Thread: Community Service Part I of X: TOP 101

Default Community Service Part I of X: TOP 101

After lengthy meeting with IRAS folks, they have decided to let me go and mete upon me 20 hours of community service in this forum.

Therefore, my first contribution to more 'Nation Building' here.

Part I: TOP 101

How do you know if your precious new home is about to be ready for key collection?

1. Check the sales brochure

Usually on the last page or so, there will be Building Plan Approval number A1234-00567-2011 or something similar. Note this down.

If you don't have the brochure, or lost it, or because you bought subsale and the owner wanted to keep for memento, don't fret. If you are clever, you would have thought of downloading the brochure softcopy online at property launch sites like, well what else, www.propertylaunch.sg for example...

2. Check the construction site board

If you don't have internet (???) or simply refuse to touch electronics (how on earth are you here reading this then??), then take a stroll to your beloved project construction site and take a look at the white board with black words on it. This is usually sited right beside the main gate of the site. Some fishy developers (either cause project is delayed or what) place this out of sight maybe hidden behind the altar sometimes. So be sharp to spot it. If you can't see it, demand the supervisor to show you where it is. They are mandatory to be displayed by LAW. You can find the same A1234 blah blah plan no. on the board. The board also have additional useful info like who the M&E is, architect, contractor etcetcetc. The TOP DATE indicated on the board - take with huge pinch of salt. Some deliberately put far away to cover their own ass. Some deliberately put past date to encourage sales (for those not sold out).

3. BCA site

Once you got hold of this precious number, do not go and buy 4D or Toto please. Please log on to

http://www.bca.gov.sg/eservice/SubmissionStatus.aspx

and enter the plan number. Note that you can use wildcards. The page tells you how already. After you submit, you may get something like this (if you not very lucky):

Plan Ref No. Application Type Status Date/Time View Details
    A1276-00475-2009 PERMIT TO CARRY OUT STRUCTURAL WORKS PERMIT ISSUED 10/01/2011 10:48:12 Submission
    A1276-00475-2009-BP01 APP FOR MODIFICATION-WAIVER OF BUILDG REGULATIONS ISSUE WAIVER LETTER 24/02/2012 12:14:53 -
    A1276-00475-2009-BP01 BCA-CSC-APPLN FOR SITE INSPECTION DATE CONFIRMED 19/01/2012 11:58:46 -
    A1276-00475-2009-BP01 BCA-TOP-APPLN SUSPENDED 18/01/2012 14:24:21 -
    A1276-00475-2009-BP01 BP PLAN APPROVAL BP APPROVED 26/07/2010 14:42:07 -
    A1276-00475-2009-CD01 CD-HS PLAN SUBMISSION ISSUE WITHDRAWAL 01/10/2010 13:56:59 -
    A1276-00475-2009-CD02 CD-HS PLAN SUBMISSION ISSUE NOA FOR PLAN 21/10/2010 10:29:40 -
    A1276-00475-2009-CN01 CD-HS COMMISSIONING SUBMISSION ISSUE WD FOR COMMISSIONING 31/01/2012 09:13:56 -
    A1276-00475-2009-CS01 CD-HS PLAN SUBMISSION ISSUE NOA FOR PLAN 20/12/2010 11:17:25 -
    A1276-00475-2009-CS02 CD-HS PLAN SUBMISSION ISSUE NOA FOR PLAN 26/04/2011 11:25:24 -
    A1276-00475-2009-ST01 BCA-BE-ST SUBMISSION ST APPROVED 28/10/2010 12:25:16 Submission
    A1276-00475-2009-ST02 BCA-BE-ST SUBMISSION ST APPROVED 10/01/2011 08:43:04 Submission
    A1276-00475-2009-ST03 BCA-BE-ST SUBMISSION ST APPROVED 25/11/2010 11:51:05 Submission
    A1276-00475-2009-ST04 BCA-BE-ST SUBMISSION ST APPROVED 14/12/2010 15:25:58 Submission
    A1276-00475-2009-ST05 BCA-BE-ST SUBMISSION ST APPROVED 24/01/2011 16:22:19 Submission
    A1276-00475-2009-ST06 BCA-BE-ST SUBMISSION ST APPROVED 23/12/2010 16:18:37 Submission
    A1276-00475-2009-ST07 BCA-BE-ST SUBMISSION ST APPROVED 09/05/2011 10:24:04 Submission
    A1276-00475-2009-ST08 BCA-BE-ST SUBMISSION ST APPROVED 16/08/2011 17:01:54 Submission
    A1276-00475-2009-ST09 BCA-BE-ST SUBMISSION PROCESSING 23/02/2012 13:45:05 Submission

Notice one entry that says

This means the very final stage of inspection failed for some reason. Maybe there was a cockroach stuck between the circuit board and the switch on the substation. Maybe the carpark drain had 3 dead kittens inside. Maybe the lift had a poster of topless Paris Hilton. Whichever the case, fret not. Usually this will be addressed fairly quickly. In my personal experience, there was one of my past projects that took 2-3 weeks to rectify whichever issue it was. It will vary from project to project. The fact that there is the word TOP on any entry in the query result is very good news already. You can start sourcing for ID and find out which vendor gives you cheapest bestest chengai wood for your oversized planter...

If you project is still early stage of construction, you can keep tabs on the progress either by checking this or just read the lawyer letter sent to you asking for progress payments. Check the URA site http://www.ura.gov.sg/lad/HBG/progressPayments.htm for what each stage means and you will have an idea. If not, when you are near paying up to like 60% of the purchase price you will know TOP is imminent...

Otherwise, as a rule of thumb, when you see this:

A1276-00475-2009-CD02 CD-HS PLAN SUBMISSION ISSUE NOA FOR PLAN 21/10/2010 10:29:40 -

This refers to the housing shelter plan being approved. Usually that means the project is near to final stages of construction. In this case, it was only like 6 months away from TOP.

If you see this:

A1276-00475-2009-BP01 BCA-CSC-APPLN FOR SITE INSPECTION DATE CONFIRMED 19/01/2012 11:58:46 -

It's even better. This refers to the appointment for site inspection before TOP application being made and confirmed.

So bros and sis hope this is useful. That took me 4 hours to write (yeah right) so perhaps I will have part 2 3 and 4 coming up before I fully paid my dues...

Stay tuned...
    mcm

Congrat my friend. Really feel happy for you.

Your Part I very detailed and informative. Nice job.
    Waiting for Part II.

are you serious, or pulling our leg! IRAs actually imposed 20 hours of community service on this forum!

Meaning they have been monitoring this forum.....

Better watch what you post.... IRAS may come knocking....

Dear bro mcmlxxvi, mr roly8 learn alot from you again.

are you serious, or pulling our leg! IRAs actually imposed 20 hours of community service on this forum!

Meaning they have been monitoring this forum.....

Better watch what you post.... IRAS may come knocking....
    No lah. I think he's just sharing his knowledge because he has received many advises & help from other forummers.

How did u convince them? Share here leh...

No lah. I think he's just sharing his knowledge because he has received many advises & help from other forummers.

Hopefully this is true, then it must be the fastest resolved property tax audit ever known! Congrats !!!

Somehow I get the feeling that you have become a prolific writer like bj21, only that your posts are full of new gems. Thanks for all your efforts and looking forward to your subsequent 101s! May I suggest topics like how to spot the next cooling measure before it lands, how to select mm, how to invest safely, how to successfully plea bargain with iras, ...

4 hrs for PART I. n u have only 16 hrs left for PART II to X. U need to b cheaper, better, faster.

Let me guess, the IRAS officer was this gal....
    i still got 263 for PSLE and was neck and neck with the
    top gal in school... Lose to gal... Sian :s

congrats! so happy for you. i will be marking ur papers here . make sure u check ur england n no singlish allowed hor...woahahaha

Well done! For both extracting yourself from tax woes and making the effort to share.

Second the suggestion to continue with MM101 and CM101 ...

After lengthy meeting with IRAS folks, they have decided to let me go and mete upon me 20 hours of community service in this forum.

Therefore, my first contribution to more 'Nation Building' here.

Part I: TOP 101

How do you know if your precious new home is about to be ready for key collection?

1. Check the sales brochure

Usually on the last page or so, there will be Building Plan Approval number A1234-00567-2011 or something similar. Note this down.

If you don't have the brochure, or lost it, or because you bought subsale and the owner wanted to keep for memento, don't fret. If you are clever, you would have thought of downloading the brochure softcopy online at property launch sites like, well what else, www.propertylaunch.sg for example...

2. Check the construction site board

If you don't have internet (???) or simply refuse to touch electronics (how on earth are you here reading this then??), then take a stroll to your beloved project construction site and take a look at the white board with black words on it. This is usually sited right beside the main gate of the site. Some fishy developers (either cause project is delayed or what) place this out of sight maybe hidden behind the altar sometimes. So be sharp to spot it. If you can't see it, demand the supervisor to show you where it is. They are mandatory to be displayed by LAW. You can find the same A1234 blah blah plan no. on the board. The board also have additional useful info like who the M&E is, architect, contractor etcetcetc. The TOP DATE indicated on the board - take with huge pinch of salt. Some deliberately put far away to cover their own ass. Some deliberately put past date to encourage sales (for those not sold out).

3. BCA site

Once you got hold of this precious number, do not go and buy 4D or Toto please. Please log on to

http://www.bca.gov.sg/eservice/SubmissionStatus.aspx

and enter the plan number. Note that you can use wildcards. The page tells you how already. After you submit, you may get something like this (if you not very lucky):

Plan Ref No. Application Type Status Date/Time View Details
    A1276-00475-2009 PERMIT TO CARRY OUT STRUCTURAL WORKS PERMIT ISSUED 10/01/2011 10:48:12 Submission
    A1276-00475-2009-BP01 APP FOR MODIFICATION-WAIVER OF BUILDG REGULATIONS ISSUE WAIVER LETTER 24/02/2012 12:14:53 -
    A1276-00475-2009-BP01 BP PLAN APPROVAL BP APPROVED 26/07/2010 14:42:07 -
    A1276-00475-2009-CD01 CD-HS PLAN SUBMISSION ISSUE WITHDRAWAL 01/10/2010 13:56:59 -
    A1276-00475-2009-CN01 CD-HS COMMISSIONING SUBMISSION ISSUE WD FOR COMMISSIONING 31/01/2012 09:13:56 -
    A1276-00475-2009-CS01 CD-HS PLAN SUBMISSION ISSUE NOA FOR PLAN 20/12/2010 11:17:25 -
    A1276-00475-2009-CS02 CD-HS PLAN SUBMISSION ISSUE NOA FOR PLAN 26/04/2011 11:25:24 -
    A1276-00475-2009-ST01 BCA-BE-ST SUBMISSION ST APPROVED 28/10/2010 12:25:16 Submission
    A1276-00475-2009-ST02 BCA-BE-ST SUBMISSION ST APPROVED 10/01/2011 08:43:04 Submission
    A1276-00475-2009-ST03 BCA-BE-ST SUBMISSION ST APPROVED 25/11/2010 11:51:05 Submission
    A1276-00475-2009-ST04 BCA-BE-ST SUBMISSION ST APPROVED 14/12/2010 15:25:58 Submission
    A1276-00475-2009-ST05 BCA-BE-ST SUBMISSION ST APPROVED 24/01/2011 16:22:19 Submission
    A1276-00475-2009-ST06 BCA-BE-ST SUBMISSION ST APPROVED 23/12/2010 16:18:37 Submission
    A1276-00475-2009-ST07 BCA-BE-ST SUBMISSION ST APPROVED 09/05/2011 10:24:04 Submission
    A1276-00475-2009-ST08 BCA-BE-ST SUBMISSION ST APPROVED 16/08/2011 17:01:54 Submission
    A1276-00475-2009-ST09 BCA-BE-ST SUBMISSION PROCESSING 23/02/2012 13:45:05 Submission

Notice one entry that says

This means the very final stage of inspection failed for some reason. Maybe there was a cockroach stuck between the circuit board and the switch on the substation. Maybe the carpark drain had 3 dead kittens inside. Maybe the lift had a poster of topless Paris Hilton. Whichever the case, fret not. Usually this will be addressed fairly quickly. In my personal experience, there was one of my past projects that took 2-3 weeks to rectify whichever issue it was. It will vary from project to project. The fact that there is the word TOP on any entry in the query result is very good news already. You can start sourcing for ID and find out which vendor gives you cheapest bestest chengai wood for your oversized planter...

If you project is still early stage of construction, you can keep tabs on the progress either by checking this or just read the lawyer letter sent to you asking for progress payments. Check the URA site http://www.ura.gov.sg/lad/HBG/progressPayments.htm for what each stage means and you will have an idea. If not, when you are near paying up to like 60% of the purchase price you will know TOP is imminent...

Otherwise, as a rule of thumb, when you see this:

This refers to the housing shelter plan being approved. Usually that means the project is near to final stages of construction. In this case, it was only like 6 months away from TOP.

If you see this:

It's even better. This refers to the appointment for site inspection before TOP application being made and confirmed.

So bros and sis hope this is useful. That took me 4 hours to write (yeah right) so perhaps I will have part 2 3 and 4 coming up before I fully paid my dues...

Stay tuned...
    mcm
    Thanks. Very educational and helpful as a guide.

Hi bro mcm.... thanks.
    I have to go home and slowly digest what you have posted.

They did not impose the community service on you lah.
    But it is your way of repaying back by voluntary contribution, right.

May the force be with you!

Default Well Done!

Oxley should hire you as Independent Board Director.
    Now I am convienced that you are not proerpty trader, you are very close to property builder!

PS. A couple of my IT friends have turned into tiny project developers.

Thx mcm... very informative... looking forward to knowing when my condo will TOP before receiving the letter of notification... Lol!

My condo project plan is dd 2007. The BCA system only shows from 2008. Just too bad.

My condo project plan is dd 2007 and still under construction. The BCA system only shows from 2008. Just too bad.

Quote Originally Posted by RSG
    My condo project plan is dd 2007 and still under construction. The BCA system only shows from 2008. Just too bad.
    The project Aristo?

Kekeke. No la. Of course the IRAS let me off part is a rare jokeS... But i do wish this was helpful and also as per recommended i do think i will wanna continue with the other 101s suggested ... Maybe one every month or fortnight...

that's why i said you have become a prolific writer like bj21t... so creative now. remember to include PT101 (Property Tax 101) on what are the taxes to remember to pay, etc. then remember to send a copy to iras too! sure to score more points with the marker! scali really let off the hook for being so uniquely industrious!

Default Floor area increase from 5,909 sq ft to 15,940 sq ft

I am keen to learn the process of getting approvals from the various authorities , etc .,,for increase in floor area such as that of
    01-81 in Blk 42 Enterprise Hub ; Increase of floor area from 5,909 sq ft to 15,940 sq ft

This is a 3 storey terrace factory and is under mcst.
    By having area in caveat increased the price then moved up $3.3 m from $929k to $4.3m

I thought it is not possible as every development is controlled by plot ratio, GFA rules, etc

If memory serves me right , it is on 60 years lease from 1997, i.e., 45 years balance .

Quote Originally Posted by Heng

I am keen to learn the process of getting approvals from the various authorities , etc .,,for increase in floor area such as that of
    01-81 in Blk 42 Enterprise Hub ; Increase of floor area from 5,909 sq ft to 15,940 sq ft

This is a 3 storey terrace factory and is under mcst.
    By having area in caveat increased the price then moved up $3.3 m from $929k to $4.3m

I thought it is not possible as every development is controlled by plot ratio, GFA rules, etc

If memory serves me right , it is on 60 years lease from 1997, i.e., 45 years balance .
    Ok... Really taken seriously for community service liao... Am no expert in Commercial. Perhaps other bros or sis here can help? First things first, are you owning this unit, have bought but not complete the purchase, or are intending to buy? Or are you looking at expanding your property floor area by buying up land or strata next door, using this Enterprise Hub as mere example...

The project Aristo?
    Its THE GALE.

Default Increase in GFA to show on caveat listing, etc

Ok... Really taken seriously for community service liao... Am no expert in Commercial. Perhaps other bros or sis here can help? First things first, are you owning this unit, have bought but not complete the purchase, or are intending to buy? Or are you looking at expanding your property floor area by buying up land or strata next door, using this Enterprise Hub as mere example...
    More for learning ...as I already sold many years ago similar units...except I sold at sizes mentioned in S&P or caveat list at time of purchase from Developer.

In 2003, Developer would state unit size and this is the size mentioned in the caveat.

On TOP , unit rented out.

Then tenant come in and build mezzanine floors etc.
    Since these are 3 storey terraces, the area can be increased 3 times or more...due to very high ceiling heights.

As was told that these size increases infringe GFA rules, etc I quickly sold off "as is where is " ...

If I understand how these can be regularised... then my profits can be very much higher...

Witness how more than $ 3 million profit after owner used the place for his own biz all these years...

He has now bought even bigger prremises....

Default Increase in GFA to show on caveat listing, etc

More for learning ...as I already sold many years ago similar units...except I sold at sizes mentioned in S&P or caveat list at time of purchase from Developer.

In 2003, Developer would state unit size and this is the size mentioned in the caveat.

Since these are 3 storey terraces, the area can be increased 3 times or more...due to very high ceiling heights.

As was told that these size increases infringe GFA rules, etc I quickly sold off "as is where is " ...

If I understand how these can be regularised... then my profits can be very much higher...

Witness how more than $ 3 million profit after owner used the place for his own biz all these years...

Quote Originally Posted by Heng

If his 3x increased floor space is not approved, it cant be lodged in caveat right? Unless the lawyer is in cahoots...

triple thumbs up for your effort!

Thumbs-up Part I of X...

Why thumbs-up out of the blue everywhere now?

Quote Originally Posted by anythingwhatever
    Thumbs-up Part I of X...