Thread: Beware of choosing agent

Default Beware of choosing agent

Long story short, I decided to expat to Singapore and was looking for a property agent to help on finding an apartment. And I found an agent named Lauchlan Leishman, he is nice, and his service is excellent. But one day my wife told me that he looks tricky.

As I am working in human resource field, I always search the background of the candidate on web, So I search Lauchlan Leishman on web and I found he was being sued in Hong Kong for being dishonest.

I find that within twelve months of being in Hong Kong he was investigated by Inspector Fong of the Hong Kong Police Commercial Crime Bureau for attempting to rip-off a local investor in a property deal. Leishman's employers immediately refunded the investor's money in full and summarily dismissed him.

And also he is currently being investigated by the Hong Kong Police same department for hacking into his employer's computer systems and there is a High Court preservation order in place to protect the evidence.

Integrity is always of the utmost most importance when I am looking paying for a service, especially in the case where I need to spend a great deal of money.

Thanks to my wife and Google. (sure u may search for these info yrself and prove what i said here.)

Thanks for the warning and welcome to Singapore. Actually, anyone with that kind of interesting name already will raise alarm bell in sg. Not many people have such names. I also practically google every body including my dates, bosses, colleagues and sometimes clients.

All property agents in Singapore must be registered with the Council of Estate Agencies or CEA for short. You can search for the agent at

http://www.cea.gov.sg/cea/app/newimp...cregister.jspa

I did a quick search on Lauchlan Leishman and it returned no results.

Quote Originally Posted by babyworm
    All property agents in Singapore must be registered with the Council of Estate Agencies or CEA for short. You can search for the agent at

http://www.cea.gov.sg/cea/app/newimp...cregister.jspa

I did a quick search on Lauchlan Leishman and it returned no results.
    Did you try Lick Lan Leash Man?

Lauchian ?.... isn't that the Chinese word for conman?

TS pulling a fast one?

Wa lau, now got angmoh estate agent one meh? Only expat will kena con...

Quote Originally Posted by shellshox
    Wa lau, now got angmoh estate agent one meh? Only expat will kena con...
    Last weekend, got ang moh promoter promoting cheap wine in Bishan J8 NTUC.

His own vineyard?

I don't think so. It wasn't a boutique vineyard label. Some mass market wine.

Did you try Lick Lan Leash Man?
    Uncle you want to make me tio banned issit?

I don't think so. It wasn't a boutique vineyard label. Some mass market wine.
    Beware of fake wines from PRC.

u can report the unlicensed agent to CEA and this guy will be fined and/or jailed

Leishmaniasis is a disease spread by the bite of the female sandfly.

We are always learning new things on forum... good to know but surely forget in no time...

I'll wait for the day got eastern euro angmos pack my bags at ntuc....

I think that day is not far off.

At least he can boast i work in ntuc near sg iconic project.!!

When it's built, he can say "and I work in its shadow"

At least he can boast i work in ntuc near sg iconic project.!!

Ang mos are already entering the HDB heartlands as tenants... its coming soon!

Saw one once at Carrefour ... could be a stagiaire though.

Ang mos are already entering the HDB heartlands as tenants... its coming soon!
    i met this foreigner who rented a 3 bedder OCR condo and sublet two bedrooms, one to a spaniard and the other to an italian. LOL

NTUC already hire western european....and she is a German. The last time I saw her, she was working at the Holland Drive branch (next to the community centre) and packing the shelves.

Quote Originally Posted by HP65
    NTUC already hire western european....and she is a German. The last time I saw her, she was working at the Holland Drive branch (next to the community centre) and packing the shelves.
    Yup... must deploy her properly to work in a district where more Europeans frequent...

Quote Originally Posted by masterkey
    Saw one once at Carrefour ... could be a stagiaire though.
    Wah so chim.... i can't even pronounce it.
    At first I tot it was an animal!

Wah so chim.... i can't even pronounce it.
    At first I tot it was an animal!
    and i thot i was female deer.....simi stag......

French word for kitchen helper... But why would one be at the checkout packing bags...
    I think in this context it means a Trainee or OJT

OJT = On job training?

I think in this context it means a Trainee or OJT

OJT = On job training?
    Orange Juice Tout

urban slang for those aunties promoting soya milk, juices etc in supermarkets by giving away samples in small size cups