Thread: Private resale market rebounds strongly

Default Private resale market rebounds strongly

The private resale market has rebounded strongly and is on track to post its strongest showing in the past 12 months, preliminary data shows.

This trend is in stark contrast to the start of the year when the resale market took a sharp dive in light of December's cooling measures and January's Chinese New Year festivities.

The robust new sale market - with 2,487 units sold by developers in April, the strongest in nearly three years - coupled with this resale market rebound has led to concerns that fresh cooling measures might be on the cards.

However, with the euro zone crisis deteriorating, experts say that more time might be needed for the situation to play out first before any firm decisions are made.

Analysis by Singapore Real Estate Exchange (SRX) found that the 2,551 resale non-landed transactions in April and May alone have eclipsed that of the 2,117 units sold in the first three months of the year.

Average resale prices have also gradually inched up to $1,131 per sq ft (psf), according to data by SRX, which collates and displays transactions by major property agencies, accounting for about 85 per cent of resale transactions in the market.

How many times can one 'miss the boat', i wonder?

Quote Originally Posted by TheOnlyGayInTheVillage
    Only MISSED THE BOAT EXPERT MR B & MR SMARIAN can answer you.. they had all the "miss the boat" experience!!

There is a limit lah. Sooner or later the price has to fall. Anyway i think there is only one bigboat which left like a couple of years back.

Nowadays the prices dont really increase much anymore. Small upside and potentially big downside

i m kinda skeptical towards this report - cos the info i got from horses' mouth was - resale market was rather dead.

Going forward, it will be very hard to get annual return >5% but inflation will be high too... both our PM and Pimco Boss said the same ... property rental yield of 4% will be the norm ... highly rated corporate bond of 5% return for 5y-10 will be an excellent investment option too

What else? Stay in FD is suicide, CPF OA is negative -2.5% ...we are not like Warren Buffet who can pick stock for long term, nor are we traders who can spot short term trend ...

Agriculture, gold??

Conclusion: there is no urgency to sell, price is high but not crazy, sitting there collect 4% yield is better ... so market will stay quite flat to moderate growth depends on inflation/gdp numbers in next 5y

Going forward, it will be very hard to get annual return >5% but inflation will be high too... both our PM and Pimco Boss said the same ... property rental yield of 4% will be the norm ... highly rated corporate bond of 5% return for 5y-10 will be an excellent investment option too

What else? Stay in FD is suicide, CPF OA is negative -2.5% ...we are not like Warren Buffet who can pick stock for long term, nor are we traders who can spot short term trend ...

Agriculture, gold??
    All wrong.

CashInNow --> Casino

There is a limit lah. Sooner or later the price has to fall. Anyway i think there is only one bigboat which left like a couple of years back.

Nowadays the prices dont really increase much anymore. Small upside and potentially big downside
    Downside risk definitely high, esp with policy risk thrown in.

But well they say 危机, one half is where the 机 (opportunities) are!

Quote Originally Posted by House
    i m kinda skeptical towards this report - cos the info i got from horses' mouth was - resale market was rather dead.
    Maybe you spoke to the white ones and not the black.

pardon me as I'm learning...rental yield is calculated with respect to your installment? If your property is fully paid, then rental yield not so relevant? Or what level would be a good level to sell (how to perceive this value...) instead of renting?

Agriculture, gold??

Conclusion: there is no urgency to sell, price is high but not crazy, sitting there collect 4% yield is better ... so market will stay quite flat to moderate growth depends on inflation/gdp numbers in next 5y

pardon me as I'm learning...rental yield is calculated with respect to your installment? If your property is fully paid, then rental yield not so relevant? Or what level would be a good level to sell (how to perceive this value...) instead of renting?
    Don't understand why rental yield is not relevant if property is fully paid ... if you want to talk about installment then it will be complicated as you need to calculate the leverage

When Mr B turns into a bull in 2015 (not after price down 50% but rather he cannot tahan rental already), that is the time to sell

Quote Originally Posted by House
    ...you mean house's mouth is more accurate than horses'?

For a fully paid property ROE = ROI, which mean your money is not working as hard for you.

Quote Originally Posted by danntbt
    ...you mean house's mouth is more accurate than horses'?
    No matter dead or not dead, by now, it will start to be alive again!

Singaporeans are like that one, being KSKSKS, they feel safer not being the first mover, they wait at sidelines and once there are heroes who cheong already, they quickly follow.

So this report serves to tell the sideliners that the cheongsters are already out there! The sign is there for the sideliners to start cheong!

We will see what happens in June/July.

Recent showflats I went to shows that buying sentiments are still healthy and strong.

Got crowd doesnt mean got sale wor. Just look at River Isles.

what happened at river isles..