Thread: Bomb shelters a must in all flats

Default Bomb shelters a must in all flats

Topic increasingly relevant on day 2 of NKorea rocket launch and China vs Philippines spat... Whether HS house shelter or SS storey shelter. Question: does everyone here actually know how to properly use a bomb shelter and the mandatory fixtures inside??

since you are..."The.. bad guy who will speak all the ugly truths you dont wanna hear "...why dont you tell..us...

oh just a thought for those husband who like to screw around with other woman if you get caught by your wife can hide in....BOMB SHELTER...

Is there a bomb shelter in landed houses?

Does/Has anyone here:
    1. Stocked up on canned food in the bomb shelter?
    2. Conducted regular drills with your family and get everyone into the bomb shelter within 20 secs or less? Day and Night drills. One Thousand, Two Thousand....
    3. Tried closing the door and stayed inside for 20 minutes with your family?
    4. Tried using your mobile phone in there?

Hell no. Cos it is choke full of stuff and the maid's bed in the first place. hahaha..

Does anyone here:
    1. Stock up on canned food in the bomb shelter?
    2. Conduct regular drills with your family and get everyone into the bomb shelter within 20 secs. Day and Night drills. One Thousand, Two Thousand....
    3. Tried closing the door and stay inside for 20 minutes with your family?

Hell no. Cos it is choke full of stuff and the maid's bed in the first place. hahaha..
    Bomb shelter is a screwed up govt policy. Basically e govt expect everyone to stay at home while there r bombings ard. Given e smaller family size, bomb shelters shd b smaller without affecting e quality of life inside e bomb shelters.

If there is a fire in the house and you cannot get out, that is the best place to be in.

I would rather hang by e window than get smoked by e fire.

since you are..."The.. bad guy who will speak all the ugly truths you dont wanna hear "...why dont you tell..us...
    I bad guy... Thats why dunno how to use lol bad guys die first in bombings

Is there a bomb shelter in landed houses?
    No need. Rich landed owners can afford the luxury of getting buried directly in the soil after kena bombed...

Does/Has anyone here:
    1. Stocked up on canned food in the bomb shelter?
    2. Conducted regular drills with your family and get everyone into the bomb shelter within 20 secs or less? Day and Night drills. One Thousand, Two Thousand....
    3. Tried closing the door and stayed inside for 20 minutes with your family?

Canned food but forgot to buy can opener. Lppl

Quality of life inside bomb shelters.... Sounds somewhat amusing...

I would rather hang by e window than get smoked by e fire.
    haha sure anot? What if I tell you the shelter is fire rated and air tight? Most people die of smoke inhalation rather than being burnt.

possible to run out of oxygen inside ??...

haha sure anot? What if I tell you the shelter is fire rated and air tight? Most people die of smoke inhalation rather than being burnt.

How long can you survive inside if its really airtight. Oh ya maybe a fart can save our lives as it is extra gas containing oxygen...
    Long enough for SCDF to come. Better than being outside or jumping off the building.. Oh ya, maybe toilet better since you like to fart often.
    Last edited by fclim; 13-04-12 at 15:08.

Long enough for SCDF to come. Better than being outside or jumping off the building.. Oh ya, maybe toilet better since you like to fart often.
    One fart does not often make... Come on, dont tell me there is a day go by you dont fart at all...

Actually, how many ventilation ports does your shelter have? Mine got 2

never have any hs before, in my hdb or condo...
    got ventilation ports meh ?... like that good mah, can pull aircon piping in and use as study room liow...

During an air raid, is it better to hide in a home shelter 10 or 20 storeys up in the air, or run for your lives on the ground? What's your preference and why?

No need. Rich landed owners can afford the luxury of getting buried directly in the soil after kena bombed...
    Landed also have HS lah. Older ones don't have, but new ones must have

Although some get around the requirement by keeping a few columns and call it "reconstruction"...

Actually, how many ventilation ports does your shelter have? Mine got 2
    All will have 2 lobangs....

Quote Originally Posted by Rosegarden
    During an air raid, is it better to hide in a home shelter 10 or 20 storeys up in the air, or run for your lives on the ground? What's your preference and why?
    Hide in HS on ground floor unit- may not survive the knocking and rolling about in high floor HS which comes tumbling down...

if you stay landed, just dig your underground base lor..

http://www.deepearthbunker.com/
    shown on discovery channel, either that download via torrent

See below page last para for sg specific rationale. Oh boy is not even to guard against major air strikes... Only localised explosive. They based the whole concept on the premise that buildings will not collapse during times of strife....

http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Air-raid_shelter

Quote Originally Posted by Rosegarden
    Home shelter of course and take my chance from there. Where would you run to on the ground? You can run provided you know where the bombs and debris are going to land. In reality, you don't, so anywhere on the ground except a bomb shelter is not safe.

Buildings collapsing? Not unless it is a nuclear bomb.

See below page last para for sg specific rationale. Oh boy is not even to guard against major air strikes... Only localised explosive. They based the whole concept on the premise that buildings will not collapse during times of strife....

http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Air-raid_shelter
    Nothing is foolproof. The best is to live in landed and build your own home shelter the size of your living room, deep in the ground, with at least 36 inches of dirt and soil above it. Stocked it up with food and equip it with radio and TV. That would cost you about $100K? Would you do it?

No la... Sg hasnt gotten that unsafe yet... When the time comes you will know... All the FT from Philippines, China, US etc will be gone first....

R u waiting for enemy to land and slaughter u in e HS? Singapore lacks strategic depth for defence. Recall Singapore fell easily once Japanese hit e shore n secured e reservoirs. I wld fly my family out of Singapore if war becomes inevitable.