Page 1 of 7 1234567 LastLast

Thread: Multi-property owner speaks up

User Info Menu

Default Multi-property owner speaks up

Multi-property owner speaks up
    I AM put off by the latest round of cooling measures ('Property curbs could hurt economy: Redas'; Dec 28).

I am a Singaporean and own three private properties. I studied hard. I work hard. I employ Singaporeans and contribute to the economy. I pay annual taxes that amount to what some earn in a year.

To me, meritocracy works - and counts, and there are no short cuts: You work hard, you make money and you pay your dues. But now, I am told that as a native Singaporean who has run the gauntlet of our much vaunted meritocracy, I must be penalised further by that very same system because I invested my hard-earned rewards in more than one local property.

This is enough to drive me from the country I grew up in and in which I am still contributing, to think the better of investing here and invest in a property in another country that does not discriminate against high-income earners.

Does my money count? Do I count?

Tan Cheng Hock
    Last edited by esther; 5th January 2012 at 08:53 PM.

东方

User Info Menu

3 cheers for Mr Tan. I bet he is one of the forummer here...

Junior

User Info Menu

Yup 3 cheers!!

OCR properties going to crash!

User Info Menu

I support ya! Why discriminate against us who work hard to earn and choose to invest in private properties? Govt should just respect market forces with respect to private property market, otherwise how to become like London and New York?
    Those who can't afford should just stick with HDB flats and ECs. There already many choices there! Stop CPCB! Otherwise sooner or later I pull my fund & business fully out of Singapore! I believe many others will do the same!

Quote Originally Posted by esther
    I AM put off by the latest round of cooling measures ('Property curbs could hurt economy: Redas'; Dec 28).