Thread: Land for private properties must be >200m away from new MRT stations

Default Land for private properties must be >200m away from new MRT stations

I want to propose that land immediately next to a MRT station (200m radius) can only be used for the following purposes:

1. HDBs
    2. Shopping Malls/Mixed developments >40 stories high
    3. Office buildings >40 stories high

MRT should bring benefits to as many as possible. Imagine many of the DTL2 stations being built next to private condos, how many people can they benefit? Who are they benefitting?

Like in many other developed countries, land around metros stations in the cities serve shopping districts, office towers, important tourist destinations. This not only maximizes land use, ease the strain on transport infrastructure if more people can take the tube to work instead of drive, and ensures that benefits go most to those who need it, for example linking residents in HDBs to office/shopping destinations.

Quote Originally Posted by PropertyNewbie
    I want to propose that land immediately next to a MRT station (200m radius) can only be used for the following purposes:

1. HDBs

MRT should bring benefits to as many as possible. Imagine many of the DTL2 stations being built next to private condos, how many people can they benefit? Who are they benefitting?

Like in many other developed countries, land around metros stations in the cities serve shopping districts, office towers, important tourist destinations. This not only maximizes land use, ease the strain on transport infrastructure if more people can take the tube to work instead of drive, and ensures that benefits go most to those who need it, for example linking residents in HDBs to office/shopping destinations.
    errr.... based on your arguement why is HDB in there??? HDB is also housing what. Some Condos have higher population density than HDB.... dun make sense.

One small cluster consisting 4 blocks of 40 storey HDB flats can easily yield 1100 units. Because one must form a family nucleus to buy, each unit guaranteed at least 2 people, mostly Singapore citizens. And only families/lower income qualify to buy HDBs. Within a 200m radius of an MRT station, there can easily be 4 to 5 clusters meaning up to 20 blocks of 5500 units of 2 residents at least. So about 11000 Singapore Residents can be served by having a MRT station at their doorstep.

Compared this to, for example the new station at Maplewoods condo along bukit timah road. Give them MRT and they still complain about the construction dust, noise and traffic detours. Can you tell me how many residents there benefit from the new station? And how many of these residents are Singapore citizens and how many are foreign tenants?

I just don't see how prime land next to an MRT can be given for the purpose of benefiting so few, the privileged (only 20% of us stay in private property right), rather than benefiting potentially 11000 Singapore citizens.

err..so what should the selling price of the HDB next to MRT station? 1000psf?

lol.. good one. So next time HDB priced higher than Condos 'coz their location all very good .. must be next to MRT, Shopping malls.

Needs vs wants.

same kind of complaints about high COEs.

Sounds like aour grapes. If your income exceed the income ceiling, you would probably want onky condos within 400m from mrt.

What you said is not true, and also that many people overseas can buy a car at S$20k and drive to the metro station to park and ride. Can Singapore grant a COE for free to everybody to buy a car to do a park and ride?
    Might as well tell govt that they can only grant COE to Singapore Citizens only?

1. HDBs

1. HDBs

yo friend, i know what u r driving at, u want cheap hdb at orchard mrt, cityhall mrt blah blah blah blah...sob sob r u the latest generation of spoon feed singaporeans who wants the government to give u all the good things for free or with little work..u understand tat hdb r built using ur fellow hardworking singaporeans contribution to tax? money spent to subsidise building of prime location hdb could be better spent on education, health care or other more beneficial tasks!

Some youngsters want hdb at cairnhill or devonshire. Heck, maybe we should hdb at new downtown marina bay.

Should have Sentosa Cave (HDB) beside Sentosa Cove?

They want big house but don't want to work hard for it; they want high pay yet easy job; they try to threaten government and succeeded; now they are addicted to go for more demands!

Will they next say only those who serve NS can buy GCB?!

May be those who serve NS will be given a free HDB within 100m of MRT stations. I will be very happy, I have 2 kids, they should entitle this benefit.
    haha.

Quote Originally Posted by espeyap
    May be those who serve NS will be given a free HDB within 100m of MRT stations. I will be very happy, I have 2 kids, they should entitle this benefit.
    haha.
    No end lah, those with 3 kids will say I deserve one on top of a mall and underground MRT.

They want big house but don't want to work hard for it; they want high pay yet easy job; they try to threaten government and succeeded; now they are addicted to go for more demands!
    The young generation just had it too easy... everything is provided for them. All taken for granted. How to compete with FT?

whatever happened to TS? You are all so bad. You all criticised him and none supported him. You have frightened TS (a newbie) away in this thread and other threads he started.
    perhaps TS has realised this is not Temasek Review style, where lambasting foreigners and being anti government will automatically find a lot of support.

Agree. I want to propose that the Government give me 10k a month to retire NOW !!! No need work and get the best.

1. HDBs

One small cluster consisting 4 blocks of 40 storey HDB flats can easily yield 1100 units. Because one must form a family nucleus to buy, each unit guaranteed at least 2 people, mostly Singapore citizens. And only families/lower income qualify to buy HDBs. Within a 200m radius of an MRT station, there can easily be 4 to 5 clusters meaning up to 20 blocks of 5500 units of 2 residents at least. So about 11000 Singapore Residents can be served by having a MRT station at their doorstep.

Compared this to, for example the new station at Maplewoods condo along bukit timah road. Give them MRT and they still complain about the construction dust, noise and traffic detours. Can you tell me how many residents there benefit from the new station? And how many of these residents are Singapore citizens and how many are foreign tenants?

I just don't see how prime land next to an MRT can be given for the purpose of benefiting so few, the privileged (only 20% of us stay in private property right), rather than benefiting potentially 11000 Singapore citizens.
    So what U r proposing is people who work hard n get rich in life n succeed shld be discriminated? The govt would pass law to discriminate between pple who made it n pple who hasn't? Y rich pple cannot take MRT? Foreigners cannot take MRT? If your kind of mindset runs the govt, who wants to come here set up company n hire pple?

R u from some website trying to stir shit in forum?

The govt have already build MRT to benefit millions of communters. U never see hdb beside MRT station b4? U see more hdb beside MRT or u see more pte condo. just because a few stations cut thru to town got condo n pet estate u cannot sleep? Surely wanna stir shit also must have more proof ma.

It is coming as Tharman in his budget speech mention 400,000 units of housing will be built near mrt stn in Singapore. There will be certainly a good mix of hdb, PCs, retail malls, commercial offices, etc. Should see plot ratio of land near mrt stations revise upwards in Concept Plan 2011.

1. HDBs

IMO, Social gap will always be there but has to be maintained well. Otherwise, this will not be a pleasant to stay in anymore. Redistribution of wealth from rich to poor is good in the form of taxes especially when the economy is still doing well.
    So what U r proposing is people who work hard n get rich in life n succeed shld be discriminated? The govt would pass law to discriminate between pple who made it n pple who hasn't? Y rich pple cannot take MRT? Foreigners cannot take MRT? If your kind of mindset runs the govt, who wants to come here set up company n hire pple?

R u from some website trying to stir shit in forum?

The govt have already build MRT to benefit millions of communters. U never see hdb beside MRT station b4? U see more hdb beside MRT or u see more pte condo. just because a few stations cut thru to town got condo n pet estate u cannot sleep? Surely wanna stir shit also must have more proof ma.

How about HDB at Sentosa ?...

it remind me of the human beings in the anime : Wall-e

Quote Originally Posted by NorthernStar
    it remind me of the human beings in the anime : Wall-e

lol!!! another 50 years of technology.... it is possible to have this kind of lifestyle..