Page 31 of 33 FirstFirst ... 61116212627282930313233 LastLast

Thread: Properties in Geylang Area: Potential?

Quote Originally Posted by Shanhz View Post
    bro, i am helping a fren seach for a low cost entry level apt. and grandview at lor 22 looks attractive. furthermore lor 22 is main rd and not amongst the chicken den.

what is the tenant profile nowadays? still able to get those genuine FT professionals (not the foreign trash type)?
    ONce paya lebar airbase is shifted...any potential for price of Geylang to shoot up....

already priced in, bloke...

you think you can move faster than the developers ?

get a reality check.

Quote Originally Posted by meow123 View Post
    already priced in, bloke...

you think you can move faster than the developers ?

get a reality check.
    A**ho*e...have u invested any property in geylang?

Some values look very suspicious. Possible that there was no sales during period resulting in no movement?

to buy a space in the area, go down to the place and walk to get the best info.

over many many times, you will get your own revelations...

non-financial data beats financial data, that cannot give u that qualitative feedback.

is there upside on geylang ? this depends on the timeline you are willing to wait for your returns on investment.

Some values look very suspicious. Possible that there was no sales during period resulting in no movement?
    I guess those areas with a loss is that their ppty prices are already quite high, not much people willing to pay for such high price in today's market whereas those areas with no movement or loss, the prices are still quite low at the present moment as compared to those areas, so people still can afford or willing to pay.

Quote Originally Posted by irisng View Post
    I guess those areas with a loss is that their ppty prices are already quite high, not much people willing to pay for such high price in today's market whereas those areas with no movement or loss, the prices are still quite low at the present moment as compared to those areas, so people still can afford or willing to pay.
    I guess those with 0% changes in the peak just puzzled me. That's when I realise they are currently at their peak.

But not very sure about the data collection. Median, mean, number of units sold, age and size of property etc?

Certain areas are looking very tantalizing based on the table.

I guess those with 0% changes in the peak just puzzled me. That's when I realise they are currently at their peak.

But not very sure about the data collection. Median, mean, number of units sold, age and size of property etc?

Certain areas are looking very tantalizing based on the table.
    Geylang area is great ya...i m very sure , if the stamp duty no longer imposed on the foreigners..the price will accelerate and could hit 1600sgd/Sqft

only a pty agent would talk about sg$1,600 psf for geylang...

who wants to offer sg$1,600 psf for a residential pty in geylang ?

I can connect u with many geylang pty sellers...

who can give a date if the red-light district would even be relocated ?

no one even knows if there's a plan to relocate them.

people reading this forum, please use your grey matter...

there's lots of scums, i mean, pty agents, who would tell you EVERYTHING that you want to hear, so that you sign on the dotted line to make the sale.

I won't be surprised if condosingapore itself is fueled by pty agents...

so in short, please use your brains... ( if any )

there's lots of scums, i mean, pty agents, who would tell you EVERYTHING that you want to hear, so that you sign on the dotted line to make the sale.

Whats wrong with red light activities there?u looking down at low wage worker?

I agree with your assessment.

Quote Originally Posted by SQ008 View Post
    I agree with your assessment.
    If you agreeable, how come u still buying at Lorong 24?

Please clarify.

Dear All,

I have written to the MP for this area, and seeking her assistance to eliminate the illegal prostitution at lorong 24...

Her reply is as follows:-

"we continue to work on this just like we have changed various aspects of the upper lorongs too."

well...

let's be realistic.

There is the exempted brothels, which have licenses to operate in the area.

Do you think it's actually going to happen?

There are 3 brothels newly opened, in the midst of #1 Loft's construction... they aren't going to vanish anytime soon.

We bought into that area, eyes-wide-open, it's not like a brothel suddenly turned up in the middle of Toa Payoh, etc.

Give it time, maybe 2030, maybe 2050... and things would improve.

If your time horizon is 5 - 10 years, you really shouldn't be buying it anyway.

We are not asking for brothels to close down.

We are not happy with illegal prostitutes lining the street of Lor 24 selling their services. It makes walking along the lorong uncomfortable as they attract foreigner workers crowding there too.

Even if its a red light district, it doesnt mean there is no law to enforce. illegal is illegal...the spf sld do their job. if they want to sell sex, do it inside confined space.

I have invested in Smart Suite at district 14 at Sims Ave opp Aljunied mrt... managed to get my second professional SEA tenant, a female accountant, even before my 1st tenant lease is up, which is in Dec. Amazing the ease of getting tenants so far thx to the good location....gives good passive income too....looking at it for rental passive income longterm...but unsure about resale value of MM units... so far still within the 4 year SSD period, wonder if resale demand is high for RCR Geylang MM units? Who would be the future buyers? Can gurus here comment?

is yours freehold? if so, just hold on to it. why sell it? or rent as airbnb haha.

Quote Originally Posted by bigbear View Post
    is yours freehold? if so, just hold on to it. why sell it? or rent as airbnb haha.
    1) yea..just hold on.

2) Paya lebar airbase will be relocated to Changi

3) Plot ratio of all the development at Geylang will be increased by 2030.

Quote Originally Posted by bigbear View Post
    Yes, is freehold, but bought quite high at 1400 psf, just worried about resale value...

Quote Originally Posted by wongwong View Post
    1) yea..just hold on.

2) Paya lebar airbase will be relocated to Changi

3) Plot ratio of all the development at Geylang will be increased by 2030.
    Yes, if hold for longterm maybe best, provided got holding power and rental continues to be good....but a bit nervous as shoeboxes r really ex compared to the new hdb studio and 2 bedders so wondering who will be the future buyers..

Quote Originally Posted by mummy View Post
    Yes, if hold for longterm maybe best, provided got holding power and rental continues to be good....but a bit nervous as shoeboxes r really ex compared to the new hdb studio and 2 bedders so wondering who will be the future buyers..
    I buying for own stay..

Quote Originally Posted by rontan_83 View Post
    I buying for own stay..

May I know yr profile? R u Sgpn? If u r, why not buy a cheaper HDB? If a foreigner, why not rent? Hope u dun mind me asking, just wondering wh will be my future buyer should we decide to sell...

I prefer freehold development...cus i can transfer the ownership to the next generation...

Yes, my hubby and I prefer freehold too, coz, it retains value better....
    Initially, i was considering studio apartment at redhill,99 years leasehold...$1 million...i cannot afford..

So i ended up with 670k , loft unit....at geylang..freehold..

I think for private shoebox, most likely the buyers will be either:-
    1) foreigners where they cannot buy HDB
    2) Singaporeans or PR or foreigners who buy it for investment
    3) Singaporeans who are not eligible to buy any HDB either because they have already utilized twice of their chances to buy HDB or their salary is too high or they already have a private ppty.

Your apartment has quite a good location, near MRT, I would think that :-
    1) if you still can afford to pay your instalments with no problem and yet still able to rent out your units at a reasonable price to help finance part of your instalments
    2) if you can make a decent profit
    3) unless you find it a chaos to keep finding tenants and clearing up the house after lease expire one after another

buying shoes box within city or city fringe still OK.

buying shoes box in neighbourhood areas or even punggol is not recommend unless for own stay.

Quote Originally Posted by irisng View Post
    I think for private shoebox, most likely the buyers will be either:-
    1) foreigners where they cannot buy HDB
    2) Singaporeans or PR or foreigners who buy it for investment
    3) Singaporeans who are not eligible to buy any HDB either because they have already utilized twice of their chances to buy HDB or their salary is too high or they already have a private ppty.

Your apartment has quite a good location, near MRT, I would think that :-
    1) if you still can afford to pay your instalments with no problem and yet still able to rent out your units at a reasonable price to help finance part of your instalments
    2) if you can make a decent profit
    3) unless you find it a chaos to keep finding tenants and clearing up the house after lease expire one after another
    Thanks for yr detailed reply....dunno about the making decent profit part but so far no prob finding tenants to help us pay mortgage and give us some passive income so we will hold for now....

Initially, i was considering studio apartment at redhill,99 years leasehold...$1 million...i cannot afford..

So i ended up with 670k , loft unit....at geylang..freehold..
    Let me guess, u r a local single male who is a pretty high earner?