Thread: Apartments In Front Of Busy Road

Default Apartments In Front Of Busy Road

Saw some low rise walkup in D15 facing busy road.

I may not mind the noise and dust, but will you buy if I sell next time?

Quote Originally Posted by may2012

Sorry but no.
    My husband used to stay on the 3rd floor of the very old apartment opposite the then Lion City Hotel.
    The floor was always so black and dirty.
    The traffic very noisy.

Only thing it is extremely convenient.
    Just make sure that the neighbourhood is made up of families and not those that are mass rented to foreign workers.

Heritage East?

If not it, you can try short term renting it to experience if it is for you.

Sorry but no.
    My husband used to stay on the 3rd floor of the very old apartment opposite the then Lion City Hotel.
    The floor was always so black and dirty.
    The traffic very noisy.

Only thing it is extremely convenient.
    Just make sure that the neighbourhood is made up of families and not those that are mass rented to foreign workers.

You refering to the old apartments behind City Plaza and Esta Ruby? Tanjong Katong Rd?
    Saw one recently. The building looks terribly run down. The inside is 100% original. Even if i were to spend $200k for reno, the outside really cant make it.
    Location is good lah.

or redhouse?

Quote Originally Posted by TheOnlyGayInTheVillage
    Heritage East?

If not it, you can try short term renting it to experience if it is for you.

Some that I saw....

Crescendo Building
    Still Mansion
    King's Apart
    Chung Chin Flat
    United Mansion

or redhouse?
    Redhouse not build yet right?

will be rebuilt again

It depends on the individual apartment and unit.

Eg.
    Crescendo Building... Abt 5 m fm main road, units on second floor above shops may be a little too noisy.
    Still Mansion... Generally ok if you unit faces the compound inside
    King's Apart... As long as not facing still road
    Chung Chin Flat... A little too close to road and CROWS
    United Mansion... This is good. Units abt 10m away fm road, dense vegetation fencing to block noise n dust

* no vested interest

i dont mind chun chin flats - too bad no school nearby

Quote Originally Posted by House
    i dont mind chun chin flats - too bad no school nearby
    Tao Nan, Katong Convent, St Pat's

You refering to the old apartments behind City Plaza and Esta Ruby? Tanjong Katong Rd?
    Saw one recently. The building looks terribly run down. The inside is 100% original. Even if i were to spend $200k for reno, the outside really cant make it.
    Location is good lah.
    Can't remember what is it called.
    That was many many years ago when we were still dating.

I wouldn't mind renting.. But I don't think I'll buy.

The awnings doesnt look very stable...

I used to rent a place directly next to and facing train tracks. Trains started running around 5am everyday. The noise and vibrations could drive anyone crazy!

However, after a few weeks, they were barely noticeable anymore. In fact, became my night time lullaby.

So if you are thinking of renting the place facing busy road, just go for it. It's fine. If you are thinking of buying, for own stay, that's OK. If for investment, probably not. DIfficult to find tenants unless you are prepared to squeeze in 20 foreign workers into 2 bedroom kind? Also difficult to sell, unless you have holding power to wait for the right buyer?

...how about en bloc potential in these places?

Checkout how Kovan Residences owners make tonnes of money, yawn

Does it really matter if next to busy road?? If new / on top of MRT and next to shops ... does not matter. IF old / rundown, no MRT, no shops then is jialat lo

Quote Originally Posted by silver023
    It depends on the individual apartment and unit.
    Apart... As long as not facing still road
    Chung Chin Flat... A little too close to road and CROWS
    no vested interest
    I thot crows easy to resolved. Just call nea n they send people to come shoot them?

Shooting is short-term... the crows do come back.

Seems that only way is to cut the trees as there are certain trees grown in SG that are very condusive for crows to gather.

Train tracks are different lah. Only comes 4 time a day and of course not noticeable. It's very different when its in front of a busy road. Its constant noise and worse when the bus comes and squeak stop and horning on the roads.

Having said that, if the threadstarter don't mind, just buy lah. I'm sure there are others who do not mind at all. Look at those D15 "boutique" apartments and those facing ECP, prices are still quite high despite the noise and pollution.

Quote Originally Posted by Sleepyhead
    I used to rent a place directly next to and facing train tracks. Trains started running around 5am everyday. The noise and vibrations could drive anyone crazy!

However, after a few weeks, they were barely noticeable anymore. In fact, became my night time lullaby.

So if you are thinking of renting the place facing busy road, just go for it. It's fine. If you are thinking of buying, for own stay, that's OK. If for investment, probably not. DIfficult to find tenants unless you are prepared to squeeze in 20 foreign workers into 2 bedroom kind? Also difficult to sell, unless you have holding power to wait for the right buyer?

There will always be buyer, only question is how much lower are you willing to accept? Infinity at West coast is a good example of project right next to highway. Just compare their PSF price vs those development further in and you will be able to tell how the price discount for noise.

ur in the right track to think of who is the next buyer, how fast u can sell and at what price.

I strongly suggest u to drop the idea. Noise and dust are very bad for the health. On top, the cleaning of the house at least twice a day.

Can u imagine ur breathing in lot of dust as well..

also very difficult to rent out.

Unless ur thinking at enbloc potential which at times is remote

I used to live in a block at the T-junction of Lor Chuan. The noise pollution is really bad for the health. I wouldn't ever live near a busy junction again.

Yes, this is the one. I must say location is great being just opp to upcoming Katong Regency.

Quote Originally Posted by danntbt
    ...how about en bloc potential in these places?
    some of the units did talk abt enbloc. Saw East Grove which is also along busy road and the last enbloc failed few months ago.

just be sure enbloc not too soon as SSD will be imposed.

Quote Originally Posted by Sleepyhead

Can save on OSIM massage chair.