Page 1 of 10 123456 ... LastLast

Thread: Just MRT breakdown again and again

Default Just MRT breakdown again and again

Commuters were hit by a peak hour train disruption yet again on Thursday evening due to a fault on the north-south line.

In a statement, SMRT said that train services between Marina Bay and Bishan stations will be closed and will not be up any more this night.

Preliminary investigation shows that around 40m of power rail has been damaged between City Hall and Dhoby Ghaut stations, it said.

The transport operator said that its staff are now on site attending to the fault. It pledged to work round the clock to repair the damage and hoped to get the north-bound train service for this stretch up by Friday morning.
    Meanwhile, north bound service from Ang Mo Kio to Jurong East stations, as well as all south bound train services are still running, said SMRT.

It advised passengers to take alternative modes of transport or the bus bridging service available between Bishan and Marina Bay MRT stations.

Some Yahoo! Singapore readers have said that they were stuck in trains on that line.

One user Melvin Huang said, "Yes. We are stuck in the train between Orchard station and a woman just fainted. The driver is not talking to us. We manage to force open a door."

"I was affected. Was at Marina Bay station and waited very long before they told us no train so had to walk all the way to Raffles Place MRT again to take eastbound train," said another reader Stone Sharon.

Surprised nobody wrote about it here before you... tonight rather hot... must be the combined fury of all the passengers who kena...

i noticed a dropped in postings after cm5. also many here are rich man driving around with their SUV or lambo...probably not affected..

So what is lui tuck yew doing about it?

i noticed a dropped in postings after cm5. also many here are rich man driving around with their SUV or lambo...probably not affected..
    Or already stay in super prime area go about on foot 'for healthy living'...

I just realised one reader quoted as Stone Sharon. wtf? Sharon Stone??? real report or 'a rare jokes'....

40m so long, how did that happen?

Default Mini-Bus System

We need mini-bus system to connect the landed areas. It also provide alternative for taxi or bus/MRT. Just look at Hong Kong.

SMRT = So Many Ridiculous Troubles. SBS must be Si Beh Song.

The focus is to earn profit to pay themselves well. Commuters can take bus, cab or walk if they don't like MRT.

nowadays bus drivers are hell drivers and don't follow traffic rules and always get into accidents. cab, walk or drive better

So what is lui tuck yew doing about it?
    He is currently overseas but added on facebook that a thorough investigation on the entire train system must be conducted. He raised his concerns...

Right after the announcement of taxi hike by SMRT, two successive breakdowns in 3 days is just what they need to convince Singapore that they are more than worthy of the price hikes...

many stopped taking taxi after the hike ...

so ... if MRT breaks down ..people are forced back into taking cabs ..right ?

MUST SOLVE THE ROOT CAUSE!!! SACK THE CEO OF SMRT. SHE SHOULD BE 101% RESPONSIBLE FOR ALL THIS!!! BISHAN INCIDENT ONLY FINE SMRT BUT CEO JUS SAY SORRY. WTF

She has retail background, worked for DFS group for 19y... after she took over, 40% of revenue of SMRT now come from shops around MRT ... you can imagine how much they allocate for IT / infrastructure spending ... this kind of incident will happen even more until they refocus their budget allocation to infrastructure spending

Her objective is to grow SMRT to please the shareholders, not the commuters

I think smrt sure kenna hefty fine

left pocket right pocket .

the fine should be distributed to the needys ..

many stopped taking taxi after the hike ...

so ... if MRT breaks down ..people are forced back into taking cabs ..right ?
    Hmmm they are not SMRT... they are SMART... force people to take the taxi through failures of the train service...

SMRT CMI big time

y they fail to do a mass broadcast to every other stations???

its definitely not a localised problem lor.....

looks like SMRT standard very low.....add CCL line.....den all messed up liao......system haywire.....still got DTL2,3,ERL.....OMG!

This DFS lady is a favorite of Ho (you know who la)

In Japan, train minister will come out and resign already ... 1 incident can forgive, 2nd incident must come out in TV, bow and resign

Now LTA want to investigate whole system, SMRT share price to plunge

In Japan, train minister will come out and resign already ... 1 incident can forgive, 2nd incident must come out in TV, bow and resign

官 官 相 照

i push you up .. ( support the ass ) ... you help me next time

no way already, this time Lui not going to give face due to election issue (read PAP loses Aljunied because of housing/transport)...once LTA forms an expert panel to survey the whole system, SMRT has no way to hide liao

Just watch how SMaRT is SMRT?

backing from the untouchables lah

From the most recent GE, the number of untouchables have shrank tremendously liao... no more hiding behind the older generations when the number of young voters have increased by leaps and bounds...

did u guys hear ?

that when the train broke down ..
    they sms taxi drivers : Money making opportunity...

and stated where the crowds would be ...

this morning heard they apologised ...

Need to overhaul the train system le. SMRT very profit minded

EW and NS line too old already, track getting very very loud at tanah merah also

SMRT breakdown are so frequent....i have encounter many incidents delay for like those 10-30mins also which they never reported on the news