Thread: Multi-property owner speaks up

Foreigner 10% extra, 3props-SG only extra 3% - still got 7% citizenry discount wor...

The argument is that the CM5 is all fine and dandy. But the part on absd (reads like short form for ABSurD right???) for Singaporean buying third property is so off.... Means what? If u can afford 3rd or more properties, you can be considered 'foreigner' and no more first class privileged citizen liao??? What BS! (aBSd)

Foreigner 10% extra, 3props-SG only extra 3% - still got 7% citizenry discount wor...
    haha.. the 3% not there in the 1st place.

to tell oneself got 7% discount citizenry is just 自我安慰

No extra 3% are for the 'less blessed' Singaporeans with only 0-2 props.
    Those 'blessed' with 2 and more, should give 'offerings' for their 'abundance' in buying 3rd or more.

Ai ya...it's political la...kena slap so many times now the Powers That Be, are pushing all sorts of buttons to maintain their Diety-like presence. But so-far not so All-Powerful with MRT, flooding. Furthermore, had the PR-boohoo with the 'Malay-Indian' cannot speak the English and Grace 'Money No Enough' Fu.

Like this no one will be happy

haha.. the 3% not there in the 1st place.

to tell oneself got 7% discount citizenry is just 自我安慰

No extra 3% are for the 'less blessed' Singaporeans with only 0-2 props.
    Those 'blessed' with 2 and more, should give 'offerings' for their 'abundance' in buying 3rd or more.

Ai ya...it's political la...kena slap so many times now the Powers That Be, are pushing all sorts of buttons to maintain their Diety-like presence. But so-far not so All-Powerful with MRT, flooding. Furthermore, had the PR-boohoo with the 'Malay-Indian' cannot speak the English and Grace 'Money No Enough' Fu.

Like this no one will be happy
    its not very nice to push button every 2-3 quarter, it does tell you something.

It's going to be a interesting next 4 years...nagivate thro' all the bad karma created over the last 10-odd years + settle existing issues + hope no new ones befall. Then just wait to see if there are economic storms - but can't stop it. In the meantime, must recruit and trim non-performers. Pay also less, voters angry - every little thing now jump on.

Hard to earn the $1m - but alot of it is their own doing.

To answe your question - panic lor

its not very nice to push button every 2-3 quarter, it does tell you something.

Quote Originally Posted by Santro
    Agree with Mr Tan's sentiments.
    My views on the CMs.
    1) New HDB is exclusively for Singaporeans and should be heavily subsidised.
    2) Resale HDB is for Singaporeans and PRs. Increase subsidy for First time Singaporeans buying resale HDB irrespective of distance from parents etc.
    3) Young Singaporeans consider HDB as their first step to owning a property and hence the upside should not be limited. Thats the only way they can make financial gains while upgrading from HDB to condo/landed.
    Prices of resale HDB should not be controlled.
    4) Singaporeans should not be restricted with 3% ABSD.
    5) PR should have 10% ABSD for second property onwards.
    6) Foreigners should have 10% ABSD from first property onwards.

4,5 and 6 will provide incentives to Singaporeans and encourage non-Singaporeans to take citizenship.

These are my personal views.. No offence to anyone..
    I support your views.

I feel relieve to know that there are still hardworking, determined Singaporeans around who strive to attain his/her dreams using one's own efforts and abilities. Kudos to u!!
    Unfortunately, nowadays youngsters don't think that. They see people live in pte condo, they also want, can't wait, want immediate fruit. Although some of them might be drawing a high pay but they might be still young, just started to work, where got enough saving. Stay in HDB first lah, then climb step by step lor, aiyah!

Worse still, so many complains on HDB flat super high prices and yet no tough cooling measures (like those implemented for private properties)! Where is the tough cooling measure implemented previously and removed and never implemented again when this time HDB flats prices shot through the roof to reach newest high ever?:
    1) anybody who buy private property must sell their existing HDB flats within 6 months?
    2) no tenanting out of whole HDB flat since HDB flats meant for own stay only?
    3) People who previously own both HDB flats and private properties can only rent out private properties and must stay in HDB flats?

ya, I fully support this as well especially for retirees like me putting all the hard earned monies for the last 30+ years into properties.

Also, why the govt does not introduce cooling measures for share market if it is getting hot?

Wow! This sound like COMMUNISTS to me!
    If so, how to justify PM annual pay of $2.2m vs cleaners' pay of <$10k a year? That is 22,000% ratio!!! How? PM himself not practising what you preach in terms of pay? If so, how to be fair only doing for other things?

Quote Originally Posted by Leeds
    Real estate is like essential service or commodity such as rice and salt which governments anywhere in the world have to regulate to ensure "fair" distribution be it for economic, political or social reasons or a combination of the three. The primary role of the government is to distribute wealth fairly to the people or at least perceive to be fair. It is always not easy to decide who get what. Government can only do through rules and regulations to maintain market order without which the rich will become richer and the poor will always remain poor or even poorer. This will result in social unrest once income disparity become a serious threat to the country.

Unless the country is stable with social cohesiveness, our multiple investments in real estate will one day perish if government allows a free hands on essential services and services. Real estates be it HDB flats or private properties are essential goods that can have a serious implication of toward a country economic, social political stability.

We should not behave like Readas' chief whose comments on the CM5 was clearly motivated by self interest.

Just another point of view and no mean to offend anyone who differ this writing.

Worse still, so many complains on HDB flat super high prices and yet no tough cooling measures (like those implemented for private properties)! Where is the tough cooling measure implemented previously and removed and never implemented again when this time HDB flats prices shot through the roof to reach newest high ever?:
    1) anybody who buy private property must sell their existing HDB flats within 6 months?
    2) no tenanting out of whole HDB flat since HDB flats meant for own stay only?
    3) People who previously own both HDB flats and private properties can only rent out private properties and must stay in HDB flats?
    totally agree. Why are private property owners of 3 properties penalized when public housing is not "public". The bubble in property prices is driven by high HDB prices. It's all political!

Unfortunately, nowadays youngsters don't think that. They see people live in pte condo, they also want, can't wait, want immediate fruit. Although some of them might be drawing a high pay but they might be still young, just started to work, where got enough saving. Stay in HDB first lah, then climb step by step lor, aiyah!
    They don't have patient mah. But they smart & have an easy way leh. They know government want to win GE & must understand 民情.

So they kpkb here, kpkb there and the message is loud & clear. Give it to me or .......

Multiple properties owners don't kpkb so much or loud enough.

So the score now stands at
    kpkb youngsters/people 1 multi-properties owners 0

Wow! This sound like COMMUNISTS to me!
    If so, how to justify PM annual pay of $2.2m vs cleaners' pay of <$10k a year? That is 22,000% ratio!!! How? PM himself not practising what you preach in terms of pay? If so, how to be fair only doing for other things?
    No! no! not! Just Basic Economic Theory!

Whether capitalism, communism or socialism, the primary role of the government is to redistributed wealth back to its people. Singapore chooses capitalism thus far. Maybe a little of socialism come nearer to 2016.

Default Ultra Rich men Also Need to Learn some History

If you look at the ultra rich men in US and UK, they are very keen to donate. Why?
    They know that's the best way to save their lives.
    Ultra Rich = Smart + Lucky + ...
    If you take ultra rich for granted, you are putting your lives at risk.
    My grandfather used to own properties along the whole street in his town, he had 3 farms and 2 factories. He thought he could take care of his children and grandchildren. But guess what, he lost his own life because of these.
    OK, it was China.
    Now let's look at Singapore. Pick my most admired person LKY for example. Can he be 100% sure he can be the top man if we re-run history one more time? If he cannot, are you 100% sure you can be ultra rich if you need to make all the investment decisions one more time?
    Let's admit there is a factor of luck in our successes. And for that, let's contribute randomly by donation or systematically by tax.
    There is no doubt that Singapore is under taxed for ultra rich, and our social safety net is nowhere to be First World.
    Once again, social safety net is NOT for the poor, it is to save the LIVES of the ultra rich.

If you look at the ultra rich men in US and UK, they are very keen to donate. Why?
    My grandfather used to own properties along the whole street in his town, he had 3 farms and 2 factories. He thought he could take care of his children and grandchildren. But guess what, he lost his own life because of these.
    OK, it was China.
    Now let's look at Singapore. Pick my most admired person LKY for example. Can he be 100% sure he can be the top man if we re-run history one more time? If he cannot, are you 100% sure you can be ultra rich if you need to make all the investment decisions one more time?
    Let's admit there is a factor of luck in our successes. And for that, let's contribute randomly by donation or systematically by tax.
    There is no doubt that Singapore is under taxed for ultra rich, and our social safety net is nowhere to be First World.
    Once again, social safety net is NOT for the poor, it is to save the LIVES of the ultra rich.

they donate bcos they understand the big picture
    a society with weak foundation is unstable and will soon crumble and those at the top will fall the hardest... when the lynching begins, they will always be targeted first.

to give is to take more. even our gov did that many times.

S'poreans benefit from property cooling moves
    Published on Jan 7, 2012
    CONTRARY to Mr Tan Cheng Hock's view that Singaporeans are victims, the latest property cooling measures are long overdue ('Multi-property owner speaks up'; Thursday).

Asian property markets have boomed due to the effects of the ultra-low interest rate environment. Singapore is no exception.

However, property investors are now facing the prospects of the 'bust' after the boom. There have been reports of property investors in China wrecking showrooms after the developers gave hefty discounts to new investors due to poor demand. Property markets in Hong Kong and Australia have also fallen. Will Singapore be an exception this time, taking into account the uncertain economic situation? I doubt so.

One role of the regulator is to ensure a stable and sustainable market. If property bubbles are allowed to develop and subsequently burst, would there be complaints that hardworking Singaporeans have been penalised because the regulators did nothing, or worse, encouraged speculative buying?

Most property investments are leveraged. Should the property market collapse, losses would be magnified. Multiple property owners with bank borrowings would be the hardest hit.

By actively preventing speculative price movements in the property market, Singapore's property investment climate will gain a good reputation and recognition and attract long-term investors. Singaporeans will ultimately be the beneficiaries.

As highlighted by Mr Ed Cheong ('Singapore's property investment climate still among world's most open; Dec 12), local property rules are still relatively open despite the new measures.

Investing in foreign properties carries additional risks such as liquidity, taxes, estate, currency and regulatory considerations. Investors will have to take these matters into account and decide for themselves if they are willing and able to take on the risks and not be blinded by seemingly foreigner-friendly policies.

Eng Tiang Chuan

Quote Originally Posted by esther
    Published on Jan 7, 2012
    CONTRARY to Mr Tan Cheng Hock's view that Singaporeans are victims, the latest property cooling measures are long overdue ('Multi-property owner speaks up'; Thursday).

Asian property markets have boomed due to the effects of the ultra-low interest rate environment. Singapore is no exception.

However, property investors are now facing the prospects of the 'bust' after the boom. There have been reports of property investors in China wrecking showrooms after the developers gave hefty discounts to new investors due to poor demand. Property markets in Hong Kong and Australia have also fallen. Will Singapore be an exception this time, taking into account the uncertain economic situation? I doubt so.

One role of the regulator is to ensure a stable and sustainable market. If property bubbles are allowed to develop and subsequently burst, would there be complaints that hardworking Singaporeans have been penalised because the regulators did nothing, or worse, encouraged speculative buying?

Most property investments are leveraged. Should the property market collapse, losses would be magnified. Multiple property owners with bank borrowings would be the hardest hit.

By actively preventing speculative price movements in the property market, Singapore's property investment climate will gain a good reputation and recognition and attract long-term investors. Singaporeans will ultimately be the beneficiaries.

As highlighted by Mr Ed Cheong ('Singapore's property investment climate still among world's most open; Dec 12), local property rules are still relatively open despite the new measures.

Investing in foreign properties carries additional risks such as liquidity, taxes, estate, currency and regulatory considerations. Investors will have to take these matters into account and decide for themselves if they are willing and able to take on the risks and not be blinded by seemingly foreigner-friendly policies.

Eng Tiang Chuan
    Disgusting bootlicking... This guy running for MP next election?

this guy actually has good idea.
    since leverage is a problem,
    those who pay full cash should be exempted from any ABSD, be it citizen, pr, foreigner. also should be exempted from SSD too.

no leverage = no problem

Wise words from a wise man.

Thank you sir for your perspective.

OK, it was China.

it is because of occidental religion. You only lived once and died once only.
    oriental religion, can live many times and die many times due to reincarnation, in effect have many chances, like indian and chinese beliefs.
    example, that's how the Aryans (from ancient Iran) control the populace they conquered by implementing the caste system.
    If you are a good slave by performing the duties a slave should, you can move up the ladder in the next life. so don't revolt in this life cycle please.

this guy actually has good idea.
    since leverage is a problem,
    those who pay full cash should be exempted from any ABSD, be it citizen, pr, foreigner. also should be exempted from SSD too.

no leverage = no problem

No leverage where banks get business from? Am sure you know many local banks good bulk of business is from mortgage... No business no need so many headcounts. Worse impact on job market...
    supposedly multiple property owners are rich, and foreigners are even more cash rich. Wouldn't it be good to give them an option, if paid full in cash, can escape the SSD and ABSD? if they want to use local financing to buy more properties, unfortunately then they have to be hit by ABSD. if overseas financing, no need ABSD.
    of course, for the citizens who can afford up to 2 properties, they still have the option to mortgage and avoid the ABSD.

OK, it was China.

My grandfather had a few plot of rubber plantations in Indonesia and had 3 wives. When the war striked, everybody ran for their lives. SAFETY FIRST.

War, sickness and death are the biggest equalisers of humanity.

My grandfather had a few plot of rubber plantations in Indonesia and had 3 wives. When the war striked, everybody ran for their lives. SAFETY FIRST.

soo.... what's the moral of the story from these 2 real life examples?.....

Don't keep all your money in the same place, err properties in the same country.....

hmmmm... but where?

Below argument fill of holes, smack of bootlicking?
    [1] This is his speculation, not fact or truth. Singapore property prices in CCR are just too too cheap if we compare to HK, London & NY etc! As such, there is no need for cooling measures, especially targeting foreigners. If govt's concern is OCR prices going too high, just ban foreigners from buying OCR can already lor!

[2] Another of the "what if"!
    What if war occur in Singapore? What if sea level rise so high that whole Singapore got submerged?
    Might as well mandate that every house must have a boat in bomb-shelter ()!

[3] What bullshit? Many companies are also highly leverage, eg Olam, Noble, even SIA are leverage etc! If what he said is true, Singapore should just ban all companies in Singapore from being leveraged!
    Otherwise when these companies failed, the banks will go bankcrupt and with dire consequences to Singapore, economy, and depositors money!

[4] So he is saying that by introducing policies that discriminate against the foreigners and slapping them with 10% tax that does not apply to others (e.g the few special exempted countries & citizens), "Singapore's property investment climate will gain a good reputation and recognition and attract long-term investors"???

[5] Now end up scare everybody goes overseas to buy properties and come out with scare-mongering tactic?

Quote Originally Posted by esther
    Published on Jan 7, 2012

However, [1] property investors are now facing the prospects of the 'bust' after the boom. There have been reports of property investors in China wrecking showrooms after the developers gave hefty discounts to new investors due to poor demand. Property markets in Hong Kong and Australia have also fallen. Will Singapore be an exception this time, taking into account the uncertain economic situation? I doubt so.

[2] One role of the regulator is to ensure a stable and sustainable market. If property bubbles are allowed to develop and subsequently burst, would there be complaints that hardworking Singaporeans have been penalised because the regulators did nothing, or worse, encouraged speculative buying?

[3] Most property investments are leveraged. Should the property market collapse, losses would be magnified. Multiple property owners with bank borrowings would be the hardest hit.

[4] By actively preventing speculative price movements in the property market, Singapore's property investment climate will gain a good reputation and recognition and attract long-term investors. Singaporeans will ultimately be the beneficiaries.

[5] Investing in foreign properties carries additional risks such as liquidity, taxes, estate, currency and regulatory considerations. Investors will have to take these matters into account and decide for themselves if they are willing and able to take on the risks and not be blinded by seemingly foreigner-friendly policies.

Eng Tiang Chuan

supposedly multiple property owners are rich, and foreigners are even more cash rich. Wouldn't it be good to give them an option, if paid full in cash, can escape the SSD and ABSD? if they want to use local financing to buy more properties, unfortunately then they have to be hit by ABSD. if overseas financing, no need ABSD.
    of course, for the citizens who can afford up to 2 properties, they still have the option to mortgage and avoid the ABSD.
    Read teddy reply that followed... Think he screen every point of that politcal bootlicker well....

Another of the "what if"!
    What if war occur in Singapore? What if sea level rise so high that whole Singapore got submerged?
    Might as well mandate that every house must have a boat in bomb-shelter ()!

That's why I always think that though Singapore is small without any resources but it can developed into what we are today is really amazing. Lets pray hard not to have any natural disasters and natural disasters not only happen in Singapore, it can happen anywhere in the world.

Overall Singapore is still a safe country.

[quote=teddybear]Below argument fill of holes, smack of bootlicking?
    [1] This is his speculation, not fact or truth. Singapore property prices in CCR are just too too cheap if we compare to HK, London & NY etc! As such, there is no need for cooling measures, especially targeting foreigners. If govt's concern is OCR prices going too high, just ban foreigners from buying OCR can already lor!

i feel we cannot compare Singapore with London and NY ...

they are true cosmopolitan ... and singapore is not ...not yet ...

i read an article recently about what makes a true city ...
    , NY London Paris Tokyo .. take the top spots ...

HK , Taiwan ... are ranked higher than singapore ...

so ..CCR props in singapore ARE expensive ...

having said that ... when it comes to condo architecture .. i will say ..singapore condos 'design' take the top spot ... (exterior design ..not layout)

Can't agree more... stop foreigners to buy OCR and RCR... or impose higher ABSD for OCR and RCR for foreigners. Let Singaporeans feel they are very different (not just a difference of 3% vs 10%). Hee... a selfish Singaporean talking here...