Thread: Shortest & longest wait for a tenant for your condo/hdb after place rental ads?

Default Shortest & longest wait for a tenant for your condo/hdb after place rental ads?

care to share how long it take you get a tenant for your condo/hdb after place rental ads on newspaper or online?

HDB rental in certain area is very fast. No waiting, only request to move in earlier and fast.

Quote Originally Posted by latour
    HDB rental in certain area is very fast. No waiting, only request to move in earlier and fast.
    Agreed. No time to clean the place, the tenants even begged to move in fast and they would clean the place for me. Save me the cleaning expenses.

Quote Originally Posted by latour
    location of your properties speak volume to attract tenant?

novena area got many condo.. is it hot rental place or become too satuated already?

I always used agent as i dont want to get acquainted with the tenant ever due to conflict of interest. So its usually few days time as they have huge network and ready tenants looking around.

same here. it is good to have a middleman and save all the trouble when comes to break lease compensation, defects etc. However the tricky part is to find a reliable and trustworthy agent.

Not really after the agent rent out ur place they usually dont follow anymore. some good agents do. and even if u have a conflict wat do u think the agent can do? its all pen in the agreement afterall.

Consumers these days are protected by CEA. I do not like to be pestered by some demanding tenant if you are unlucky and it is good to let agent handle those nitty gritty issues. And break lease happened to me few times before and i let my agent to negotiate the compensation for me.

When it comes to corporate lease, it is better to have an agent to represent you as well.

My 2cents worth.

Question is if an agent is handling my case, does it automatically mean that I'll have total peace of mind? I still have to go down periodically to ensure that neighbors are ok, etc... payment problem also another headache. They don't pay, I'll still have to text my agent to chase them. Sometimes agent too busy, they just say 'sorry, I've been very busy. Will chase tomorrow.' or 'Already sent message but they didn't reply'... still have to chase personally... If tenants are nasty, agent or owner also cannot solve problem easily...

Rental prices down 20% in Singapore

Feb 21, 2012 - PropertyGuru.com.sg

Singapore has been ranked as the ninth most expensive city to rent in a new report – but evidence from recent weeks suggest rental prices may have already dropped by 20 percent since the start of the year.

One agent told PropertyGuru she had just signed a deal to let a property that was previously priced at S$24,000 per month for just S$19,000 per month. The landlord had previously rejected a S$22,000 offer just a matter of weeks ago.

These examples are not unique – and calls to other agents who specialise in rentals indicate that prices have plunged in the opening weeks of the year. Many are reporting a lack of tenants – especially foreigners – and a certain degree of panic from landlords who are sitting on expensive properties with no prospect of an immediate income.

Echoing these experiences is real estate salesperson Deborah Law of Expat Realtor. She told PropertyGuru: "There are new companies still moving their employees to Singapore, but more and more people are being put onto local packages and downsizing, hence big ticket properties are staying longer on the market. In my experience this year, rental prices are dropping as landlords are worried about more supply than demand right now."

The ECA International report collated rental prices for three-bedroom properties during September 2011. It ranked Singapore as ninth globally and the third most expensive city in Asia behind Hong Kong and Tokyo.

ECA’s research also noted that more than 90 percent of companies sending employees on international assignment contribute to the cost of accommodation in the host country. Expatriates tend to gravitate towards particular areas within cities because of the location of international schools, embassies or social focal points. These often tend to be the more expensive, prestigious areas in a city.

"Depending on how companies provide housing or allowances to their assignees, currency movements can have a big impact on such costs for a company,” explained Lee Quane, Regional Director, ECA International, Asia. “In Singapore rents have risen by just 3 percent in local currency, but the strength of the Singapore dollar means that when we convert these prices into U.S. dollars for comparison, the increase stands at 15 percent. Companies need to regularly review their housing allowances and polices in order to keep up with fluctuations."

Official data from Singapore’s Urban Redevelopment Authority (URA) for first quarter rental statistics will not be published until the end of April.

Most expensive cities in Asia to rent a three-bedroom property:

1. Hong Kong
    2. Tokyo
    3. Singapore
    4. Mumbai
    5. Seoul
    6. Shanghai
    7. New Delhi
    8. Beijing
    9. Taipei
    10.Jakarta

Rental rates are still going pretty strong at least in prices, here's the top 20 for q4 2011:

Quote from the previous article:

"Singapore has been ranked as the ninth most expensive city to rent in a new report – but evidence from recent weeks suggest rental prices may have already dropped by 20 percent since the start of the year."

only those high end big units in CCR rental dropping now la....

MM rental in D1 like clift still fairly strong although prices softening liao(got a unit gg for 1.088mil now....not my unit hor....wakakaka)

Question is if an agent is handling my case, does it automatically mean that I'll have total peace of mind? I still have to go down periodically to ensure that neighbors are ok, etc... payment problem also another headache. They don't pay, I'll still have to text my agent to chase them. Sometimes agent too busy, they just say 'sorry, I've been very busy. Will chase tomorrow.' or 'Already sent message but they didn't reply'... still have to chase personally... If tenants are nasty, agent or owner also cannot solve problem easily...
    it really depends if you the micro or macro manage sort. plus whether you lucky got reasonable tenant or unlucky got ass for a tenant

Depends whether you fussy or not... I got people coming to view within 3 days... But took me 2 weeks to close. Have to settle for shorter lease some more.