Page 1 of 6 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: Property bubble: the immigration and population factor

Default Property bubble: the immigration and population factor

Read today's paper:

About 350,000 new blood (92k+ new SCs, 260k new SPRs) since 2007

Working individuals accounted for 48 per cent of the new PRs and 38 per cent of the new citizens.

If you factor in 2005/2006 of another 100k SPRs, the numbers come to about 360k new SPRs and 100k new SCs. A total of close to 500,000 new blood.

Stats from garmen in 2011 shows we have 532k SPRs (now probably 550k).

Judging from the red hot HDB rental market, I think most of the 360k new SPRs are still renting

New revelation. The majority of PRs and new citizens are "dependents". Only 48% of PR and 38% of new citizens are productive and working. Which means 52% of PR and 62% of new citizens are dependents. Which means every working PR brings more ah ma and ah gong and father and mother and spouse to become PR and add to the dependency ratio. Faint.

wouldn't this worsen the problem of aging population? PAP govt really no brains leh.

no-lah.... dependents should be more like 2-3 kids... ica cannot be that goondu 1...

wa, heads you win, tails i lose.

1) PR & new citizens 100% working, complain compete with singaporeans for jobs.
    2) PR 48%, new citizens 38% working, complain dependency ratio increase.
    the non-working PR and new citizen no need to consume food,water, electricity in singapore ?

Don't think so. Usually either bring a non-working uneducated spouse or parents. just look at the PRCs which is the bulk of the PRs, how many bring kids??????

no-lah.... dependents should be more like 2-3 kids... ica cannot be that goondu 1...

Where is this 48% 38% thing ? In the paper ??

Check today's Today either paper (1st page) or online

Don't think so. Usually either bring a non-working uneducated spouse or parents. just look at the PRCs which is the bulk of the PRs, how many bring kids??????
    A lot of PRC ladies accompany their kids over for education hence the term "pei-du mama'

If you look at the chart, 2008 was a bumper year for PRs (read below to understand why-taken from ST in 2008). These kids would have just graduated last yr or this depending on their course and since they are bonded to work here for 6 years, will be competing with all of the SC workforce for jobs as well. :

The Straits Times Forum, 20 Feb 08

Help grads who do as well as foreign talent

RECENTLY, I befriended a group of scholars from China studying at my alma mater, Nanyang Technological University (NTU). They were in their late teens and were attending foundation courses in English and maths before starting their undergraduate studies. In their five-year sojourn at NTU, they will be given free lodging and a monthly allowance of $500 each. Needless to say, they do not have to pay for their tuition fees. When they graduate, they must work in Singapore for six years as part of their ‘payback” bond. A highly conservative calculation of their five-year tenure at NTU suggests that each will cost the Government or NTU some $70,000. That is, $30,000 for their five-year tuition fees, including the charges for their foundation courses, and some $40,000 for hostel accommodation and their monthly stipends. I graduated from NTU five years ago, with a good honours degree.
    I was in the top 15 per cent of my cohort – and performed better than some of these scholars. While studying at NTU, I had to work as a pizza delivery boy to earn my allowance. Upon graduation, I had to start paying off a $24,000-student loan.
    Why are Singaporeans like me not treated as considerately as such scholars? My study loan took five years to pay off after I started working. The China scholars receive financial support, a free education and start their working lives debt free. Their six-year bond is seen as a contribution to Singapore.
    Am I not contributing as much, if not more? Non-scholar Singaporeans are not treated in quite the same way as foreign talent, regardless of how well we perform. The disparity is disheartening.
    Don’t Singaporeans like me who have done well deserve some relief? True, local scholarships are available. But not every Singaporean who graduated well, gets one.
    Can the NTU or the Education Ministry tell me why graduates like myself don’t deserve some relief or reward for doing as well as, or better than, some of the foreign talent?

Zhou Zhiqiang
    Last edited by equalizer; 27-07-12 at 14:26.

Check today's Today either paper (1st page) or online
    Thanks !

Btw I look at your chart, 2007-2010 alone already 230k PRs. That means from 2011 to 1st half of 2012, only 30k PRs granted. Gov really tightening on this.

I thought about the peidu mama tingy as well. But then surely these peidu mamas are not qualified enough to be given PR? U mean those peidu mama working as masseurs, coffee shop beer ladies and streetwalkers are given PR? The stats are for PR and new citizens, not those on social visit passes. But you could be right. i heard many streetwalkers and massage ladies are actually PRs....

bring kid good or no good?
    bring non-working uneducated spouse or parent good or no good?
    100% PR and new citizen working good or no good?

what is the main point of your argument?

@equalizer: scholar system == meritocracy

At least i have an opinion. Use some brain. How could bringing an aged parent along good? Unless your only concern is will it increase my property value? Its some statistic shared with us -first time Singaporeans are given insight into our population breakdown and you have no views? Or everything is correct as long as its PAP? why does our govt suddenly share the stats? Obviously to seek our opinions right?

Do you have an opinion? What is your view on the article? Or no views? That is the problem with our education system. Your only concern in life is your property value and how to get your child into a school?

There is no "argument" - just discussion on the observation on the new statistics shared. 'If you have no opinion, u don't have to ask people why they have.

bring kid good or no good?
    bring non-working uneducated spouse or parent good or no good?
    100% PR and new citizen working good or no good?

what is the main point of your argument?

Of course there is a difference betwene bringing kids and bringing in parents. Remember the main reason for the influx of immigrants is to solve our aging population and spur the economy. Bringing kids at least help solve the problem. Bringing middle age spouse or parents don't.

I have a feeling the same gang will come in with their flame war and how influx of foreigners should increase because property will huat.

by now we already know pap policies are short sighted.

I thought about the peidu mama tingy as well. But then surely these peidu mamas are not qualified enough to be given PR? U mean those peidu mama working as masseurs, coffee shop beer ladies and streetwalkers are given PR? The stats are for PR and new citizens, not those on social visit passes. But you could be right. i heard many streetwalkers and massage ladies are actually PRs....
    I think it was part of a package deal. I may be wrong but any parent accompanying the child who qualified for the education pakage would be accorded PR status - the reason being that the tenure of education would easily run into 3 or more yrs and it would be impractical for the parent to keep going to Immigration to renew visitors pass. If you can recall way back in the past news reports, there was a lot of hype of getting in foreign talent in 07/08 but because it was extremely difficult to attract them from their high paying jobs in their local countries, some 'bright spark" thought of recuriting them right at inception (i.e. whilst they were still schooling), hence a campaign was run overseas to rope them in with a lot of perks. To ensure that they contributed back to the economy, the 6-yr working bond was also instituted. I think a few countries were targetted but the highest success rate was from China. The results of that campaign is probably the reason for the spike you see in 08.

peidu mama and the kid should be under student passes.... not pr...

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Study_mama

http://www.mha.gov.sg/news_details.a...BAsgl2eOEEc%3D

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

and now in 2012... i heard is dam difficult to get pr even for working professionals....

peidu mama and the kid should be under student passes.... not pr...

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Study_mama

http://www.mha.gov.sg/news_details.a...BAsgl2eOEEc%3D

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

and now in 2012... i heard is dam difficult to get pr even for working professionals....
    Only the kid would need the student pass. For the peidu mama, there is a distinction between getting a work permit, visit pass and PR status. Most of them will apply for a long-term visit pass 1st but because a lot of them wanted to earn some $$$, after 1 yr, they can apply for a work permit. With the work permit in hand, they can then apply for PR. A lot of them were probably tempted to apply for PR so that they could buy HDB etc. Back in the gd ol' days, it was not that difficult to obtain PR status although it has been tighthen significantly of late. In fact, the chart by Thread starter clearly shows the tightening trend.

An important point to note is that the kid (once he graduates) would most probably be given a work permit by default because he is bonded to work here for 6 years. It would be kinda ridiculous to reject him because it would have wasted all the education grants/subsidies if they send him back.
    Last edited by equalizer; 27-07-12 at 16:29.

At least i have an opinion. Use some brain. How could bringing an aged parent along good? ..........
    There is no "argument" - just discussion on the observation on the new statistics shared. 'If you have no opinion, u don't have to ask people why they have.
    my "argument" very simple as my brain is simple.
    1) they are not competing for jobs with singaporeans.
    2) they increased consumption in singapore.
    so in effect, they are like long term tourist who spend money in singapore.

so in your opinion,
    why bringing an aged parent, non-educated spouse (who are not working in singapore) along not good ?

Default Q2 HDB rental

Median for 3r, 4r, 5r HDB

TOA PAYOH - * $1,980 $2,500 $2,700
    TAMPINES - - $2,000 $2,350 $2,540

In terms of median rental, there is little diff btn TPY and Tampines nowadays ...
    and HDB rental is red hot ... with a median rental of $2540 for 5r HDB in Tampines

And the yield is best for 3r HDB ... the MM equivalent of condos

my "argument" very simple as my brain is simple.
    1) they are not competing for jobs with singaporeans.
    2) they increased consumption in singapore.
    so in effect, they are like long term tourist who spend money in singapore.

so in your opinion,
    why bringing an aged parent, non-educated spouse (who are not working in singapore) along not good ?
    This is published in Zaobao on 31st March 2012. Perhaps one of the bros can help translate? Tks.

一个外国人在新加坡看病的经历

(2012-03-31)

陈晓燕

生病这件事,是我在异国他乡最最害怕的。但偏偏在日前一晚上将近半夜时,突然浑身冒冷汗、恶心,在洗手间吐得一塌糊涂,吃了藿香正气丸,不顶用;只好把睡梦中的女儿叫醒,去医院了。

一路上很忐忑,担心我是外国人,看个病不知道会不会很贵。以前在中国国内偶尔看过发烧的急诊,价格也不菲啊。

到达医院急诊中心,舒了一口气:明亮的救护通道,时不时有救护车出入,只是闪着灯却不呼啸。安静的挂号前台,护士轻声的问候具体状况,然后 让我在旁边的椅子上坐下。大概2分钟左右,护士就把我带到一名医生那里,因为他不会说华语,女儿和略懂华语的护士一直在旁边做翻译。经过简单的问询之后, 医生根据我的症状(恶心、呕吐、头晕、头痛、呼吸困难),担心我的心脏有什么问题,马上让护士带我到隔壁做心电图。其实我很害怕,每次去医院做任何的检查 我都害怕,再加上语言不通,我更是怕上加怕。所幸的事,医生护士非常和蔼,即使双方沟通不畅(女儿有很多疾病的专业术语并不完全懂得翻译),但是他们的态 度可以让我渐渐的平静下来。

在门诊后,被告知会有一名专科医生会对我的病情做进一步的诊断,然后我被护士用移动病床推进另外一个病房。这时,我忍不住悄悄跟女儿说:为什么他们不叫我们交钱的?如果看完病发现我不够钱怎么办?在国内看病,不都是要先交钱的吗?没钱?免谈!

10分钟过后,一名医生来到,非常详细的询问我的病情,帮我抽血化 验,我在中国曾经有连轧针多次的可怕经验,因此吓得哭了。在医生温柔说服和保证下,终于不痛地抽完血了。接着护士按照她的指示帮我量血压、打止吐针、验 尿、照X光、吃药等等,全部是护士推着我或扶着我在进行,女儿只是负责翻译,他们非常的尽心尽力、手脚非常轻柔,每帮我做完一个项目比如喂我吃药,都会对 我说句:thank you。替我服务,却还一直谢谢我,我真感激涕零了。

从头至尾,没有一个人来让我交费,只是询问病情和吃药打针后的反应——我想,这才是真正的人文关怀吧?这才是真正的救死扶伤吧?

接着医生来带我女儿去看我的检查清单和照片,详细向她解释每项内容,估计是食物引起轻微中毒感染之类的,我可以选择继续在病房休息或者回家。我选择回家。

紧张的时刻来到了,经过那么多的检查、诊断、治疗,到底会花费多少钱呀?我一个外国人,应该是按市场价格算吧。即使如此,我觉得这医护费是 值得花的。非常出乎意料的是:账单是新币299元(约合人民币1500元),实际付账95元(约合人民币500元)。也即是说,新加坡政府替我付了 65%!记得 2005年的时候,我在中国曾因不明原因发烧住院治疗近8天,花费7000元,结果社保局以未查明病因为由,一分钱都没给我报销。我是年年月月都交医疗保 险的人,结果,就是不能报销。

我不知道新加坡政府为什么会替我付这些医疗费,也不知道新加坡人如果知道了会不会群起而攻之,但是,这件事情,让我体会到什么才真正是“生命第一”!这家让我倍感舒适和亲切的医院名叫:陈笃生医院。

谢谢那些不知名而可亲可敬的医务工作者!希望这里所有人都健康平安!

i see lots of PR in my neighbourhood having more than 2 kids, they love kids, this culd explain the dependency ratio. i see more and more locals marrying wives direct from china,if u can accept foreign wives, why cant u accept PRs?

i see some bad PRs but I also see many good PRs. I see many good Singaporeans but I also see some yucky ones like those tat appear recently in the news.

@surfuz the gist of that article is a mother from China whom kena food poisoning got treated with care and concern from the staff and doc at TTSH and was pleasantly surprised that the 299 sgds bill came up to only 95sgd payable, when in her home country not a single cent was discounted for another similar emergency visit. thus she feel the spirit of true medical professionalism and sincerity here.

Plus she's wondering why our garmen is so kind as to cover 65% of her medical bill when she's just a foreign tourist.

Additionally, she wonders if sgeans who knew of this subsidy made to tourists paid out of taxpayer monies will be fuming mad.

If I'm a Sg patient who's having difficulty getting govt to subsidize my healthcare bills and Kenna rejected from using our own medisave monies to cover healthcare and medicine bills, I will be hopping mad!

I also wonder how the battery of tests end up with a total bill of less than 300 bucks. Ttsh so cheap meh? Every time I bring my kids to kk hospital for consultation at least a couple hundreds just to see "specialist" for 5-10 mins (seems like everything also under specialist at kkh). Can't even use medisave to pay for the consultation somemore. Beggars belief.

"医院急诊中心"....

is emergency department... at emergency department... regardless of race, nationality, income level all flat rate at 90+... i think....

i was at emergency department due to wrist facture, took 4-5 x-ray, 2 doctors managed to pull and joined back my bone,... some medicine, bandage... ended bill at 90+.... was quite surprise...

normal hospital stay will have foreigner, pr and citizen at different rate...

I been using my brain to think about how to make Singapore more independent of outside economy for >50 years and my conclusion is that Singapore really needs a population of at least 12m to have a big enough serviced based domestic economy to weather economic recession originating from outside of Singapore!
    So regardless of whether working or not, aging or not, young or old, as long as they have more than enough money to retire and support themselves here, they are welcomed! Old ones are good because then our Surgeons will have more patients to see and operate on and they will become more experienced! I think the govt make 1 big mistake - that is to slow down population intake. They should speed population intake simultaneously with infrastructure expansion otherwise the added infrastructure becomes "white elephant" and is wasting tax-payers' money!

At least i have an opinion. Use some brain. How could bringing an aged parent along good? Unless your only concern is will it increase my property value? Its some statistic shared with us -first time Singaporeans are given insight into our population breakdown and you have no views? Or everything is correct as long as its PAP? why does our govt suddenly share the stats? Obviously to seek our opinions right?

Do you have an opinion? What is your view on the article? Or no views? That is the problem with our education system. Your only concern in life is your property value and how to get your child into a school?

When I was staying in my HDB, feel like in Shenzhen when I go down to playground on Sunday... in the life, can meet people from Taiwan, Philippines, Indonesia also. Very cosmopolitan...

Tks carbuncle and Vincegoh. Should have written clearer: translate for the benefit of those who can't read Chinese

Chances are high she is a study mum. Is it like a long term tourist?