Thread: Cooling Measure can be as early as next week

Default Cooling Measure can be as early as next week

pure speculations. And as most of us have pointed out, it will be targeted at developers. Just look at the property stock price patterns these days ...

i look down on them if they give more CM instead of implementing the showflat n marketing guidelines long overdue.

The world markets are cooling enough lor.. Seeing lesser transactions done..
    Think they will really implementing ? I doubt so ..

I agree. They whack agents only but when it comes to developers, I don't think they even dare to speak up.

i look down on them if they give more CM instead of implementing the showflat n marketing guidelines long overdue.

If they don't target CASH-BACK for new launch, I don't know what to say?!
    If they don't target that 20% deferred payment scheme for new launch, , I don't know what to say?!
    If they don't target 4-years SSD start from 100% payment made for property purchase, I don't know what to say?!

Talk so much, at the end of day, think they only target foreigners & resale properties' transactions!
    Coffeeshop talk says any policies they have against developers going to be mild to avoid hitting their land sales programme?! Kill resale properties' market doesn't affect them!

Quote Originally Posted by FH99
    pure speculations. And as most of us have pointed out, it will be targeted at developers. Just look at the property stock price patterns these days ...

Developers pay a lot of tax.

Development charges, high land price, foreign worker levy, corporate tax. Cannot kill the goose that lay eggs right?

The last CM they already infuriated many developers. Some even said they were not consulted! I don't think they will go that path again any time soon. If any CM, it will be targetted at banks and buyers of new developments. As for resale, they have achieved their objective already.

Yup, doubtful with garment's ability to bite the hands that feed them thru taxes...

Buyer, kena Liao
    Seller, kena Liao
    Agent, kena Liao
    Construction contractors, also kena Liao

Only left with developers, yet to kena!!!!

Garment got ball bor?

Yup, doubtful with garment's ability to bite the hands that feed them thru taxes...

Buyer, kena Liao
    Seller, kena Liao
    Agent, kena Liao
    Construction contractors, also kena Liao

Only left with developers, yet to kena!!!!

Garment got ball bor?
    Have lah.... I thought developer also kena a bit such as min construction timeframe and also the length the time it needs to sell, think 5 yrs right.
    Another one is targeted at small developer at those telok kurau where e min plot must be 10000 sqft.

if they really want to crash the private market, the best way is to crush the demand, so next cm is 'all singaporeans and pr not allowed to buy private properties'. if everybody just want a cooler market, the current CMs already done it.

If there is a new CM, I think it will target commercial pty sector. There are many warning signs in the local news lately........

I read that a clinic in Punggol HDB about 560sqft monthly rental is 32k

Last edited by phantom_opera; 12-04-12 at 09:20.

I read that a clinic in Punggol HDB about 560sqft monthly rental is 32k

http://temasektimes.files.wordpress....pg?w=859&h=346
    Which will drive the consultation price up. What is interesting is that the top 3 bids are all more than 30k. Subsequent few bids are all very high too. HDB must have a control on the number of clinics in the area, allowing such clinics to pay high rental and remain profitable.

Quote Originally Posted by masterkey
    Which will drive the consultation price up. What is interesting is that the top 3 bid are all more than 30k. Subsequent few bids are all very high too. HDB must have a control on the number of clinics in the area, allowing such clinics to pay high rental and remain profitable.
    That's why prices in SG is controlled ... HDB must make $$$ just like URA selling lands ... the result is every year we are paying more and more for GP and dental and condos

The rental cost is 32k ... doctor + nurse easily 12k, other cost 1k ... fixed cost is 45k ... one day is $1,500 .. which translates to 20 patients X $75 or 30 patients X $50 to break even

Have some sympathy for HDB GPs. Their overheads are so high. The medications are not cheap either. The staff costs are They have to work long hours to service their patients. It's quite a hard life. Their take home pay is probably less than what you think. And somemore they are at the front line. If they fail to make an important diagnosis, it can have serious consequences. So they can't exactly rush the consultations either. Babies and elderly are v. difficult patients. They can't tell you what is wrong with them and the symptoms can be deceiving. Elderly can have heart attacks without pain.....and infections without much fever......scary

That's why prices in SG is controlled ... HDB must make $$$ just like URA selling lands ... the result is every year we are paying more and more for GP and dental and condos

The rental cost is 32k ... doctor + nurse easily 12k, other cost 1k ... fixed cost is 45k ... one day is $1,500 .. which translates to 20 patients X $75 or 30 patients X $50 to break even
    At the bottom of the list, the lone GPs only dared to bid less than 10k. Notice that the top bidders are medical groups, so they will have as many doctors deployed to the clinic as possible for long hours so as to break even. These doctors will draw a fixed salary (not sure, probably chiaberry will know) and be worked like a production operator, except that in this case their personal liabilities are much much higher. Businesses and landlords benefit while primary producers and consumers are squeezed.

if they really want to crash the private market, the best way is to crush the demand, so next cm is 'all singaporeans and pr not allowed to buy private properties'. if everybody just want a cooler market, the current CMs already done it.
    Something simpler will do to crush demand.
    First, computation of CPF funds available for property investment, non owner occupied, will consider 100% of minimum sum required.
    Then, up the minimum sum.

Quote Originally Posted by Rosegarden
    At the bottom of the list, the lone GPs only dared to bid less than 10k. Notice that the top bidders are medical groups, so they will have as many doctors deployed to the clinic as possible for long hours so as to break even. These doctors will draw a fixed salary (not sure, probably chiaberry will know) and be worked like a production operator, except that in this case their personal liabilities are much much higher. Businesses and landlords benefit while primary producers and consumers are squeezed.
    Exactly, and u know they will charge much more during wee hours / weekends

1. Malls taken over by CapitalMall, Fraser Centre Point, AsiaMall
    2. Food courts taken over by Kopitiam, Banquet, Koufu
    3. Clinics taken over by medical groups
    4. Dental taken over by dental groups

No wonder inflation is so high

And talk about 5 cooling measures for private residential properties, why no cooling measures for all these commercial properties, industrial properties, retails spaces, offices and business properties that I have mentioned about and which you highlighted below?
    Main culprit: REITs, big muscular entities like big companies monopolizing the market! Should tax 10% ABSD for companies buying business properties (just like companies buying private residential properties!)

They not even willing to cool new launch private residential? Only interested to target resale private properties with loop-sided cooling measures?

Exactly, and u know they will charge much more during wee hours / weekends

1. Malls taken over by CapitalMall, Fraser Centre Point, AsiaMall
    2. Food courts taken over by Kopitiam, Banquet, Koufu
    3. Clinics taken over by medical groups
    4. Dental taken over by dental groups

No wonder inflation is so high

Who are the them?

If they don't target that 20% deferred payment scheme for new launch, , I don't know what to say?!
    If they don't target 4-years SSD start from 100% payment made for property purchase, I don't know what to say?!

Talk so much, at the end of day, think they only target foreigners & resale properties' transactions!
    Coffeeshop talk says any policies they have against developers going to be mild to avoid hitting their land sales programme?! Kill resale properties' market doesn't affect them!
    What is your objective? To be able to hoot a new launch at low price or u not happy your resale cannot move? If new launch down, resale will be even worse hit isn't it? If u are a property owner intending to sell instead if buy, u should be happy that new launch price is holding, so resale dun have to go further down. What makes u think that punishing the new launches will help resale? like I said unless u are aiming for a crash to buy.

Quote Originally Posted by Rosegarden
    You are right. Consumers are squeezed. It is likely that the medical groups wish to go towards a monopoly and they have economies of scale (eg can bulk purchase medications, clinic supplies, bigger discounts on radiology and lab tests, staff can rotate on shifts). For those groups connected to private hospitals, they will try and channel any complicated patients to their own hospitals for further investigation/treatment.

Note that there is an upcoming IPO for the Parkway/Pantai group. Their hospital occupancies are currently quite high DESPITE the sky-high prices. Their clinics in Mt E Novena are sold out. Resale units of specialist clinics are transacting at record prices.

Consumer will have to pay and pay.

Whenever developers are dragged in, it is nearly always inevitable to talk about the price of bidding for land parcels... sigh... it actually goes back to the entire structure lah... hdb price controls the bottomline lor... just bring down every tier of price structure lor.. demand sure go up de.. hahaha but all cheaper so no need CM coz prices are already controlled... lol!

Agree. That's why many end up doing "aesthetic medicine" machiam beautician. Can earn more money doing beauty salon. One facial $100. Laser 1 pimple $100. Doctor consultation is only $30.

Have some sympathy for HDB GPs. Their overheads are so high. The medications are not cheap either. The staff costs are They have to work long hours to service their patients. It's quite a hard life. Their take home pay is probably less than what you think. And somemore they are at the front line. If they fail to make an important diagnosis, it can have serious consequences. So they can't exactly rush the consultations either. Babies and elderly are v. difficult patients. They can't tell you what is wrong with them and the symptoms can be deceiving. Elderly can have heart attacks without pain.....and infections without much fever......scary

This is part of the plan to create an inclusive society.
    Those who make it already should slow down on wealth creation via resalling their PC.
    Help those who aspire to own PC by continuing to let HDB rent out to fund their PC dream. Ha ha a very narrow view of mine indeed ha ha

You are right. Consumers are squeezed. It is likely that the medical groups wish to go towards a monopoly and they have economies of scale (eg can bulk purchase medications, clinic supplies, bigger discounts on radiology and lab tests, staff can rotate on shifts). For those groups connected to private hospitals, they will try and channel any complicated patients to their own hospitals for further investigation/treatment.

Note that there is an upcoming IPO for the Parkway/Pantai group. Their hospital occupancies are currently quite high DESPITE the sky-high prices. Their clinics in Mt E Novena are sold out. Resale units of specialist clinics are transacting at record prices.

Want cheap cheap can go Malaysia

No choice hospitals have to pay to shareholders too

Who are the them?
    big bludder...

Thanks for the tip on IPO .

BTW, didn't the real Mt E people raise a ruckus to protest against what them deem as dilution of the Mt E brand with the new Mt E Novena? You mean parkway group didn't back down and is still going ahead with the naming?

Policies have to be equitable, regardless of new launch or resale. 40% cash-down to buy properties (due to 60% LTV) is meant as cooling measures, but when applied on new launch suddenly become 15% cash-down (due to 5% developers' cash-back) and 20% deferred payment scheme payment (for 2-3 years) makes sense? What cooling measure is this that actually apply to resale and not new launch? If the policies are equitably applied, and resale prices have to come down because new launch prices come down, I have nothing to say (in fact I have a lot to lose since I am holding resale properties). Not when the current policies give loop-hole to developers' new launch....

Quote Originally Posted by Montaigne
    What is your objective? To be able to hoot a new launch at low price or u not happy your resale cannot move? If new launch down, resale will be even worse hit isn't it? If u are a property owner intending to sell instead if buy, u should be happy that new launch price is holding, so resale dun have to go further down. What makes u think that punishing the new launches will help resale? like I said unless u are aiming for a crash to buy.

Quote Originally Posted by rockinsg
    Want cheap cheap can go Malaysia

No choice hospitals have to pay to shareholders too
    Khazanah own hospitals in Malaysia (Pantai group) as well as Singapore (Parkway group).

Different pricing for different country.