Thread: Poor sales for new units in Prime area

Quote Originally Posted by leesg123 View Post
    RV area, we are talking about MM.
    Actually if you can get 5% yield without going below 500sqft, that is even better.

I checked Mount Sophia suites and Parc sophia. Both 4.2 to 4.5% yield only.

Nowadays, don't have 5% anymore. Maybe OCR near MRT still got chance.

projects around mount sophia area.

Quote Originally Posted by Shanhz View Post
    not true leh. my very experienced ppty agent who specialise in corporate rental tell me that even when kids study in GEMS in yishun, father work in seletar aerospace park, they still stay in orchard road.
    Not many people can understand how expats feel and think.
    It is only when your office got many of them and you talk to them frequently, then u understand why Orchard/Town area is still the most desirable.

last time those ang mo expats were the richer one. nowadays due to flood gate, they attract the lousy one also. the 'poor' one will stay in HDBs and other suburban areas....those ang mo with REAL SPENDING POWER stay at the usual enclaves like Holland, Bukit Timah etc.

Quote Originally Posted by babyt View Post
    last time those ang mo expats were the richer one. nowadays due to flood gate, they attract the lousy one also. the 'poor' one will stay in HDBs and other suburban areas....those ang mo with REAL SPENDING POWER stay at the usual enclaves like Holland, Bukit Timah etc.
    Eeerrmmm ... The Holland Bt Timah ones are the regular ones.
    High end ones are in Ardmore, Cornwall landed, etc.
    Or some of those places which Office Boy never even heard before. Hahaha!

Profile is different.

In the past, most expat are senior management, nowadays we have got many fresh grad running away from economic crisis in Europe coming here looking for opportunity.

There are also many expat those convert from expat to local terms, so need to tighten their belt to move to OCR.

ya different profiles.

I have ang mo telling me this $17 product is expensive, so she brought the $8 one. She staying around Bishan/Thomson area

ya different profiles.

I have ang mo telling me this $17 product is expensive, so she brought the $8 one. She staying around Bishan/Thomson area
    Expect more and more of these class of foreigners coming to our shore. Also cost of living in Singapore is already very high comparing to Japan and European standard. Sure they will need to learn to live like local to cut corner on non essential stuffs.

ya different profiles.

Certainly different. Now got more middle management.
    In the past, say, we have 200,000 expats, all of them housing allowance above $20,000 per month.

Now, we still have the 200,000 expats with $20,000 allowance per month, but we added another 200,000 with $10,000 per month and another 200,000 with $5,000 per month !

That is why prices have escalated so much in the last few years until now then start to plateau....

Profile is different.

In the past, most expat are senior management, nowadays we have got many fresh grad running away from economic crisis in Europe coming here looking for opportunity.

There are also many expat those convert from expat to local terms, so need to tighten their belt to move to OCR.
    For these young hippies expat (typical associate level) they rather stay in CCR hdb like pinnacle@duxton rather OCR if budget is a constraint.
    They work long hours (eap in banking, consulting), socialise in robertson quay after work ( for biz networking & romance) and need to come office fresh before their boss comes in, so it makes sense to stay in CCR

Quote Originally Posted by k00L View Post
    For these young hippies expat (typical associate level) they rather stay in CCR hdb like pinnacle@duxton rather OCR if budget is a constraint.
    They work long hours (eap in banking, consulting), socialise in robertson quay after work ( for biz networking & romance) and need to come office fresh before their boss comes in, so it makes sense to stay in CCR
    banks are not the only employer in Singapore.

if 6.9 million population is correctly forecasted, more richer expatriates will be replacing those who moved to OCR.

Default ..

Maybe units in Prime area need to be advertise more to be known and to have more potential buyers. Good luck in the future and I hope you will have more sale in the future.

Issue is the quantum required for units in the CCR. Many people cannot play once the absolute quantum's hit above 2mm. That combined with the ABSD has whacked a lot of secondary sales and new sales by developers in the CCR. But watch for older flats - some of these can still be good buys in the CCR if you do some homework

Quote Originally Posted by johnlee View Post
    Issue is the quantum required for units in the CCR. Many people cannot play once the absolute quantum's hit above 2mm. That combined with the ABSD has whacked a lot of secondary sales and new sales by developers in the CCR. But watch for older flats - some of these can still be good buys in the CCR if you do some homework
    Go for MM unit lor. Many brand new all below $2m, or even below $1.5m.

MM in CCR especially Orchard has the potential to hit beyond S$2million after 4 June 2014.

Quote Originally Posted by blackjack21trader View Post
    MM in CCR especially Orchard has the potential to hit beyond S$2million after 4 June 2014.

Welcome back... huat ah huat ah

Wah, so fast? Must hit $1.5m first lah

Quote Originally Posted by amk View Post
    these are totally 2 different segments.

those OCR carrotheads do not have the capacity to play in CCR. in fact that's why they become the carrothedas for OCR, because they die die must invest in a pty. And since they cannot afford anything bigger quantum, FEO makes your dream come true, by giving you a 500sqft SOHO in the middle of nowhere for you "as investment".
    thats what I have saying along time. no tested. why would someone who can rent a nicely done up 3bed room hdb just for a 500sqf studio? and likly the rental for a dont up 3bed hdb will be same or cheaper than the current 500sqf rental. at those OCR MM prices.

Quote Originally Posted by EBD View Post
    Agree. I almost feel sorry for these people. Think they are buying into a dream when they are actually being sold a nightmare.

Still, how you going to get rich if there weren't any people like this in the world.
    in the 1st place how to get rich with a MM? the quantum gain requires the psf to move up a lot. and there is a danger of the rental being suppressed by the surrounding HDB or older condos or ECs...

mines are all waiting for ur $2M leh.

got to wait for how long, after 4 June 2014?

Any big news coming that will turn the tides?

What happened to your 4 June announcement? Now going to be 4th July Liao. Hehe.

Bro BJ very clever... he never say how long after 4th Jun 2014 hahaha
    When you have eliminate the impossible, whatever remains, however improbable, must be the truth

High-end developments such as The Marq on Paterson Hill and Hilltops in Cairnhill Circle, for instance, have been completed for at least a year but still have hundreds of new units sitting unsold. If they are not sold within the next 12 months or less, developers may have to fork out extension charges to buy themselves more time after the two-year deadline. The high-end market has been languishing with slow sales and prices that are still below their peak. The additional buyer's stamp duty of up to 10 per cent introduced last year also whittled down foreign home demand, further hurting sales. Experts say that while indirect discounts such as rental guarantees or stamp duty absorption might be offered by some projects as the deadline nears, large cuts in prices are unlikely. A majority of developers bought the land at lower historical prices and so paying the extension charge will not erode their profit margins significantly. This option is preferred as cutting prices would not only affect their reputation but also face objections from earlier buyers.

Those districts are facing competition from the marina Bay Area as you can see even orchard road has to beep closed to bring crowds to the shopping belt on the first Saturday of the month. Deep pocket prefers new area just by looking at Marina one.
    Quote Originally Posted by JacobDing View Post
    High-end developments such as The Marq on Paterson Hill and Hilltops in Cairnhill Circle, for instance, have been completed for at least a year but still have hundreds of new units sitting unsold. If they are not sold within the next 12 months or less, developers may have to fork out extension charges to buy themselves more time after the two-year deadline. The high-end market has been languishing with slow sales and prices that are still below their peak. The additional buyer's stamp duty of up to 10 per cent introduced last year also whittled down foreign home demand, further hurting sales. Experts say that while indirect discounts such as rental guarantees or stamp duty absorption might be offered by some projects as the deadline nears, large cuts in prices are unlikely. A majority of developers bought the land at lower historical prices and so paying the extension charge will not erode their profit margins significantly. This option is preferred as cutting prices would not only affect their reputation but also face objections from earlier buyers.

The Marq on Paterson Hill and Hilltops in Cairnhill Circle under SC Global. They privatise the company not too long ago. Now single owner... sporean. No penalty for unsold units.

Quote Originally Posted by carbuncle View Post
    There are still value buys in CCR? Or famous carrotheads have migrated from OCR to CCR after reading reports on narrowing price gap?
    CCR has more value in buys for sure because of the closer gaps.