Thread: Singaporeans get ABSOLUTE priority over PRs when balloting for P1 places

Default Singaporeans get ABSOLUTE priority over PRs when balloting for P1 places

S'poreans to get priority for P1 places during balloting: MOE
    Posted: 25 March 2012 1447 hrs

SINGAPORE: From this year, Singaporeans will get absolute priority over permanent residents when it comes to balloting for primary school places.

The Education Ministry said where balloting is required during Primary One registration, Singaporeans will be admitted first ahead of permanent residents, before home-school distance is considered.

For example, when the number of applications exceed the number of school places, Singaporeans who live closer to the school of choice will get higher priority compared to Singaporeans who live further away.

Citizens living within one kilometre will be admitted first, followed by those who live between one kilometre and two kilometres from school.

Singaporeans who live outside two kilometres of the school of choice will then be given a place.

If there are still vacancies in the school after all eligible Singaporean children have been admitted after balloting, places will be given to permanent residents, with priority given to those who live closer to school.

MOE said by giving Singaporeans priority over PRs only when balloting is required, it retains the underlying principles of the Primary One registration framework, which reflect a careful balance of considerations, and provide for diversity in Singapore schools, while according citizens a further privilege.

This is on top of a measure introduced in 2010, where Singaporeans are given two ballot slips for each child for Primary One registration, while PRs get one ballot slip per child.

MOE also announced that there will be seven new primary schools next year - five in the new towns of Sengkang and Punggol, and one each in Jurong West and Woodlands.

- CNA/cc

This is loooooooooooong overdue.

What's the implication for properties near hot schools?

make PR want to convert to SC..

Quote Originally Posted by avo7007
    What's the implication for properties near hot schools?
    It will get hotter!

on the contrary, will some SC tink tat now they got higher chances to get into gd schools by staying within 1-2km....so they go and GRAB one??!?!?!

possible sia

wakakakakkaa

Don't think so. 1km always got good chance... More like PR give up and move to neighbourhood areas bah.

on the contrary, will some SC tink tat now they got higher chances to get into gd schools by staying within 1-2km....so they go and GRAB one??!?!?!

possible sia

wakakakakkaa

Don't think so. 1km always got good chance... More like PR give up and move to neighbourhood areas bah.
    Rich PRs who can afford good condo in prime, will feel contended enrolling their children in some neighbourhood schools mixing with Ah-bang's children...Strange right?

So many new schools gonna be built in seng kang and punggol. Does that mean the new generations' children will all be going to these "unknown" schools since none of the famous schools are near to the recent influx of BTOS in punggol?

Not sure that generalisation is correct. Live in neighbourhood - ah beng? PRs are not necessarily rich. As I've mentioned before, the only PRs affected are PRC and Malaysians - and from my observation, many are mere middle class and not less beng than a child who grow up in Ang Mo Kio neighbourhood.

Quote Originally Posted by ronyyk76
    Rich PRs who can afford good condo in prime, will feel contended enrolling their children in some neighbourhood schools mixing with Ah-bang's children...Strange right?

A lot of people have this thinking that if the kid is bright it will make no difference whether he/she goes to a branded sch or not.

However, what if your kid is NOT so bright? One advantage of certain branded sch is that they are feeder schools to their affiliated sec schools and they can get into their affiliated sec schools with a lower cut-off PSLE score. This is especially helpful if your kid is not so bright to be able to get into a top sec sch and yet you don't wish to send him/her to some neighbourhood sec school where the standards are a bit dubious and the company there may be undesirable (gangsters etc).

It's not all about the bright ones. They can go to a good sec school anyway. It's those who fall in between who might suffer (in the range of PSLE scores 200 to 240). Being in an affiliated sch can make all the difference in the sec school as it allows the slow developer to catch up in the early sec classes. I have friends whose kids scored 230+ at PSLE got into the IB programme at ACS Independent after doing well at Sec 1 and 2. If they were not from the affiliated sch of ACS Independent they would not even have this chance to get in as the PSLE cut-off for non-ACS affiliated sch is over 250. The cut-off for ACS affiliated sch is 235.

possible sia

wakakakakkaa
    Yes, I'm of the view this rule makes it more worthwhile for SC parents to buy or rent a property near good schools, so properties around them will hold or increase in their values.

There are about 541k PRs and 3772k Resident Population, so by simplistic proportion, there will be probably about 15% higher chance for SC students to get into the good schools if all PRs were filtered off. However we do not know if there is any change in % discretionary intake the principals have for special cases like donations, special talents or VVIP parents.

It will get hotter!
    Yeah! more SC more demand for landed.... lolz
    The most successful investors are defined by their actions in a bear market, not a bull market.

That I agree. Unfortunately, people are fighting to get into non-affiliated primary schools like NYPS, RGPS, Tao Nan which is complete waste of time. There are still lots of students in such schools who CMI.

A lot of people have this thinking that if the kid is bright it will make no difference whether he/she goes to a branded sch or not.

However, what if your kid is NOT so bright? One advantage of certain branded sch is that they are feeder schools to their affiliated sec schools and they can get into their affiliated sec schools with a lower cut-off PSLE score. This is especially helpful if your kid is not so bright to be able to get into a top sec sch and yet you don't wish to send him/her to some neighbourhood sec school where the standards are a bit dubious and the company there may be undesirable (gangsters etc).

It's not all about the bright ones. They can go to a good sec school anyway. It's those who fall in between who might suffer (in the range of PSLE scores 200 to 240). Being in an affiliated sch can make all the difference in the sec school as it allows the slow developer to catch up in the early sec classes. I have friends whose kids scored 230+ at PSLE got into the IB programme at ACS Independent after doing well at Sec 1 and 2. If they were not from the affiliated sch of ACS Independent they would not even have this chance to get in as the PSLE cut-off for non-ACS affiliated sch is over 250. The cut-off for ACS affiliated sch is 235.

Yes, I'm of the view this rule makes it more worthwhile for SC parents to buy or rent a property near good schools, so properties around them will hold or increase in their values.

There are about 541k PRs and 3772k Resident Population, so by simplistic proportion, there will be probably about 15% higher chance for SC students to get into the good schools if all PRs were filtered off. However we do not know if there is any change in % discretionary intake the principals have for special cases like donations, special talents or VVIP parents.
    For all you know, 200 to 300K PRs may decide to convert to SC and principals might quietly up their internal quota for "special cases" so the advantage may not be as great as 15%.

Quote Originally Posted by wannabe
    Yeah! more SC more demand for landed.... lolz
    wah piang

landed boy

wakakakakak

For all you know, 200 to 300K PRs may decide to convert to SC and principals might quietly up their internal quota for "special cases" so the advantage may not be as great as 15%.
    hopefully govt set their standards higher hor.....not any tom dick harry can take up SC hopefully!!!

i still believe tat rich PRs will rather pay for international schools den taking up SC

wah piang

landed boy

wakakakakak
    lolz.... somemore just 900m from TAO NAN.... wakakakakak
    The most successful investors are defined by their actions in a bear market, not a bull market.

wakakakaka

good to have a DREAM!

wakakakaka

good to have a DREAM!
    I sleep well everynight. Always dreaming.
    wakakakakak

Yes, I think both will happen. PR numbers mysteriously dropped in 2011 compared to 2010. What is clear to me is properties near these good schools will definitely be propped up further, since the 1-km criteria is greatly emphasised in this new policy.

HUAT AH!!!!

Perhaps. But I hope our garment dun anyhow give out SC like toilet paper to any Tom Dick and Harry PR.

Frankly, I'm always very impressed how everything can be linked to property huat in this forum. The impact is not signficant. How does this lead to property huat? Remember, there are few groups of people

1) Parents who already have an elite education - no desperation to move into 1km of any school since got affiliation or alumni

2) Parents without elite education but wants kids to have elite education. The desperados with constraints.

3) Parents without eleite education but doesn't mind sending kids to neighbourhood schools.

So only #2 type are the desperate ones. And they will not move the market significantly. And there are others who don't have kids or kids already pass primary 1 stage and dun mind buying any house anywhere with no restrictions.

That I agree. Unfortunately, people are fighting to get into non-affiliated primary schools like NYPS, RGPS, Tao Nan which is complete waste of time. There are still lots of students in such schools who CMI.
    Totally agree. Only a minority of students from non-affiliated pri sch will make it into the top secondary sch.

In my opinion, it is better to cultivate strong interest in a particular CCA eg swimming as it will give very very high priority for getting into a top sec sch regardless of academic prowess (provided the kid does not have PSLE score of less than 200). RI and HCI are happy to grant DSA for top sports performers even though their PSLE scores are in the low 200s.

You have a kid?

If going to Tao Nan and not strong in Chinese and your family background in Chinese is weak, the kid might suffer.....if your Chinese background not strong, move nearer to ACS sch (Barker/Junior) as the kid will be more at ease there (the Mother Tongue standard is low and the affiliated sec sch is waiting to nurture your darling no matter how bad is his/her MT score - B syllabus also available).

Huat-ah! for properties within 1km of pri sch with affiliations.

You have a kid?

If going to Tao Nan and not strong in Chinese and your family background in Chinese is weak, the kid might suffer.....if your Chinese background not strong, move nearer to ACS sch (Barker/Junior) as the kid will be more at ease there (the Mother Tongue standard is low and the affiliated sec sch is waiting to nurture your darling no matter how bad is his/her MT score - B syllabus also available).

aiya...he own 1 or a few landed near taonan and dreaming to HUAT HUAT ARGH!!!

You have a kid?

HUAT AH!!! HUAT AH!!! HUAT AH!!! lolz

You have a kid?

I'm from ACS though... lolz..

ROFL then you have no problems with your son getting in no matter where you live.

Congrats to you huat-argh!!!

Not absolute priority lah... subjected to different phases still... PR can still be ahead of SC if they're in the earlier phase? Tell media don't anyhow use the word absolute... its merely conditional priority... or have I misinterpreted MOE's press release?