Page 2 of 7 FirstFirst 123456 ... LastLast

Thread: To parent, at what age did you have your first child?

Best TIME to get married is when they are done playing the field and ready to committ, esp for the men. The age is when they are mentally prepared. But no earlier till they get a stable job ...regardless of committment level.

I'd say for men ...between 31-35 and women between 28-32 for Poly/Grads and maybe take away a couple of years each for non-poly/grads.

Women can solve that problem by marrying a older/stable/richer guy.
    Compromise - get best of both - yummy mummy and stable dad.

There is no doubt that having kids as young as possible is beneficial for both the the kids and the parents. Makes financial and physiological sense.

Problem is, it probably means you have to marry young as well.

I think most marriages don't work out well when people marry too young, they have not seen enough of the world and met enough interesting people. Along the way as they grow and mature, they can have a better feel of who they are and what type of person they want as a life partner. They may regret committing to the choices they've made when they were younger..

Not sure if this is representative but I subtly observe that more and more women are delaying their marriage for whatever reasons. Guys want to marry but women say later... Hmmm... maybe just those few I know...

Best TIME to get married is when they are done playing the field and ready to committ, esp for the men. The age is when they are mentally prepared. But no earlier till they get a stable job ...regardless of committment level.

I'd say for men ...between 31-35 and women between 28-32 for Poly/Grads and maybe take away a couple of years each for non-poly/grads.
    Ok lor then I expired and moldy liao lor

Startling results. Does 75% of our countrymen/women enter uni? Don't think its that high a figure. If not, then those who are married consists of some 75% grads... hmmm... does this imply that more of those who don't enter uni prefer not to marry as compared to grads and undergrads?
    More like most of those who married are grads thats why so few babies... The higher educated you are the higher in the maslow hierarchy of needs you seek...

Personal experience: Had my first child at 35, last child at 41.

If I had the chance again, I would have had them earlier. As forum members have rightly pointed out, you have more energy to take care of them when you are younger.

For guys, keep on looking. Must pay close attention to the personality and life style habits as well as the looks. The very pretty ones are somewhat of a question mark: I hear that many of the cases of cheating spouse these days involves the wife rather than the husband (this info from medical circles rather than social circles as that is where they end up when things go wrong.....). And I think another flag is the one carrying the Birkin hand bag. Need to watch out for that one as she has some tendency to value material possessions....
    Worldly wise, decent looking, healthy and slim, exercise regularly, good conversationalist, interest in property (very important ha ha), not materialistic wear hang ten also look beautiful, eat simple, easily contented... Sounds like from movies only?? Where to find... Either married or dead.

Before you expect these qualities from a prospective spouse, you have to ask yourself how many of these qualities do you personally possess....

Worldly wise, decent looking, healthy and slim, exercise regularly, good conversationalist, interest in property (very important ha ha), not materialistic wear hang ten also look beautiful, eat simple, easily contented... Sounds like from movies only?? Where to find... Either married or dead.

Before you expect these qualities from a prospective spouse, you have to ask yourself how many of these qualities do you personally possess....
    Of course. Thats only fair. All pass except I dont wear Hang Ten. Not nowadays at least... Oh forgot to add. Sense of humor and able to laugh at oneself also very important. ;-)

You can be an outlier ...like Black Swan event...

Guys older better ...

Ok lor then I expired and moldy liao lor

Of course. Thats only fair. All pass except I dont wear Hang Ten. Not nowadays at least... Oh forgot to add. Sense of humor and able to laugh at oneself also very important. ;-)
    Well... if you already possess the below like you say you are
    1. Slim like
    2. Healthy
    3. Decent Looking
    4. World wisely
    5. Easily contented
    6. Look beautiful in simple clothes (like Hang Ten for e.g)
    7. Not materialistic ie... down to earth
    8. Eat simply
    9. Good conversationalist
    10. Good sense of humour
    Then the women in Singapore must blind, deaf and dumb because you are quite a catch......

hahaha.... joke joke only ah... ok

[quote=carbuncle]Worldly wise, decent looking, healthy and slim, exercise regularly, good conversationalist, interest in property (very important ha ha), not materialistic wear hang ten also look beautiful, eat simple, easily contented... Sounds like from movies only?? Where to find... Either married or dead. [/quote]

Have leh, need to look harder + a bit of luck lor.

Rich grad meets hawker: More S'porean girls OK with 'marrying down'
    Eliza Lee, 22, is not only a fresh graduate who studied at a top secondary school, she is also from a wealthy family and used to be chauffeured home from school. Despite her background, she chose to marry a chicken rice seller.

http://singaporeseen.stomp.com.sg/st...es_hawker.html

[QUOTE=maisonjai]
    Worldly wise, decent looking, healthy and slim, exercise regularly, good conversationalist, interest in property (very important ha ha), not materialistic wear hang ten also look beautiful, eat simple, easily contented... Sounds like from movies only?? Where to find... Either married or dead. [/quote]

Have leh, need to look harder + a bit of luck lor.

Eliza Lee, 22, is not only a fresh graduate who studied at a top secondary school, she is also from a wealthy family and used to be chauffeured home from school. Despite her background, she chose to marry a chicken rice seller.

Wei. Chix rice seller make more then typical grad hor pls

Well... if you already possess the below like you say you are
    1. Slim like
    2. Healthy
    3. Decent Looking
    4. World wisely
    5. Easily contented
    6. Look beautiful in simple clothes (like Hang Ten for e.g)
    7. Not materialistic ie... down to earth
    8. Eat simply
    9. Good conversationalist
    10. Good sense of humour
    Then the women in Singapore must blind, deaf and dumb because you are quite a catch......

hahaha.... joke joke only ah... ok
    Problem is i not into women wakakKaka

Those qualities men like also what.....

[quote=carbuncle]

Wei. Chix rice seller make more then typical grad hor pls
    I am quite sure it is not about the money for those two

[QUOTE=howgozit]

I am quite sure it is not about the money for those two
    Someone was telling me that young girls like guys that is a bit 坏坏的

They don't like 乖乖的

Any ladies here that can verify this?

[QUOTE=PN]

They don't like 乖乖的

坏坏 for bf. 怪怪 for hubby...

Something new.
    Why 怪怪 for hubby?

Something new.
    Why 怪怪 for hubby?
    Better sooner than later to see all the 怪癖 come out first. Anyway 这里没有天使....

[quote=maisonjai]

This marriage may not last. When I lived and worked overseas, my neighbour broke up with his wife. She was from a wealthy family, he had his own business laying carpets. They had 3 lovely children. But when they got older, the social class differences got in the way. He liked to spend his time off doing gardening and chilling out with a beer. She liked to go off skiing. They got divorced and she returned to her parents' mansion.

They don't like 乖乖的

乖乖的- mummy's boy

坏坏的 (tinge only) - can protect the girl

So outwardly must look rough and tough, but actually inside is flexible.

Better sooner than later to see all the 怪癖 come out first. Anyway 这里没有天使....
    Then should cohabitate (test drive) first. If got 怪癖 or cannot live together, don't marry lor.

Isn't this very common today?

They don't like 乖乖的

男人不坏,女人不爱.......

I see.

I'm so glad got this thread to TCSS.

A war is going on in the 70% thread. Cannot go there liao.

I see.

I'm so glad got this thread to TCSS.

A war is going on in the 70% thread. Cannot go there liao.
    Yah... Teddy is on fire now...

[QUOTE=chiaberry]

This marriage may not last. When I lived and worked overseas, my neighbour broke up with his wife. She was from a wealthy family, he had his own business laying carpets. They had 3 lovely children. But when they got older, the social class differences got in the way. He liked to spend his time off doing gardening and chilling out with a beer. She liked to go off skiing. They got divorced and she returned to her parents' mansion.
    Who has custody of the kids? Or needless to ask... My parents also starkly different. One likes to go out all the time and tours etc, one loves to rot at home before the tv...

Then should cohabitate (test drive) first. If got 怪癖 or cannot live together, don't marry lor.

Isn't this very common today?
    Ya already test drove many until lost count liao... Still single.

You said you are not into women but you still go test drive? Hmmm.... the result of those test drives is already out before you even step in!

[quote=chiaberry]

For every failed marriage, there is that one successful marriage!