Thread: Why so many new projects in Geylang?

Smile Why so many new projects in Geylang?

I'm really wondering why there seem to be quite a number of new projects sprouting up in Geylang. Which group of buyers are the developers targeting? Aren't people generally do not want to stay in Geylang because of the red light district? If they are targeting investors who will rent out the units, then who are the target tenants? I hope not the red light "personnel". Or there's something the developers know which we don't? Like shifting of the red light district away from Geylang?

If developers know geylang will be cleaned in near future, they should hold on later for higher selling prices all of them is FH?

Anyway it is already selling for 12xxpsf which more or less factor in the 'cleaning' in progress?

If developers know geylang will be cleaned in near future, they should hold on later for higher selling prices all of them is FH?

Anyway it is already selling for 12xxpsf which more or less factor in the 'cleaning' in progress?
    Doesn't seem like 'cleaning' in progress leh...recently drove past....seems still quite happening even in above Lor 20 leh...so I'm really wondering who r the prospective occupiers of these new projects

Quote Originally Posted by okacin
    Doesn't seem like 'cleaning' in progress leh...recently drove past....seems still quite happening even in above Lor 20 leh...so I'm really wondering who r the prospective occupiers of these new projects
    I have no idea too. perhaps the lure of 5xxk low quantum and FH status with close proximity to MRT?

For that price you cant find liao for the absolute distance to city

Proximity to the city is a draw - driving from Aljunied Rd -> Guillemard -> Nicoll Highway -> Middle Rd/Beach Rd takes less than 10 mins. Ideal for those working at Suntec, Gateway, Concourse and Bugis Jn areas. There's an expensive ERP along Nicoll, but can be bypassed by detouring through Sims Ave. Besides the MRT, there are lots of buses going towards the city. Guillemard Rd is usually pretty quiet, so driving home towards Geylang is a breeze.

Wink

I wonder too. But I rather see new and small developments than old, dark and run down apartments. Agree that staying at this area is really convenient. Watching stadium boulevard progress when passing by everyday feels good.

[quote=Rosy]If developers know geylang will be cleaned in near future, they should hold on later for higher selling prices all of them is FH?

IMHO, small developers cannot hold the lands for too long. They need the money to "roll'.

Any possibility that at Geylang Area, property price hit 2000psf???? I mean after completely clean up.....

Quote Originally Posted by espeyap
    Any possibility that at Geylang Area, property price hit 2000psf???? I mean after completely clean up.....
    Where do the "joints" go after the "clean up"?

I heard that there are 6 red-light areas in Singapore, is that true?

Send all of them to an island and call "vice" island. Customers have more choices and not afraid that they will be seen by their friends or relatives, ferry operators increase their revenues and Singapore will become a "CLEAN" country. If I'm not wrong, I think there was once a campaign called "KEEP SINGAPORE CLEAN".

Someone was asking, why chewing gum is prohibted in Singapore and yet Vice is legal. Even though they have their routine check but who can gurantee that today they got it check and tomorrow they caught the disease.
    Last edited by irisng; 19-02-12 at 17:30.

Send all of them to an island and call "vice" island. Customers have more choices and not afraid that they will be seen by their friends or relatives, ferry operators increase their revenues and Singapore will become a "CLEAN" country. If I'm not wrong, I think there was once a campaign called "KEEP SINGAPORE CLEAN".

Someone was asking, why chewing gum is prohibted in Singapore and yet Vice is legal. Even though they have their routine check but who can gurantee that today they got it check and tomorrow they caught the disease.
    It's difficult to eradicate such businessess without causing further social problems.

You might see increase in rape cases, etc.

Guess the law makers understand the urge of these people...

It's difficult to eradicate such businessess without causing further social problems.

You might see increase in rape cases, etc.

Guess the law makers understand the urge of these people...
    But the rape cases is still on the rise as compared to other crimes.

http://www.spf.gov.sg/stats/stats_do...sconcern10.pdf

http://publichouse.sg/categories/foc...ault-survivors

I don't think there is any sense talking about eradicating the oldest trade of the world. It's definitely here to stay regardless whether u like it or not. Even if govt ban it, there will still ways that ppl will keep the trade "alive".

What I'm more interested in is whether anyone knows that the govt is indeed shifting the red light district out of Geylang?

Yup, im interested in finding out if they will move the area or not as well.

I cant help but think that when the new stadium is compete in 2014 and the SEA games are held in Singapore in 2015 things should shake up a bit.

Any thoughts or inside news?

And that island is called - SENTOSA.
    Yup - we sld shift all vice there, and even the turf club.

At the rate we are protecting out turf, it would be a political disaster if a red light area is shifted to a new constituency.

So Sentosa makes sense...just carve out North/South or East/West Sentosa. One side high-end foreigner-friendly residential and the other, vice-friendly activities. The casino won't mind - like National Service with benefits with the vice-related options next door to Integrated Resort.

Quote Originally Posted by insigina
    At the rate we are protecting out turf, it would be a political disaster if a red light area is shifted to a new constituency.

Maybe divorce cases will be many timer higher if the estranged husbands cant find relief outside? Where do estranged wives find their relief huh? I wonder... Male escorts? What is the cheaper alternative? There is no male geylang i guess because women only need emotional assurance?? Cant be right. They have urges also. When i ask my girl friends about such they always just smile like they know something i dont...

Quote Originally Posted by okacin
    I'm really wondering why there seem to be quite a number of new projects sprouting up in Geylang. Which group of buyers are the developers targeting? Aren't people generally do not want to stay in Geylang because of the red light district? If they are targeting investors who will rent out the units, then who are the target tenants? I hope not the red light "personnel". Or there's something the developers know which we don't? Like shifting of the red light district away from Geylang?
    Generally, they target those interested in property as an investment. From my experience renting out properties in Geylang, foreigners don't care too much about red light district unless they are staying within that vincinity. But not all of Geylang is red light. It's like people being afraid to go to Manila because of terrorist when Manila itself is pretty big.

Anyway, tenants in Geylang care about low rents and convenience to get to town.

My current tenants are British. A number of people who rent properties in Geylang are in the service industry - IT, Banking, etc.