Instead, he "let his clients down
    and defrauded the government
    of taxes".
    Anyone who knowingly passes
    fake certificates off as genuine
    can be jailed up to three years
    and fined S$10,000.
    - CNA/fa

wow i never really looked at the stamp certificate at all.... is this a concern?

the agent is naive and stupid.

Its a record for the tax department to ensure the correct amount of ppty tax is paid.

Every transaction needs to be stamped. Not just sale but especially lease as well.... If not you kena IRAS lim kopi

i dutifully report my rental income to IRAS, is that good enough? i am wondering what is the implication to the landlord of such a stamp cert.

Hello. You tell them your rental, they dont earn from the telling do they? Stamping is their major revenue component.... Better not risk it. Report lease for income tax record is NOT the same as stamping.

i remembered someone say if there is a dispute, the doc is admissible in court on owner-tenant relationship.

What is Stamp Duty?
    Stamp duty is a tax on
    documents relating to
    immovable properties, stocks or
    shares. Examples of such
    documents are :
    1) Lease / Tenancy Agreements
    These are documents that
    are prepared and signed
    when you rent a property.
    Stamp duty is calculated on
    the actual rent or market
    rent whichever is higher. The
    person who leases or rents
    the property (lessee or
    tenant) is responsible for
    paying stamp duty.
    2) Acceptance to Option to
    Purchase / Sale & Purchase
    Agreements
    These are documents that
    are prepared and signed
    when you buy or sell your
    property. Stamp duty is
    payable on the actual price
    or market price whichever is
    higher. The buyer is
    responsible for paying
    buyer’s stamp duty. Where
    seller’s stamp duty is
    applicable, the seller is
    responsible for paying
    seller’s stamp duty.
    3) Mortgages
    These are documents that
    are prepared and signed
    when you obtain a loan
    from banks for your
    property purchase. Stamp
    duty is payable on the loan
    amount. The person who
    obtains the loan (mortgagor)
    is responsible for paying the
    stamp duty on the mortgage
    document.
    4) Share Transfer Documents
    These are documents that
    are prepared and signed
    when you buy or sell shares.
    Stamp duty is payable on
    the actual price or net asset
    value of the shares
    whichever is higher. The
    person who buys the shares
    (transferee) is responsible
    for paying stamp duty on
    the Share Transfer
    document.
    If you have a document that
    relates to more than one matter,
    it will be charged separately for
    each matter. This means that
    more than one set of stamp duty
    is to be paid on that document.
    Examples include :
    1. Sale and lease-back of
    property
    2. Sale and buy-back of
    property
    3. Lease with a contract for
    sale of fixtures
    4. An instrument whereby
    more than one property is
    leased to the same tenant
    and where the terms and
    conditions for the lease of
    each of the properties are
    different
    When should I pay stamp
    duty?
    Once the document is signed
    and dated, stamp duty needs to
    be paid :
    1. Within 14 days after the
    date of the document if
    the document is signed in
    Singapore or
    2. Within 30 days after the
    date of its receipt in
    Singapore if the document
    is signed overseas
    You can pay stamp duty easily
    using our e-Stamping system. To
    begin stamping your document
    online, click here.
    Why should I pay stamp duty?
    It is an offence to use a
    document which stamp duty has
    not been paid on. If IRAS detects
    a document where stamp duty
    has not been paid, a penalty of
    up to 4 times will be imposed.
    In addition, a document where
    stamp duty is paid can be
    admitted as evidence in the court
    in cases of disagreements.
    Which are the documents that
    I need not pay Stamp Duty?
    Examples of documents where
    stamp duty is not payable :
    Service contracts not in
    connection with the granting
    of a lease
    Deed of Appointment of
    Trustees - where it does not
    involve vesting of interest
    Loan agreements not relating
    to properties and shares
    Settlement not relating to
    properties and shares such as
    cash settlement
    Letters of Guarantee /
    Indemnity
    Statutory Declaration, Affidavit
    Assignment of intangible
    assets such as Goodwill,
    Trademark and Patents
    Assignment of book debts /
    receivables (eg. sale proceeds)
    Promissory Note
    Letters of Appointment /
    Revocation of Power of
    Attorney
    Will
    Hire Purchase Agreement
    Charter-party
    Declaration to change from
    Joint Tenancy to Tenancy in
    Common of equal shares
    Declaration to hold as Joint
    Tenants by Tenants in
    common in equal shares
    Fixed and nominal duty
    documents (dated on and
    after 19 Feb 2011). For more
    details, please refer to our e-
    Tax Guide on Stamp Duty:
    Removal of Fixed and Nominal
    Duties (Second Edition)
    (116 KB)
    For more details on the other
    abolished documents, please see
    Changes in Stamp Duty on
    Instruments Executed On or
    After 28 Feb 98
    (12 KB)

Hello. You tell them your rental, they dont earn from the telling do they? Stamping is their major revenue component.... Better not risk it. Report lease for income tax record is NOT the same as stamping.
    the stamping is done by my tenant's agent leh, i just get a xerox copy of the stamp cert that's all.

That will work! As long somebody does it can liao....

Wow photoshop is amazing...
    ya amazing....until he photoshop the stamp duty certs

lets see if he can photoshop a prison warden's ID and walk out

24 years old but he looks like at least 34...

Quote Originally Posted by House
    ya amazing....until he photoshop the stamp duty certs

lets see if he can photoshop a prison warden's ID and walk out
    Witty!!!!!

Muz b really bad times as agents. Only $3k+ in total for 7 deals but enough to tempt him.

At 24, he's charged. He started out in 2007 as reported in property guru. So he started work at 19??? Army how? Hmmm...

Thumbs down

So far my impression of dealing w agencies starting w D are like shit...
    One DT? Agt run away after the tenant cheq 1st mth deposit bounced !!!
    The other DW? Agt churn pattern & ask me this price can rent. I told him ok & give me Loi + cheq, he DISAPPear !!! No sound no pix !

Quote Originally Posted by smallant
    So far my impression of dealing w agencies starting w D are like shit...
    One DT? Agt run away after the tenant cheq 1st mth deposit bounced !!!
    The other DW? Agt churn pattern & ask me this price can rent. I told him ok & give me Loi + cheq, he DISAPPear !!! No sound no pix !
    Just curious. The tenant run away - what did you do?

Always do a check on the iras website for verification.

The DT? Agt run away ! Not the tenant ... The tenant fight to stay on despite no pay rent !!! Report police no use ! See MP no use.. See lawyer cost a bomb finally throw them out ! Complain to DT@, no use .. Waste of lots of time & efforts .. Lesson learn ! Never trust the D evils ... Ha ha

How did you throw the tenant out if he insist to stay on? Chain up the main gate? Condo unit no gate how? Splash dog blood on your own unit? Lol

Hang pig head

Quote Originally Posted by House
    Hang pig head
    Only works on certain demographic... If Chinese will bbq and have a feast.

Yahor. Free food.....

Just change the main door key set and lock them out.

Quote Originally Posted by rogersim
    Just change the main door key set and lock them out.
    If they always have someone at home how do you do that?? Put superglue in keyhole?