Thread: Who bought during end 2008/2009 & what are you doing with it now?

Default Who bought during end 2008/2009 & what are you doing with it now?

Hi all, just curious how many bros & sisters hv bought during the above period and what are you doing it with it now? And the rationale if possible. Thanks.

Quote Originally Posted by Khng8
    Hi all, just curious how many bros & sisters hv bought during the above period and what are you doing it with it now? And the rationale if possible. Thanks.
    Rent if cant sell?

Quote Originally Posted by KC76
    Rent if cant sell?
    Hold till prices recover. Rent to reduce outstanding loan and build up ammo. Rental income should be in (at the moment) excess of instalment.

Staying in it. Value doubled on paper based on latest transaction

Bought one then. Up 60%++ Sold a few months back.

Rent out. Should have around 10% yield.

Bought one and sold a year back.

Rent out. Should have around 10% yield.
    Congrats !
    May I know which district u bought in?

have you sold yours? or going for rental instead?

bot just before 2008/9 in 2007, sold 1 late 2011, one in rental, bot 1 begining 2011.

bought one in Q1 2009, waiting for TOP so i could move in (should be end of this month)

1 bought end 2008 renting out.
    1 bought 2Q 2009, sold 2011.

it seems that there are quite a number of speculators here

Bought 1 in 2009 sold in 2011, now looking to buy!
    Left 1 for own stay.

Bought one in Feb 2009 and will not sell at the moment as I am 100% sure that prices will continue to rise throughout this year.

Quote Originally Posted by Alan Shearer
    Bought one in Feb 2009 and will not sell at the moment as I am 100% sure that prices will continue to rise throughout this year.
    Like! Like! Like! ... huat ah!!!

Bought one early 2009... still holding on renting out, value up 50%...

Bought another one mid 2009... have been staying in it.
    Just sold it and bought another smaller unit later 2011....

So 2nd one cannot sell, kena SSD....

Bought one in 2009 and rent out since TOP in 2010

Bought another one in early 2010 and rent out.

Did not sell as both units as they in good location and in close proximity to mrt station. Enjoying great capital appreciation and rental yield.

Did you ask Mr B what is his experience?

He sold everything including his roof overhead in 2009-2010 waiting for the big CRASH!

Did you ask Mr B what is his experience?

He sold everything including his roof overhead in 2009-2010 waiting for the big CRASH!
    he smells that coming already?

don't need to smell, wait long long sure property prices will go down one, it is all a matter of cycle mah. However, the drop is never going to reach the previous low lah, unless DEPRESSION! Otherwise INFLATION means new low has to be higher than previous low mah! Govt sure have many leway to create inflation, e.g. increase GST viola!
    If a person sell in 2009, eg OCR The Quartz only $550 psf. Now $1000 psf. In future drop also the most $750 psf lah, think can reach $550 psf mah?

Unless you bought at $1000 psf, no point selling lah. Ops, govt got do another favor, those bought $1000 psf sure cannot sell without getting hit with big losses due to 4-years SSD! So don't sell lor! Let them CPCB continue to CPCB. Ask developers to sell cheap to them! Wait for 2013-2015 bull-run when economies in US, Europe, China, and Japan simultaneously recovers!

he smells that coming already?

don't need to smell, wait long long sure property prices will go down one, it is all a matter of cycle mah. However, the drop is never going to reach the previous low lah, unless DEPRESSION! Otherwise INFLATION means new low has to be higher than previous low mah! Govt sure have many leway to create inflation, e.g. increase GST viola!
    If a person sell in 2009, eg OCR The Quartz only $550 psf. Now $1000 psf. In future drop also the most $750 psf lah, think can reach $550 psf mah?

Unless you bought at $1000 psf, no point selling lah. Ops, govt got do another favor, those bought $1000 psf sure cannot sell without getting hit with big losses due to 4-years SSD! So don't sell lor! Let them CPCB continue to CPCB. Ask developers to sell cheap to them! Wait for 2013-2015 bull-run when economies in US, Europe, China, and Japan simultaneously recovers!
    i agree... that is what i have been trying to explain the B, plus rental costs, prices really have to drop 50-70% in 2-3 years to make it worthwhile man.... what are the chances of that happening...

So really quite worried for him...

bought one in April and Dec 2009. One rent, one self-stay. Up 35%, 25%. Intend to move into rental unit when son goes to pri sch. at times want to sell to feel rich.. but cant see prices going down to 2009 level, so dont want to sell and buy back at higher prices/ bigger loan.

See what you get with sell and then buy back?
    - 4-years SSD (vs 0)
    - 60% LTV (vs 80-90%)
    - 3% ABSD (if you buy 2nd property for PR & 3rd property for SG citizens)
    - 3% stamp duty
    - $7000 legal fees
    - 1-2% agent fee
    - possibly early redemption of housing loan, got slapped another 1.5% penalty!
    total costs: 9.5% of property price + many many costs don't know how to count!

Quote Originally Posted by newbie11
    bought one in April and Dec 2009. One rent, one self-stay. Up 35%, 25%. Intend to move into rental unit when son goes to pri sch. at times want to sell to feel rich.. but cant see prices going down to 2009 level, so dont want to sell and buy back at higher prices/ bigger loan.

very gd breakdown of costs!! i concur.. but still dream of having many $ in bank acct.. haha..

See what you get with sell and then buy back?
    - 4-years SSD (vs 0)
    - 60% LTV (vs 80-90%)
    - 3% ABSD (if you buy 2nd property for PR & 3rd property for SG citizens)
    - 3% stamp duty
    - $7000 legal fees
    - 1-2% agent fee
    - possibly early redemption of housing loan, got slapped another 1.5% penalty!
    total costs: 9.5% of property price + many many costs don't know how to count!
    Lol.... agreed.. but the stamp duty is actually only 3% - $5 400. Agent fee I'll not pay 2%... just 1% at most...

Yes.... No point to sell only to buy back...

Quote Originally Posted by newbie11
    very gd breakdown of costs!! i concur.. but still dream of having many $ in bank acct.. haha..
    Many people share that same dream... Lol!

Lol.... agreed.. but the stamp duty is actually only 3% - $5 400. Agent fee I'll not pay 2%... just 1% at most...

Yes.... No point to sell only to buy back...
    bought 2 in 09, sold 1 end of 10 with remorse. The other waiting for top and rent.

Why remorse? You made profit too wat... unless you're not satisfied with the profit you've made?

Golden rule no 1 in property investment... don't regret after you've bought or sold... otherwise, you'll be miserable... not good for your health...