Thread: Ceiling height

Default Ceiling height

True that ground floor unit is always having higher ceiling than the floor units above?

True that ground floor is always having higher ceiling than the floors above?
    usually yes for hdb... not necessarily for condo

So far it has been true for the projects I have seen - first floor about 3.2 m and subsequent floors above about 2.8m m. I wouldn't want to live in the first floor HDB.

Heritage view and Dover park view all ceiling height 3m... Damn high... Spacious.... 1249 sqft.... Only 1.2m....

So far it has been true for the projects I have seen - first floor about 3.2 m and subsequent floors above about 2.8m m. I wouldn't want to live in the first floor HDB.
    one rosyth 5m kekeke

Wow.. That can renovate into two tier with a unit floor.

full height glass somemore

one rosyth 5m kekeke
    void deck celling lagi high

full height glass somemore
    I had seen unit where they built a upper tier/deck with stairway and use it as study room...very impressive and nice.

hee hee , however if leave it stock.... The curtain definitely will be very very ex...

I had seen unit where they built a upper tier/deck with stairway and use it as study room...very impressive and nice.

hee hee , however if leave it stock.... The curtain definitely will be very very ex...
    spray christmas snow all over lor. cheap and cooling effect

True that ground floor unit is always having higher ceiling than the floor units above?
    Top floor HDB is always having higher ceiling.

Older generation tends to avoid top floor in HDB, due to heat n leakage issue. I suppose e problem will still b w us due to lowest quote n higher construction costs.

I thot it would affect the floor structure if it is not meant to withold the weight of the additional tier ?

so...give u 15 ft ceiling height wht u tall.
    b pratical less flrs less sales 4 hdb charge u higher
    no wonder threads cm up either redundant or like poopoo

Heritage view and Dover park view all ceiling height 3m... Damn high... Spacious.... 1249 sqft.... Only 1.2m....
    Think there are many condos with 3m ceiling height also, not just this 2 right?

Most of the older condos (can't put a time, roughly before 2004) in CCR are all mostly at least 3m ceiling height. I understand that after that many reduced to <=2.85m only?
    OCR newer ones my friends places mostly 2.8m.

Think there are many condos with 3m ceiling height also, not just this 2 right?

Older generation tends to avoid top floor in HDB, due to heat n leakage issue. I suppose e problem will still b w us due to lowest quote n higher construction costs.
    Older generation do not complain much on HDB. It take me 7 years of complain to HDB to get my unit rectify. The view in my unit is Wow, when I show it to my neighbor in the lower floor. Most of the Roof Top are flat roof, my block is a Peak roof (A Roof over the flat roof)

Quote Originally Posted by samuelk
    I thot it would affect the floor structure if it is not meant to withold the weight of the additional tier ?
    Not sure how they gotten the approval , properly using light weight materials bah...

spray christmas snow all over lor. cheap and cooling effect
    I seen unit with full glass panel which is about 4 m....but owner only put up curtain partial from the top..view from night macham wearing mini shirt but instead mini below , is mini on top lol....

Yap top hdb usually higher ceiling, nn only leak problems but also the heat released at night.. is damm hot and properly they provide higher ceiling for top unit

so...give u 15 ft ceiling height wht u tall.
    b pratical less flrs less sales 4 hdb charge u higher
    no wonder threads cm up either redundant or like poopoo

Most of the older condos (can't put a time, roughly before 2004) in CCR are all mostly at least 3m ceiling height. I understand that after that many reduced to <=2.85m only?
    OCR newer ones my friends places mostly 2.8m.
    That's very true. That was why I was pleasantly surprised that Soleil had a ceiling height of about 3.05 M when I first step into my unit. A high ceiling makes the unit look spacious and bright. The other unit in my inventory that stands out will be an older project ; Grosvenor view, with a ceiling height of 3.2 M.

What is the ceiling height for new HDB now?

Quote Originally Posted by bullman
    That's very true. That was why I was pleasantly surprised that Soleil had a ceiling height of about 3.05 M when I first step into my unit. A high ceiling makes the unit look spacious and bright. The other unit in my inventory that stands out will be an older project ; Grosvenor view, with a ceiling height of 3.2 M.
    Mountbatten Lodge (ground floor) 3.3m. R66 3.2m. Residences @ Somme 2.8m. City Regency 3-3.2m. Cosmo 2.8m. DOasia 3.2m. Cotz 2.8m. Kovan Grandeur (ground floor) 3.4 to 4m. All measurements were made up to false ceiling for lower numbers and to concrete for higher numbers where there is a range.

I seen unit with full glass panel which is about 4 m....but owner only put up curtain partial from the top..view from night macham wearing mini shirt but instead mini below , is mini on top lol....
    But if you look into the unit from ground up its full view up the mini skirt ohlala

What is the ceiling height for new HDB now?
    Not sure about the new BTOs currently built but I suspect its about 2.6m. If add false ceiling, it might drop to 2.35m. Wow! You stretch out your arm can hit ceiling fan liao!

All HDB now only 2.6m...

I really dont understand.... "air" space is free....
    We are already living in such tight spaces.... flats and condos are getting smaller, why dont give us more "headroom"...

At most pay a bit more in construction costs only....

Govt should look into this...

2.9m to 3.2m will make a lot of difference...

For a 25 storey apt.. only 10m higher.... no big deal...

Why was the ground floor having higher ceilings compared to the other floors in the older developments in the first place? Is there any reason for this?

I do notice this in some new developments eg Foresta also has this feature for the ground floor. But never ask why...will be good to know the reason.

All HDB now only 2.6m...

I really dont understand.... "air" space is free....
    We are already living in such tight spaces.... flats and condos are getting smaller, why dont give us more "headroom"...

At most pay a bit more in construction costs only....

Govt should look into this...

2.9m to 3.2m will make a lot of difference...

For a 25 storey apt.. only 10m higher.... no big deal...
    In this time and age where everything needs to maximize, especially when all plots come with height restrictions.

Exactly my point... Why have such strict height restrictions? Give us more space lah....