum, or it not mm anymore....

Capitaland just sold an MM unit 594 sq.ft 1+1 bedroom at Bedok Residences 99 years leasehold for approx $900k. It shows that MM can still move if location is good.

TK is going to have their own mrt soon by 2018. Once the government announces the news, prices of TK condos will follow. If you think TK prices are expensive, then consider Ponggol or Sengkang. No other place is cheaper nowadays...everything is going up with inflation.

MM are makeup of investors with lower budget and die die to invest.
    quatuam must be low, to attract buyers.

if prices for MM is to fetch sky high, isnt it going to priced out the budget investors??
    etc 550k for 366sqft for a MM, and do you expect to sell 600-700k after choked off supply of MM?

then who buy?
    Please bear in mind that the big units at the East Coast (District 15) are also selling well. D15 is the most popular residential district in Singapore, and the 3rd most prime after District 9 and 10. It has been reported in the papers recently and I am not making any assumptions.

Some newly launched condos in D15 are able to get above $2500psf for some of their units, and new condo launches in Amber and Meyer areas are now averaging $1800-2300psf. And you be surprised these are all not MM units. They are large sized units ranging from 1000 - 6500 sq.ft. Far East, CDL and a China developer will be launching 3 new condos in the Amber/Marine Parade area and its highly expected that they are launching them above $2000psf. This is because the 3 are located in enbloc properties of which the breakeven price already is more than $1600psf.

Some of the newest condos like Aalto, Silversea, Meyerise, The Cape are all in the east and they are selling at close to $2000psf or more. This is actually D9/D10 prices for the medium range condos, and yet they are easily transacted and you see ongoing transactions every month without fail.

Next on the enbloc list is Laguna Park. Once successful, be prepared to see condos there (99 years) launched at above $1500psf. And it wont be MM units for sure.

Dont underestimate the potential of D15. It has been a traditionally strong residential area with its charm of the sea and the landscape, with fine eateries around Katong n the airport is just a brisk away.