Thread: What to do after your first tenant?

Default What to do after your first tenant?

Hi,

I'm a newbie landlord. My first tenant's contract is about to be finished and he is not renewing. Assuming that I want to continue letting the apartment out, are there "usual" things that a landlord does to enhance the unit again? E.g. repaint the house, major cleaning (any contacts?), put new furniture etc (the unit was brand new when I rented it out to him)?

Anything to lookout for when the tenant is checking out?

Thanks for any advice!!

Get a good housing agent to start marketing your unit as soon as possible. Your agent will be able to advise you on the things to look out for.

Your tenant still has a 2 month deposit with you, so don't be too concerned about willfully damaged chattel. Refunds are normally in 2 weeks from handing over the unit back to you. Anything that is damaged due to wear-and-tear (e.g. sofa, mattress, etc) should be discussed with your existing tenant, but normally I just let it be and get new ones for the new tenant.

Quote Originally Posted by primeesense
    Hi,

I'm a newbie landlord. My first tenant's contract is about to be finished and he is not renewing. Assuming that I want to continue letting the apartment out, are there "usual" things that a landlord does to enhance the unit again? E.g. repaint the house, major cleaning (any contacts?), put new furniture etc (the unit was brand new when I rented it out to him)?

Thanks for any advice!!
    get your agent to do the take over/hand over, ask them to assess the damage if any to recover from the deposit.

Also can ask your agent to start to market your unit already, see the new tenant request then do up the unit. eg repainting or repolishing the floor or refurbish the furniture...etc

Clean n tidy the place, post advertisement to look for tenants

Quote Originally Posted by lkwangli