Page 7 of 30 FirstFirst ... 23456789101112172227 ... LastLast

Thread: Significant Property News & Discussions

Quote Originally Posted by hopeful View Post
    sometimes risk is misunderstood.

for eg, the risk of death is double if you do B instead of A. doing B sounds terrible & scary right?
    but risk of A is only 0.000000000001%
    and risk of B is only 0.000000000002%.
    c-sec requires surgery and anaesthesia - both pose significantly higher risk than natural birth

1. bleeding
    2. wound infection
    3. adverse reaction to anaesthesia drugs - heightened stroke and heart attack risk
    4. devices being left in wound site accidentally
    5. formation of ugly surgical scars

Quote Originally Posted by eng81157 View Post
    c-sec requires surgery and anaesthesia - both pose significantly higher risk than natural birth

1. bleeding
    2. wound infection
    3. adverse reaction to anaesthesia drugs - heightened stroke and heart attack risk
    can all this be translated to mortality rate?
    http://www.skepticalob.com/2013/03/y...rly-risky.html
    we all can be accused of cherry-picking the data

btw, i am still thinking about space - how to neutralise the longer bed stays.

actually if u want to plan swee swee which day to give birth, just induce, not necessary must c-section ma....
    Ong lai ah!

Quote Originally Posted by onglai View Post
    actually if u want to plan swee swee which day to give birth, just induce, not necessary must c-section ma....
    alamak u find out my secret liao.
    and booking airplane ticket in advance is so much cheaper.
    not only the date, the hour of birth also important. that's why i go for c-section instead of natural, induce.

alamak u find out my secret liao.
    and booking airplane ticket in advance is so much cheaper.
    not only the date, the hour of birth also important. that's why i go for c-section instead of natural, induce.
    ..... human count lose to heaven count leh....

Ong lai ah!

yup, there is a correlation between mortality rate and surgery risks.
    if you can, you can take over GKY immediately or any of the hospital CEOs. the only way is to reduce complications and eliminate infection, while making sure the OBGY is good in his skills

Quote Originally Posted by eng81157 View Post
    yup, there is a correlation between mortality rate and surgery risks.
    if you can, you can take over GKY immediately or any of the hospital CEOs. the only way is to reduce complications and eliminate infection, while making sure the OBGY is good in his skills
    so the risk u mentioned:
    1. bleeding
    2. wound infection
    results is 2 more additional death per 100k.

from the article, mortality rate for normal delivery is 6 per 100k. for c-section is 8 per 100k. not a big difference.

also from the same article
    "if 1 million women underwent C-section at 39 weeks instead of waiting for onset of labor and attempting vaginal delivery, 692 more babies would be saved, 517 cases of intracranial hemorrhage and 377 brachial plexus injuries would be prevented."

if convert to per 100k, 69 babies would be saved.
    the mathematics like this
    no of women died (6-8) = -2
    no of babies saved 69
    total live save 67.

I am still waiting for a "Liu Bei" to visit me 3x. Sigh...such is the life of an undiscovered "Zhuge Liang"
    Last edited by hopeful; 02-10-13 at 14:49.

Quote Originally Posted by onglai View Post
    ..... human count lose to heaven count leh....

ya la, heaven count numero uno. but human beings can at least mitigate the negative effects and enhance positive effects.
    If not, why people pay so good money to ask for good date, time, also select the chinese name carefully?

heavenly good luck is like being born to BJ21's family, NTFs, Wees, Lees.
    but not many people have such good luck.
    Last edited by hopeful; 02-10-13 at 14:52.

so the risk u mentioned:
    1. bleeding
    2. wound infection
    results is 2 more additional death per 100k.

from the article, mortality rate for normal delivery is 6 per 100k. for c-section is 8 per 100k. not a big difference.

also from the same article
    "if 1 million women underwent C-section at 39 weeks instead of waiting for onset of labor and attempting vaginal delivery, 692 more babies would be saved, 517 cases of intracranial hemorrhage and 377 brachial plexus injuries would be prevented."

if convert to per 100k, 69 babies would be saved.
    the mathematics like this
    no of women died (6-8) = -2
    no of babies saved 69
    total live save 67.

I am still waiting for a "Liu Bei" to visit me 3x. Sigh...such is the life of an undiscovered "Zhuge Liang"
    the difference is +33% in risk, and that is significant. you are only looking at mortality rate, which isn't the entire picture. while i said that there is a correlation between the risk factors and heightened mortality rate, they should not be viewed as similar - e.g. post-op infection/stroke/heart attack incidences are not reflected in mortality rate.

secondly, the glaring error of the article is that the author's analysis is based on figures which aren't scientifically derived - i.e. merely "probabilities". the author has acknowledged that no actual study has been done too.

thirdly, even if there is data collected, who is to verify that one OBGY's skills is equal to another?

Default Beware of stray dogs and their bites can kill!!!

For all those extreme dog-lovers who say cannot anyhow put down stray dogs and cannot ill-treat them by capturing them, they should just take home all those stray dogs and adopt them instead of letting them roam the streets, because these stray dogs' bites can kill! Who want to be responsible when people are biten by these stray dogs and may even died hah?

------------------------------------------------
    Father Sucks Rabies-Infected Blood from Dog-Bitten Son, Dies
    by Fauna on Wednesday, September 25, 2013 249 comments
    A Chinese father dies of rabies after trying to save his dog-bitten son by using his mouth to directly suck rabies-infected blood out of the son's wound.

From NetEase:

Father Uses Mouth to Suck Poisonous Blood Out of Dog-Bitten Son, Dies from Rabies 1 Month Later
    A month ago, after seeing his son’s leg bitten by a stray dog, a 41-year-old Jiang X desperate to save his son used his mouth to suck and spit out the blood from the wound multiple times. His son was timely injected with a rabies vaccine while Jiang X abstained and was not injected with rabies vaccine.

Two days ago, Jiang X felt unwell and was diagnosed with rabies by the hospital. On the early morning of the 24th, Jiang X died despite medical care.

A. Rescue

Son bitten by dog, father sucked out seven or eight mouthfuls of “poisoned blood”

According to villagers, Jiang X was 41 years old this year, from Sihong county, Qingyang town, Chonggang community. Early morning on August 19th, Jiang X’s not-yet-20-year-old son Young Jiang was outside the door cleaning when a small, dirty, inconspicuous-looking yellow stray dog came up to Young Jiang. Young Jiang paid it no mind nor did he shoo the stray dog away but instead continued cleaning.

Suddenly, this small inconspicuous stray dog bit the Young Jiang’s left calf before turning and running away. “Ai you! I was bitten! Someone help!” shouted Young Jiang as he covered the wound on his leg from the dog bite. Upon hearing his son yell from inside, Jiang X ran out to his son. Neighbors too rushed over one by one, who then pursued the stray dog in the direction it had run, and eventually beat the man-biting little dog to death.

Seeing his son moan in pain, Jiang X was distraught. Desperate to save his son, he hastily got hot water with the help of family and neighbors to rinse his son’s wound. Then, Jiang X did something shocking, squatting down to use his mouth to suck on his son’s wound, sucking out the “poisonous blood” inside before spitting it onto the ground. He sucked and spat seven to eight mouthfuls of “poisoned blood” before he felt more at ease. Then, Jiang X took his son to the nearest hospital where a doctor attended to the wound and timely injected a “rabies vaccine”, about one hour after Young Jiang had been bitten.

However, Jiang X himself did not get a “rabies vaccine” injection. Jiang X even said to neighbors: “Getting a ‘rabies vaccine’ shot for my son is enough. A ‘rabies vaccine’ shot for me would require more money and I’d have to get several shots, avoid eating this or that so I won’t get vaccinated, because what are the chances that I’ll be infected without getting vaccinated?”

B. Onset

Over a month later, father smashes ambulance after onset of rabies

Two days ago, Jiang X felt unwell. Upon suspecting ‘rabies’ from his symptoms, the local hospital urged his relatives to take him to the provincial capital’s hospital for diagnosis and treatment as soon as possible. Jiang X was subsequently diagnosed with “rabies” by a Nanjing hospital. Because this disease cannot be cured, his family could only forgo treatment.

On the night of September 23rd, when the Nanjing hospital had transported him to his home via ambulance, Jiang X suddenly lost control and became volatile, breaking multiple glass windows on the ambulance as well as the equipment in the ambulance. It was already around 10pm at night, and after the Sihong county Zhonggang local police station received a 110 call, station chief Wang Yao brought police officer Ye Wenchao and 3 auxiliary officers along in rushing to the scene.

Because people infected with rabies are extremely aggressive and infectious, the police and auxiliary police on the scene had to simultaneously disperse the crowds and work with Jiang X’s family in comforting and persuading him, trying to calm his irritable state of mind. However, Jiang X’s state of mind simply could not be calmed and the surrounding villagers were also exceptionally frightened by the situation they were witnessing. To avoid triggering a panic among the villagers, Wang Yao braved being infected with ‘rabies’, boarded the ambulance, and told the driver to take Jiang X away from the village.

Wang Yao also urgently requested assistance from the head of the Sihong county public security bureau. Soon after, Jiang X was being taken to the infectious diseases department at a Sihong county hospital for medical treatment.

C. Death

Hours after being taken to the hospital, he died under treatment

However, before the ambulance carrying Jiang X had driven very far, Jiang X again became abnormally irritable and agitated. Suddenly, Jiang X had his left arm around his father’s neck while holding a piece of broken glass in his right hand, threatening his father demanding that he be cure him of his disease.

After the ambulance was forced to stop, station chief Wang Yao consoled Jiang X from the back door of the ambulance to divert his attention while several special police team members immediately entered the ambulance through the side door and quickly restrained Jiang X’s arms, legs, and head, simultaneously rescuing the father.

Then, the ambulance carrying Jiang X was escorted to a Sihong country hospital’s infectious diseases department. At 3am in the early morning of the 24th, just a few hours after being taken to the hospital, Jiang X died while being treated.

Default link between giving and happiness? - What a joke!

link between giving and happiness? - What a joke!
    It is like some pastors telling their followers that the more they donate to their church, the more the god will return the money back to them in multiples!
    To achieve happiness in Singapore, one has to have enough money for a comfortable retirement first (and make sure they don't under-budget for medical expenses - it will cost a bomb as they age!). Only those who can afford "LUXURY" retirement has the means to donate to charity!

===================================
    Singapore study finds link between giving and happiness

Yahoo Newsroom – Mon, Sep 30, 2013

Giving and well-being are strongly linked, according to a study in Singapore by the National Volunteer & Philanthropy Centre (NVPC).

Conducted by NVPC with Singapore Management University (SMU) psychology professor David Chan, the study showed that people in Singapore who volunteer or donate are more likely to be satisfied and happy with their lives.

The study found that among people who volunteered or donated or both, two-thirds (66 per cent) were satisfied and happy with their lives, NVPC said in a statement on Monday.

In contrast, among non-givers, less than half (45 per cent) had high subjective well-being, the organisation said.

The study also found that a higher proportion of those who served 12 or more volunteer hours in the past 12 months had high subjective well-being compared to those who served less (71 per cent vs 63 per cent).

Also, a higher proportion of those who gave $100 or more in the past 12 months had high subjective well-being compared to those who gave less (72 per cent vs 59 per cent), according to the study.

It found that the pattern of findings remained after taking income status into account.

"Happy people are more likely to give, but people who give also tend to become happier. This is because the act of giving not only benefits the recipient but also leads to positive outcomes for the giver," said Chan, who is also director of SMU's Behavioural Sciences Institute.

"When you give, you derive a sense of personal meaning from helping others. You also become more grateful for your own life conditions as you appreciate the situation of those who are less fortunate," he added.

The study, using a nationally-representative sample, is part of NVPC’s Individual Giving Survey 2012.

Default Tuition for sports?

So expanding the number of places for DSA is to cater for the kids of the rich (1 person's income, the wife is a housewife) who can afford to send their kids for "tuition" for sports, under the watchful eyes of the best coaches in Singapore? I heard such coaches demand a rate of about $120-180 per hour! Oh, so how about those poorer family kids who parents can't afford such top-notch ($ RATE) coaches hah?

===============================
    Tuition for sports? - Every Wednesday, Rachel Seet is rushed from Marine Parade to Bukit Timah just for tuition.

She gobbles up her lunch after school at 1pm and makes a quick change before she sprints out of the door for evening lessons. Rachel is only 10. Her tuition is not in Chinese or mathematics. That's reserved for other days of the week. Books and stationery give way to sports gear that she takes to her "tuition centre" - the Ministry of Education's Co-Curricular Activities Branch Stadium at Bukit Timah.
    She spends two hours watched by eagle-eyed professional track and field coaches from Fabian Williams Coaching Concepts. They watch her every stride, correcting the budding 100m sprinter's running posture and technique. Yes, Rachel, like several other children now, is put through sports tuition.
    This is on top of the track and field training sessions with her own primary school. Those are conducted twice a week for two hours each time. On some days, it's a 7am to 7pm day for Rachel. She's part of a growing trend as parents push their children to excel in sports so that they can enrol in a school through the Direct School Admission (DSA) programme.
    Last month, Education Minister Heng Swee Keat said in a written parliamentary response that about 15,000 DSA applications are received by secondary schools each year.
    But only about 2,800 students - or 15 per cent - get a place .
    With such fierce competition, Rachel's parents felt she wasn't doing enough, even with eight hours of extra curricular activities a week. So earlier this year, they signed her up with Fabian Williams Coaching Concepts, hoping to bolster her success on the track.
    "She's doing fine in school, but we cannot rely on PSLE grades alone," said Rachel's mother, Ms Joyce Neo, a housewife in her 40s. "So we decided to push her in other areas that could give opportunities for her to enter the top schools."
    - See more at: http://www.edvantage.com.sg/content/....D8K3LFzV.dpuf

So expanding the number of places for DSA is to cater for the kids of the rich (1 person's income, the wife is a housewife) who can afford to send their kids for "tuition" for sports, under the watchful eyes of the best coaches in Singapore? I heard such coaches demand a rate of about $120-180 per hour! Oh, so how about those poorer family kids who parents can't afford such top-notch ($ RATE) coaches hah?
    It wont take long before young kids start to ask themselves what is this life all about ?

Born, start school at 3 years old, parent volunteer, P sch, push, tuition, Sec Sch, more push, more tultion, go JC/Poly, compete, psuh harder, follow the crowd. Others decide what is success, they blindly follow, demand PC, demand car, slog their lives away, blah blah ...

Is that a life worth living ? Is this called a life ?

Default Singapore and Thailand lure Western retirees!

For Western retirees, the Asian lure is hard to resist

By Katie Holliday | CNBC – Thu, Oct 3, 2013 10:53 AM SGT

British retirees Les and Sally Page had never considered retiring early in Asia, until a holiday to Thailand five years ago prompted a snap decision.
    "We were on holiday on the island of Ko Samui and within five days we both knew we wanted to retire there," said 59-year old Sally. "It has a magical feeling that can't be explained."
    The appeal of retirement in Thailand extends beyond the idyllic beaches of the island. The British couple said the Southeast Asian country boasts better weather, a greater variety of activities, a slower, easier pace of life and cheaper cost of living than what they are used to.
    The Pages are just one couple in a burgeoning group of western retirees who have decided to spend their golden years in Asia.
    Immigration figures show that British, American and German retirees made over 35,000 applications for retirement visas in Thailand in 2011 and is forecast to grow to 45,000 by the end of 2013, according to Sasha Nugent, analyst at U.K. based foreign exchange Caxton FX.
    Nugent is seeing more and more U.K.-based retirees moving to Asia. "The most popular countries appear to be in South East Asia, in particular Thailand and Singapore," she said.

Mea Attwood, a 58-year old British retiree who moved to Thailand five years ago, said cheaper living costs in comparison to the U.K. have allowed her to live a more luxurious and healthier lifestyle than she would at home.
    "We are able to look after ourselves better in Asia. We can afford regular massages, for example, something that would be a real treat in the U.K.," said Mea.
    "Plus there is no council tax in Thailand, and water and electricity is cheaper," she added.
    Interestingly, Caxton FX's Nugent said Singapore still manages to lure a large number of expat retirees, despite the fact that living costs, particularly the cost of renting or buying property , are relatively high in comparison with the rest of Asia or the United Kingdom.
    "Although generally, [Singapore] is just as pricey as the U.K. in terms of living expenses, there is good and low cost travel, not forgetting the cultural benefits," she said, adding that the city state is also viewed positively because of its financial stability and good banking system.

Now, the downside
    But the comforts of the orient do come with their share of disadvantages. Quality health care in Southeast Asia, for example, can be expensive especially in the case of treating long-term illnesses.
    "Health insurance is not really affordable once you get to 70 and medical bills are very expensive," Les and Sally said.
    "It's reasonably cheap to visit the doctor or the hospital, but in the case of a serious illness, then we would have to consider whether we could afford ongoing treatment," added Mea.

Imported products in local supermarkets can also be pricier. 62-year-old British retiree John Harvey, who chose to retire in Malaysia four years ago, said alcohol is "disproportionately expensive," adding that this was not something he begrudged and fully accepted as part of living in a different culture.
    He also cited the higher levels of crime in the region, which played a key role in his choice of retirement destination. John ruled out the Philippines from his shortlist of five countries due to safety concerns, ultimately settling on Malaysia, although he noted that reports of crime in the country have risen recently.
    "If you read the press there is an increasing number of incidences of crime... I don't feel threatened but I've always adopted the policy of not drawing attention to yourself and not going to areas that are regarded as unsafe," John said.

For Les and Sally, road safety is among their biggest worries living in Thailand. "The driving is dreadful and it's a risk you take every day you go out," said the British couple. "Many people drink and drive, there are rarely any police unless you do have an accident," they added.
    Still, for the Pages, the benefits far outweigh these concerns.
    In Ko Samui, they live comfortably in a three-bedroom villa with a swimming pool and eat out several times a week, paying £1,500 ($2,358) a month for their total living costs, although Sally noted that they could easily live off around £100 pounds a week if they wanted to.
    This compares with monthly living costs in the U.K. of around £2,000; and this amount doesn't include eating out as often or the cost of running a swimming pool.
    For John, he still gets startled by the difference in living costs when he makes trips back home to the U.K.
    "The prices shock me when I go back to England. The cost of doing anything [is higher]," he said.
    -By CNBC's Katie Holliday: Follow her on Twitter@hollidaykatie

1 of my friends lamented that Singapore Education is training "Robots", and not to groom kids with creativity and innovativeness! They were saying that now at P6 level, they are studying something similar to the olden days GCE level in English!

And for Science, MOE has taken away the syllabus, yes, now no Science syllabus so that MOE can set any questions for Science in PSLE (to alleviate people complaining that they set questions outside of the syllabus), and the students preparing for PSLE Science have to study everything under the sun if they hope to score well!

Similar cases have been reported for PSLE Math where questions were set outside of the main-stream syllabus, with GEP parents rumoured to have leaked that those questions were taught in GEP programme, & they said no wonder they were told that GEP contents, questions, materials cannot be leaked to non-GEP students/parents! (Those GEP kids lucky loh, because they don't need to care since they don't need PSLE results to get into top IP sec schools!).

Worse, just recently, the newspaper reported that parents leaked that a top school teacher told them that there is such thing called "Scientific English" which is different from "Standard English" and the students aswering PSLE Science questions must use "Scientific English"! Wow! Friends are saying their kids are never taught "Scientific English"! So who are being taught then? Only top schools, such as GEP schools? Question, question, more questions!

Quote Originally Posted by DKSG View Post
    It wont take long before young kids start to ask themselves what is this life all about ?

Born, start school at 3 years old, parent volunteer, P sch, push, tuition, Sec Sch, more push, more tultion, go JC/Poly, compete, psuh harder, follow the crowd. Others decide what is success, they blindly follow, demand PC, demand car, slog their lives away, blah blah ...

Last edited by teddybear; 06-10-13 at 21:10.

1 of my friends lamented that Singapore Education is training "Robots", and not to groom kids with creativity and innovativeness! They were saying that now at P6 level, they are studying something similar to the olden days GCE level in English!

And for Science, MOE has taken away the syllabus, yes, now no Science syllabus so that MOE can set any questions for Science in PSLE (to alleviate people complaining that they set questions outside of the syllabus), and the students preparing for PSLE Science have to study everything under the sun if they hope to score well!

Similar cases have been reported for PSLE Math where questions were set outside of the main-stream syllabus, with GEP parents rumoured to have leaked that those questions were taught in GEP programme, & they said no wonder they were told that GEP contents, questions, materials cannot be leaked to non-GEP students/parents! (Those GEP kids lucky loh, because they don't need to care since they don't need PSLE results to get into top IP sec schools!).

Worse, just recently, the newspaper reported that parents leaked that a top school teacher told them that there is such thing called "Scientific English" which is different from "Standard English" and the students aswering PSLE Science questions must use "Scientific English"! Wow! Friends are saying their kids are never taught "Scientific English"! So who are being taught then? Only top schools, such as GEP schools? Question, question, more questions!
    Why are you jealous of GEP again?

What do I need to be jealous of GEP? The GEP is seriously and obviously flawed! NOT something that we can be proud of? simply wasting tax payers' monies! They repeat the same syllabus over and over again for many batches, to the extent of refraining GEP parents and kids from sharing GEP materials to the mainstreams and citing that their questions/materials are difficult to set/prepare and hence they need to recycle those materials, so cannot share those materials??? Does it sound something very stupid and wrong to you! GEP program is the main evil of whole problem of the crappy Singapore education system now. Why? This is because the most difficult PSLE questions are being taught in GEP and mainstreams students are denied to learn. To handle those difficult questions in PSLE, many parents packed their kids with lots of questions!

The equivalent of Singapore's gifted education scheme or Normal or Express streams would be illegal in western countries like Finland, Germany, etc because its education policy calls for all children to be given the same opportunities. "All children are given equal opportunities. We should put equity ahead of producing top students,". Please don't waste the tax payers' monies to these stupid inequality system.

Quote Originally Posted by wirehtc View Post

Quote Originally Posted by DKSG View Post

Dont go lor.. never get to study 1 will ask whats fair in life. how come I never get to study. get to study 1 ask why the aim in life. study for what.

there is no end. the haves will ask wats the pt and aim in life . the haves not will always want the stuff of those who have.

Quote Originally Posted by wirehtc View Post

forever jealous .

Maybe u never think the parents themselves are lazy then? Dont like to be robot dont go school lor. go play in the street and be creative lor.

have liao any education system will also pass 1. dont jealous.

No liao give u use ROCKET ENGLISH also cannot lift off.

I agree. Have liao don't need GEP to make them better. It is precisely they just using tax-payers money to try to make them good but they bo liao so need GEP and their materials need to be so secretive? Viola! You score own goal!
    What can I say when the MOE is not doing their job?

Maybe u never think the parents themselves are lazy then? Dont like to be robot dont go school lor. go play in the street and be creative lor.

have liao any education system will also pass 1. dont jealous.

No liao give u use ROCKET ENGLISH also cannot lift off.

I agree. Have liao don't need GEP to make them better. It is precisely they just using tax-payers money to try to make them good but they bo liao so need GEP and their materials need to be so secretive? Viola! You score own goal!
    What can I say when the MOE is not doing their job?
    u so smart u go run loh. bo liao one can only kpkb mah.

There are many bo liao ones that are up there because of connections and not because they got liao, no wonder things don't get done yet they wanting lots of salary!
    Got liao ones may not get the chance to be in there, but doesn't matter, we earn lots of money outside using our own ability, don't need connections. Connections to go up there only required for those bo liao ones...............

u so smart u go run loh. bo liao one can only kpkb mah.

High-rise killer litters in HDB estates - When can they stop???

======================================
    A rock & a high place

Sunday, October 13, 2013 - 06:30Matthaeus Choo

The New Paper

Over the past few weeks, killer litter has been raining down from Block 611 in Woodlands Ring Road.
    The block is next to Woodlands Ring Primary School, a playground and a badminton court, and it seems the litter is aimed at driving away noisy youngsters from the area.

It was probably a matter of time before someone would get hurt.
    The unfortunate person turned out to be a 12-year-old boy who was hit by a rock thrown from a high floor on Tuesday.
    The rock, about the size of a man's fist, cracked the skull of Khairul Azhar, a Primary 6 pupil in the school.
    The incident happened at about 3pm at the badminton court where Khairul was chatting with his friends near a group of skateboarding teenagers.
    Then he heard a loud sound.
    When he turned around, he saw that a brick had landed very close to where he was sitting.
    "When I saw the brick, we all started running because we were afraid of getting hit," Khairul told The New Paper from his hospital bed at KK Women's and Children's Hospital (KKH) on Thursday.
    "But before I could reach the nearby shelter, I felt a sharp pain on my head."

He collapsed to the ground crying as blood flowed from his head.
    "I thought I was going to die," he said. A resident of Block 611, who wanted to be known only as Madam Shikin, was walking by with her two children when she saw Khairul crying in pain while covered in blood.
    The 33-year-old housewife said: "It looked like the bleeding was very severe. His head was completely covered in blood.
    "I told him I would call for an ambulance."
    Madam Shikin was shocked by the incident, saying: "My two kids are studying in the same school.
    What if it was my kids who had got hit?"
    Residents told TNP that items like soiled diapers, dirty water, cigarette butts and even a bicycle had been thrown down the block.
    Meanwhile, two of Khairul's friends ran back to the school to alert a teacher while two other friends went to his flat in the block to inform his family.
    Khairul said the school's operations manager took him to the school and administered first aid in the general office until an ambulance arrived.
    The ambulance, which arrived at 3.40pm, took him to KKH for treatment.
    Khairul's 17-year-old brother had phoned their father, Mr Amran Mael, at about 3.15pm to tell him what happened.
    The 46-year-old graphics designer said: "My second son was panicking as he tried to explain to me what had happened to his brother.
    "I told him to speak slowly and to take care of his brother first as I was still busy with work."
    He rushed to the hospital as soon as he realised that Khairul, the youngest of his three sons, was badly hurt.
    "Khairul was conscious when he reached the hospital and the only apparent injury was a 2cm cut on the right side of his head," Mr Amran said.
    "But an X-ray scan showed that his skull was fractured. The impact of the rock had caused a deep dent on his skull."
    OPERATION
    Fearing possible damage to his brain, doctors operated on Khairul at 9.10pm.
    They had to use titanium surgical screws to elevate the skull away from the brain.
    The screws will remain in Khairul's skull for life and he could experience fits in the future as a side effect.
    Mr Amran made a police report that night after Khairul's successful operation.
    Khairul is now in stable condition.
    Mr Amran hopes the culprit gets caught so that such an incident does not happen again.
    "There was no reason for this to happen," the distraught father said.
    "My son was only hanging out with his friends.
    What if the rock had been bigger or if it had been thrown from an even higher floor? It could have been fatal."
    Police investigations are ongoing.
    Those convicted of committing a rash act, such as throwing killer litter, can be jailed for up to six months or fined up to $2,500, or both.
    Noisy pupils targeted
    Screaming pupils from a nearby school, skateboarders and teenagers often use the badminton court near the school as their playground.
    The new paper understands that residents of nearby block 611 have complained to Woodlands Ring primary school about the noise.
    Residents said they have seen its discipline master making occasional patrols around the area to ask noisy pupils to lower their volume.
    Of late, litter has been thrown from the block in the direction of the badminton court, and tnp understands that the pupils and teenagers are often the target of the litter.
    Residents said the litter included soiled diapers, cigarette butts and dirty water, but they believed tuesday was the first time that someone has got hurt.
    The incident has made some of them more wary when walking below the block.
    Madam Chan, a 50-yearold resident of block 611 for 10 years, worries that she and her mother-in-law, who is 70, might become victims of killer litter.
    The housewife said: "it might get noisy because of the kids but nobody should throw rocks like that.
    Dangerous
    "This is so dangerous. What if my mother-in-law was passing by and a rock hits her? it is so irresponsible.
    "Thankfully, there is a sheltered walkway all the way from the bus stop to the block."
    Another resident, taxi driver Akbar Ali, 48, said killer litter is a common sight at the bottom of the block.
    He recalled that a bicycle was thrown down a few months ago.
    "The things people throw down can get very scary, so all we can do is try to avoid walking below the block," he said.
    Past killer incidents
    APRIL 2013
    BLOCK 222, serangoon avenue 4
    Bricks were thrown from an HDB block to a nearby open-air car park, damaging at least three vehicles. Killer litter has been a problem in the block, with residents reporting fish tails, tea bags, balls of toilet paper and tissue being thrown.
    AUGUST 2012
    BLOCK 465, ang mo Kio avenue 10
    Police arrested a 39-year old man after he threw a mahjong table in a fit of rage from the common corridor outside his ninth storey flat. the incident was sparked by an argument between the man and his cousin.
    JUNE 2012
    Clementi avenue 2
    Police arrested a 19-year-old boy after he threw a flower pot from an HDB block and damaged a covered walkway. he was believed to have been involved in at least four other cases of mischief, also by throwing down flower pots placed outside HDB units around Clementi avenue 2.
    Last edited by teddybear; 13-10-13 at 13:30. Reason: High-rise killer litters in HDB estates - When can they stop???

Default Oil Refinery Toxics Found in Air of Nearby Homes! omg omg!!

Repost here for archival because very important to remember...

===========================
    Oil Refinery Toxics Found in Air of Nearby Homes! omg omg!!
    How about the below? Better watch out what toxic gases are flowing into your JGateway within 7 km of all these refineries / incinerators / power generation plants etc!
    You think our NEA has as much will, resources, and capability to conduct research that are as thorough and as deep and as complex as those in USA?
    Their Researchers tested samples of indoor and outdoor air for over 150 chemicals.
    Don't know NEA can and willing to test for just 100 chemicals for homes within 10km of those refineries or not?

Quote:
    Originally Posted by Ringo33
    Will it be ok if I quote what you said to NEA and ask them to response to your comments about people living in Jurong having higher risk of cancer?

Oil Refinery Toxics Found in Air of Nearby Homes

March 29, 2010

Test Results Released as EPA Considers Addressing Refinery Pollution
    Chevron Urges Court to Allow Expansion of a Refinery

Toxics from a Chevron oil refinery were found in the indoor air of homes in Richmond, California, according to a peer-reviewed study in American Journal of Public Health. The results are being released as the EPA considers measures to reduce pollution from refineries nationwide, and as Chevron is appealing a court decision barring the expansion of one of the nation’s largest refineries in Richmond, California.
    Researchers tested samples of indoor and outdoor air for over 150 chemicals in 40 homes in Richmond, California (low-income, predominantly minority neighborhoods bordering a Chevron oil refinery, marine shipping corridors and other polluters), and 10 homes in Bolinas, CA (a non-industrial comparison community). The air indoors, where Americans spend 90 percent of their time, was more polluted than the air outdoors in both communities, with 104 toxics detected inside Richmond homes and 69 in Bolinas.
    This study marks the first time that indoor air was tested to fingerprint pollutants from oil refineries and shipping corridors. “We found that living near an oil refinery adds exposures that may be hazardous to your health,” said Julia Brody, PhD, lead author of the study and Executive Director of Silent Spring Institute. “Toxic pollution from oil refineries doesn’t stay outside; it seeps into homes, where people spend most of their time. We hope that federal regulators and the courts will take our findings into consideration as they address air pollution from refineries nationwide.”
    Air in Richmond homes had more chemicals present and at higher concentrations than in Bolinas. Fine particulates (PM2.5) were found at concentrations above California’s annual ambient air quality standard in nearly half of Richmond homes even though the residents were nonsmokers. Particulates are considered an aggregate measure of air pollution. Health studies have linked them to respiratory and cardiovascular problems, including premature death.
    Levels of vanadium and nickel in Richmond were among the highest in the state, implicating heavy oil combustion from the nearby refinery and marine port. These compounds indicate the presence in homes of hundreds of unmeasured pollutants from the refinery.
    Richmond, in Contra Costa County, has high cancer and respiratory risks associated with industrial air toxics. The county’s 15% asthma prevalence rate is among the state’s highest.
    “There are a lot of people in this community, a lot of people with cancer. A lot of people with asthma, the children have a high incidence of asthma here,” said one Richmond study participant.
    The Richmond Chevron refinery is one of the nation’s largest, covering 2,900 acres and processing over 240,000 barrels of crude oil a day into gasoline, jet fuel, diesel, and lubricants. Communities for a Better Environment has voiced concerns about air pollution from flaring (venting and uncontrolled burning of gaseous emissions in routine operations and emergencies) and has sued to block Chevron’s requested permit changes to replace and add equipment that reportedly would increase emissions of sulfur dioxide, sulfates, and metals by refining lower grade crude oil with higher sulfur content.
    “Richmond residents living by Chevron’s oil refinery are already worried about health risks from air pollution. Now is the time to reduce pollution by making a green transition, rather then lock in dirtier crude refining that could exacerbate health issues and climate change,” said Jessica Tovar, a community organizer with Communities for a Better Environment.
    The California State Court of Appeal has not yet ruled on Chevron’s appeal of a July 2009 court decision that put the Chevron permit changes on hold in response to a lawsuit brought by CBE and other community organizations. The court ruled that the Environmental Impact Report supported by Chevron and approved by the City of Richmond was illegal because it did not disclose whether the project will allow Chevron to process dirtier oil or address the cumulative pollution burden on Richmond residents.
    The study was conducted by Silent Spring Institute, the University of California, Berkeley, Brown University, and Communities for a Better Environment (an environmental justice organization). The California Department of Public Health, Commonweal, Breast Cancer Fund, and Breast Cancer Action contributed information to the study.

Default 上空的环境比地面上的污染少,噪声低

Repost here for archival and easier for all to refer to...

============================
    Yes, you are right hot air rises, creating vacuum which is further filled up by those toxic gases because those toxic gases and chemicals don't rise up to the sky but will infiltrate indoors into many ground and low level houses (according to the US research report which conducted the first comprehensive research on measuring 150 chemicals in houses near from refineries, a portion of the report of which I cut and paste below for your reference). Many of these toxic chemicals stay around ground levels and up to a few storeys high because of perturbations!

You can don't believe me, but you should believe the UK research report in 2013 which is further published in MyPaper on "住八楼以上早死风险少22%", linked below for your reference:
    http://forums.condosingapore.com/sho...=13282&page=11
    *** 这项研究成果刊登在欧洲流行病学期刊(European Journalof Epidemiology)上。

Not only that, the same report has been cited in many other countries like below:

想长寿住高层
    译者: 笔译实务
    发表时间:2013-05-24

住高层是健康长寿的秘密?住在八楼以下早死的可能性是22%
    住8楼以上楼层的人,死于肺病的可能性减少40%
    死于严重性的心脏病的可能性减少35%
    上空的环境也比地面上的污染少噪声低

Not only that, below is another research report conducted in Taiwan which basically comes to similar conclusion:

【台灣醒報記者黃雅娟台北報導】家住在1、2樓嗎?離馬路只有5公尺嗎?你可能已經成為空氣汙染的高風險群。國科會22日公布研究數據指出,大台北地區有80萬人住在高風險區域。大量汽機車排放的廢氣,是造成空氣汙染的主因。
    國科會和中研院環境變遷中心聯合進行「都市空氣汙染暴險人口分佈研究」,針對台北市和新北市的居住環境做空氣汙染的風險評估。結果發現,女性且具教育程度高和申報所得稅高等特質,特別是居住在1、2樓,以及在距馬路5公尺內的民眾,都是暴露在空氣汙染中的高風險族群。
    中研院副研究員龍世俊表示,國外的研究指出,居住在距離馬路50公尺內的民眾,發生冠狀動脈硬化的機率比在馬路外200公尺的民眾,還要高出六成以上。而大台北都會區更有98%的居民,住家都在馬路50公尺內,這項研究在國外發表時,也引起國外學者關注。
    龍世俊分析,未婚女性可能為求生活機能方便,而選擇住在都會區。而台灣的高人口密度和機車密度,造成交通流量大增,也是形成高空氣汙染的主因之一。她指出,肺癌一直是台灣前十大死因,除了吸菸、烹調等原因,空氣汙染也是人體健康的殺手。龍世俊坦言,空氣汙染「沒有最低限值」,只能看你有多強壯。

People should not be iron-teeth to the detriments of themselves. If they want to detriment themselves, it is fine but please stop false propaganda because of self-interests and doing harm to others because of themselves don't want to believe all these research and trying all means to discredit them...

Quote:
    Originally Posted by lajia
    hello, one basic u forgotten from school. I told u to go study more already...hot air rises la...so, meaning? I don't think I need to explain that right?

now go google about the weight of each chemical u mentioned and then tell us what is left on ground level...

go study more la.

Oil Refinery Toxics Found in Air of Nearby Homes
    March 29, 2010

Test Results Released as EPA Considers Addressing Refinery Pollution
    Chevron Urges Court to Allow Expansion of a Refinery
    Toxics from a Chevron oil refinery were found in the indoor air of homes in Richmond, California, according to a peer-reviewed study in American Journal of Public Health. The results are being released as the EPA considers measures to reduce pollution from refineries nationwide, and as Chevron is appealing a court decision barring the expansion of one of the nation’s largest refineries in Richmond, California.
    Researchers tested samples of indoor and outdoor air for over 150 chemicals in 40 homes in Richmond, California (low-income, predominantly minority neighborhoods bordering a Chevron oil refinery, marine shipping corridors and other polluters), and 10 homes in Bolinas, CA (a non-industrial comparison community). The air indoors, where Americans spend 90 percent of their time, was more polluted than the air outdoors in both communities, with 104 toxics detected inside Richmond homes and 69 in Bolinas.
    This study marks the first time that indoor air was tested to fingerprint pollutants from oil refineries and shipping corridors. “We found that living near an oil refinery adds exposures that may be hazardous to your health,” said Julia Brody, PhD, lead author of the study and Executive Director of Silent Spring Institute. “Toxic pollution from oil refineries doesn’t stay outside; it seeps into homes, where people spend most of their time. We hope that federal regulators and the courts will take our findings into consideration as they address air pollution from refineries nationwide.”
    Air in Richmond homes had more chemicals present and at higher concentrations than in Bolinas. Fine particulates (PM2.5) were found at concentrations above California’s annual ambient air quality standard in nearly half of Richmond homes even though the residents were nonsmokers. Particulates are considered an aggregate measure of air pollution. Health studies have linked them to respiratory and cardiovascular problems, including premature death.
    Levels of vanadium and nickel in Richmond were among the highest in the state, implicating heavy oil combustion from the nearby refinery and marine port. These compounds indicate the presence in homes of hundreds of unmeasured pollutants from the refinery.
    Richmond, in Contra Costa County, has high cancer and respiratory risks associated with industrial air toxics. The county’s 15% asthma prevalence rate is among the state’s highest.
    “There are a lot of people in this community, a lot of people with cancer. A lot of people with asthma, the children have a high incidence of asthma here,” said one Richmond study participant.

Default Singapore is a world-first TUITION NATION!

By Linette Heng
    The New Paper
    Sunday, Oct 13, 2013

The tuition industry here is a multi-million-dollar one. This is evident when you see more tuition centres and education providers taking up retail space in malls.

So is the shopping centre in danger of becoming one giant tuition centre?

A check of 73 malls across Singapore showed that most of them have at least one education centre located in their premises.

Some of them have as many as 17 education centres. Most of these malls are in the heartland or the outskirts of town.

Some shopping centres are starting to restrict the number of education centres while some have welcomed them.

WE CAN'T TAKE MORE

The United Square mall says its quota for education centres has been met. Located in Thomson Road, it positioned itself as a "kids' learning mall" more than 10 years ago.

Today, it is home to 12 education centres, including big names like The Learning Lab, Lorna Whiston Study Centre and Hua Language Centre. Mr Hauw Kheng Lip, deputy general manager (marketing), UOL Group Limited, which owns the mall, told The New Paper: "We continue to receive a healthy stream of inquiries from education/ enrichment centres although our quota for education/enrichment centres currently has already been met."

The Grandstand mall at Turf Club Road, which was formerly known as Turf City, has eight childcare centres and nine enrichment centres after revamping a year ago as a family lifestyle hub. It too says while there is no quota, it will be "more selective".

Mr Benson Tan, chief executive of Cogent Land Capital, which is the developer of the mall, said it is "mindful of the mall's tenant mix and (want to) ensure a balanced variety of offerings for mall patrons".

WE CAN STILL TAKE

The recently revitalised Bukit Timah Plaza has 17 tuition and enrichment centres. It says it can take in a few more.

The second floor of the mall is specially assigned to education-related centres, said Mr Desmond Chan, chairman of the management committee. The mall, which is 35 years old, used to have at least 20 hair salons, car dealers and massage parlours.

"Three years ago, we had a meeting about the trade mix of the mall and we agreed to bring in trades that are familyfriendly," said Mr Chan.

AsiaMalls, which runs six malls such as Tiong Bahru Plaza, White Sands and Hougang Mall, is still on the lookout for such tenants.

Tiong Bahru Plaza has eight education centres while White Sands has five, according to their websites AsiaMalls Management's general manager Stephanie Ho said: "We do recognise that education and enrichment centres meet shoppers' needs and there is a demand for it. Hence where it can add value to our shoppers' experience and lifestyle, we will try to bring in such tenants."

TREND TO CONTINUE

Mr Samuel Tan, course manager of retail management at Temasek Polytechnic, thinks that it may not be a deliberate effort on the part of the malls to take in education centres. But the convenience of the malls means they are attractive to the education centres.

Property expert Colin Tan from Suntec Real Estate Consultants does not think that these centres are the "first priority" of the malls. For one, they pay much lower rent than other tenants at the mall because they are usually located in an obscure part of the mall.

Retail experts, however, said the presence of education centres would benefit the malls because they guarantee a regular, habitual stream of human traffic.

Dr Lynda Wee, an adjunct associate professor from Nanyang Business School, said: "For hair salons, manicure and pedicure parlours, people will visit once a month. But for enrichment centres, visits are once a week.

"It makes sense to be in a mall so that busy parents can enjoy the convenience and multi-task."

Default higher price appreciation during upturn, greater fall during downturn

Interesting observation:

[B]Upon analysing the downcycles, we observed that regardless of tenure, the higher the price appreciation during the upturn, the greater the fall during the downturn.

So, which has higher potential price appreciation going forward if property price go up?
    Which has higher potential price drop if property price go down?

Is freehold property better than 99-year?

Thursday, Oct 17, 2013
    Christine Li
    The Business Times
    THERE are generally two types of property tenure in Singapore: 99-year leasehold and freehold. We consider 999-year leasehold to be the same as freehold, because their difference in value is negligible.

Freehold properties hold a few advantages over their leasehold counterparts - higher en-bloc potential, slower pace of depreciation and no restrictions on the use of Central Provident Fund for home purchases.

In recent years, new leasehold condominiums seem to have dominated the market. The proportions of new leasehold and freehold condominium sales stand at 95 per cent to 5 per cent respectively as of first half of 2013. In contrast, back in 2006 and 2007, around 70 per cent of new sales were freehold. This could be attributed to the ramp-up of the government land sales programme in recent years and the tightening of en- bloc rules in October 2007.

Proponents of freehold properties might argue that the price appreciation of freehold properties always outstrips that of their leasehold counterparts. This is because leasehold properties will depreciate over the course of their lease.

In order to find out how properties with different tenures but similar attributes perform over time, we picked Southaven I and Southaven II for illustration. Both projects were developed by the Ho Bee Group and share similar attributes such as location, product quality and facilities. Both projects were also launched for sale in 1995, but completed two years apart.

The price gap between Southaven I and II seems to have widened from only 8 per cent at its launch in 1995 to 18 per cent in 2013. But this price trend alone is not conclusive due to uneven and thin transaction volumes. The attributes of units sold in the same year were also not comparable. But it gives a good glimpse of how two projects with different tenures located right next to each other fare over time.

If we are to look at the broader market, freehold condominiums might not always enjoy superior price appreciation over their leasehold counterparts. Our analysis of the freehold and leasehold indices over the last three property cycles shows that out of the three upcycles, the freehold index only outperforms the leasehold index over one cycle between Q3 2006 and Q2 2008.

This is the period just before the global financial crisis when the en-bloc frenzy reached all-time high in terms of number of deals and transaction values.During this upcycle, freehold properties moved up 54 per cent, outperforming leasehold properties which only appreciated 39 per cent. For the other two upcycles, en-bloc activities were fairly muted with fewer deals and much lower transaction values. We can thus infer that en-bloc potential plays a key role in determining the price performance of leasehold and freehold properties.

Interestingly, during the subsequent downturn, freehold condominiums also lost 27 per cent of their value compared to 24 per cent for leasehold condominiums. Upon analysing the downcycles, we observed that regardless of tenure, the higher the price appreciation during the upturn, the greater the fall during the downturn. This was what happened to leasehold properties during the dotcom crash between Q3 2000 and Q2 2002. The prices of leasehold condominiums gained 46 per cent as compared to a milder 38 per cent for freehold condominiums. However, leasehold condominiums fell almost twice as much as their freehold counterparts when the general market went into a slump after the dotcom crash.

In the landed segment, the performance of terrace houses seems to paint a different picture. Freehold terrace houses have outperformed the leasehold ones in all periods except for the downturn during dotcom crash. In good times, they perform better than leasehold ones and in downturns, they also seem more resilient. This could be because of the restrictions on foreigners owning landed properties in Singapore.

So, which is better, freehold or leasehold? Based on the analysis, the answer depends on whether one is buying a landed or non- landed property. If buying a landed property, historical data shows that freehold might be a better choice. If one is buying a leasehold non-landed property in the current upcycle, given the challenging en-bloc market, leasehold could help to lock in more percentage gains if it is bought and sold at the right time.

Indeed, property values are influenced by multiple factors. However, if we assume all else being equal, freehold properties will always command a premium over their leasehold counterparts.

The writer is the head of research and consultancy at property firm OrangeTee.

Am I in heaven?
    Why so fast 50 years over and another flash flood again?

Audrey Tan | The Straits Times | Wednesday, Oct 30, 2013
    SINGAPORE - Mr Zheng Ji, a hawker at Foodhub@Chai Chee located at 26A Chai Chee Road, said he has seen the junction flood at least 10 times over the past three years. "Every time there is a heavy rain, the junction will flood," said the 54-year-old. "Sometimes, aunties will fall into the drain at the side when the water overflows."

Marine Parade Market and Food Centre hit by flash floods
    By: Bryna Singh
    SINGAPORE - Hawkers and stallholders, seen working in four-inch deep rainwater, said business has been badly affected because of the flooding. "Once the place is flooded, no customers want to come in," said hawker Tan Ah Guan, the 62-year-old owner of the famous Apollo Fresh Cockle Fried Kway Teow.

6.30pm heavy rain forecast from NEA:
    Moderate to heavy thundery showers with gusty wind are expected over northern, eastern and central areas of Singapore between 6:35pm and 7:30pm.
    PUB says flash floods may occur in the event of heavy rain.

1.30pm heavy rain forecast from NEA:
    Moderate to heavy thundery showers are expected between 1.35pm and 2.30pm, the National Environment Agency (NEA) said.
    The showers are expected to fall over southern, western and central areas of Singapore.
    Flash floods may occur in the event of heavy rain, PUB said.
    On Monday, heavy showers caused flash flood at the junction between Chai Chee Road and New Upper Changi Road.

Looks like a very lonely thread. Are you entertaining yourself?