Thread: Title Deed - Where to store it?

Default Title Deed - Where to store it?

If you have received your title deed, where should you store it?

1) Home;
    2) Safe deposit box at CICSO;
    3) With Lawyer;
    4) ...

If you lost your title deed, can you ask SLA to re-issue it?
    If yes, how much it will cost?

I just keep in drawer.... If house burnt down all burn together lor

there's a chinese saying, the most dangerous place is the safest place. put in living room? frame it up on the wall?

Wa lan eh u houseproud to that extent????

Ok my To Do list refreshed: u now no. 1 target!!!

Safe deposit box
    The most successful investors are defined by their actions in a bear market, not a bull market.

I left it in the drawer too, scan a copy & left it in the cloud.

Wow, TS..... you have subtly asked how many of us have cleared our housing loan.
    Keep in the safe.
    Good idea about storing in the cloud.
    PDF is as good as original, right?

Replacing it will cost a few thousand dollars, i was told.

Wow, TS..... you have subtly asked how many of us have cleared our housing loan.
    Keep in the safe.

I suppose it is only as secure as e strength of e army?

Keep in the safe.

sista, u own landed right? make a copy, ziplock & bury 1 set in ur garden....then u have 1 set each in "heaven & earth"...heehee

That's a good idea! Provided my pets don't dig it up.
    But the problem is I am not in a landed yet and to get hold of the landed title deed will probably take many years.

That's a good idea! Provided my pets don't dig it up.
    But the problem is I am not in a landed yet and to get hold of the landed title deed will probably take many years.
    Bro Blue just beat you to it.... But his neighbouring unit still available. You buy, then every chinese new year we all can come and take red packets wakakaka

Keep in the safe.

Eh no wat. Every sale you get back the title deed also... Its useless so I just keep in drawer...

Just received a letter from HDB. You can either safekeep it yourself or the Legal Department will safekeep it on your behalf.

Quote Originally Posted by pinkpolkadot
    Just received a letter from HDB. You can either safekeep it yourself or the Legal Department will safekeep it on your behalf.
    with fees involved.

Eh no wat. Every sale you get back the title deed also... Its useless so I just keep in drawer...
    I tot title deed only given to you when u clear your housing loan?

Good idea to store up in cloud.. but will it still considered as original?

Ya... Every sale have to fully redeem the loan isnt it.

Yes. Only when fully paid up.

with fees involved.
    The letter didn't mention fee. It says: As an extra service to you Legal department will safekeep the Title Deed on your behalf."

If you have received your title deed, where should you store it?

1) Home;
    2) Safe deposit box at CICSO;
    3) With Lawyer;
    4) ...

If you lost your title deed, can you ask SLA to re-issue it?
    If yes, how much it will cost?

Make a copy and get the strata agency to certify thru copy.(they do that for a small fee)
    Keep one in safe , other keep at home.

Quote Originally Posted by pinkpolkadot
    The letter didn't mention fee. It says: As an extra service to you Legal department will safekeep the Title Deed on your behalf."
    For hdb it's advisable to leave it with legal dept at hdb hub. When u decided to sell the flat it's more convenient too, save the hassle searching it.

Just keep them in drawer at home. SLA already has record of them. Make multiple hardcopies and even keep softcopy of them in yahoo, gmail, cloud,etc if this makes you feel more comfortable.

Keep in the safe.

Ya, I was told it cost a few thousand dollars too and is very troublesome.
    Well, I put it on the the book shelves in my storeroom, haha.

die.........hubby redeemed the HL that day but now I can't remember where we put the title deeds. It's certainly not in the safe deposit box coz we haven't gone there for ages.....jialat......

For LH ppty the title deed is just air space. According to mr goh "They’re buying air!"
    The master title deed for LH land is SLA forever...kekeke

So the best is to hold FH landed title deeds.
    For LH ppty the title deed is just air space. According to mr goh "They’re buying air!"
    The master title deed for LH land is SLA forever...kekeke

Quote Originally Posted by KarenK
    die.........hubby redeemed the HL that day but now I can't remember where we put the title deeds. It's certainly not in the safe deposit box coz we haven't gone there for ages.....jialat......
    together with marriage cert?

Not forgetting the will too.
    together with marriage cert?

So the best is to hold FH landed title deeds.
    In a way yes, once a lao jiao told me this, his dad passed on 20yrs ago & left the land to him. In 10~15yrs his time will come & pass on to his children. His exact words "my name is only 'temporary owner' of the land."
    I was speechless for a moment.

In a way yes, once a lao jiao told me this, his dad passed on 20yrs ago & left the land to him. In 10~15yrs his time will come & pass on to his children. His exact words "my name is only 'temporary owner' of the land."
    I was speechless for a moment.
    Kinda of true, abit like PP watch slogan:

"You never actually own a Patek Philippe. You merely look after it for the next generation"