Page 25 of 33 FirstFirst ... 510152021222324252627282930 ... LastLast

Thread: Properties in Geylang Area: Potential?

If i am not wrong Lorong 28 is within the red zone. Meaning brothels can operate in that lorong.

I have heard for years rumours about Geylang brothel shifting to Kranji. Honestly that is purely rumour designed to con investor like Irisng. Kranji is for horses not chicken.

From what I know, the red light area is only up to Lorong 24. Lorong 28 road is wider and looks okay, not that bad as Lorong 24.

Actually cannot completely say that the agent has conned me. I like the open skypool too and my son like the mechanical carpark which is so high-tech + good food around the areas (he enjoys good food, sometimes he will drive all the way from the West to Geylang with his girlfriend just for the food) + good locations with 3 easily accessible highways (mins to town area). Layout of the unit also not too bad.

Jwong71, you mean you also has a unit with afternoon sun. My present EC also get afternoon sun from certain months of the year. True enough, the walls will get hot but not the floor. We use curtains to block it. Nowadays aircon is so common, whether cold or hot weather, some people still on the aircon, off course, I don't, I use fan in the afternoon and only aircon during sleeping time when the country overall temperature rises to more than 29 degrees.

If you look at the URA Master Plan 2008, you will see that from Lorong 26 onwards it is actually a residential area. Those that are coloured with darker orange are meant for residential/Institution area.

http://www.ura.gov.sg/mp08/map.jsf?goToRegion=SIN

I saw several pros along lorong 28.

During wkends evening, can spot freelance along lor 31and 33 too.... Further away not so sure though....

Irisng, I do not own any west facing units as it poise harder for me to stay or sell in future. I viewed an unit abt 7-8pm,heat from the floor and house was unbearable. I'm sweating while viewing.

Oh agents not only con, but aso challenged me if I got enuff 40% for the geylang downpayment. I just reply him I can sink my 40% into any 4units max leverage,instead of 1unit.

Quote Originally Posted by Fleur
    Well, there are equally ulu, but more relaxing places for relaxation, such as Jalan Loyang Besar, Sembawang Greenvale. Also they don't have the risk of expressway sounds (ie TPE).
    equally ulu but I still choose whichever nearer to changi airport and east coast park. unless it's damn too good to missed a firesale. I will go to the west.

Irisng, I do not own any west facing units as it poise harder for me to stay or sell in future. I viewed an unit abt 7-8pm,heat from the floor and house was unbearable. I'm sweating while viewing.

Oh agents not only con, but aso challenged me if I got enuff 40% for the geylang downpayment. I just reply him I can sink my 40% into any 4units max leverage,instead of 1unit.
    Sorry, I don't quite understand your 2nd paragraph.

he means say the unit price is 500k, the agent challenged him got 40%, that is 200k to pay for the downpayment or not? But he said he not even can pay the 40% (200k) for 1 unit but also 40% of 4 units. Meaning he got at least 800k now, wow

Cut and paste from Sammyboyforum. The list is outdated but give you an idea of where the brothels operates or used to operate.... Need our very own Geylang OKT to verify 2011 version.

CAT150 Gals and Homebase @ 300902
    01] L14H25:
    02] L14H27:
    03] L14H29:
    04] L16H06:
    05] L16H06A:
    06] L16H07:
    07] L16H08:
    08] L16H08A:
    09] L16H10:
    10] L16H10A:
    11] L16H12: [ - ]
    12] L16H37: [ - ]
    13] L16H39:
    14] L16H40:
    15] L16H54: [ - ]
    16] L16H54A:
    17] L16H56A:
    18] L16H58:
    19] L16H58B :
    20] L16H58A :
    21] L16H67 :
    22] W16H04 :
    23] W16H06 :
    24] W16H08 :
    25] L18H05 :
    26] L18H11:
    27] L18H15:
    28] L18H19 :
    29] L18H39 :
    30] L18H57A :
    31] L20H01A :
    32] L20H03:
    33] L20H03A:
    34] L20H05:
    35] L20H07:
    36] L20H09:
    37] L20H11A :
    38] L20H17:
    39] L20H28 :
    40] L20H33 :
    41] L20H34A :
    42] L20H34B :
    43] L20H41:
    44] L20H43:
    45] L20H43A:
    46] L20H47:
    47] L20H47A:
    48] L20H58:
    49] L20H58A :
    50] L20H60 :
    51] L20H62A :
    52] L22H14 :
    53] L22H20:
    54] L22H22:
    55] L22H24:
    56] L22H24A:
    57] L22H26:
    58] L24m09:
    59] L24m11:
    60] L24m13:
    61] L24m51:
    62] L28H29b:
    63] L28H31:
    64] L28H31A:
    65] L28H31B:
    66] L28H33 :
    67] L28H37:
    68] L28H41:
    69] L28H45:
    70] L28H47:
    71] L30H21A:
    72] L30H28A:
    73) L30H33:

If you look at the URA Master Plan 2008, you will see that from Lorong 26 onwards it is actually a residential area. Those that are coloured with darker orange are meant for residential/Institution area.

http://www.ura.gov.sg/mp08/map.jsf?goToRegion=SIN

Quote Originally Posted by kaizhe
    he means say the unit price is 500k, the agent challenged him got 40%, that is 200k to pay for the downpayment or not? But he said he not even can pay the 40% (200k) for 1 unit but also 40% of 4 units. Meaning he got at least 800k now, wow
    Wow, so rich ah!!!

Quote Originally Posted by AK47
    Cut and paste from Sammyboyforum. The list is outdated but give you an idea of where the brothels operates or used to operate.... Need our very own Geylang OKT to verify 2011 version.

01] L14H25:
    02] L14H27:
    03] L14H29:
    04] L16H06:
    05] L16H06A:
    06] L16H07:
    07] L16H08:
    08] L16H08A:
    09] L16H10:
    10] L16H10A:
    13] L16H39:
    14] L16H40:
    16] L16H54A:
    17] L16H56A:
    18] L16H58:
    19] L16H58B :
    20] L16H58A :
    21] L16H67 :
    22] W16H04 :
    23] W16H06 :
    24] W16H08 :
    25] L18H05 :
    26] L18H11:
    27] L18H15:
    28] L18H19 :
    29] L18H39 :
    30] L18H57A :
    31] L20H01A :
    32] L20H03:
    33] L20H03A:
    34] L20H05:
    35] L20H07:
    36] L20H09:
    37] L20H11A :
    38] L20H17:
    39] L20H28 :
    40] L20H33 :
    41] L20H34A :
    42] L20H34B :
    43] L20H41:
    44] L20H43:
    45] L20H43A:
    46] L20H47:
    47] L20H47A:
    48] L20H58:
    49] L20H58A :
    50] L20H60 :
    51] L20H62A :
    52] L22H14 :
    53] L22H20:
    54] L22H22:
    55] L22H24:
    56] L22H24A:
    57] L22H26:
    58] L24m09:
    59] L24m11:
    60] L24m13:
    61] L24m51:
    62] L28H29b:
    63] L28H31:
    64] L28H31A:
    65] L28H31B:
    66] L28H33 :
    67] L28H37:
    68] L28H41:
    69] L28H45:
    70] L28H47:
    71] L30H21A:
    72] L30H28A:
    73) L30H33:
    Sorry, what are all those alphabets and numbers represent, don't really know how to read.

I think Geylang rental can be good becoz it has a good stream of tenants that came from the entertainment industry. Most girls will stay in the neighbourhood and share an apartment.

Cost is lower for them becoz they share a large apartment. Landlord happy as rent is good.

Lorong 30 House 33. "A" usually upper floor.

Sorry, what are all those alphabets and numbers represent, don't really know how to read.

Boss! Why no L6 and L8 leh?

01] L14H25:
    02] L14H27:
    03] L14H29:
    04] L16H06:
    05] L16H06A:
    06] L16H07:
    07] L16H08:
    08] L16H08A:
    09] L16H10:
    10] L16H10A:
    13] L16H39:
    14] L16H40:
    16] L16H54A:
    17] L16H56A:
    18] L16H58:
    19] L16H58B :
    20] L16H58A :
    21] L16H67 :
    22] W16H04 :
    23] W16H06 :
    24] W16H08 :
    25] L18H05 :
    26] L18H11:
    27] L18H15:
    28] L18H19 :
    29] L18H39 :
    30] L18H57A :
    31] L20H01A :
    32] L20H03:
    33] L20H03A:
    34] L20H05:
    35] L20H07:
    36] L20H09:
    37] L20H11A :
    38] L20H17:
    39] L20H28 :
    40] L20H33 :
    41] L20H34A :
    42] L20H34B :
    43] L20H41:
    44] L20H43:
    45] L20H43A:
    46] L20H47:
    47] L20H47A:
    48] L20H58:
    49] L20H58A :
    50] L20H60 :
    51] L20H62A :
    52] L22H14 :
    53] L22H20:
    54] L22H22:
    55] L22H24:
    56] L22H24A:
    57] L22H26:
    58] L24m09:
    59] L24m11:
    60] L24m13:
    61] L24m51:
    62] L28H29b:
    63] L28H31:
    64] L28H31A:
    65] L28H31B:
    66] L28H33 :
    67] L28H37:
    68] L28H41:
    69] L28H45:
    70] L28H47:
    71] L30H21A:
    72] L30H28A:
    73) L30H33:

[QUOTE=irisng]Sorry, what are all those alphabets and numbers represent, don't really know how to read.[/QUOTE

L stands for lorongs. Notice it is only even lorongs

That's why have to be careful with the tenants. If couldn't rent it to the decent group of people, I would rather sell it away or own stay and rent out my current EC.

L is for Lawyer
    H is for Horse

Quote Originally Posted by Fleur

L stands for lorongs. Notice it is only even lorongs
    Don't be fooled. Odd lorongs also have but no cheng hu approval

Lorong 30 House 33. "A" usually upper floor.
    Thanks for the clarification. I know all these are unavoidable unless govt do something to it. You won't know what is going to happen after 5 years, so just hope for the best.

If you buy a unit there maybe you should rent to these people. Of course expect to collect higher rent.

They are just normal people after knocking off from work. They dont do their business at your apartment but just need a place to rest and sleep.

There is no trouble as legal working girls have work permits.

If you are not comfortable than Geylang may not be right place for you to invest.

That's why have to be careful with the tenants. If couldn't rent it to the decent group of people, I would rather sell it away or own stay and rent out my current EC.

Thanks for the clarification. I know all these are unavoidable unless govt do something to it. You won't know what is going to happen after 5 years, so just hope for the best.
    only 2 possibilities:

1st, all brothels chased out from geylang and with new projects all completed, geylang become a high class n near CBD residential area.

2nd, Pros still there, and with the new projects completed, brothels get to upgrade to a high class brothels, geylang become high class pros area.

old HDB need upgrade, so as brothel

Actually Geylang is booming again with influx of foreign talents from China. Demand for accomodation should continue to be strong in Geylang going forward.

if u own a big unit(3bedder) in geylang...u can rent to 6-8 mei meis.....3k/.mth....$500 pax

but now wif these MMs....buyers nid at least 1.5k rental (450-550k)to make it worthwhile.....each MMs at least accomodate 2 mei mei?.....mabe buy 2bedder got chance squeeze in 3 mei mei....1.5-1.8k abit chance

Hey guys, anyone knows that any projects ard geylang, kembangan and balestiar below $600k going to TOP before 2013???

prestige heights....kem suites not sure can find below 600k

geylang area lei? Centra studio and Centra suites can see the structure oledi? The TOP date given in brochure always later then the actual one...

Maybe you can try the following link :-

http://www.propertyguru.com.sg/?

not that much but good enuff to spurge on a vertu and few fine things.

Learnt alot and have roled in few investor frds/boss,from Thai to indo for the next cycle. rich foreigns are not stupid,for now

anyone have idea how long the brothel license lasts? Is the govt still renewing their licenses?