Thread: Property price is definitely coming down NOW as reported

Default Property price is definitely coming down NOW as reported

AsiaOne

Private-property prices fall sharply in core area

This suggests that some home buyers became more cautious after the
    additional buyer's stamp duty took effect in December.

Thu, Feb 09, 2012
    my paper

By Reico Wong

THE property cooling measures introduced late last year have started to show
    a significant impact on the housing market.

Prices of private apartments and condominiums have dropped by as much as
    10.2 per cent in the Core Central Region since the fourth quarter,
    suggesting that home buyers became more cautious after the additional
    buyer's stamp duty took effect in December.

The average selling price of such units has fallen to $1,600 per sq ft (psf)
    from $1,781 psf in the fourth quarter, according to data released yesterday
    by the Singapore Real Estate Exchange (SRX).

The rental prices of apartments and condominiums have also been affected,
    with those of properties in the non-central areas hit the hardest.

The rental rates of units outside the central region have fallen 2.3 per
    cent since the fourth quarter, from $2.99 psf to $2.92 psf.

However, rents for apartments and condominiums in the Core Central Region
    are still climbing. They have risen 1.3 per cent since the fourth quarter,
    from $4.68 psf to $4.74 psf.

This is likely to be just the start of a downtrend, the heads of property
    agencies said yesterday at a housing forum organised by SRX. They added,
    however, that a price crash is unlikely.

Private-property prices are expected to drop between 10 and 15 per cent this
    year, said Dennis Wee Group, HSR Property Group, PropNex, DTZ, ERA Realty
    and C&H Properties.

Prices of Housing Board resale flats are likely to ease between 3 and 5 per
    cent this year, but could also fall by as much as 10 per cent if the
    euro-zone debt crisis worsens, the companies said.

Mr Albert Lu, chief executive of C&H, said population growth - especially
    that of permanent residents and new citizens - is slowing, leading to a fall
    in housing demand.

He added that HDB prices have doubled over the past six years and are
    unlikely to climb steeply soon, given the large number of Build-To-Order
    (BTO) flats being pumped into the market.

He said the attractive prices of BTOs would draw buyers from the resale
    market following remarks by National Development Minister Khaw Boon Wan that
    he is looking into letting second- timers buy BTO flats.

When second-timers buy BTO flats, they will have to sell their flats, which
    would further "dampen demand", said Mr Lu.

PropNex CEO Mohamed Ismail said buyers now enjoy more choice, with some
    5,000 executive-condominium (EC) units slated for construction this year and
    "a continued supply of government land sales".

There will be "supply, supply and more supply, be it of HDB flats, EC units
    or mass-market properties", he said.

"I would not be surprised if public- housing prices remain the same, five
    years from now," he said, adding that they might be only about 10 per cent
    higher at most.

Purchases of private property by foreigners reached historic highs last
    year, hitting 31 per cent, a two-fold increase from 10 years ago, according
    to another report released yesterday by Savills.

Mainland Chinese were the top buyers, making up 28 per cent of all purchases
    by foreigners, with Indonesians accounting for just 18 per cent of all
    foreign purchases.

Mr Lee Sze Teck, senior manager of research and consultancy at Dennis Wee,
    said: "Singapore is still one of the best cities in Asia to put your money.
    If prices drop about 10 per cent and conditions are favourable, buyers will
    definitely come back."

reicow@...

Quote Originally Posted by Leeds
    AsiaOne

Private-property prices fall sharply in core area

The average selling price of such units has fallen to $1,600 per sq ft (psf)
    from $1,781 psf in the fourth quarter, according to data released yesterday
    by the Singapore Real Estate Exchange (SRX).
    haha... watertown already hit 1600psf ??... ocr cheong arh !!....

ocr average resale px around 800psf ?... good opportunity to reshuffle your assets holdings… sell ocr and switch to ccr now !!….

haha... watertown already hit 1600psf ??... ocr cheong arh !!....

ocr average resale px around 800psf ?... good opportunity to reshuffle your assets holdings… sell ocr and switch to ccr now !!….
    Not yet... Ocr rental is still good. Always focus on rental.

These are not paper assets....with the ABSD, you can't anyhow sell/buy to switch between CCR/OCR/RCR.

Oh, I am really sorry for the CCR owners. my heart goes out to you.

stalingrad hope your dream of duchess residences will become true one day :

DUCHESS RESIDENCES DUCHESS AVENUE Condominium 1 3,250,000 1,615 Strata 2,013 Jan-12

heya... you guys don;t be happy too early... anal-yst got nothing to write now so die die dig that ccr depressed price and talk-kok... they need to write something for living hor...

once this europe crisis over... ccr will shoot to sky high !!...

too bad... mine all junk assets outside central region...

Quote Originally Posted by Leeds
    Prices of private apartments and condominiums have dropped by as much as
    10.2 per cent in the Core Central Region since the fourth quarter
    I'm curious on this number. which project has dropped 10% ?

stalingrad hope your dream of duchess residences will become true one day :

DUCHESS RESIDENCES DUCHESS AVENUE Condominium 1 3,250,000 1,615 Strata 2,013 Jan-12
    one swallow does not a spring make, especially if the swallow is deranged.

No No, I am no interested in DR. I am interested in laughing at the people who bought it after all the troubles.

one swallow does not a spring make, especially if the swallow is deranged.

No No, I am no interested in DR. I am interested in laughing at the people who bought it after all the troubles.
    how about CAPL at $2.95 today ?

I bought capl at $2.39. so I am happy about this turn of event.

I also bought K'land at $2.73.

I bought capl at $2.39. so I am happy about this turn of event.

I also bought K'land at $2.73.
    hey u 2 face %^&* I thought u detest CAPL's business model and say it's only worth $2 ??? I was the one who always look CAPL very up and told you it's a screaming buy ?

yes, I detested it. but everything, however bad it is, has a fair price. I thought the market was wrong when the price dropped to $2.39.

I also detest CCR properities, but when the prices drop 30%, I would become an owner.

Vivek Sharma, like many Indians who came to Singapore for work, failed to jump into the island state’s booming property market before the government imposed taxes to deter foreign buyers.
    Now, he is joining thousands of his compatriots who are taking advantage of the drop in the rupee to a record low in December and seeking to buy property back home -- for rental investments, homes for left-behind family members, retirement properties and residences for their own eventual returns.

I also detest CCR properities
    u dun detest CCR properties lah. deep in your heart you want one. you just dun want to pay for it. it's like Hifi. for every additional 1% fidelity, you need to pay additional 100%. so ppl say "nah I'm not paying this much for this amp unless it's $## only"

speaking of which, I was honestly quite surprised just now when I dig that DR record. I was actually expecting a correction/stagnant in price (naturally). what I found is an increase of almost 10%, for a transaction in Jan 12 ! I'm very curious on the buyer profile.

Oh, I am really sorry for the CCR owners. my heart goes out to you.
    Thank you for your concern.

rental for CCR going up...

So, I'm happy

u dun detest CCR properties lah. deep in your heart you want one. you just dun want to pay for it. it's like Hifi. for every additional 1% fidelity, you need to pay additional 100%. so ppl say "nah I'm not paying this much for this amp unless it's $## only"

speaking of which, I was honestly quite surprised just now when I dig that DR record. I was actually expecting a correction/stagnant in price (naturally). what I found is an increase of almost 10%, for a transaction in Jan 12 ! I'm very curious on the buyer profile.
    PRC buyer, pure and simple. got his money illegally or unethically or both, and parked it here to avoid suspicion at home. since the money was not his, he didn't care whether it is spent wisely or not. that pretty much sums up today's market and chinese buying.

I'm curious on this number. which project has dropped 10% ?
    Also same curosity. Anyone knows which projects in CCR have fallen 10%?
    Most owners are still asking for records prices. Its just that they are few buyers.

I cant find which project drop 10%?

I am looking to load up one more CCR property but cannot find 10%...

Any deals please let me know...

Far and few with CCR units drop by 10%. The units that are sold could be not good facing, low floor, etc in the same development. Good rental and with good capital appreciation.
    I cant find which project drop 10%?

I am looking to load up one more CCR property but cannot find 10%...

Any deals please let me know...

why keep asking which projects have dropped by 10%? you think the statistics would lie?

you guys are just whistling past the graveyard, trying to pretend you are not scared.

if you don't believe the statistics are right, put you properties up for sale at a 5% discount to the price one year ago, and see if any one will bite. I bet none will bite.

even capl at 2.95 i shout cheap

Why even bother to test the market when there is no need for cash.. Enjoy passive income of more than 6% yield. Bank cannot offer this.
    why keep asking which projects have dropped by 10%? you think the statistics would lie?

you guys are just whistling past the graveyard, trying to pretend you are not scared.

if you don't believe the statistics are right, put you properties up for sale at a 5% discount to the price one year ago, and see if any one will bite. I bet none will bite.

Why even bother to test the market when there is no need for cash.. Enjoy passive income of more than 6% yield. Bank cannot offer this.
    6% yield. are you dreaming? try 2% yield.

I meant rental yield.
    6% yield. are you dreaming? try 2% yield.

I meant rental yield.
    yes, I knew. yes, 2% rental yield at today's CCR prices.

Oh wtf even my yield at CAPL higher than that

The statistics would not lie, but the interpretation is wrong.

The article said " the average price of the transactions" dropped from #### to ####. this is meaningless. Imagine in dec I have a few transactions of orchard residences at 3000 psf, this month I have a few glentree transactions at 1500 psf. Wow, 50% price drop !! re-read that article, tell me this is not what it means

I'll wait for nus index to have a real gauge. Every one expects a drop. I will be surprised to see anything greater than 5%. btw duchess residences is not in the nus list, so its 10% rise in Jan 12 is not counted, u will be safe

The article said " the average price of the transactions" dropped from #### to ####. this is meaningless. Imagine in dec I have a few transactions of orchard residences at 3000 psf, this month I have a few glentree transactions at 1500 psf. Wow, 50% price drop !! re-read that article, tell me this is not what it means

I'll wait for nus index to have a real gauge. Every one expects a drop. I will be surprised to see anything greater than 5%. btw duchess residences is not in the nus list, so its 10% rise in Jan 12 is not counted, u will be safe
    Well said. No $ and no class to stay at duchess residences.

Yah, we must always read all these articles with a pinch of salt and do some analysis to make a more meaningful interpretation.