Page 1 of 11 123456 ... LastLast

Thread: P1 registration strictly by distance and no more balloting

Default P1 registration strictly by distance and no more balloting

Sc citizens to be given absolute priority over PR, yeah!!! And no more balloting, will go strictly by distance eg 1km will have priority over 1-2km. I applaud the move to give SC priority over PR. But no more balloting, only by distance, will this lead to further inflation of property values within 1pm of Atas Primary schools like nanyang, Henry park, RGPS etc?

Quote Originally Posted by extremme
    Sc citizens to be given absolute priority over PR, yeah!!! And no more balloting, will go strictly by distance eg 1km will have priority over 1-2km. I applaud the move to give SC priority over PR. But no more balloting, only by distance, will this lead to further inflation of property values within 1pm of Atas Primary schools like nanyang, Henry park, RGPS etc?
    There will still be balloting if the number of applicants at a particular distance exceeds the number of places available.

There should be inflation of property values within 1 km of the popular schoools. But Govt is taking pains to emphasize the merits of the non-branded schs to encourage parents to move away from the branded schools.

still balloting lah. but the competition is reduced with PRs getting much lower chance than singaporeans.

yeah I interpret wrongly... still got balloting within same category eg within 1km at least now no more PR!!! yeah!!!!!

Actually price will reduce since PRs got no chance within 1km of branded schools then might as well not buy and move further away.

guess this will encourage more parents to convert to SC now just to give their child a chance

Quote Originally Posted by andy
    Actually price will reduce since PRs got no chance within 1km of branded schools then might as well not buy and move further away.
    hmm interesting school of thought.. dat is a possibility too. But if parent die die want child to enter branded school will convert to SC n buy ppty within 1km.. or rent one within 1km

the impact is not as great as i thought, my interpretation is:

it only applies for each phase, so PR volunteers still have advantage over SC non volunteers. it just pushes all PRs to become volunteers.

is my interpretation correct?

guess this will encourage more parents to convert to SC now just to give their child a chance
    think the message from govt is be a SC if you
    want good school for your children. Does more
    SCs translate to more demand for landed properties?
    woooo what a bubble....lol
    Last edited by wannabe; 25-03-12 at 17:28.
    The most successful investors are defined by their actions in a bear market, not a bull market.

Alamat! More PRs do volunteer also useless lah because has no chance. This will push more SC to do volunteers then take up all 2B & 2C quota. Now, those SC who do volunteer will have very good chances if leaves within 2km. We will see all SCs balloting in 2B & 2C and no more PRs for branded schools. This is VERY BAD!!! This will reduce the diversity of the students in the branded schools. Unless, this PR convert to SC and their kids also convert to SC.

the impact is not as great as i thought, my interpretation is:

it only applies for each phase, so PR volunteers still have advantage over SC non volunteers. it just pushes all PRs to become volunteers.

is my interpretation correct?

Quote Originally Posted by wannabe
    lets sing together : dream a dream

wakakakakaka

Alamat! More PRs do volunteer also useless lah because has no chance. This will push more SC to do volunteers then take up all 2B & 2C quota. Now, those SC who do volunteer will have very good chances if leaves within 2km. We will see all SCs balloting in 2B & 2C and no more PRs for branded schools. This is VERY BAD!!! This will reduce the diversity of the students in the branded schools. Unless, this PR convert to SC and their kids also convert to SC.
    told u MIW out to please netizens

nah! zero chance because foreigner is difficult to convert to PR not saying convert to SC. How to buy landed properties?

Quote Originally Posted by wannabe

This is fat dream!
    lets sing together : dream a dream

wakakakakaka

Who is the percentage of PRs applying to those popular schools?

nah! zero chance because foreigner is difficult to convert to PR not saying convert to SC. How to buy landed properties?
    i believe rich foreigners/PR wud rather pay for gd international schools.....

only those 'cmi' ones wana convert to SC to increase their chances of getting into gd sch

Stupid policy and hoped that it will not get backfire and drive all the PRs out of Singapore instead of pushing PRs to convert to SCs. I wanted to see diversity in the school and also in Singapore as a whole society. Otherwise, Singapore how to progress as a nation? I am Singaporean and wanted to see Singapore to progress for the better as a nation.

told u MIW out to please netizens

You will be surprise! a big percentage as far as I know.

Who is the percentage of PRs applying to those popular schools?

The problem is good international school are all mostly full. Left with not so good one around. How many PRs are under the very rich categories?

i believe rich foreigners/PR wud rather pay for gd international schools.....

only those 'cmi' ones wana convert to SC to increase their chances of getting into gd sch

wat we want is high profile PR/foreigners taking up SC rite?

not half bake ones lor....zzzzzzzzzzzzzz

are Lawyer/specialist/bankers considered? high profile PR?

wat we want is high profile PR/foreigners taking up SC rite?

not half bake ones lor....zzzzzzzzzzzzzz

are Lawyer/specialist/bankers considered? high profile PR?
    as long not middle income earner ones which most netizens belongs to
    if not hor...likely to backfire?

There are thousand professionals (specialist/lawyers/bankers/etc) are PRs and their kids are very bright and doing very well in school. They are still not considered very rich until can buy CCR landed properties. (Today, you earn> 20-40k per months are not considered rich in Singapore and you still can't afford 5M landed Terrence houise in CCR) Didn't you see many top scholars are PRs? Top international school fee about 50-60k per year. How many people can afford? Even if you can afford, there is no vacancy.

as long not middle income earner ones which most netizens belongs to
    if not hor...likely to backfire?

You will be surprise! a big percentage as far as I know.
    sure is...most of the parent volunteers I met are PRs/Foreigners

Yes, this sounds like a cooling measure for ever increasing high standards for P1 to PLSE.

I believe it is a good strategy to debrand branded schools. Maybe we will see OCR schools having top students

sure is...most of the parent volunteers I met are PRs/Foreigners
    if PR are accept as PV and has priority over SC, doesn't this defeat e purpose of giving SC priority over PR? Hope e schools will take this into consideration when accepting PV

i forgot that even SC > 2km has priority over PR. too used to the 2km priority liao hehehe.

you are right. it means PRs have no chance of getting into the branded schools at all!

you are right. to implement this policy, schools have to give SC priority in granting PV.

if PR are accept as PV and has priority over SC, doesn't this defeat e purpose of giving SC priority over PR? Hope e schools will take this into consideration when accepting PV